RV Park Reviews

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Washington DC Campgrounds, Looking for 3 month campground
easyrider65_01
post Mar 3 2005, 01:36 AM
Post #1


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 27-September 04
From: Here and There
Member No.: 1652



I am looking for a camp ground that is very convenient to downtown DC (or to metro-transit), is in a safe area, and allows long-term (>3 months) camping. I am going to need to be in town for a while and need someplace relatively safe but also close to downtown. Thanks to anyone that can help me.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Replies
thrashercharged
post Apr 15 2005, 09:59 PM
Post #2


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 15-April 05
Member No.: 2671



Well, I after reading the bad reviews for Duncan Family Campground, I almost kinda hate to mention it, but I KNOW they'll allow you to stay 3 months here (or forever from my observations!), and the price is much cheaper than Cherry Hill. We just stayed there for a week to visit DC, and found it decent and enjoyed our stay. (I only just found out about this site after our trip!) The camp is only about 10-15 mins away from a Metro station. They'll tell you to go to the New Carrollton station on the Orange Line (about 30 min away), but I discovered that's not the closest, and there's limited parking. I discovered that if you go North on Hwy 4 to the Suitland Parkway exit, and take Suitland Parkway W towards DC, get off on the Silver Springs Rd exit, and you'll be right at the Suitland Station on the Green line. There's a large parking garage there and plenty of parking on the top floor, even for your crewcab tow vehicle. (got to put the CB antenna down to get in the garage though).

Now, I had a decent enough stay, but I only stayed a week in the nicer transient camp area. If you're staying for 3 months, they'll probably put you back with the permenants, and that area was pretty rough. We can private email if you'll like more info - on the camp or on Metro info. I just submitted a review for this CG recently, and posted to the open roads forum about it. I'll copy my review here below:

I'll come to the defense of Duncan Family Campground in Maryland - located south of Baltimore, east of Washington DC which had previously had 2 negative comments in this thread. Previous comments were: Quote: "duncan family campground (maryland) camp at your risk!" and "Duncan Family Campground in Md. gives the word "family" a bad name. The Place was terrible!"

I just stayed there with my wife and 3 kids for a week the first week of April 2005 to visit DC, and we enjoyed it. Granted, the place wasn't the absolute best CG we've ever stayed at, but compared to some of the stories here it was decent. Positives - friendly staff, store was open reasonable hours, clean bathrooms, plenty of hot water, decent rates ($35), don't know about the pool since it was too early in the year, small putt putt golf range there looked decent. 4 Negatives - the site was a bit small and too close to your neighbor, would have like more space but I've seen worse. Cable hookup was dead. Gravel roads need more gravel - lots of mud puddles. Lots of permenant campers, and their sites weren't in the best shape, but again I've seen worse. The best sites (approx 6-10) seemed reserved for transients, and these were the ones closest to the road (uglier permenants were more deep in the CG, hiding them from view of the road). These sites weren't too bad, but some of the permenant sites seemed to be just mud pits. Luckily, the place wasn't crowded (only about 3-4 transients the week we were there) so we got one of the better transient sites. If we had to be stuck with the permenants, our opinion would probably differ!

Now - I've nothing against permenants, especially seasonals, but when a CG becomes essentially a trailer park for people who can't afford real trailer homes and live in a TT that has dry rotted tires that hasn't seen a road in years, and has junk piling around it in the mud, somehow having to camp next to that just dampens the vacation spirit.

To sum it up, I'd stay at this place again, but I'd make sure I got one of the nicer transient sites away from the permenants. If they'd put more gravel down and cleaned up the mud holes and had the permenants tidy up their sites, I think this place could be first rate.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
auslanderrasque
post Jan 31 2010, 10:41 PM
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Moderated
Posts: 1
Joined: 31-January 10
Member No.: 40034



QUOTE(thrashercharged @ Apr 15 2005, 10:59 PM) *


Now - I've nothing against permenants, especially seasonals, but when a CG becomes essentially a trailer park for people who can't afford real trailer homes and live in a TT that has dry rotted tires that hasn't seen a road in years, and has junk piling around it in the mud, somehow having to camp next to that just dampens the vacation spirit.




I have read your comments and agree that Duncan's Family Campground is a horrible place to visit for any length of time.

However, I would like you to know that, unlike I'm assuming, most other RV parks, the permanents who live here are NOT poor, nor is it because they can't afford a home. Most of the people are here because they have government contracts (or other contracts) in the surrounding area. There are quite a few people here who have security clearances so high that this is all I'm allowed to say on the subject.

Most of the people who live here have home(s), yes I said HOME(S) - plural - in other states and do NOT wish to set up permanent residence in this god forsaken, badly run, joke of a state.

There was one guy, I do admit, that had an old jalopy that was rusty and worn, however, if you had taken just a second to talk to him, you would find out that he was spearheading a project most of us couldn't even fathom. If you spent just a minute with him, you would see that he was eccentric and proud of his RV (and the beat-up old beamer) that had been with him so many years.

I am sorry that you had such a poor experience among all the people who secretly run your world. Let's just say, if I told you what they did for a living, the men in black would show up at my door. And, I'm sorry you had to stay with all these destitute people who own homes all over the country. We're here because we're the best at what we do.

The only reason we stay at DFCG, is because overall it's cheaper, and when you have to make mortgage payments as well as pay rent, it's a good idea to save some money when you can.

Have a nice day in your little world, I'll be saving it tomorrow.....
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version
RVParkReviews.com