RV Park Reviews

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Review Not Posted, I've read the rules ......
gritz
post Sep 25 2012, 04:10 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Moderated
Posts: 3
Joined: 18-September 12
Member No.: 74550



I posted a review that was accepted on 9/17/2012 on Farewell Bend. (Huntington) but never published or posted to this review site. Since I included a lot of detail for accuracy in case an RVer' was looking for a site that could pickup up Verizon cell phone service, which means Internet with a smartphone, I was disappointed when the review was not published. In further checking, it seems that a lot of reviews are painfully old so I suspect you won't get much current information, at least in Farewell Bend. But in case you need the Internet, site #112 can do it, with a booster. My SS was actually -59 dBm ... which is a good as it gets.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Texasrvers
post Sep 25 2012, 06:17 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3647
Joined: 6-March 06
Member No.: 5452




I found a review for Farewell Bend that was submitted under a different username. However, I believe it is yours. The problem here is that our records show that you have submitted only one review. Our guidelines state that you must submit 3 reviews before they will be posted.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rvingup
post Oct 21 2012, 11:52 PM
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Moderated
Posts: 1
Joined: 28-September 12
Member No.: 74881



I thought I read a month ago, it was submit 2 reviews... not 3? Please clarify.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Texasrvers
post Oct 22 2012, 12:30 AM
Post #4


Advanced Member
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3647
Joined: 6-March 06
Member No.: 5452



It is 3.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gritz
post Oct 22 2012, 09:06 AM
Post #5


Newbie
*

Group: Moderated
Posts: 3
Joined: 18-September 12
Member No.: 74550



QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Sep 25 2012, 06:17 PM) *

I found a review for Farewell Bend that was submitted under a different username. However, I believe it is yours. The problem here is that our records show that you have submitted only one review. Our guidelines state that you must submit 3 reviews before they will be posted.


I guess I'm not understanding the value of denying a reviewer submission because he has not submitted 3 RV reviews. Seems like a real waste of valuable information and a downer for intermittent campers. We went twice this Fall and I spent a fair amount of time trying to be informative and helpful .... but to say you need 3 reviews?? Doesn't make sense. If I can't see my post online and re-edit if necessary, I won't be back. I will go where my views are appreciated. Life is too short to wait a year to see if your post went live. I encourage you to rethink your policy ... it could develop into a great resource.

Jim Lindbloom
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Denali
post Oct 22 2012, 09:29 AM
Post #6


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1077
Joined: 11-January 05
From: Fulltime traveler
Member No.: 2163



QUOTE(gritz @ Oct 22 2012, 08:06 AM) *
...If I can't see my post online and re-edit if necessary, I won't be back...
Jim Lindbloom
Reviews cannot be edited once they are posted.


--------------------
Dave Rudisill
Fulltimer since 2002
2004 Beaver Monterey
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
docj
post Oct 22 2012, 11:32 AM
Post #7


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 862
Joined: 4-July 10
Member No.: 45503



QUOTE(gritz @ Oct 22 2012, 11:06 AM) *

I guess I'm not understanding the value of denying a reviewer submission because he has not submitted 3 RV reviews. Seems like a real waste of valuable information and a downer for intermittent campers.


I think this policy stems from the fact that there are two classes of reviews that the website would prefer to filter out.

One class of review comes from individuals who own or are associated with campgrounds and is submitted for the sole purpose of "pumping up" the CG's reputation and increasing its business. Such reviews typically come from people who aren't really RVers and have registered on the website solely for the purpose of submitting this one review. Although the policy of forcing them to submit two additional reviews of other CG's doesn't completely eliminate such folks, it does make it more difficult, especially if they don't happen to even own an RV.

The other class of review comes from individuals who aren't interested in using the website for sharing of reviews other than for one review they wish to submit about a particularly bad experience they have had at some CG. It's not that such bad experiences shouldn't be posted but I think the purpose of the website is to create a broadly-based sharing of park reviews, not just to flame a particular park because of one's perception of not having been treated well.

If the person submitting the review is, in fact, an RVer with an interest in the community, the requirement to submit two additional reviews shouldn't be such a burdensome one. Even casual RVers typically use their rigs a couple of times a season.

Those of us who rely on this website as our primary source of CG information, are accustomed to using our own "filters" for reading reviews and deciding their relevance to ourselves. However, having the website filter the most egregiously good or bad reviews improves the odds that those that are published better represent a true perspective of the park being reviewed.


--------------------
Joel Weiss
2000 Beaver Patriot Thunder--Cat C12
2014 Honda CR-V EX-L toad
WiFi Ranger Ambassador
RVParkReviews.com Administrator
Share our adventures at: Weiss Travels
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rkw99
post Oct 22 2012, 01:03 PM
Post #8


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 2-August 11
Member No.: 61121



QUOTE(docj @ Oct 22 2012, 11:32 AM) *

I think this policy stems from the fact that there are two classes of reviews that the website would prefer to filter out.

One class of review comes from individuals who own or are associated with campgrounds and is submitted for the sole purpose of "pumping up" the CG's reputation and increasing its business. Such reviews typically come from people who aren't really RVers and have registered on the website solely for the purpose of submitting this one review. Although the policy of forcing them to submit two additional reviews of other CG's doesn't completely eliminate such folks, it does make it more difficult, especially if they don't happen to even own an RV.



Yes, because campground owners and associates who want to "pump up" a particular campground are too stupid to figure out how to circumvent such filters. Insert eyeroll
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
weighit
post Oct 22 2012, 11:12 PM
Post #9


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 31-August 06
Member No.: 8715



Another case of the rules don't apply to me. It said you have to post 3 different campground reviews before they will start showing up, and you post one review and are complaining the rules are too strict. Maybe we should change them for you, then again, maybe not. Hundreds of others seem to think the site works fine and they come here for the great information submitted by those that followed the rules.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dog bone
post Oct 24 2012, 12:46 PM
Post #10


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 222
Joined: 16-December 03
From: Hewit, NJ
Member No.: 250



If I can't see my post online and re-edit if necessary, I won't be back. I will go where my views are appreciated. Life is too short to wait a year to see if your post went live.

gritz. I'm sorry you feel that way. If you enjoy camping, I don't know why it would be hard just to post 2 more reviews.
My member number is 250, now there are over 50,000 members on this site. This is one of the best, if not the best, places to research for a campground. The rules are in place not to just help us, but to help the webmaster and the moderators make their job just a bit easier. I don't know if you know how much time and effort it takes to operate a site like this.
I don't know why this is typing in bold print. I tried a couple of ways to just do regular print, but it just stays like this. I don't want anyone to think I was yelling.
I got it. It got stuck on bold, even though I clicked it off.




--------------------
Bob and Deb Allwood
Diesel, the black lab
2003 ford f 350 6.0 crew cab
2003 cedar creek 30' rlbs
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
willranless
post Oct 25 2012, 10:14 AM
Post #11


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 49
Joined: 10-December 08
Member No.: 27866



QUOTE(dog bone @ Oct 24 2012, 01:46 PM) *


I don't know why this is typing in bold print. I tried a couple of ways to just do regular print, but it just stays like this. I don't want anyone to think I was yelling.


I DID NOT THINK YOU WERE YELLING BECAUSE YOU WERE NOT TYPING IN ALL CAPITALS. biggrin.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fistymc
post Dec 26 2012, 04:27 PM
Post #12


Newbie
*

Group: Moderated
Posts: 4
Joined: 26-December 12
Member No.: 76249



I understand the reasons for moderating posts, but I have an issue with a recent review I made. I'm sorry for hijacking this thread...

I recently tried to post a review on a park that we *tried* to stay at but the check in experience was so bad that we ended up not being able to even get in. My submission was denied.

I have tried to contact the park to no avail and I think it is important for others to know about the experience. Is there somewhere else on this site where I can post this particular issue? I am new to this review site, but travel full time in my rig with family in tow. I'm not big on bashing a park and understand that things just happen sometimes but also feel that each person's experience helps to paint a better picture of the park. Thanks!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Texasrvers
post Dec 26 2012, 08:27 PM
Post #13


Advanced Member
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3647
Joined: 6-March 06
Member No.: 5452



QUOTE(fistymc @ Dec 26 2012, 04:27 PM) *

I understand the reasons for moderating posts, but I have an issue with a recent review I made. I'm sorry for hijacking this thread...

I recently tried to post a review on a park that we *tried* to stay at but the check in experience was so bad that we ended up not being able to even get in. My submission was denied.

I have tried to contact the park to no avail and I think it is important for others to know about the experience. Is there somewhere else on this site where I can post this particular issue? I am new to this review site, but travel full time in my rig with family in tow. I'm not big on bashing a park and understand that things just happen sometimes but also feel that each person's experience helps to paint a better picture of the park. Thanks!


See reply under the new thread started about this concern.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rkw99
post Dec 28 2012, 01:57 PM
Post #14


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 2-August 11
Member No.: 61121



QUOTE(fistymc @ Dec 26 2012, 05:27 PM) *

I understand the reasons for moderating posts, but I have an issue with a recent review I made. I'm sorry for hijacking this thread...

I recently tried to post a review on a park that we *tried* to stay at but the check in experience was so bad that we ended up not being able to even get in. My submission was denied.

I have tried to contact the park to no avail and I think it is important for others to know about the experience. Is there somewhere else on this site where I can post this particular issue? I am new to this review site, but travel full time in my rig with family in tow. I'm not big on bashing a park and understand that things just happen sometimes but also feel that each person's experience helps to paint a better picture of the park. Thanks!



Yet another example of inconsistency with following "the rules" for posting reviews. Apparently your experience not actually staying in a park is not a helpful review but this one is:

We read the reviews on this campground and choose it because it had everything we needed. Upon arrival, we were told the daily rate was $32 for 2-3 people. When we asked for an internet code, we were handed a rate sheet, starting at $3.95 for 1/2 hour and ending with a monthly rate. We know that some parks charge for internet (although in our travels thru most of the US and CA we have never paid), but $4 for 1/2 hour is ridiculous. We drove another ~15 miles and found a wonderful campground for $26.50 per night with free internet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Texasrvers
post Dec 28 2012, 04:35 PM
Post #15


Advanced Member
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3647
Joined: 6-March 06
Member No.: 5452



QUOTE(rkw99 @ Dec 28 2012, 01:57 PM) *

Yet another example of inconsistency with following "the rules" for posting reviews. Apparently your experience not actually staying in a park is not a helpful review but this one is:

We read the reviews on this campground and choose it because it had everything we needed. Upon arrival, we were told the daily rate was $32 for 2-3 people. When we asked for an internet code, we were handed a rate sheet, starting at $3.95 for 1/2 hour and ending with a monthly rate. We know that some parks charge for internet (although in our travels thru most of the US and CA we have never paid), but $4 for 1/2 hour is ridiculous. We drove another ~15 miles and found a wonderful campground for $26.50 per night with free internet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel


I agree. In my opinion this "review" does not meet our criteria for posting. However, it was posted over 2 years ago, and I hope we have gotten more consistent since then. At least we have tried to do so, but some bad reviews do slip through.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version
RVParkReviews.com