RV Park Reviews

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

26 Pages V « < 23 24 25 26 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Changes To Review Submittals, Everybody please read
jamarynn1
post Jun 22 2013, 07:43 PM
Post #361


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 175
Joined: 7-July 10
From: Central Florida
Member No.: 45805



I wish the OP would post his review so we can see it, but apparently he must have some reason for not doing so. I once had a review appear and then disappear. I tried to post again and got the message that I couldn't review the park again until a certain amount of time had passed, so obviously it HAD been there. I contacted a moderator, who couldn't find any trace of my original post. I have posted very uncomplimentary reviews and haven't had one rejected yet, as far as I know. This one was somewhat uncomplimentary but downright nice compared to some of the other ones for that park. At least I didn't call the owners Nazis. Things happen. We pull up our big girl (or boy) undies and we move on. I suggest the OP either post his review so it can be discussed or move on.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
docj
post Jun 22 2013, 09:48 PM
Post #362


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 578
Joined: 4-July 10
Member No.: 45503



Admins aren't supposed to defer reviews just because they are more negative than other reviews of the same CG. Sometimes we may question why a reviewer speaks so highly of a CG only to give it a "2" or a "3". But some reviewers are hard graders and may like a park, but on an absolute scale only rate it as a "6", for example.

All that is asked of reviewers is that they try to rate a park using criteria that the park has some reasonable control over. I've seen reviews that criticize CG's because "it rained the whole time we were here", because "the wind never stopped blowing", or because "the power went out due to the wind." In fact, reviews aren't usually deferred for such unfairness unless the reviewer goes "over the top" about the issue. laugh.gif


--------------------
Joel Weiss
2000 Beaver Patriot Thunder--Cat C12
2014 Honda CR-V EX-L toad
WiFi Ranger Ambassador
RVParkReviews.com Administrator
Share our adventures at: Weiss Travels
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JDOLLEN
post Jun 23 2013, 08:45 AM
Post #363


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 17-September 07
From: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Member No.: 16768



QUOTE(jamarynn1 @ Jun 22 2013, 06:43 PM) *

I wish the OP would post his review so we can see it, but apparently he must have some reason for not doing so. I once had a review appear and then disappear. I tried to post again and got the message that I couldn't review the park again until a certain amount of time had passed, so obviously it HAD been there. I contacted a moderator, who couldn't find any trace of my original post. I have posted very uncomplimentary reviews and haven't had one rejected yet, as far as I know. This one was somewhat uncomplimentary but downright nice compared to some of the other ones for that park. At least I didn't call the owners Nazis. Things happen. We pull up our big girl (or boy) undies and we move on. I suggest the OP either post his review so it can be discussed or move on.


I believe the review has been posted. If it is the one in question, it is not terribly negative. The writer has listed items that fell short of what he/she expected. Reading between the lines, and I'm only guessing, I suspect the issue may have been something about the opinions of other folks that left earlier reviews.

I happened to have been guilty of the same offense. I stayed at a park that had a lot of reviews with a lot of higher numbers. Instead of "reading" the reviews, I jumped to the conclusion that this would be a great park to stay at. In my opinion, it was a terrible park. But most of the negatives had been listed by previous posters and had I read them, probably would have passed on the park.

My first attempt to rate the park listed the negatives but also included a blast at other posters for giving the place such good reviews. It never got published. I resent a "watered down" version that did get published. Obviously, I was trying to blame others for my lack of due diligence. Do your homework and you should rarely be disappointed.

Darrell
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dgjg
post Jul 8 2013, 08:30 PM
Post #364


Newbie
*

Group: Moderated
Posts: 3
Joined: 24-June 13
Member No.: 79934



QUOTE(Webmaster @ Jul 4 2006, 10:18 AM) *

We have found it necessary to add some more security to the website when it comes to approving reviews. All members will now have to submit a minimum of three (3) different campgrounds before any of their reviews will be posted on the website. If you have not seen a recent review you submitted posted on the website that is because it is in a holding queue until the three review quota has been met and then they will automatically transfer to the approval queue and will then be posted. Any member that has already posted three or more will see no change. Sorry we have to do this but some campground owner's/employees think they don't have to follow the rules of this website and continue to try to post great reviews about their campground. The "great" campgrounds will never have to do that as they will always receive positive reviews from their customers. smile.gif We have caught several and will continue to do so to try to keep this website as it was intended.

dry.gif I have met the quota but why have only my positive reviews shown up but none of my negative ones ? We travel a lot and have come across some bad parks that were rated good on this site and it makes me wonder ?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Texasrvers
post Jul 8 2013, 10:24 PM
Post #365


Advanced Member
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3319
Joined: 6-March 06
Member No.: 5452



QUOTE(dgjg @ Jul 8 2013, 09:30 PM) *

dry.gif I have met the quota but why have only my positive reviews shown up but none of my negative ones ? We travel a lot and have come across some bad parks that were rated good on this site and it makes me wonder ?


I cannot find any reviews submitted under the username dgjg. Did you submit them under a different name? If you will use our personal message system to send me your other username and the names of the parks that you reviewed that do have a review posted, I will be glad to look into it.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
docj
post Jul 8 2013, 10:42 PM
Post #366


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 578
Joined: 4-July 10
Member No.: 45503



QUOTE(dgjg @ Jul 8 2013, 10:30 PM) *

dry.gif I have met the quota but why have only my positive reviews shown up but none of my negative ones ? We travel a lot and have come across some bad parks that were rated good on this site and it makes me wonder ?


It is very rare for a review not to be published without the reviewer being given a chance to revise it. Possibly you have overlooked emails from this website asking you to revise some of your reviews. If a writer is asked to revise a review and doesn't respond, that review will never be published.


--------------------
Joel Weiss
2000 Beaver Patriot Thunder--Cat C12
2014 Honda CR-V EX-L toad
WiFi Ranger Ambassador
RVParkReviews.com Administrator
Share our adventures at: Weiss Travels
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dgjg
post Jul 11 2013, 05:52 PM
Post #367


Newbie
*

Group: Moderated
Posts: 3
Joined: 24-June 13
Member No.: 79934



QUOTE(docj @ Jul 8 2013, 11:42 PM) *

It is very rare for a review not to be published without the reviewer being given a chance to revise it. Possibly you have overlooked emails from this website asking you to revise some of your reviews. If a writer is asked to revise a review and doesn't respond, that review will never be published.

No, did not receive any emails asking me to revise.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dgjg
post Jul 11 2013, 06:15 PM
Post #368


Newbie
*

Group: Moderated
Posts: 3
Joined: 24-June 13
Member No.: 79934



QUOTE(dgjg @ Jul 11 2013, 06:52 PM) *

No, did not receive any emails asking me to revise.

I am so sorry ! I take it back I did receive an email, I checked the wrong email the first time. I apologize for the first response and have resubmitted my reviews. Thank you for the opportunity to fix my review.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Puppie96
post Aug 1 2013, 08:55 PM
Post #369


Newbie
*

Group: Moderated
Posts: 2
Joined: 1-August 13
Member No.: 81457



This is somewhat frustrating. I'm a newbie both to RV-ing and to this forum. I finally became a member and really struggled this morning to post my first 2 park reviews using my iPad (also a newbie to that) while using my husband's phone as a modem. We have a long trip in front of us. My first try fell into the abyss when we stopped at a point of interest in mid-review. I tried to continue but it didn't work so I had to do it all over. I will have to find time to post another because I do think I had some useful input about both parks.

I'm definitely not a park owner.

Oh, well.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Texasrvers
post Aug 2 2013, 12:32 AM
Post #370


Advanced Member
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3319
Joined: 6-March 06
Member No.: 5452



I'm sorry you are having trouble getting your reviews posted. I do not use an iPad to post reviews so I cannot offer any suggestions, but maybe one of our other members can help you.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RLM
post Aug 2 2013, 06:24 AM
Post #371


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 856
Joined: 24-August 06
From: Texas
Member No.: 8584



Miniturized technology is a wonderful thing - most of the time. Mice sized QWERTY keyboards, the extra steps it takes to get proper punctuation and capitalization, and using fat fingers to hit small radio buttons is more trouble than it's worth. I prefer to do a review using my laptop in a word doc then save it and submit later using copy and paste when I am not occupied with something else. That also provides the luxury of spell check. I would rather take the time to get capitalization, punctuation, and spelling right than to have it returned for corrections.

Occasionally, I will just make notes on a piece of paper and then do the review later. I've done enough to remember what normally goes into one. But then there is the 18th century version of your review electronically "falling into abysses." That's when I can't find the piece of paper that I wrote the review on. smile.gif

Welcome to the forum.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Puppie96
post Aug 2 2013, 05:59 PM
Post #372


Newbie
*

Group: Moderated
Posts: 2
Joined: 1-August 13
Member No.: 81457



QUOTE(RLM @ Aug 2 2013, 07:24 AM) *

Miniturized technology is a wonderful thing - most of the time. Mice sized QWERTY keyboards, the extra steps it takes to get proper punctuation and capitalization, and using fat fingers to hit small radio buttons is more trouble than it's worth. I prefer to do a review using my laptop in a word doc then save it and submit later using copy and paste when I am not occupied with something else. That also provides the luxury of spell check. I would rather take the time to get capitalization, punctuation, and spelling right than to have it returned for corrections.

Occasionally, I will just make notes on a piece of paper and then do the review later. I've done enough to remember what normally goes into one. But then there is the 18th century version of your review electronically "falling into abysses." That's when I can't find the piece of paper that I wrote the review on. smile.gif

Welcome to the forum.


Doing much better today. My first 2 reviews were up there even though I only had 2. I've done a couple more today. Something to do while riding across the desert.

Beautiful day today though. In the shade the temp's about perfect.

Thanks for the welcome.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
David & Carol
post Aug 25 2013, 07:13 AM
Post #373


Newbie
*

Group: Moderated
Posts: 2
Joined: 18-August 13
Member No.: 82134



I joined RV Park Review last Sunday. I have been using this site to find Parks to stay at for over one year, and it is very helpful. I posted my first review on Monday, and it has not been posted on the site. My account does not show any reviews, so when I went to repost the review, it said I had already reviewed this park.

What happened, I want to help people too?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dalsgal
post Aug 25 2013, 08:30 AM
Post #374


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 323
Joined: 2-July 07
From: Texas
Member No.: 14080



David & Carol....welcome to the forum. According to the rules of this site you must post 3 reviews before you get posted. Post a couple more and I'm sure you will see yours. Also, the admins have to check each review that is written before it is posted and this is definitely the super busy time of their year.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
David & Carol
post Aug 25 2013, 11:03 AM
Post #375


Newbie
*

Group: Moderated
Posts: 2
Joined: 18-August 13
Member No.: 82134



QUOTE(dalsgal @ Aug 25 2013, 09:30 AM) *

David & Carol....welcome to the forum. According to the rules of this site you must post 3 reviews before you get posted. Post a couple more and I'm sure you will see yours. Also, the admins have to check each review that is written before it is posted and this is definitely the super busy time of their year.

Thank You, I just submitted two others.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

26 Pages V « < 23 24 25 26 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version
RVParkReviews.com