Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Who Reads Every New Review?
RV Park Reviews Campground Discussion Forum > RV Park and Campground Discussions > RV Park Discussions
Pages: 1, 2
Webmaster
I am just curious as to how many people read every NEW review that's posted on the site? And I'm trying out the poll feature of the forums.
Beastdriver
Webmaster:

I used to try to read all the posts, but some of them have gotten so inane and so personal that I find myself, more and more, hitting the"clear all posts" button and moving on unless something really catches my eye. Perhaps, if folks were counseled to use the site in a more meaningful way (whatever that means), it would minimize the large number of posts that many of us are skiping over. Thanks for asking!
bigredoes
I use the park reviews in the following manner. If I am going to a specific area I check the reviews for those campgrounds in that area. I never just read the reviews at random.
jmo
Ditto what bigredoes smile.gif

jmo
riggarob
Whatever comes to my inbox. I'm an equal opportunity listener. cool.gif
Big Ben
As far as campground review, I read the ones that pertain to the area that I plan on visiting. Occasional will look up a park for some one else.
As far as the forums, when there is some thing I might be able to answer or learn from I will follow it. Like Beastdriver I skip the personal stuff.
Just my opinion but that stuff should be on private mail. rolleyes.gif
COWolfPack
When I first log on I will normally look over the list of recently submitted reviews and pick ones out to read that catch my eye. However, since I am not on everyday I am sure to miss several new ones. Other than that I just look at areas I am planning on going and reading reviews there.
Texasrvers
I would like to read every one, but I just don't have time, so I watch for those that are in areas I think we will be visiting sometime soon and read them. Also if I see a really low rating I might read it just out of curiosity, and I usually try to read all the ones that are for a Texas park/campground just because we're from there.
Jerry S.
In addition to checking areas I plan to travel to this year, I also read the reviews of parks I have been to in the past. Part memory lane, part to see if the park has changed since my last visit, and part to see how the reviews compare to my experience. I find this a good way to find out if a certain park has closed, changed ownership, improved its' facilities, etc. It is a much more current resource than the newest Woodalls or Trailer's directories.
Butch
Webmaster:

Reviews: Only read the new ones that apply to: (1) campgrounds visited in the past, (2) local and distant cgs that we use regularly, (3) reviews as they pertain to an upcoming visit to a new area, (4) to compare experiences on the same cg.

Postings is different story, as I read the: "since your last visit". View all the topics, and read the postings that are of interest to myself. But must say that I do read them all most days, as they surely give one the insight of others in their opinions and thoughts. Some days the postings are very interesting as to the subject, opinions, experiences, and above all, the attitudes toward others.
RLM
Webmaster> Never. I use the Campground Search tab for specific areas to be visited.
rodman
I try to read all the new one's within my state. We travel all over it so we use it to pick places we don't know anything about. However I will read on ocassion the bad one's from all over just for a good laugh.
wprigge
I check out the new campground reviews regularly and read the ones about parks in areas that I might visit in the near future, parks that I have visited or any review that catches my eye. In the review section I think we don't need 23 postings of the same park saying basically the same, how good/ bad the park is, so I add only reviews that give new parks or different views or updated info. I think that having too many reviews about the same parks only makes for an information overload without adding usefulness, for example Myrtle Beach, SC has many campgrounds with many reviews, and this does not make it easier to decide which one is the best.

In the forum section I read most of the posts.
rbrumfield
QUOTE(Webmaster @ Mar 18 2007, 12:36 PM) *

I am just curious as to how many people read every NEW review that's posted on the site? And I'm trying out the poll feature of the forums.



I use the RSS feeds and then scan those for anything new and interesting.
BBear
I'll scan the list of new reviews on the Home page and if any catch my interest, I'll take a look at them.

And, I usually always read the new reviews of campgrounds from my state and a few other states that surround me, because that's where we do a large percentage of our camping.
denbroncs
We sort of do the same. If I've been to the park, I'll read the review - regardless of where it is. Otherwise, I only look at reviews that are in my state - or in an area that I'm traveling to.
John S.
I ususally try to read the new reviews but will read every review for every campground in an area.
Sunflyer
Ok, I admit to being a rubbernecker. rolleyes.gif I can't resist checking out any review that got really low ratings. I guess I'm curious to see if it's really a train wreck or just someone being a jerk. dry.gif

After that I use the site to find specific campgrounds in specific areas. smile.gif
George Schwall
QUOTE(Webmaster @ Mar 18 2007, 03:36 PM) *

I am just curious as to how many people read every NEW review that's posted on the site? And I'm trying out the poll feature of the forums.

[font=Courier New][size=4]Well- - - it seems to me that the normal way to use the info posted herein would be to read reviews for campgrounds in "an area of interest"- - - say perhaps where you plan to go on your NEXT big trip. Me- - - I'm checking everything out that I can in the Wisconsin, UP and Michigan areas since that is the target this summer!
Glenn Norton
biggrin.gif I scan the latest reviews to see if there any for the locations I may be camping in and then focus on each state or province to find other reviews I may have missed previously. I look for favourable reviews of rv parks that have amenities that I want in a park. Different strokes for different folks. Some RVers need WIFI while others really need that campfire atmosphere. Incidently would it be possible to include in the reviews if the RV parks actually allow campfires or if they have individual firepits or a community one? Not that I want to have a campfire, but to possibly avoid a park that has them as my wife has some severe allergies to smoke. RV Park Reviews is a great site and I appreciate all the work being done by the fine folks that keep this site going.
donnagrein
QUOTE(Webmaster @ Mar 18 2007, 12:36 PM) *

I am just curious as to how many people read every NEW review that's posted on the site? And I'm trying out the poll feature of the forums.



I read the ones from the areas that I am interested in visiting or have visited.

Donna
GaryWT
I read the new ones in my area but not all of them. I di check out some of the low rated reviews, it is interesting to see what people do not like.
popup6
I do check out the places I have been to and see if they are inline with my experience and check out the reviews for places I am planning on heading toward to see who they rate on a whole.
Jurhee
I just found this site recently and love it! Mostly I am looking at places where I have visited or plan to visit. Just too many to read them all.
Jurhee
mrhddh
I scan to see if there are reviews in my area, or of specific parks that I am interested in staying at. I don't have the time to read everything.

I also check reviews at parks that I have stayed at so that I can guage how I am reviewing a park.
ric&trac
I have been reading some since I found this site (about 6 months ago). I primarily use the site to research areas I will be traveling to, as well as reading up on some I have already visited. On top of that I periodically read random reviews, just to see what others are saying and how they do so (always looking for better ways to present my ideas and opinions). biggrin.gif
hdnelson
But I should clarify.

Yes...I read ALL the new reviews. For my state.
Jay Rutherford
I submitted a review, but it never showed up anywhere. I followed all the grammatical rules.

Why hasn't my review showed up?

Jay
John Blue
Jay,

You need three reviews before any will show up. Was that the first one?
Meanderman
I scan the new reviews almost daily to see those in my area of interest, usually two months out of our projected travel. We're full timers and rely on your site for almost every decision; we rarely stay somewhre that has not been reviewed. Your site and Wal-Mart are the best friends we have! Keep up the great work!
Tom
I absolutely love reading the low rated reviews. Some of them make me burst out laughing, while saying to myself "thank God that wasn't me!".
So when I check the home page, I skim for the low reviews first, then any others that happen to catch my eye.
shannons
QUOTE(Webmaster @ Mar 18 2007, 04:36 PM) *

I am just curious as to how many people read every NEW review that's posted on the site? And I'm trying out the poll feature of the forums.

I look at the new postings but unless it is from my area or from somewhere we might be going I don't read them all.
pianotuna
Hi,

I've started reading all the new reviews with 1/2 or 1 star. It's interesting to see how folks who are unhappy react.

It appears that the worst thing a campground owner can do is offend the camper in any way. That seems to be the #1 complaint.

Some of the complaints seem to me to be beyond the ability of the campground to control. Acts of God such as no rain to settle dust. I guess the owner's had better learn to rain dance?
Jurhee
I just read one from somebody that did not like a "motor coach resort". His rig was not a coach and he could not get in and he was mad. Gave it a 1 when everybody else had rated it a 10. In my opinion, motor coach resorts are for ---what else---motor coaches!!!

Too many people rate the parks on "emotion" rather than "facts".

I probably rate most places lower than others. I have a high end coach and am very picky. Places that were satisfactory when I had a small 5er are not satisfactory now. I will only give a 10 to places like the above mentioned motor coach resort, Outdoor Resorts (class A rigs only) and similar places. They are the top of the line. I see people give parks a 9 or 10 that I give a much lower rating.

Different kinds of places appeal to different folks.

Jurhee

QUOTE(pianotuna @ Sep 9 2007, 06:33 PM) *

Hi,

I've started reading all the new reviews with 1/2 or 1 star. It's interesting to see how folks who are unhappy react.

It appears that the worst thing a campground owner can do is offend the camper in any way. That seems to be the #1 complaint.

Some of the complaints seem to me to be beyond the ability of the campground to control. Acts of God such as no rain to settle dust. I guess the owner's had better learn to rain dance?
Testudo
QUOTE
Do you read every new review?



Not me ! (Why doesn't the poll add up to 100% ???)
Cheryl
Check your math, 6.12, 15.31, 78.57 is 100%.
TT Camper
When I am looking for a RV Site in the area, I try to find all the reviews for that campground. I am also looking for a review for the same season I plan to go. Some reviews are very outdated. Hoping more members will submit reviews on their visits. It's a very useful tool biggrin.gif
FosterImposters
----------------------------------------------------
Webmaster:
I am just curious as to how many people read every NEW review that's posted on the site? And I'm trying out the poll feature of the forums.

-----------------------------------------------------

We hit upon this site while checking out local Outdoor Resorts (Aguanga) to determine if any owners renting on the side for a better price long-term than the published rates. Have enjoyed adding our reviews and checking perceptions of others whom have stayed at the same places. Have had a hoot reading the forums! Lately, been checking to see where folks are reporting in for the winter months. Thanks for a great site! rolleyes.gif
igor2brvn
No, I do not read every new review. Only read the new ones that apply to campgrounds visited in the past, local and regional cgs that we use regularly, and reviews of parks that we plan to visit for the first time.

What does it matter if majority do not read each new review? Each and every review should be helpful to a few or many, so a review should not be rejected just because it may not be read by most, IMHO. smile.gif
Silvana
smile.gif Like almost everyone else, I read the reviews on places I may be headed too, or Where we have already stayed.
I have a suggestion for reviews. How about one for Wal Mart parking lots? Before any critisism We only stay 1 night we do not put out our awning or chairs and we shop in the store. laugh.gif
DXSMac
QUOTE(Silvana @ Jan 14 2008, 06:52 PM) *

smile.gif Like almost everyone else, I read the reviews on places I may be headed too, or Where we have already stayed.
I have a suggestion for reviews. How about one for Wal Mart parking lots? Before any critisism We only stay 1 night we do not put out our awning or chairs and we shop in the store. laugh.gif


I posted a review of a casino in Idaho that has free hookups, so I don't see any reason why you can't post a Wal-Mart review......

JJ wink.gif
Texasrvers
I think I might draw the line at reviewing Wal-Marts (or any other retail store that allows overnight RV parking). There are campgrounds (sometimes with free or even no hookups), and then there are lots that are provided for people to park their vehicles when they patronize a store or other business. While parking lots are sometimes used for overnight RV parking from time to time, they are not intended to be "campgrounds." I think reviews on this site should stick to those businesses that purposely intend to provide "sites" for camping. Otherwise we might get reviews on all sorts of places where RV's are sometimes parked including peoples' driveways. laugh.gif
Butch



The name of the web-site should answer the question as to what should and should not be "reviewed". Just my opinion........thanks.
Big Ben
Oh, come on. Review Walmarts? What do you rate them on.? Did the empty the trash cans in a timly manner, were the rest rooms clean on time? Butch is right on.
DXSMac
QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Feb 25 2008, 12:15 AM) *

I think I might draw the line at reviewing Wal-Marts (or any other retail store that allows overnight RV parking). There are campgrounds (sometimes with free or even no hookups), and then there are lots that are provided for people to park their vehicles when they patronize a store or other business. While parking lots are sometimes used for overnight RV parking from time to time, they are not intended to be "campgrounds." I think reviews on this site should stick to those businesses that purposely intend to provide "sites" for camping. Otherwise we might get reviews on all sorts of places where RV's are sometimes parked including peoples' driveways. laugh.gif


Then, can we review campgrounds that are free? I have run into free BLM campgrounds, it's all dry camping, but it's for "camping."

JJ
jperera
QUOTE(Big Ben @ Feb 25 2008, 06:27 AM) *

Oh, come on. Review Walmarts? What do you rate them on.? Did the empty the trash cans in a timly manner, were the rest rooms clean on time? Butch is right on.


There already is a place that reviews overnight parking spots. It is currently a Yahoo Group titled Overnight RV Parking. Right now, the files are uploaded every so often and you have to find the folder by state with the files in it. In March the moderator is hoping to have a website with a searchable database in it for those files. the information in those files are very complete I think. It is based on people having stayed - or not been allowed to stay there. It also includes GPS coordinates and any restrictions or other pertinent information.

I would rather keep this forum to campgrounds as it is and use the other list when I am looking for overnight spots.
Texasrvers
JJ,

Just my personal opinion, but I think free campgrounds would qualify for review here if their primary function is camping. I know some casinos provide free or low cost RV parks for their customers. Many times this is no more than a parking lot which may or may not have hookups. But it is their intent to provide a place for overnight RV parking regardless of the amenities. This is not the same thing as a Wal-Mart parking lot. I think common sense is the key here in deciding if some place is truly a "campground/RV park" or a real parking lot.

I am not that familiar with BLM campgrounds, but I think you answered your own question. Just the fact that they are called campgrounds sounds like they could be reviewed here.

Also just to clarify: when I talk about RV parks at casinos I am referring to a place that has designated sites where RVers can stay overnight or for several days. This is not the same thing as having an area where RVs can be parked short term while their owners gamble (ahem, lose their money).
poconosdj
I read the reviews of the parks in the area I plan to visit. I also try to read the reviews around the same time of year that I will be going to that area. A November review may not help me decide how that park is in the middle of July.







Why am I always putting my 2 cents in when it's only a penny for your thoughts cool.gif
Butch
Is that because your 2-cents is worth more than your thoughts ??? huh !!

Your 2-cents and thoughts are always welcome.
Big Ben
JJ, if you haven't noticed, most on here frown at staying at Walmart. Yes I'm one of them. I get the feeling you are playing devils advocate. If so Ha Ha. Personally I would allow reviews of all BLM Land east of the Mississippi River.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.