Campground Membership

Discussion in 'Destinations and RV Parks' started by grim509, Jan 15, 2010.

1. grim509

grim509
    Expand Collapse

My family and I have been camping for several years. We have an older pop-up camper and would like to go camping even more. We've been thinking of joining either Thousand Trails or Coast to Coast.

Could anyone shed some light and recommend which one to join? We live in Burlington County, New Jersey, sort Mid-South Jersey. I do know there are no Coast to Coast CG's in the immediate area, which makes me want to lean towards Thousand Trails.

We plan to go at least one full week a year on vacation, and I have 3 day weekends every-other weekend, and would like to go on those as well. Our weeklong vacations would probably be a little father from where we live, as far east as Ohio, as far north as NH or Vermont, and as far south as Virginia, possibly the Carolinas. For the 3-day weekends, I'd like to be able to stay within a 2 hour drive from us, Eastern PA, Jersey, Delaware, Maryland.

Either one of those memberships, or if you think a discount club like Good Sam or Passport America would be a better fit, that would be helpful info as well.

Any insight and suggestions would be great.

Thanks!

2. abbygolden

abbygolden
    Expand Collapse

MY choice, if I had a pop-up, would be not to join a membership club, but rather to enjoy ANY CG of my choice within the range I choose.

3. Denali

Denali
    Expand Collapse

Thousand Trails and Coast-to-Coast are very different memberships.

A TT membership will cost you thousands of dollars (much less on the resale market), plus annual dues. TT owns its parks and their use is largely limited to TT members. TT has about 80 parks nationwide.