Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: What Do You Expect In A State/county/city Park?
RV Park Reviews Campground Discussion Forum > RV Park and Campground Discussions > RV Park Discussions
Pages: 1, 2
DXSMac
Earlier, there was a thread on what people expected when they came to an RV Park. I'm starting this thread specifically for our expectations on State/County/City parks.

When I read a review of a State Park, I'm getting tired of reading reviews such as..... "It didn't have WiFi or Cable, give it a 2....." or...... "Didn't have a sewer dump at each site, give it a 1." (I can't say for certain that I read these "reviews" on this site, or on the two other review sites, just know that I saw them somewhere.....) It's ok to "mention" that there is no WiFi or Cable, but don't rate a State Park down because it doesn't have it! THAT'S NOT THE POINT!

In Washington State, NONE of the State Parks (and I'm sure this is also true of City or County Parks) have cable or WiFi. And, when I visit a state park, I do not expect this to be provided. Further, in Washington State, you are LUCKY if each site has a sewer hookup. Generally, in Washington State, you get electric (30 amp, 50 if it's one of the nicer parks...) and water. The sewer is in a "common" area on your way out of the park. You are also lucky if the pads are even paved! Or Level!

When I arrive at a State Park, my expectations are that I will dry camp, but if there are "hookup" sites available, I will say, "oh wow!" and politely request one. Further, when you visit a state park, those "experiences" are for you to "experience" the great outdoors, not to have Cable or WiFi!

So, what do we expect, as minimum, at Government funded parks?

JJ blink.gif
riggarob
QUOTE(DXSMac @ Jan 27 2008, 04:37 PM) *

Earlier, there was a thread on what people expected when they came to an RV Park. I'm starting this thread specifically for our expectations on State/County/City parks.

When I read a review of a State Park, I'm getting tired of reading reviews such as..... "It didn't have WiFi or Cable, give it a 2....." or...... "Didn't have a sewer dump at each site, give it a 1." (I can't say for certain that I read these "reviews" on this site, or on the two other review sites, just know that I saw them somewhere.....) It's ok to "mention" that there is no WiFi or Cable, but don't rate a State Park down because it doesn't have it! THAT'S NOT THE POINT!

In Washington State, NONE of the State Parks (and I'm sure this is also true of City or County Parks) have cable or WiFi. And, when I visit a state park, I do not expect this to be provided. Further, in Washington State, you are LUCKY if each site has a sewer hookup. Generally, in Washington State, you get electric (30 amp, 50 if it's one of the nicer parks...) and water. The sewer is in a "common" area on your way out of the park. You are also lucky if the pads are even paved! Or Level!

When I arrive at a State Park, my expectations are that I will dry camp, but if there are "hookup" sites available, I will say, "oh wow!" and politely request one. Further, when you visit a state park, those "experiences" are for you to "experience" the great outdoors, not to have Cable or WiFi!

So, what do we expect, as minimum, at Government funded parks?

JJ blink.gif



They may be "Gov. funded", but, don't you have to pay to stay there? Ergo, I expect some amenities.
Silvana
dry.gif I don't expect any hook-ups, or extras (wi-fi)
1. The parks are usually cheaper
2. Gov. funded doesn't mean they get very much funds. They barely get enough to pay for state park employees.
3. Ever hear of leave only your foot print? We destroy are parks with all these added items. rolleyes.gif
John Blue
If we have water and power them we are happy. We only stay two to three nights in this type of park anyway. Great place to get away to see the trees and wildlife. We have spent time in parks that have no hookup's and had no problems. We carry everything in motorhome, so we need very little outside that to be happy. smile.gif
RLM
DXSMac> You mentioned that you were getting tired of reviews that downgraded the government managed C/Gs due to the lack of amenities found in commercial ones. Since there is a variety of experience on this website - some people like communing with squirrels and others like a concrete RV subdivision with maid service - I’d suggest that you’ll always have to filter opinions based on what you like.

I’d also suggest that there are remarkable differences between state, county, and city parks. It is absolutely not valid to lump them together in the poll. If one has stayed in all three on repeat occasions, then you know that there are tremendous differences based on which level of government agency manages each. It has been my experience that the higher the government agency, the lower the quality of management and service.

As an example, I have yet to RV in a county/city park that did not rate well enough for me to return to it. None were blessed with all of the amenities. But they were a value for the money, well managed, accommodated my size rig, and each said something positive and special about their community. Above all else, I enjoyed my stay. Perhaps I got lucky, but I cannot make that statement about state parks. Luck or not, there are about half of those state parks that I wouldn’t return to under any circumstance.

This is an excellent poll DXSMac, but with absolute and all due respect, the choices of WHY I use these campgrounds was a bit limited. Like most everyone else, I chose to check the “other” block.

What would be interesting is to know what the “other” reasons are from those who made a similar choice.
pianotuna
Hi,

I love community run, State, Provincial, and Federally run campgrounds. Their campsites mostly come with lots of space between sites--far more than any of the commercially run ones I've stayed in. What surprises me most is that some community ones are free. I count my blessings when that happens.
Jerry S.
I tend to agree with the general tone of RLM's reply - especially in regards to the second question (the reason why) in the poll. Like RLM, I am in the "other" category and believe you may have missed the most important reason - LOCATION. That could be further broken down into subcategories: Close to family or other personal interests, the park itself has something of interest, etc. Many state parks, for example, exist because of something of geological interest (Bruneau Dunes, ID, Palo Duro Canyon, TX, Starved Rock, IL). Additionally, many locals often use these types of parks as convenient, family fun getaways.

I'd also like to expand on the first question a bit. Using the word "expect" and some of the comments in your post implies that people show up at parks like these and, since they evidently have done no research, don't know what facilities the park has. That's why the commercial campground guides, the telephone, and sites like this exist. I know there can be circumstances when you may end up going into a park "blind", but that's why you should have, a the very least, a CG guide with you. In my experience, many public campgrounds have, at best, electricity. I can appreciate Silvana's take on this issue.
FosterImposters
-------------------------------------------------------
So, what do we expect, as minimum, at Government funded parks? JJ blink.gif
-------------------------------------------------------
Got to hand it to you dear JJ. Great point of discussion! I too had to check 'other' for reasons to stay.

Sad to note that most California county, state, federal parks are poorly appointed by today's RV resort standards. We go/stay (if we can fit a 32-footer in) just to enjoy the natural resources, or to step back in time. Good news in Calif: most of the state/federal parks have private RV parks/campgrounds nearby to accomodate 20th/21st century RV rigs.

So we generally have a choice: park in a cool Redwood forest with electriciy only, or in nearby private-park with as many bells/whistles as money can buy...and take the tow-car for day trips thru the redwoods.

There are exceptions in CA: Anza Borrego Desert State park has been adopted by educational/local groups who have pumped some monies into facilities, 50-amp service, etc.

FYI: we are so used to the basic amenities/arrested decay in California state/federal parks...were BLOWN away by the sparkling, 50-amp, level pads, new bath/shower facilities found at Utah state/federal parks. Bottom line: each state/county/city wrestles with budget issues. Federal monies won't even keep the lights on at today's prices.

Ok...I'm ranting. Sorry folks. ohmy.gif
gwbischoff
But there's that word "expect" that keeps cropping up.

What do I expect when I go to a State/National park as far as amenities go?

Nada.

Nada dang thing.

I don't even "expect" that they'll have a spot big enough to hold my 15 ton rolling apartment building. Why should I? Just because I bought an RV I should expect everybody to have everything I need?

That's like someone walking into a Chinese restaurant and expecting them to bring you prime rib. It's a restaurant. They serve food. I eat food. So how come they don't have what I want?

Well, it just ain't that kinda' place.

You want prime rib? Then go to a place that has it. But don't go into a Chinese joint and then rate them poorly because you can't get a steak.

Likewise, if you want cable and a pool and sewer, et. al. go to a place that has it. As was mentioned previously, I can't think of any National Park that I've visited that didn't have a large selection of full-hookup,parking lot-type, RV resorts nearby. If that's your thing, go for it.

We're off to Yosemite next month. We've been there before. We know we're getting a space that's just big enough to hold our rig. And that's it. No water, no electric. Just pine needles and bears. That and one of the prettiest spots on the planet. If I want the other stuff, there are places in Mariposa or any number of little towns that have hookups. Or, I'll pony up and stay at The Ahwahnee.

We're going there because that's what we want. We want Chinese food on this trip. In August we're going to Carlsbad Caverns. So in southern NM in summertime, I'll be ordering the prime rib, thank you.

And some Chile Verde.

Oh, and btw DXSMac, what word(s) finishes the subtitle to the topic?

Maybe we could have a contest to finish the phrase "You ain't getting WiFi or cable and you're lucky to have your...." biggrin.gif
DXSMac
QUOTE(RLM @ Jan 27 2008, 07:40 PM) *

I’d also suggest that there are remarkable differences between state, county, and city parks. It is absolutely not valid to lump them together in the poll. If one has stayed in all three on repeat occasions, then you know that there are tremendous differences based on which level of government agency manages each. It has been my experience that the higher the government agency, the lower the quality of management and service.

As an example, I have yet to RV in a county/city park that did not rate well enough for me to return to it. None were blessed with all of the amenities. But they were a value for the money, well managed, accommodated my size rig, and each said something positive and special about their community. Above all else, I enjoyed my stay. Perhaps I got lucky, but I cannot make that statement about state parks. Luck or not, there are about half of those state parks that I wouldn’t return to under any circumstance.




Good point! I have never stayed at City/County parks, only State parks. Guess I made an assumption that all Gov Owned parks were in the same category.

JJ
DXSMac
QUOTE(gwbischoff @ Jan 28 2008, 01:02 PM) *

Oh, and btw DXSMac, what word(s) finishes the subtitle to the topic?

Maybe we could have a contest to finish the phrase "You ain't getting WiFi or cable and you're lucky to have your...." biggrin.gif


Yeppers, the last part of my sentence got cut off.

Ok, GWBischoff, I take your challenge. I know what I WANTED to say. Let's see what people THOUGHT I was trying to say........

On the other hand..... I did read that some of the CA state parks were going to have WiFi. However, it's their "gee whizzy" parks in great locations. It's not in the interior parks.

JJ
DXSMac
QUOTE(RLM @ Jan 27 2008, 07:40 PM) *

This is an excellent poll DXSMac, but with absolute and all due respect, the choices of WHY I use these campgrounds was a bit limited. Like most everyone else, I chose to check the “other” block.

What would be interesting is to know what the “other” reasons are from those who made a similar choice.


From the higher number in the "other" category, I can see that there are other reasons than what *I* thought were good reasons to stay at a state/county park. For example, I hadn't considered the "to visit family and friends" factor.

My mom lives in a city with a very nice state park, open year round. However, I haven't tried to stay there because of the lack of public transportation from that park. I don't pull a car with me (too chicken!!!), and the location of the state park is a little far (16 miles) and involves travel on a street that is very busy for me to ride my little electric bicycle.

I don't know if you can "add to" a poll already started, if so, I'll try, but then those who already voted can't change their vote.

JJ
Big Ben
I think you were way off on your assumtions about the parks and the reasons most of us use them. Personlly I don't stay any where that dosn't have eletric and water. If it dosn't have W&E you might as well boon dock some place.
RLM wanted to know the reason. Our main reason we stay in any park is location.
If they do not have wifi we use our cell phone hook up.
wprigge
For me the major reason to stay in national parks or state/provincial parks are the nature programs they have, like a ranger guided walk or similar activities. We are never too old to learn something new!
DXSMac
QUOTE(wprigge @ Jan 29 2008, 07:52 AM) *

For me the major reason to stay in national parks or state/provincial parks are the nature programs they have, like a ranger guided walk or similar activities. We are never too old to learn something new!


Well, I can't "amend" the poll, sorry! Ok, it looks like "other" is the leading category for WHY people stay at State Parks, which translates to....... "don't make assumptions based on your point of view....." (which is what I did... SORRY!!!!)

JJ
gwbischoff
Here's my entry:

"You ain't getting WiFi or cable and you're lucky to have your...."

propane heater 'cause you'll freeze your #^!$ off in Yosemite in March with no hookups.

How's that?
RLM
gwbischoff> Rolling apartment. I like that. A local Chinese place that I frequent just started putting enchiladas on the buffet. What's with that? Maybe prime rib will be next.

My guess at finishing the statement would be….’rig level’
gwbischoff
QUOTE(RLM @ Jan 29 2008, 04:52 PM) *

gwbischoff> Rolling apartment. I like that. A local Chinese place that I frequent just started putting enchiladas on the buffet. What's with that? Maybe prime rib will be next.

My guess at finishing the statement would be….’rig level’


biggrin.gif

How else would you describe something that sleeps 8, has 4 TVs, 2 VCRs,3 radios and gets a good 8mpg?

I'm in the Property Management business here in Los Angeles, do you know what I can rent that for?!?

Chinese enchiladas? Sounds like my kinda' place. Tell me when the Prime Rib Foo Young is on the menu.
BBear
I like staying at State Parks mainly because most are rustic and don't have "seasonals" or "permanents" ruling the park.
DXSMac
QUOTE(gwbischoff @ Jan 29 2008, 10:46 AM) *

Here's my entry:

"You ain't getting WiFi or cable and you're lucky to have your...."

propane heater 'cause you'll freeze your #^!$ off in Yosemite in March with no hookups.

How's that?


That's better than what it was supposed to say!

JJ
Butch
If one is to abide by the old saying, "you get what you pay for", then the inexpensive nightly rate says volumes. We would like a near level site, large enough to accommodate the motorhome with its' opened slides, an opened awning, and a spot to park our toad. Not asking for to much...good grief !! Then if the site(s) had water & electric with a dump station on site at the Cg, we would have it all. Surely a fantasy world, especially in the great northeastern states. Most city, county, and state Cgs are old and can not accommodate any type of Rv over say, 24 feet. Most were constructed to accommodate "tenters". Newer or reconfigured public Cgs, that could accept anything larger, in New York State are very few in number. Even some of the older private Cgs can not fit in much over 24 feet. A challenge, at times, to find something that fits your required needs.
DXSMac
Well, looks like not too many takers on GWBishoff's "Challenge."

"rig level" was pretty good, and "propane, because you'll freeze your @#$ off" was pretty good.

Ok, what I was trying to say, but it got cut off, was:

"you are lucky to get your OWN SEWER DUMP AT YOUR SITE."

JJ
RLM
gwbischoff> I replaced my couch/beds with recliners. As the old saying goes...”No matter how many beds an RV has, it only sleeps TWO.”

Well, I am fairly certain that in CA, as in TX, you could easily rent that out to 30 or so illegals. smile.gif
mastercraft
In Ga we get water and electric, 50 amp at some parks in limited sites. Only a couple offer any sites with sever and very few offer cable. You have to remember that most state parks ( I only speak from a GA perspective) were designed for tents and pop ups similiar to Disney. I stay at the ones that I know I can get my RV in without damage and am grateful for any amenities such as W/E/S.
moqui51
You make a good point on the reviews. I give many of the COE or state parks good ratings on what they are. If I enjoyed myself I give them an 8 or more. I don't care if they have wifi or cable. But, if they are a resort type state park then I do expect more ammenities, as their prices are higher.

It has been a while since we have found any city parks, but we used to like finding them as they are usually very inexpensive, and we would usually only be there for one night. You don't need wifi and cable for one night do you?

For one night only I am happy to just have electric....my husband on the other hand wants full hookups no matter where he goes. He acts like he just can't survive one night without full hookups...even if he didn't need them. lol


QUOTE(DXSMac @ Jan 27 2008, 05:37 PM) *

Earlier, there was a thread on what people expected when they came to an RV Park. I'm starting this thread specifically for our expectations on State/County/City parks.

When I read a review of a State Park, I'm getting tired of reading reviews such as..... "It didn't have WiFi or Cable, give it a 2....." or...... "Didn't have a sewer dump at each site, give it a 1." (I can't say for certain that I read these "reviews" on this site, or on the two other review sites, just know that I saw them somewhere.....) It's ok to "mention" that there is no WiFi or Cable, but don't rate a State Park down because it doesn't have it! THAT'S NOT THE POINT!

So, what do we expect, as minimum, at Government funded parks?

JJ blink.gif

JJZS
I chose other. The reason that I prefer my nearby state campgrounds is, the more I camp, the more I dislike the private campgrounds that are nothing more than a 'drunkfest' from sunrise till 2 AM, where unruly children wander around yelling, screaming, swearing, just being plain obnoxious all day and night while their parents pretty much do the same thing mad.gif. Dont get me wrong, I enjoy an adult beverage or two(sometimes more..) but I don't agree with being drunk at 10 AM and I refuse to have my kids witness this kind of behavior. Some states in the northeast prohibit alcohol in the parks and this cuts down on that kind of problem. If you are drinking a 'disguised' beverage and are behaving like an adult, the park rangers will not even give you a second glance as they go by.
Thanks for letting me rant and share my opinion. biggrin.gif
Texasrvers
JJZS,

Where in the world have you been staying??? Or did you stay at one private park that was like you describe, and so you're condemning them all? Not all private parks are drunkfests, and at any given time any other type of cg can be that way. We have stayed at a lot of private parks, and we have never encountered a drunkfest--although there have been a few times that there were unruly children and/or adults were a little too loud. Course we know that the next place we stay at could be just like you describe, and we would not like that kind of atmosphere either, but I don't plan to blast all private campgrounds because we had a bad experience at one. Some places tend to be more "party" places than others, so we (and you) just need to be very careful and do our homework when we are deciding where to stay.
Tom
I like state parks because they are inexpensive for what you get. I don't expect hookups for less than $20 a night (I am in Connecticut). But I like the large sites, basic but maintained bathrooms, roads and grounds maintained at a reasonable level.

Also, the state parks around me usually have pretty extensive hiking trails, bike riding trails, beach (if they are on the water), many times some interesting historical buildings and/or history.

Around me, I go to state parks expecting to dry camp, so I don't give a low rating when I know (and know in advance) that there will be no hookups.

What I hate are private campgrounds that charge a lot, you get tiny tiny tiny sites, and the place is poorly maintained and unlevel. Far to many private campground websites are VERY misleading on what is actually there.



DXSMac
QUOTE(JJZS @ Jun 16 2008, 06:14 PM) *

I chose other. The reason that I prefer my nearby state campgrounds is, the more I camp, the more I dislike the private campgrounds that are nothing more than a 'drunkfest' from sunrise till 2 AM, where unruly children wander around yelling, screaming, swearing, just being plain obnoxious all day and night while their parents pretty much do the same thing mad.gif. Dont get me wrong, I enjoy an adult beverage or two(sometimes more..) but I don't agree with being drunk at 10 AM and I refuse to have my kids witness this kind of behavior. Some states in the northeast prohibit alcohol in the parks and this cuts down on that kind of problem. If you are drinking a 'disguised' beverage and are behaving like an adult, the park rangers will not even give you a second glance as they go by.
Thanks for letting me rant and share my opinion. biggrin.gif


And you haven't seen this behavior in a state park? What State Parks do you use? I want to go there!

QUOTE
I like state parks because they are inexpensive for what you get. I don't expect hookups for less than $20 a night (I am in Connecticut). But I like the large sites, basic but maintained bathrooms, roads and grounds maintained at a reasonable level.


Tom, in Connecticut the hookups are ONLY $20??? Heck, in WA state, it's up to $31 for hookTpups! Worth it for the very NICE and picturesque ones, but when you are paying that much in the small ones.....




JJ
JJZS
QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Jun 17 2008, 12:40 AM) *

JJZS,

Where in the world have you been staying??? Or did you stay at one private park that was like you describe, and so you're condemning them all? Not all private parks are drunkfests, and at any given time any other type of cg can be that way. We have stayed at a lot of private parks, and we have never encountered a drunkfest--although there have been a few times that there were unruly children and/or adults were a little too loud. Course we know that the next place we stay at could be just like you describe, and we would not like that kind of atmosphere either, but I don't plan to blast all private campgrounds because we had a bad experience at one. Some places tend to be more "party" places than others, so we (and you) just need to be very careful and do our homework when we are deciding where to stay.

I am in no way condemning all private parks. I have stayed in some very nice private parks. To clarify, I dislike the private parks that allow this behavior to occur even though there are clearly posted rules and guidelines pertaining to this. At alot of the private parks I have stayed at, the quiet hours enforcement is a joke. I personally have had a more relaxing,quiet experience in my local state parks.
JJZS
QUOTE(DXSMac @ Jun 17 2008, 06:47 PM) *

And you haven't seen this behavior in a state park? What State Parks do you use? I want to go there!

If you visit state parks where alcohol is banned such as in Rhode Island, Maine and several in Connecticut, the obnoxious behavoir is greatly reduced. There are plenty of state parks that are party places, I don't camp at those.

Texasrvers
JJZS,

Apologies! When I read your first post it sounded to me like you thought all private parks were nothing but drunkfests. However, after reading your second post I reread your first one and decided that maybe I misinterpreted your words. Now I think you were saying you don't like private parks (or probably any other kinds of parks) that have become drunkfests--not that you think all private parks are drunkfests. Have I made sense? blink.gif I do think we agree that neither of us likes drunkfests although an adult beverage in moderation is OK. Just be sure to write a review on those private parks you are talking about so that we can avoid them.
JJZS
huh.gif
QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Jun 17 2008, 11:32 PM) *

JJZS,

Apologies! When I read your first post it sounded to me like you thought all private parks were nothing but drunkfests. However, after reading your second post I reread your first one and decided that maybe I misinterpreted your words. Now I think you were saying you don't like private parks (or probably any other kinds of parks) that have become drunkfests--not that you think all private parks are drunkfests. Have I made sense? blink.gif I do think we agree that neither of us likes drunkfests although an adult beverage in moderation is OK. Just be sure to write a review on those private parks you are talking about so that we can avoid them.

Sorry for any confusion. Yes, I guess what I was trying to say is, in my personal experience, I have come across alot less of this type of nonsense in the state parks that I visit. I have only reviewed a couple of places, but will continue to review the parks that I stay at. Now that I have found great review sites, like this one, it has become alot easier to choose decent campgrounds and to steer clear of the bad ones.
FosterImposters
QUOTE(JJZS @ Jun 17 2008, 09:27 PM) *

...Now that I have found great review sites, like this one, it has become alot easier to choose decent campgrounds and to steer clear of the bad ones.

Here, here! cool.gif
Welcome aboard!
florida08
The majority of our trips and park reviews for that matter are of national / state / county parks. The primary reasons we prefer these to private campgrounds are; a more rustic and natural setting, more hiking trails and informative naturalist / ranger programs.

Our expectations are rather simple. Going in, we know we're going to be dry camping. I'd have it no other way. The more secluded our site, all the better. Clean showers / restrooms. This is a major expectation since no electric hook-up equals no hot water. Adequate security. Frequent ranger patrols are reassuring especially in certain state parks where we may be the lone camper in an entire loop. Lastly we've come to expect strict enforcement of the park's "Generator Policy". Far too often in parks without any hookups we've encountered people who completely ignore the park's policy on times generators can be operated. My position is this, either segregate the generator equipped rigs to certain areas of the campground or strictly enforce the rules that are in place. The last thing I want while preparing and eating diner is the rig next to me firing up his generator so he can run his A/C while dining in his coach. Through others and my input Shenandoah NP has finally established "Generator Free Loops" for campers such as us who feel the sounds of a noisy generator is both disgusting and distracting.

Everyone out here has their own opinion of the perfect RV lifestyle. It just so happens that national / state / county parks fill our camping needs 99% of the time.
DXSMac
QUOTE(florida08 @ Jun 30 2008, 10:08 AM) *

The majority of our trips and park reviews for that matter are of national / state / county parks. The primary reasons we prefer these to private campgrounds are; a more rustic and natural setting, more hiking trails and informative naturalist / ranger programs.

Our expectations are rather simple. Going in, we know we're going to be dry camping. I'd have it no other way. The more secluded our site, all the better. Clean showers / restrooms. This is a major expectation since no electric hook-up equals no hot water. Adequate security. Frequent ranger patrols are reassuring especially in certain state parks where we may be the lone camper in an entire loop. Lastly we've come to expect strict enforcement of the park's "Generator Policy". Far too often in parks without any hookups we've encountered people who completely ignore the park's policy on times generators can be operated. My position is this, either segregate the generator equipped rigs to certain areas of the campground or strictly enforce the rules that are in place. The last thing I want while preparing and eating diner is the rig next to me firing up his generator so he can run his A/C while dining in his coach. Through others and my input Shenandoah NP has finally established "Generator Free Loops" for campers such as us who feel the sounds of a noisy generator is both disgusting and distracting.

Everyone out here has their own opinion of the perfect RV lifestyle. It just so happens that national / state / county parks fill our camping needs 99% of the time.


I hardly ever run my generator, the state parks where I live usually have good shade, or I don't go in the summer time, one or the other... Also, being a solo, I will only stay at a state park if at least two other RV's are there. I don't want to be the only one. Same thing with boondocking, I won't boondock if I'm the only one. There is a great BLM boondocking site in Oregon near Rufus off I-84, it's right on Columbia River. It's a great spot, but again, I will only stay there if at least 2 RV's are there.

JJ
pilgrim
Being new at this trailering thing, we've ONLY stayed at some of Ohio's State Parks. They all have electricity only with pump outs upon leaving the site. Water is available to fill our tanks but no direct water hook ups. But, they are very clean, flush toilets, showers, trails for hiking, swimming (at most - lake or pool), stores and ranger patroled. We've stayed at four of them and have reservations at three others. We have found them all to be quiet and very comfortable. I would guess that eventually we'll have a "bad" time at one of them, but to date, all have been very comfortable - with electricity only. We look forward to the camping experience when we have full hook ups - but not at one of Ohio's State Parks. They are in the process of getting WiFi at all parks but only at a handful right now.

Come to Ohio and enjoy our State Parks.
__________________________________
2007 25' Airstream International SS OB
2004 Nissan Armada
Equalizer hitch
Prodigy brake controls
"It's better to keep your mouth shut and thought a fool
Than to open it and remove all doubt."
danamrak
We've enjoyed many state parks and Federal parks as well as some great county parks. Very seldom use private campgrounds.
muddysuzi
I camp to get away from civilization, computers, televisions, loud people and invasive home telephones.

I only expect a roomy campsite for a fair rate. I've camped for thirty two years now and still tent camp, I love it you all. We camp in the rain, we camp in the mud, we camp without running water (we bring our own) and electricity (we mastered the art of cooking over an open fire) and although it is a little bit of work, it makes for fantastic adventure! Especially when you are cooking supper over the fire, it starts to downpour and you hold a beach umbrella over the fire. Now THAT is fun!

I don't understand why people go camping and want cable, wi fi and other luxuries unless they are on an extended stay.

Enjoy your family, enjoy the quiet of nature and make memories that don't involve technology. Thank God for the beauty that surrounds us all.
Jerry S.
Muddy,

Welcome aboard. If you peruse a lot of the forum topics in this forum you will realize that many folks here are at a different stage of life than you and are not "camping". I, for one, was doing the kind of camping you describe in your delightful post from before you were born until the early 1990's. Been there, done that, and enjoyed the hell out of it until I was into my 40s. Enjoy it while you can. Someday you may lose the desire or ability to be that adventurous. Don't be too hard on those of us who no longer have your youth, energy, and vitality.
Texasrvers
QUOTE(Jerry S. @ Jul 8 2008, 10:44 PM) *

Muddy,

Welcome aboard. If you peruse a lot of the forum topics in this forum you will realize that many folks here are at a different stage of life than you and are not "camping". I, for one, was doing the kind of camping you describe in your delightful post from before you were born until the early 1990's. Been there, done that, and enjoyed the hell out of it until I was into my 40s. Enjoy it while you can. Someday you may lose the desire or ability to be that adventurous. Don't be too hard on those of us who no longer have your youth, energy, and vitality.



You explained that well, Jerry. And if they don't listen, you can hit them with your cane and run over them with your wheelchair. Just kidding!! laugh.gif
Glenn Norton
I enjoy camping at public parks for the privacy and location. I would like water and electric, but here in BC the provincial parks are basic sites with no hookups. I overlook that situation and adapt. However, IMHO, Oregon has some of the best state parks. Where else can you get a full hookup site and some of the best scenery in the country for less than $20(off season)?
angel12
I t is more than sufficient if we have water and power. Idon't expect any more because I spend little bit time in these kind of parks.
_______________________________________
Angel
http://www.addictionrecovery.net/mississippi
Tom Ponder
We just stayed in a city park in Michigans UP at Gladstone. Full hookups including sewer and WiFi on a nice big pull thru site for $20 a night on the shores of lake Michigan and within walking distance to the downtown. Best value we have found in a long time. Even at these prices I was told the city turns a profit. Also the townsip park at Grand Marais on Lake Superior was a great value at $25. No sewer or WiFi[although I was able to log onto a unsecured site] but it did include cable TV. Many of the State Parks in Michigan have small sites with elec but no water. I agree, you should check out what they have before you get there and not go if thats not what you want.
bonscott
Good thread. I do hate people that mark down great state/national parks because they "don't have sewer", "have so many trees I couldn't get my satellite going" or "had too much dirt". Too much dirt or trees? It's a state park for crying out loud.

What I think some people seem to rate parks at is all on the same scale. A 10 is a full hookup with pool and laundry service while a 2 is a rustic campground. Ummm, I would highly recommend that people rate a park *based on what it is*, not all parks compared to each other.
I have rated the high end RV park a 9 or 10 and I have rated a rustic campground with just vault toilets also a 9 or 10. Just because the rustic didn't have hookups doesn't mean it should be marked down at all (for that reason anyway). So I'll rank all rustics against each other, electric/water only places together and RV resorts all together.

So yes, it's all about expectations. I have a certain expectation when I visit an RV resort vs. a rustic spot. Both can be 10s, both can be 1s.
DXSMac
QUOTE(bonscott @ Jul 23 2008, 12:28 PM) *

Good thread. I do hate people that mark down great state/national parks because they "don't have sewer", "have so many trees I couldn't get my satellite going" or "had too much dirt". Too much dirt or trees? It's a state park for crying out loud.

What I think some people seem to rate parks at is all on the same scale. A 10 is a full hookup with pool and laundry service while a 2 is a rustic campground. Ummm, I would highly recommend that people rate a park *based on what it is*, not all parks compared to each other.
I have rated the high end RV park a 9 or 10 and I have rated a rustic campground with just vault toilets also a 9 or 10. Just because the rustic didn't have hookups doesn't mean it should be marked down at all (for that reason anyway). So I'll rank all rustics against each other, electric/water only places together and RV resorts all together.

So yes, it's all about expectations. I have a certain expectation when I visit an RV resort vs. a rustic spot. Both can be 10s, both can be 1s.



HEAR HEAR!!!!!

biggrin.gif

JJ
Kirk
I think that this poll isn't the complete question. While we don't generally spend much time in parks that don't have at least water & electricity, that don't mean that we think that they should not have such. I really think that if they want RV customers they need a mix of the different types of site.

It is also a question of who the park wishes to serve. There is a need for parks that serve the modern, fully equipped RV and also for the folks who only own a tent and even to serve the folks who walk in with all of their equipment on their backs.
DXSMac
QUOTE(Kirk @ Aug 16 2008, 04:16 PM) *

I think that this poll isn't the complete question. While we don't generally spend much time in parks that don't have at least water & electricity, that don't mean that we think that they should not have such. I really think that if they want RV customers they need a mix of the different types of site.

It is also a question of who the park wishes to serve. There is a need for parks that serve the modern, fully equipped RV and also for the folks who only own a tent and even to serve the folks who walk in with all of their equipment on their backs.


I get kind of irritated when I see a tent occupying a utility spot, but I guess if they want to pay the price for a utility spot, they should be able to occupy it with a tent.

JJ
DRS
I have stayed at a few state parks (Arizona) and they are great places to visit with hiking trails, fishing ponds/lakes, and lots of opportunities to photograph wildlife. They generally have at least water & electric with a central dump station (some have sewer at each site). The only downside to state parks is they do not accept reservations. They are all first come-first serve. This is not a problem during the off season, but I don't want to drive over 200 miles or more to find out the park is full.
Tom
QUOTE(DXSMac @ Jun 17 2008, 03:47 PM) *

Tom, in Connecticut the hookups are ONLY $20??? Heck, in WA state, it's up to $31 for hookTpups! Worth it for the very NICE and picturesque ones, but when you are paying that much in the small ones.....
JJ


Sorry for the big delay in responding!

What I meant was that with most CT state parks under $20 a night, I don't expect hookups and they Don't have them. I am not sure, but I don't think any CT state park campgrounds have hookups (except for a few reserved sites). We camp at two CT State Parks (Hammonassette and Rocky Neck) regularly and they are great. No hookups, but clean water faucets are close enough to fill your fresh water tank. Sites are huge, and the parks are kept clean.

bonscott wrote:
"I have rated the high end RV park a 9 or 10 and I have rated a rustic campground with just vault toilets also a 9 or 10. Just because the rustic didn't have hookups doesn't mean it should be marked down at all (for that reason anyway). So I'll rank all rustics against each other, electric/water only places together and RV resorts all together.

So yes, it's all about expectations. I have a certain expectation when I visit an RV resort vs. a rustic spot. Both can be 10s, both can be 1s."

I agree completely, and do the same thing.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.