Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Iphone Users
RV Park Reviews Campground Discussion Forum > RV Park and Campground Discussions > RV Park Discussions
Webmaster
Some parts of the site are a little hard to navigate on an iphone, and I'm trying to decide how many people would take advantage of an iphone formated version of the site. (I'm just talking about finding a park, not the forums. )
pianotuna
Hi,

I think formatting for web phones in general would be wiser than focusing on the iphone. That is if it is easy to do. Otherwise I'd not bother. The site is wonderful and more and more folks use laptops tethered to, or data cards in laptops.

QUOTE(Webmaster @ Feb 29 2008, 06:38 PM) *

Some parts of the site are a little hard to navigate on an iphone, and I'm trying to decide how many people would take advantage of an iphone formated version of the site. (I'm just talking about finding a park, not the forums. )

FosterImposters
Not using iphone at this juncture.
Thanks for asking cool.gif
Lindsay Richards
I have an internet ready Verizon phone that works well for email, but is very hard for websites. I think the technology will have to go thru one more leap before I am ready for phone website usage. This might be a couple of yeare for us. We really do love the site thought and appreciate all of your efforts.
jan-n-john
QUOTE(Lindsay Richards @ Mar 5 2009, 02:33 PM) *

I have an internet ready Verizon phone that works well for email, but is very hard for websites. I think the technology will have to go thru one more leap before I am ready for phone website usage. This might be a couple of yeare for us. We really do love the site thought and appreciate all of your efforts.

We have had iPhones for about a year. They come in very handy as a way to avoid rip-off WiFi fees since you can connect without going through the WiFi.

While it is true that classic web browsing is not easy on a small screen, as you suggest, many applications have been done by regular web sites that are optimized for the small screen, and this is the way to go, and largely solves the problem you allude to. For example, I read the New York Times at home on my computer, but on the road it is very easy to read it on the iPhone through their iPhone app which has been optimized to use the small screen. There are many other examples of the same thing. I think Verizon is behind the curve on this, but there are other similar apps for other smart phones, or soon will be. It would be great if this site could also come up with a small screen version--it would be extremely handy to have that info while on the road. It has been expensive to do so, but I think cheaper tools are now becoming available to allow it to be done more readily. Anyway, the developer can charge for the app and get his money back. This is certainly something that is coming, since more and more access to the web is being done through smart phones rather than comparatively clunky computers or even netbooks, especially on the road.
catman2130093
QUOTE(jan-n-john @ Apr 30 2009, 08:19 AM) *

We have had iPhones for about a year. They come in very handy as a way to avoid rip-off WiFi fees since you can connect without going through the WiFi.

While it is true that classic web browsing is not easy on a small screen, as you suggest, many applications have been done by regular web sites that are optimized for the small screen, and this is the way to go, and largely solves the problem you allude to. For example, I read the New York Times at home on my computer, but on the road it is very easy to read it on the iPhone through their iPhone app which has been optimized to use the small screen. There are many other examples of the same thing. I think Verizon is behind the curve on this, but there are other similar apps for other smart phones, or soon will be. It would be great if this site could also come up with a small screen version--it would be extremely handy to have that info while on the road. It has been expensive to do so, but I think cheaper tools are now becoming available to allow it to be done more readily. Anyway, the developer can charge for the app and get his money back. This is certainly something that is coming, since more and more access to the web is being done through smart phones rather than comparatively clunky computers or even netbooks, especially on the road.

I agree! That said, the iphone's screen can zoom in and out to help with viewing. It takes patience, but it can be done.
Trentheim
Having just jumped into "smartphone" ownership, I've already learned that the newer phones do a great job of showing traditional web pages. The display is small, but zooming is an option. I wouldn't worry about changing everything on the web site just for a relatively (yet growing) group of smartphone users. It seems that a goodly number of users travel with a laptop in their RV and have figured out how to make it work on the road.

Besides, the smartphones are great for retrieving information, but posting still is much easier with a full-sized keyboard.

J
lb311
I just got an iPhone 3Gs and notice that when browsing this site in Safari on the phone, there's no scroll bar for the list that displays to the left side of the map. Makes it very difficult to browse for states or park locations.

I'd LOVE to see an iPhone-app created for this site...you could probably even make a little money with it as well. Right now, there are no real iPhone apps that are catering to RV'ers-- yet over 25% of all smart phone users are now using iPhones and the % is growing quickly.


Ugh-- doesn't look like the Campground Search page works for an iPhone 3Gs either....it just keeps coming back to the same search screen with no results!

Hope this can be fixed soon. I really would love to access this site via the iPhone while traveling.
Denali
The site works quite nicely on the Droid Eris.
jangle
Haven't had any issues with the site on my mobile, I have a Motorola Droid. Although if someone could make a Park Review app for the site....
Lindsay Richards
I just got the Verizon Droid and would love to have the campground portion of it on my Droid. Our style of camping is to decide in the afternoon where wee will be staying that night. Sometimes I will read 6 or 8 campground reviews of possible destinations for tomorrow and write them in my campground book. Having it "on the fly" would be wonderful.
Denali
QUOTE(Lindsay Richards @ May 28 2010, 06:19 AM) *

I just got the Verizon Droid and would love to have the campground portion of it on my Droid. Our style of camping is to decide in the afternoon where wee will be staying that night. Sometimes I will read 6 or 8 campground reviews of possible destinations for tomorrow and write them in my campground book. Having it "on the fly" would be wonderful.
While the site does works on the Droid, it obviously isn't optimized for phone's small screen. As an alternative, you can buy PdaNet for $18.95 and use your Droid as a modem for your laptop while you travel.
Moondoggie2k
I'm a bit late to the party here. I have a Motorola Droid and have been downloading apps like crazy. I've found one for just about everything that I can think of.

The two things that I wish we had was one for finding hiking trails in the area (distance, difficulty, directions, etc) while we're out camping and the other is to get reviews for campgrounds, just like is offered here. I know that I can browse it on the Droid, but I've seen some great integrations with web sites like eBay, Amazon, and even one for geocaching. I was really hoping that this site had an integrated Android app!

Android is all Java based and I'm a Java developer by trade. I'm dying to write an Android application, and I'd be willing to contribute if others are willing and we can get permission to integrate. We could make it a community effort!

Any takers?
John Blue
This website will be in an application very soon and you can down load it then. I do not know the date it will be ready but have look at the beta copy. I think everyone who has an Iphone, Droid or other type phone will like it.
Tulirose
I would love to have an app for RVparkreviews.
Keep us posted.
John S.
It is not so much the iPhone butnthe iPad is amazing and uses Ipod apps and those made for the Ipad alone. I carried my laptop and Ipad for a week and never took the laptop out.
JamesSimon
i would also like to have an iPhone app just for mapping, cause theres some roads, GPS cant configure, out in the wilderness.

i just hope there's signal out there so i can reach your mapping directions. thanks!

and also, laptops are heavy pack to carry. so, serves a purpose too.
rvmamabel
Hi, don't have an iPhone, but I just got an iPad...it also works off of apps. The biggest frustration is that when I tap on a state in the home page, the state will come up, but I can't scroll down the menu of cities on the left. So, I have to do a lot of workarounds to get to a city that is close to the city I want to stay in...just a bit of a pain. If that could be fixed, it would be great. Thanks.
John S.
QUOTE(rvmamabel @ Jun 23 2010, 05:12 PM) *

Hi, don't have an iPhone, but I just got an iPad...it also works off of apps. The biggest frustration is that when I tap on a state in the home page, the state will come up, but I can't scroll down the menu of cities on the left. So, I have to do a lot of workarounds to get to a city that is close to the city I want to stay in...just a bit of a pain. If that could be fixed, it would be great. Thanks.



Interesting. On my iPad it looks just like my laptop. Wonder if the OS for the Iphone will be like the Ipad in function.
John Blue
To all the Iphone people you can click on link below to see the layout on Iphone. This software is under test yet but webmaster said you can use it you wish.

http://www.rvparkreviews.com/iphone/#_home
John S.
I think you should look at the iphone Ipad apps. I pads are incredibly convenient to use and can do everything but flash. They can use wifi or 3G and connect without any issues.

I think an app or Iphone Ipad friendly website will be a requirement. Many of the sites are already changing over. The Ipad is going to change portable computing and is a category killer. Look in the first month they sold 3 million of them and caused the Amazon and Barnes and Noble to slash the prices of their readers and you are going to see other manufacturers come out with them. I have an Ipad and i have stopped carrying my laptop most of the time...
jan-n-john
QUOTE(John Blue @ Jul 3 2010, 04:23 PM) *

To all the Iphone people you can click on link below to see the layout on Iphone. This software is under test yet but webmaster said you can use it you wish.

http://www.rvparkreviews.com/iphone/#_home

Looks interesting. I trust maps will be included, so that the user can look at the map and see the towns around where he will be without knowing in advance their names, just as on the full-sized site, and go directly to them.

I have already downloaded three RV park apps., RV Parking, RV Continuous Traveler, and Passport's list of their parks. All are useful but, IMO, flawed, tho I haven't been on the road yet since downloading them so can't say how they will work out. I certainly look forward to an app for this site.
John Blue
New changes have been added to the Iphone/Ipad now. If you have an Iphone or Ipad please try it out and see if you can find any problems. As best I can tell the Iphone or Ipad will look the same as website on a laptop and you can pull up map plus read reviews. More changes may come later.


http://www.rvparkreviews.com/iphone/#_home
chickenpants
Thank you very much for the effort on developing the app. I just came off a 3,000 mile trip with ever changing route and plans and most of the time I didn't have internet. Often I would start looking for a place to stay at my last gas stop of the day.
I tried it out on my IPhone, once I got home, and it works like I would have wanted it to, if I had known about it. smile.gif
Thank you again.

Tucsonbenz
We just purchased a Motorola Droid X and would love an Android App for this site. As a full timer we utilize RVPark Reviews all the time and recommend it (as you know) to others.

I've been researching the droid app market for a few weeks and there are zip apps for this kind of category. I suspect an App at this juncture would more than justify itself in terms of numbers of folks to the site. My bet......... +50%.

Now that Droid phones (from all cell phone providers ATT/Verizon/Sprint etc) are coming on line quickly and they now out sell i-Phones I think a Droid App would prove quite useful to a lot of us.

If you need any input on how to get your name out on the Droid available app sites let me know. More than glad to help.

Hope you can figure out a way to do it.
Fitzjohnfan
Ok, I might be dating myself here, but what about also offering RV Park Reviews on a CD? Would it be possible (too much data?)?
Sure, you would have to get a new one each year, but if the cost was low, I might be interested. This would be especially helpful when you're in an area with absolutly no cell/WiFi coverage, or very slow service. Of course, you couldn't submit new reviews either, but maybe an app could be built in that would save reviews until the PC/Laptop connected to the web, and then upload them.

Just a thought.

jan-n-john
QUOTE(Fitzjohnfan @ Aug 3 2010, 12:42 AM) *

Ok, I might be dating myself here, but what about also offering RV Park Reviews on a CD? Would it be possible (too much data?)?
Sure, you would have to get a new one each year, but if the cost was low, I might be interested. This would be especially helpful when you're in an area with absolutly no cell/WiFi coverage, or very slow service. Of course, you couldn't submit new reviews either, but maybe an app could be built in that would save reviews until the PC/Laptop connected to the web, and then upload them.

Just a thought.

Not a bad idea, although it is also true that the list of places where one cannot find either cell or WiFi coverage is shrinking rapidly. Speaking for myself, it is a rare day that I'll stay in any park that doesn't offer WiFi. While we enjoy the RV experience, "getting away from it all," to the point of not being connected, is definitely not a feature of the experience for us.
pourme
I just registered on this website and do own a iphone and would live to have a app for this site! This would be very useful tool when on the road!

Thanks! tongue.gif
AndersonFamily
I sure agree that an application for the Droid (Android) phones would be great. I don't have (and won't get) an iPhone... but the Droid is fantastic. I can access the native web based application on the Droid with its great web browser- but having one tailored to the small screen would be even better. I'd suggest that just a web-based browser be developed with the user interface specific for smaller screens - that way, one development could be used on a number of platforms such as the Droid, Blackberry, Window Mobile, and iPhone devices.
John Blue
Go and look at post #23.
Denali
Nice work. The "iPhone" site works well on the Droid.
Dixiefire53
FYI... I Just left the Fox News site and read this article then came here. I just had to share it after I saw this Iphone thread. LOL

Your iPhone Could Carry More Germs Than a Public Toilet.

http://www.foxnews.com/health/2010/10/15/i...test=latestnews

laugh.gif
Lindsay Richards
Probably a computer virus.
chickenpants
QUOTE(Lindsay Richards @ Oct 16 2010, 09:30 PM) *

Probably a computer virus.

Can I have a rimshot?
Lindsay Richards
Google Places will give this sites and Yahoo reviews. We use it all the time. It is a part of Google Earth.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.