RV Park Reviews

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

26 Pages V « < 19 20 21 22 23 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Changes To Review Submittals, Everybody please read
John Blue
post Oct 7 2011, 08:31 PM
Post #301


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2174
Joined: 9-November 03
From: Brandon, FL.
Member No.: 214



Fitzjohnfan,

This information is correct. Also people need to note if review is over six months old it will not be posted on line. So if you only write one review a year you will never see your review due to old age. As soon as you post three reviews on line then you can post as slow as you wish as long as you get them posted inside the six month date. wink.gif


--------------------
John
Brandon, Fl.
FMCA F-248693
Foretravel MH
Honda CRV tow
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kawartha
post Oct 10 2011, 07:36 PM
Post #302


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 27-September 11
Member No.: 63729



QUOTE(Fitzjohnfan @ Oct 6 2011, 10:36 PM) *

I think they meant that if you are a seasonal camper, you would only stay at one or two parks for the whole year, and possibly those one or two parks are the only ones they stay at (ever), so they might never get over the 3 park minimum and their reviews would never show up.

Just my interpritation.


That is indeed correct. I am glad that someone is good at basic reading. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Kawartha
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Iluvcamp
post Oct 18 2011, 01:56 PM
Post #303


Newbie
*

Group: Moderated
Posts: 3
Joined: 7-May 11
Member No.: 56569



Thank you,
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jerry S.
post Nov 8 2011, 11:41 PM
Post #304


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 421
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Chicago
Member No.: 10441



While this post is not about 3 reviews, or 5 reviews, or how soon my review will get posted, or getting more admins, it does sort of fit a discussion of how the reviews get posted. I have no problem with the 3 review requirement, am patient enough to wait a week or two for my reviews to post, and absolutely understand how tough a job the admins do in checking the reviews as submitted. In this thread, they have been too kind in critiquing how poorly written many reviews are. I know I couldn't do their job simply because I get frustrated too easily with how poorly educated the average person is today.

All that aside, my picky complaint is that, mainly during the busy summer backlog period, my reviews are not posted in the order submitted. If I submit 5 reviews in a week, three different admins may get those reviews to check. Thus, the reviews may not post in the order I visited the parks or in the order submited (I now try to make these have the same chronological order). My most recent trip (5 weeks and 20 or so parks) has has half the parks out of chronological order in the listing of all my reviews. Somebody looking at that list would think that I went to LA then NM then OK then AZ then TX then NM and so on (OK, this is an example, not the exact way my trip is reflected in my review list.).

Is there any way that the reviews can be listed in the Reviewer's personal list of all his'her reviews in the order of the date that we enter as the date we stayed at the park? Not a big deal for most people, but for those of us who take fairly long trips with stops at numerous parks it would be nice to see our review list reflect our actual route in the correct order.

Thanks.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Texasrvers
post Nov 9 2011, 01:02 AM
Post #305


Advanced Member
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3312
Joined: 6-March 06
Member No.: 5452



QUOTE(Jerry S. @ Nov 8 2011, 11:41 PM) *

my reviews are not posted in the order submitted. Is there any way that the reviews can be listed in the Reviewer's personal list of all his'her reviews in the order of the date that we enter as the date we stayed at the park?


You know I never noticed this until you mentioned it, and I agree with you that it would look better if reviews were in chronological order of the date of stay. Right now I assume they are in the order of the time/date they are posted, and yes, that can be different times/dates if different admins check them. This probably happens to you a lot because you do send in several reviews at the same time, and therefore, it is likely that more than one admin will work them.

I do not know if this can be corrected. It is far above my pay grade, but I will pass along your suggestion, and maybe it will happen. Thanks for mentioning it.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jerry S.
post Nov 9 2011, 01:27 PM
Post #306


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 421
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Chicago
Member No.: 10441



Thanks for the quick response TX. As I indicated, this "problem" is not a big deal. If you look at my reviews for my fall (Oct/Nov) trip and my summer (Jul-Sep) trip, the order of the reviews as listed makes it look like I was all over the place zig-zagging and going back and forth. If it canbe fixed without too much trouble, fine. If not, no problem.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Skid Row Joe
post Jan 11 2012, 02:56 PM
Post #307


Newbie
*

Group: Moderated
Posts: 2
Joined: 10-August 09
Member No.: 35669



I have stayed in a commercial RV park that is not listed in the city and state that it exists. Is this because the RV park owner or manager needs to initiate the RV park for reviewing in the first place? I cannot find a way to review this RV park I have now stayed at twice in one year.

Forgive me if this is covered in FAQs, but I'm not finding it.

Thank you.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Texasrvers
post Jan 11 2012, 03:48 PM
Post #308


Advanced Member
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3312
Joined: 6-March 06
Member No.: 5452



When you click on "Submit Review" you will first get a screen that asks you choose the state the park is in. The next screen asks you to select a park from one of the lists below and then click on Next. The instructions then say:

If the campground is not in either list, choose "Not in List" and click NEXT to enter a new park.

This should allow you to enter a park that is not already in our database and write a review for it.

Please let us know if you have any more trouble.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Skid Row Joe
post Jan 11 2012, 05:13 PM
Post #309


Newbie
*

Group: Moderated
Posts: 2
Joined: 10-August 09
Member No.: 35669



QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Jan 11 2012, 03:48 PM) *

When you click on "Submit Review" you will first get a screen that asks you choose the state the park is in. The next screen asks you to select a park from one of the lists below and then click on Next. The instructions then say:

If the campground is not in either list, choose "Not in List" and click NEXT to enter a new park.

This should allow you to enter a park that is not already in our database and write a review for it.

Please let us know if you have any more trouble.

Texasrvers/Moderator,

Got it. Will do.

Thanks,
SRJ
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jerry S.
post Feb 21 2012, 08:40 PM
Post #310


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 421
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Chicago
Member No.: 10441



Back in November of 2011 in this thread, I asked about having the each individual reviewer's list of reviews to be shown in the same chronological order as the reviewer stayed at the parks. From the response I received, I was led to believe the problem is that reviews are posted by the date they clear the admin's review. Depending on which admin gets a review to check and how large their backlog is, the time of posting can vary by weeks during the summer crunch. I can live with that even though it makes my review list looks really strange as I explained 3 months ago.

Yesterday I sent in a review on Oasis RV Park in Amarillo because I had to wait 90 days to send in a second review of the park I had stayed at and reviewed in mid-October. Because I did not want the review to post after the last few parks (in OK and MO) I stayed in at the start of November, I listed the "stay date" as 10/31 rather than the actual stay date of 11/1. I expected the review to show up on my list as my last October review. Instead, it not only posted over a dozen spots before the last October review on my list, it actually posted before my mid-October review of Oasis RV park. That really looks goofy.

I do have one more review for the final night of that trip in Effingham, IL to write for that trip. I would like to think that review will post as the final (for now) review on my list.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Texasrvers
post Feb 21 2012, 11:54 PM
Post #311


Advanced Member
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3312
Joined: 6-March 06
Member No.: 5452



OK, youíve got me on this one. When I replied to your Nov. 2011 post I could see that your reviews were not listed in the order in which you stayed at the parks, and I agreed with you that in my opinion they should be. Since they werenít in chronological order I said I ASSUMED that they must be in the posting order. However, with what you have reported now that does not seem to be the case either. And I agree with you again. If your last review was dated 10/31/2011, it should have been listed after all the other reviews that were written earlier in that month. I have no idea why it wasnít, but I am not going to assume anymore that it was for one reason or another. I do know that I cannot fix it because it is still way above my pay grade. Maybe the webmaster can eventually find some time to fix it.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jerry S.
post Feb 22 2012, 10:51 PM
Post #312


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 421
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Chicago
Member No.: 10441



Hi TX,

Thanks for the quick response. Your reasoning back in October trying to explain why most of my summer and fall trip reviews were all over the place chronologically made sense to me. This one, however, has no rhyme or reason. Why would a review with a stay date of 10/31 and submitted 3 months after all the other Oct/Nov reviews be placed before over a dozen other October reviews? Additionally, the fact that it was placed just before the first review of Oasis is just too weird to be a coincidence. At the very least, it would be nice if the second Oasis review (the one which mentions being submitted 2/12) could be moved to just before the Nov. reviews.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
HappiestCamper
post Feb 23 2012, 07:40 AM
Post #313


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 335
Joined: 9-August 07
From: Mount Pleasant, SC
Member No.: 15651



<disclaimer> I am not affiliated with this web site in any capacity more than a contributor to the forums and submitting my own personal reviews. I do have some experience with web sites and the back end databases they use</disclaimer>

While doing the review the date of stay does include the day of the month, it appears that it is only sorting by month and year when displaying reviews. Note that they do not show a day in a review, only the month and year. It may even be possible that the day is not being saved to the database, if so, then it would be impossible to sort in true chronological order. If, however, the entire date is being saved, then the query could be changed for review display to include the day as well.

Again, read disclaimer at the top - these are only my opinions, and do not reflect the views of this web site - and in fact may not reflect the truth.


--------------------
Me ('62), DW ('61), DS ('97), DS ('99), DD ('03)
2003 Yukon XL 2500 8.1L 4.10 axle
2010 Dutchmen 28G-GS

IPB Image

CG's we've been to - http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?ie=UTF8&....811523&z=7
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dalsgal
post Feb 23 2012, 09:13 AM
Post #314


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 323
Joined: 2-July 07
From: Texas
Member No.: 14080



I hate to ask what, to many of you, may seem to be obvious but....what difference does it make what the order is?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Texasrvers
post Feb 23 2012, 11:50 AM
Post #315


Advanced Member
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3312
Joined: 6-March 06
Member No.: 5452



QUOTE(dalsgal @ Feb 23 2012, 09:13 AM) *

I hate to ask what, to many of you, may seem to be obvious but....what difference does it make what the order is?


The best way I can explain it is that we are just wired that way--it is in our genes. Remember the TV show "Monk" and how he had to have everything just so. I'm not anywhere near that bad (I hope), but if things are not in a certain order, then they are not just right and it bothers us. A place for everything and everything in its place. Then there are those poor souls that order does not matter, and the result is we drive each other crazy. Try that combination in a marriage!!!! But ours has lasted 43 years so I guess we have been able to work things out--as long as we do it my way. :-)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

26 Pages V « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version
RVParkReviews.com