RV Park Reviews

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Complete Lies In A Review, Untrue Reviews
WVA3185
post Oct 1 2012, 03:38 PM
Post #16


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 6-May 05
Member No.: 2840



QUOTE(kcmoedoe @ Sep 30 2012, 06:07 PM) *

A good example of why some parks would want a database of questionable customers is the guy who just reviewed the Grand Junction Colorado KOA. Apparently he is the guy who posted a thread on the RV.net forums about how he would never give more than a 3 to a park that has wifi that doesn't meet his expectations. His review of the park even said the wifi worked, just not to his satisfaction. Got to admit it is people like this that would make such a list attractive to a business owner.


That review has sure raised a few hackles on RV.NET.... laugh.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ClaireOKC
post Oct 16 2012, 06:43 AM
Post #17


Newbie
*

Group: Moderated
Posts: 2
Joined: 5-August 11
From: Oklahoma
Member No.: 61334



I'm a newbie here and rely almost exclusively on this site for help in selecting RV Parks to stay - and sometimes this is the only source I use. I have often read negative or bad reviews on a park, and stayed there anyway - just recently did that with one park. Read the other reviews and to be honest what I was most concerned about with the park was that we would have privacy if we wanted it (not having to enter into park activities, etc.,). We did, and the problem the bad reviewer had never appear for us or our friends who were there. My feelings are that if you don't make the RV park owner aware of problem/dissatisfaction, you really can't make the bad review (which is what I suspect in my case). IOW, the customer was miffed about something and instead of taking it to owner, decided to make bad review. As owner of 3 companies, I prefer my customers to come to me first with problem, so I can make it right - most RV owners are same way. Just from a customer's point of view.

QUOTE(zavsgran @ Sep 28 2012, 04:17 PM) *

What if a guest reviews your park with a bunch of complete lies, how are we to defend ourselves, especially when these lies are slanderous & defaming? sad.gif

I would love to start a website that reviews guests, I wonder how they would like to be slandered & defamed.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RLM
post Oct 16 2012, 01:28 PM
Post #18


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1024
Joined: 24-August 06
From: Texas
Member No.: 8584



QUOTE(ClaireOKC @ Oct 16 2012, 07:43 AM) *

I'm a newbie here and rely almost exclusively on this site for help in selecting RV Parks to stay - and sometimes this is the only source I use.

As owner of 3 companies, I prefer my customers to come to me first with problem, so I can make it right - most RV owners are same way. Just from a customer's point of view.


First, welcome to the forum. You have a good point.

I personally discount any review that is a rant about an incident at a CG. Human nature being what it is, I figure that they didn't much care about the review, but just wanted to vent. I do factor in a review were the individual has made negative comments but has done it in a tactful, fact based manner where there is a legitimate concern for letting others know that there might be a problem.

I suspect that most RVers, to include those who post reviews, do make an initial attempt to work with the CG staff to solve issues. I've been RVing for a long time and haven't had many problems, but one thing I have observed is that "staff" is not necessarily the management nor do they have that type authority. It is incumbent upon the owner, as you have done with your companies, to make themselves available as the ultimate source for problem resolution. If that doesn't happen then getting a bad review might be the result.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
puddleduck
post Oct 20 2012, 11:17 AM
Post #19


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 15-February 10
Member No.: 40335



The original post on this thread was written by a park owner who felt the review on her park was malicious and felt she should have some method of recourse.
As a park owner I can relate to her frustrations
One of the replies indicated that as she got more good reviews it would be apparent that the one bad one was undeserved.
I have had 8000 reservations in the last four years and have had 3 reviews in that time. At that rate it could take three to four years to recover from a bad review.
Another reply indicated that all reviewers tried to sort out their problems with management first.
Although I have never had what I would call a bad review I have had reviews with negatives included. Never, have the reviewers discussed these things with me or my staff, and my staff all have the authority to resolve any problem to the customers satisfaction.
I do believe that the administrators of this site are responsive to fake reviews and I thank them for that, however I have been approached by people offering good reviews for reduced rates and wonder just how prevelant that is.
All in all I feel this is an informative site and I use it when I travel also but I would certainly not use it as my only basis to choose a park.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NYDutch
post Oct 20 2012, 12:15 PM
Post #20


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 214
Joined: 31-July 09
Member No.: 35147



We stayed at one park that prominently includes on their amenities and rules sheet; "If you are dissatisfied with any part of your stay with us, please give us the opportunity to make it right. Except the weather, we don't have any control over that. If you are pleased with your stay, please let your fellow RV'ers know about us at RVParkReviews.com."

I suppose that smacks a bit of suggesting we only post the good stuff, but it also reminds us to make the effort to have an issue corrected before complaining about it publicly. Some issues of course are plainly obvious, such as poorly maintained buildings, and either the park management doesn't care, or they don't have the resources to fix them. Other issues, such as a broken power outlet, may not be noticed by management unless it's brought to their attention. In either event, letting the park management know of our concerns is to our benefit, even if it isn't something that can be corrected on the spot.


--------------------
Dutch
Somewhere in the US or Canada
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
campergal
post Nov 2 2012, 01:28 PM
Post #21


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 19-September 07
Member No.: 16795



QUOTE(kcmoedoe @ Sep 29 2012, 06:59 PM) *

While a review-type website would surely be inappropriate, be aware that many businesses keep a database of troublesome customers. Walmart, Home Depot and similar big box stores can and will keep records of returns, and when you have too high a percentage, just cut you off. Many hotel chains keep a database of guests who damage property, and refuse them service. I wouldn't be surprised if someday KOA had a similar database tying all the customer records from the different parks together.


The program we use allows us to make notes on campers and often, if a camper leaves and there is a big mess on their site, I will make a note, or a violation, on their record. That way, the next time they call to book in I have the red flag and can deal with it appropriately at that time.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tbax46
post Nov 27 2012, 04:19 PM
Post #22


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 11-June 04
Member No.: 657



Like most have said: read other reviews . I also look at what they used to downgrade. If it's just the fact that their puppy got stickers in his coat or something like that, I take it with a grain of salt. If they don't like something that doesn't concern me, I go ahead and use the park. Most time these reviews will be preceeded or followed by other people who loved the place.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dodge guy
post Jan 27 2013, 07:36 PM
Post #23


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 13-May 07
From: Chicago Northwest Suburbs
Member No.: 12626



This is why I think adding a pic or 2 to a review would be great! or maybe be able to link the pic to a gallery here on the site. I think it would be very beneficial.

You have to know how to read between the lines. and I have seen a bunch of questionable reviews that I blow off as a guest/customer that will just never be happy!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Alessandro
post Apr 30 2013, 04:20 PM
Post #24


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 10-November 08
Member No.: 27397



QUOTE(Wink @ Sep 28 2012, 03:54 PM) *

I just look at other reviews a person has and the other reviews on the park they are talking about.
You get one bad one and the rest good you kind of know. rolleyes.gif

I think I understand what you mean. The others react that one should read the other posts of a camping, but one should read the posts of the person's other posts. My idea is, that if the other posts are " normal" reactions, this one bad assertion could be true. If this person posts seldom, or has only bad reviews, one should ignore his reviews. So, judge a camping not only on reviews, but judge the review itself, too.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version
RVParkReviews.com