RV Park Reviews

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> No Heat Coming From My Furnace
Ree
post Oct 6 2010, 02:52 PM
Post #1


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 4-September 10
Member No.: 49551



I have been trying to figure out why my furnace is not working on my class A. I have a suburban furnace. The AC works fine, but when I switch it to "furnace" it just blows out cold air. Does anyone have any idea where I can look for a problem, or what I can do? Thanks!! My propane is shut off but my electric is connected!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Denali
post Oct 6 2010, 03:42 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1008
Joined: 11-January 05
From: Fulltime traveler
Member No.: 2163



QUOTE(Ree @ Oct 6 2010, 01:52 PM) *

I have been trying to figure out why my furnace is not working on my class A. I have a suburban furnace. The AC works fine, but when I switch it to "furnace" it just blows out cold air. Does anyone have any idea where I can look for a problem, or what I can do? Thanks!! My propane is shut off but my electric is connected!
I guess this is a dumb question, but doesn't your furnace run on propane? How could it work with the propane shut off?

If by "furnace" you mean "heat pump", then I can understand your concern.


--------------------
Dave Rudisill
Fulltimer since 2002
2004 Beaver Monterey
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ree
post Oct 6 2010, 05:13 PM
Post #3


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 4-September 10
Member No.: 49551



QUOTE(Denali @ Oct 6 2010, 05:42 PM) *

I guess this is a dumb question, but doesn't your furnace run on propane? How could it work with the propane shut off?

If by "furnace" you mean "heat pump", then I can understand your concern.

If I need the propane on for the furnace they why did the AC work with the propane off? ( I have no idea if it runs just on propane!) I will turn the propane on and try the furnace, but why would the AC work?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
FosterImposters
post Oct 6 2010, 05:57 PM
Post #4


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1116
Joined: 4-November 07
From: On the road.
Member No.: 17719



yikes...


OK, I'm curious if turning the propane on resolved the problem?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Denali
post Oct 7 2010, 11:26 AM
Post #5


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1008
Joined: 11-January 05
From: Fulltime traveler
Member No.: 2163



QUOTE(Ree @ Oct 6 2010, 04:13 PM) *

If I need the propane on for the furnace they why did the AC work with the propane off? ( I have no idea if it runs just on propane!) I will turn the propane on and try the furnace, but why would the AC work?
The AC in your RV is just like the AC in your house--it runs on electricity, not propane. The furnace runs on propane.

The two systems simply run off the same thermostat.


--------------------
Dave Rudisill
Fulltimer since 2002
2004 Beaver Monterey
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ree
post Oct 7 2010, 05:26 PM
Post #6


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 4-September 10
Member No.: 49551



QUOTE(Denali @ Oct 7 2010, 01:26 PM) *

The AC in your RV is just like the AC in your house--it runs on electricity, not propane. The furnace runs on propane.

The two systems simply run off the same thermostat.



WELL I TURNED ON THE PROPANE AND I HAVE HEAT!!! I certainly learned something today and will NOT forget that AC runs on Electricity and the Furnace needs my propane.

THANK YOU EVERYONE FOR YOUR HELP!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
HappiestCamper
post Oct 8 2010, 07:56 AM
Post #7


Advanced Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 9-August 07
From: Mount Pleasant, SC
Member No.: 15651



QUOTE(Ree @ Oct 7 2010, 07:26 PM) *

WELL I TURNED ON THE PROPANE AND I HAVE HEAT!!! I certainly learned something today and will NOT forget that AC runs on Electricity and the Furnace needs my propane.

THANK YOU EVERYONE FOR YOUR HELP!


Don't forget, the furnace also needs 12 volt DC - to run the fans.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version
RVParkReviews.com