RV Park Reviews

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Reviewer Error
Jerry S
post Jun 2 2012, 12:13 PM
Post #1


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 429
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Chicago
Member No.: 10441



A recent review of Bend/Sisters Garden RV Park in Bend, OR, gave the park a rating of 2. The review bgins with the words "Great park" and makes several other positive comments. Since there is nothing negative in this short review, I am assuming the 2 rating is an error. Is there any way for the reviewer or admin to correct this if it is indeed an error?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fpullanosr
post Jun 2 2012, 02:14 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 27-April 10
Member No.: 42329



QUOTE(Jerry S. @ Jun 2 2012, 02:13 PM) *

A recent review of Bend/Sisters Garden RV Park in Bend, OR, gave the park a rating of 2. The review bgins with the words "Great park" and makes several other positive comments. Since there is nothing negative in this short review, I am assuming the 2 rating is an error. Is there any way for the reviewer or admin to correct this if it is indeed an error?



The best why to accurately report and fix the errorwould be for someone to go visit the park and then write a report.

Since you have an interest in that park, you might be the one who wants to do it.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NYDutch
post Jun 2 2012, 05:28 PM
Post #3


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 200
Joined: 31-July 09
Member No.: 35147



QUOTE(fpullanosr @ Jun 2 2012, 04:14 PM) *

The best why to accurately report and fix the errorwould be for someone to go visit the park and then write a report.

Since you have an interest in that park, you might be the one who wants to do it.

That won't fix the existing good review with the bad rating. Either the original reviewer needs to request a fix, or an editor needs to make an arbitrary correction, but it's obvious that the low rating was not the reviewer's intent.


--------------------
Dutch
Somewhere in the US or Canada
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Texasrvers
post Jun 2 2012, 06:14 PM
Post #4


Advanced Member
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3657
Joined: 6-March 06
Member No.: 5452



QUOTE(Dutch_12078 @ Jun 2 2012, 06:28 PM) *

That won't fix the existing good review with the bad rating. Either the original reviewer needs to request a fix, or an editor needs to make an arbitrary correction, but it's obvious that the low rating was not the reviewer's intent.


The original reviewer needs to click on "Contact Us" (found at the bottom of each page) and report their error. I am not sure an admin will make an "arbitrary correction" since that really caused a firestorm the last time that happened even though that situation was very similar to this one.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
John Blue
post Jun 2 2012, 08:44 PM
Post #5


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2174
Joined: 9-November 03
From: Brandon, FL.
Member No.: 214



Some weeks ago found two reviews that come in at the same time from the same person. Each review was a great report on the park. No problems were noted in the reviews. Person rated one park a 1 and the other a 10. Now, what happen here? This was persons first two reviews.

This may be the same case again, how do we know? As you write reviews you get better overtime.


--------------------
John
Brandon, Fl.
FMCA F-248693
Foretravel MH
Honda CRV tow
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NYDutch
post Jun 2 2012, 08:47 PM
Post #6


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 200
Joined: 31-July 09
Member No.: 35147



QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Jun 2 2012, 08:14 PM) *

The original reviewer needs to click on "Contact Us" (found at the bottom of each page) and report their error. I am not sure an admin will make an "arbitrary correction" since that really caused a firestorm the last time that happened even though that situation was very similar to this one.

Thanks, that does make sense. Is a reviewer ever contacted to request a clarification?


--------------------
Dutch
Somewhere in the US or Canada
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Texasrvers
post Jun 2 2012, 10:20 PM
Post #7


Advanced Member
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3657
Joined: 6-March 06
Member No.: 5452



QUOTE(Dutch_12078 @ Jun 2 2012, 09:47 PM) *

Is a reviewer ever contacted to request a clarification?


A reviewer can be contacted and asked if there is a mistake. Whether this is done or not is up to the admin who works the review.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NYDutch
post Jun 3 2012, 07:18 AM
Post #8


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 200
Joined: 31-July 09
Member No.: 35147



QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Jun 3 2012, 12:20 AM) *

A reviewer can be contacted and asked if there is a mistake. Whether this is done or not is up to the admin who works the review.

Ahh... Ok, thanks for clearing that up.


--------------------
Dutch
Somewhere in the US or Canada
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
John Blue
post Jun 3 2012, 12:13 PM
Post #9


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2174
Joined: 9-November 03
From: Brandon, FL.
Member No.: 214



Jerry S,

OK, we have the correct answer back from person who wrote the review. The review should have been a nine. The updates are in place, problem over. smile.gif


--------------------
John
Brandon, Fl.
FMCA F-248693
Foretravel MH
Honda CRV tow
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
B. Kidd
post Jun 4 2012, 02:55 PM
Post #10


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 17-April 11
From: Nevada
Member No.: 55883



QUOTE(Jerry S. @ Jun 2 2012, 11:13 AM) *

A recent review of Bend/Sisters Garden RV Park in Bend, OR, gave the park a rating of 2. The review bgins with the words "Great park" and makes several other positive comments. Since there is nothing negative in this short review, I am assuming the 2 rating is an error. Is there any way for the reviewer or admin to correct this if it is indeed an error?



Whenever I see a good written review with a low number rating, it tells me that some people need to stay off the computer after 'happy hour' biggrin.gif .
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NYDutch
post Jun 4 2012, 08:41 PM
Post #11


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 200
Joined: 31-July 09
Member No.: 35147



QUOTE(John Blue @ Jun 3 2012, 02:13 PM) *

Jerry S,

OK, we have the correct answer back from person who wrote the review. The review should have been a nine. The updates are in place, problem over. smile.gif

Thanks for the update, John...


--------------------
Dutch
Somewhere in the US or Canada
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jerry S
post Jun 4 2012, 10:43 PM
Post #12


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 429
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Chicago
Member No.: 10441



John,

Thanks for getting this error corrected.

I'm really surprised by how many posts this topic generated. Maybe some of us will be a little more careful when giving the rating number in our reviews. As I said in a recent post in another thread: "To error is human, what's my excuse."

From my experience, it is better to point out problems like this in the forum rather than using the "Contact Us" option. I recently tried that option when I saw a review posted under the wrong RV park. Because the initial admin working the problem did not know the area in which the park was loacated, it took several e-mails back and forth before they got it right. Plus, as noted above, it may make people more aware of this type of error and be more careful with future reviews.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
John Blue
post Jun 18 2012, 02:17 PM
Post #13


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2174
Joined: 9-November 03
From: Brandon, FL.
Member No.: 214



Jerry S.

On the "Contact Us" route. This will route a problem into the website. We have admins worked in the USA and Canada that can help find the right answer. We try hard to stay on top of all problems. Endless hours per week are spent in repair work due to wrong information on campgrounds. rolleyes.gif


--------------------
John
Brandon, Fl.
FMCA F-248693
Foretravel MH
Honda CRV tow
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Florida Native
post Jun 19 2012, 07:10 AM
Post #14


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1080
Joined: 2-November 05
Member No.: 4762



I might point out that this is a free site and the moderators are volunteers who do all of this for free. We can not expect them to be perfect and it is still up to the reader to read many reviews and make their own judgements.


--------------------
Lindsay Richards
http://www.linandnancy.com
Formerly Lindsay Richards
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version
RVParkReviews.com