Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: A Park Owner Needs To Rant A Little
RV Park Reviews Campground Discussion Forum > RV Park and Campground Discussions > RV Park Discussions
westernrvparkowner
As my username indicates, I own a park in the western US. It is a mid-sized park very near a major National Park. My season is almost over and I need to vent off some steam. Every year I have some very trying guests but this season was a bit over the top. The VAST majority of my guests are great and many have become fast friends, but some are having me question the sanity of staying in busines. I can easily sell my park to developers for more than it is worth as an RV park, but I feel I provide wanted service. Some guests have me second guessing. I just need to point out a few facts and offer a little of what I face.

1) My WiFi may be free, but that does not guarantee that you can connect. I had a guest pound on my private residence at 2:12 AM demanding I refund his site charges because my WiFi would not work. After I woke up, I asked him to bring in his computer and I would take a quick look. I ran the computer's diagnostic program regarding internet connection and it pointed out the computer's wireless modem was turned off. After I switched it on the computer connected just fine. The guy muttered something about how that had never happened before and he trudged off. Imagine my surprise the next morning when he appeared at the office demanding his refund. He explained it must have been my system that magically reached down and turned off the modem button because it had never switched off before. He wanted a refund for the previous 3 days. I told him I would be glad tor refund the next four days he had sbooked and offered him and additional free five minutes to pack and leave.

2) I am not impressed with you calling me a thief, a rip off artist or any four letter word because you think my rates are too high. I am not holding a gun to your head forcing you to pay. If you feel my rates are too high, just go elsewhere.

3) Try to hit the toilet when going number two

4) If you want a refund because a neighboring dog attacked your dog, please let me know your dog was the one off the leash against our park rules and went up to the dog being walked on leash as we require.

5) If there is a power outage throughout the campground due to a storm, I cannot make your power pedestal work no matter how much you yell.

6) I would be glad to loan you any tool you need as soon as guy that borrowed it last year returns it.

7) We have sewer connections for your sewage, the grass is already fertilized

8) We must water our grass, sometimes water will get the grass wet

9) Our park rules do not special exclusion for you.

10) If you wish to advertise a pornographic website across the back of your RV take it to another RV park.

11) If you wish to post a review of our park on this website, be sure the review applies to our park. I know our pool is not covered in green moss because we do not have a pool.

12) As much as you wish to have a specific site, I am not going to request the current occupants move to another site so you can have it.

13) I know you bought that KOA card, but I am not a KOA park and am not going to give you a discount for it. I honor other discounts, but I will not give it to you if you are not a member of that particular club. It is not fair to those who paid to join Good Sam or AAA to give that discount to a non-member.

14) Please do not parse our rules, If we say we do not allow dog to be "tethered" unattended, "Chained" unattended is also prohibited. If the rules say no tents, free standing canopies or screen rooms it follows that "Canvas shelters" would also be a no-no

15) If your 15 year old steals 2 tee shirts from our store, it is not "kids being kids". Paying after the fact is not enough, I will give you the option of leaving or being prosecuted. Calling me profaine names will not improve your case.

16) If you drive off without unplugging your plug, unhooking your hose or disconnecting your cable I am not replacing your plug, hose or cable but I am charging you if my equipment is damaged. Again, cursing my employees will not improve your lot in life.

17) My cancellation and deposit policy is clearly stated at the time you make your reservation and is printed on your confirmation letter. I am not going to change it. If you do not plan on staying, don't make the reservation. You can thank the guy who cancelled his 1 month reservation due to a death in the family the day before his scheduled arrival. When his mail arrived three days later I called to get a forwarding address and his wife told me not to worry, they would be by later that day to pick it up. Now, we accept no stories and make no exceptions so you don't have to tell any lies.

18) Different rigs have hookups in different places, we have tried to place our connections as convenient as possible, but if you have an odd arrangement, they may not be as convenient as you wish. I am not bringing over the backhoe to move them to better accomodate your one night stay.

19) I can't stop the fireworks display on the fourth of July because you wish to go to sleep at 8PM.

20) Wind, rain, heat, cold, humidity, snow, sleet, ice, clouds, bright sun, sunrise, sunset and any other climatic event are not controlled by the office. I am not offering refunds due to the weather.

Thanks for listening, I feel better now. Hope to see you soon, provided you are not one of the above.

Westernrvparkowner
Denali
Great post! It's good the hear the other side of the story occasionally.
Texasrvers
I agree with Denali. Enjoy your winter break and hopefully you will feel like opening up your campgroung for another season. I'll bet it is a great place and maybe the slobs will stay home next year.
rodman
QUOTE(westernrvparkowner @ Sep 10 2008, 06:11 PM) *

As my username indicates, I own a park in the western US. It is a mid-sized park very near a major National Park. My season is almost over and I need to vent off some steam. Every year I have some very trying guests but this season was a bit over the top. The VAST majority of my guests are great and many have become fast friends, but some are having me question the sanity of staying in busines. I can easily sell my park to developers for more than it is worth as an RV park, but I feel I provide wanted service. Some guests have me second guessing. I just need to point out a few facts and offer a little of what I face.

1) My WiFi may be free, but that does not guarantee that you can connect. I had a guest pound on my private residence at 2:12 AM demanding I refund his site charges because my WiFi would not work. After I woke up, I asked him to bring in his computer and I would take a quick look. I ran the computer's diagnostic program regarding internet connection and it pointed out the computer's wireless modem was turned off. After I switched it on the computer connected just fine. The guy muttered something about how that had never happened before and he trudged off. Imagine my surprise the next morning when he appeared at the office demanding his refund. He explained it must have been my system that magically reached down and turned off the modem button because it had never switched off before. He wanted a refund for the previous 3 days. I told him I would be glad tor refund the next four days he had sbooked and offered him and additional free five minutes to pack and leave.

2) I am not impressed with you calling me a thief, a rip off artist or any four letter word because you think my rates are too high. I am not holding a gun to your head forcing you to pay. If you feel my rates are too high, just go elsewhere.

3) Try to hit the toilet when going number two

4) If you want a refund because a neighboring dog attacked your dog, please let me know your dog was the one off the leash against our park rules and went up to the dog being walked on leash as we require.

5) If there is a power outage throughout the campground due to a storm, I cannot make your power pedestal work no matter how much you yell.

6) I would be glad to loan you any tool you need as soon as guy that borrowed it last year returns it.

7) We have sewer connections for your sewage, the grass is already fertilized

8) We must water our grass, sometimes water will get the grass wet

9) Our park rules do not special exclusion for you.

10) If you wish to advertise a pornographic website across the back of your RV take it to another RV park.

11) If you wish to post a review of our park on this website, be sure the review applies to our park. I know our pool is not covered in green moss because we do not have a pool.

12) As much as you wish to have a specific site, I am not going to request the current occupants move to another site so you can have it.

13) I know you bought that KOA card, but I am not a KOA park and am not going to give you a discount for it. I honor other discounts, but I will not give it to you if you are not a member of that particular club. It is not fair to those who paid to join Good Sam or AAA to give that discount to a non-member.

14) Please do not parse our rules, If we say we do not allow dog to be "tethered" unattended, "Chained" unattended is also prohibited. If the rules say no tents, free standing canopies or screen rooms it follows that "Canvas shelters" would also be a no-no

15) If your 15 year old steals 2 tee shirts from our store, it is not "kids being kids". Paying after the fact is not enough, I will give you the option of leaving or being prosecuted. Calling me profaine names will not improve your case.

16) If you drive off without unplugging your plug, unhooking your hose or disconnecting your cable I am not replacing your plug, hose or cable but I am charging you if my equipment is damaged. Again, cursing my employees will not improve your lot in life.

17) My cancellation and deposit policy is clearly stated at the time you make your reservation and is printed on your confirmation letter. I am not going to change it. If you do not plan on staying, don't make the reservation. You can thank the guy who cancelled his 1 month reservation due to a death in the family the day before his scheduled arrival. When his mail arrived three days later I called to get a forwarding address and his wife told me not to worry, they would be by later that day to pick it up. Now, we accept no stories and make no exceptions so you don't have to tell any lies.

18) Different rigs have hookups in different places, we have tried to place our connections as convenient as possible, but if you have an odd arrangement, they may not be as convenient as you wish. I am not bringing over the backhoe to move them to better accomodate your one night stay.

19) I can't stop the fireworks display on the fourth of July because you wish to go to sleep at 8PM.

20) Wind, rain, heat, cold, humidity, snow, sleet, ice, clouds, bright sun, sunrise, sunset and any other climatic event are not controlled by the office. I am not offering refunds due to the weather.

Thanks for listening, I feel better now. Hope to see you soon, provided you are not one of the above.

Westernrvparkowner


Outstanding, you must have a park in California.
DRS
Very informative post. The wife and I have discussed the possibility of purchasing or managing a RV park as a semi-retirement gig because of all the nice people we have met at camp grounds and RV parks over the years. We have noted the things we liked about a park and thought it would be great to apply that to our own park believing that others would enjoy it also. But your post brought forward the realization that even when some people are allegedly out traveling and enjoying themselves, they can be very rude, obnoxious, demanding, and selfish. Dealing with those kind of people have occurred all too often in my professional career, I certainly would not want to deal with that during retirement. Thanks for sharing.
RLM
Interesting post. It perhaps validates that there are always two sides to each issue.
drmcleod
1) My WiFi may be free, but that does not guarantee that you can connect.

Offering Free WiFi is considered a favor. No one can ever complain about a favor, only appreciative.

2) I am not impressed with you calling me a thief, a rip off artist or any four letter word because you think my rates are too high.

I agree. If someone doesn't like the rates, don't stay.

3) Try to hit the toilet when going number two

ugh.


10) If you wish to advertise a pornographic website across the back of your RV take it to another RV park.

Thank you for keeping your park family friendly!


15) If your 15 year old steals 2 tee shirts from our store, it is not "kids being kids". Paying after the fact is not enough, I will give you the option of leaving or being prosecuted. Calling me profaine names will not improve your case.

Was there an apology? I can see the parent's point of view on this one. If they tried to resolve the dispute by paying for the merchandise and apologizing, then kicking out of the park might be harsh. Getting the police to come out and scare the $%&*# out of the kids could be effective also, but under no circumstance should the parents be offended at the immoral actions of their children. Only apologetic.

16) If you drive off without unplugging your plug, unhooking your hose or disconnecting your cable I am not replacing your plug, hose or cable but I am charging you if my equipment is damaged. Again, cursing my employees will not improve your lot in life.

Mistakes happen, pay for them. If you damage the campground, pay for the repair!

I can understand your frustration, but don't let a few (or maybe even a handful) spoil your good intentions by running a nice campground. Those of us who respect you and your services do appreciate all you do (and put up with)!
Oakman
Dealing with the general public can be very frustrating, I hope this vent has been a big help to you. I apologize for all the RV'ers who can be real A$$es.

1) My WiFi may be free, but that does not guarantee that you can connect. I had a guest pound on my private residence at 2:12 AM demanding I refund his site charges because my WiFi would not work. After I woke up, I asked him to bring in his computer and I would take a quick look. I ran the computer's diagnostic program regarding internet connection and it pointed out the computer's wireless modem was turned off. After I switched it on the computer connected just fine. The guy muttered something about how that had never happened before and he trudged off. Imagine my surprise the next morning when he appeared at the office demanding his refund. He explained it must have been my system that magically reached down and turned off the modem button because it had never switched off before. He wanted a refund for the previous 3 days. I told him I would be glad tor refund the next four days he had sbooked and offered him and additional free five minutes to pack and leave.

I would have charged him for computer consulting and repair at the off-hours rate.

2) I am not impressed with you calling me a thief, a rip off artist or any four letter word because you think my rates are too high. I am not holding a gun to your head forcing you to pay. If you feel my rates are too high, just go elsewhere.

I can't believe people have the nerve to complain about rates when they don't have a clue as to the cost of a campground's operation.

3) Try to hit the toilet when going number two

There are places that sell targets made just for the bottom of a urinal, believe it or not, it works. You might try this next year and see if it works for you.

7) We have sewer connections for your sewage, the grass is already fertilized

Yes, and probably fertilized by their dog too.

10) If you wish to advertise a pornographic website across the back of your RV take it to another RV park.

Yea, what the heck is wrong with people? By the way, send me that website. biggrin.gif

11) If you wish to post a review of our park on this website, be sure the review applies to our park. I know our pool is not covered in green moss because we do not have a pool.

I read all reviews with a grain of salt.

15) If your 15 year old steals 2 tee shirts from our store, it is not "kids being kids". Paying after the fact is not enough, I will give you the option of leaving or being prosecuted. Calling me profaine names will not improve your case.

A fifteen year old thief will become a 25 year old thief.

Great post, thanks for sharing.
westernrvparkowner
Oakman, thanks for your reply, however, unless you are wired real different than I am, a target doesn't really help aim what was "dumped" on the floor, if you get my drift. Your target only helps for a number about 1/2 of Number 2. Thanks again Westernrvparkowner
westernrvparkowner
QUOTE(DRS @ Sep 11 2008, 01:12 PM) *

Very informative post. The wife and I have discussed the possibility of purchasing or managing a RV park as a semi-retirement gig because of all the nice people we have met at camp grounds and RV parks over the years. We have noted the things we liked about a park and thought it would be great to apply that to our own park believing that others would enjoy it also. But your post brought forward the realization that even when some people are allegedly out traveling and enjoying themselves, they can be very rude, obnoxious, demanding, and selfish. Dealing with those kind of people have occurred all too often in my professional career, I certainly would not want to deal with that during retirement. Thanks for sharing.

Hope I didn't totally discourage you. Most days owning a park is a great experience. However, remember that it is a business and needs to be run as such. Don't buy a park expecting it to be an extension of your RV vacations. If you are thin skinned and easily offended, an RV park is probably not going to be a good decision. It can be very painful to work for weeks planting trees and shrubs and flowers and have a guest tell you the park would be a better place if someone would get rid of all those trees and bushes and plants. They will tell you that if you didn't waste your time and money on them, you could lower your rates.
Bud in Florida
It is hard to believe how bad some campers can be. I esp like those who make reservations and then complain about the rates-- can't they read??? Where is your park-- I am heading west next year and might be in your area. I promise I'll be asleep at 2 am
Oakman
WesternRVParkOwner, I was hoping that "2" was a typo. Apparently it wasn't, YUK!
Lee and Fran
WesternRVParkOwner, thanks for sharing with us your experiences. Its a sad state of affairs for sure. And I have seen a lot of rv parks close over the years and its not always the owners fault. Rude and crude people have caused more than one to say to heck with this. I hope you will hang in there for us who will be continuing to travel over the next 20 years.
BBear
Thanks for your perspective. Honestly, I can't see how most of the campground owners put up with the rudeness and such some campers put them through.

I still can't get over those campers who blame the owners when their vacation is ruined by bad weather and some actually want a refund???? Too funny!

RL36
My wife and I always wanted to own a campground. Maybe someday we will, so every RV park/campground we go to we treat it like we would want someone to treat our own. Its like going over someones house and being disrespectful, I just wouldn't do it. Treat it like it was your own!!! biggrin.gif
mpj
QUOTE(RL36 @ Sep 14 2008, 01:46 PM) *

My wife and I always wanted to own a campground. Maybe someday we will, so every RV park/campground we go to we treat it like we would want someone to treat our own. Its like going over someones house and being disrespectful, I just wouldn't do it. Treat it like it was your own!!! biggrin.gif


From a campground owner: And that is what every campground/rv park owner wishes their customers would do. Some do, some don't and it is the ones that don't that we rant about.

I have often said that when people go on vacation, they leave their brains at home. They don't just disrespect our property, but those of other businesses as well. Think about the waitress in a restaurant that has to put up with those kids that run rampant on your campground, and the only tip left - if one is left at all - is a couple of bucks which she has to share with the buser and who knows who else. (Just an example).

We had to get rid of tent sites because those are the people causing the most damage to the park and restrooms. We figured 85% of the time it took us to pick up our park was spent at the tent sites - and we only had 10. We have 85 RV sites.

I am glad to know that we are not the only owners in the boat with problem customers.

Thanks for listening.
NicInNC
You should really have this printed up on a sign and post it at the entrance to your campground!! I'm so sorry you have to deal with the occasional idiots. I have seen many reviews slamming campgrounds for ridiculous reasons. We go to a state park in South Carolina that is FULL of raccoons and deer. When I was there last time, people were complaining about the raccoons getting into their food and taking it all. Well, maybe they should have paid more attention to all the signs warning them that all food must be LOCKED up. Closing the lid on your cooler left outside hardly compares to "locked up".
westernrvparkowner
When I made my list, I somehow forgot my favorite. Guests who ask for a shady site and then complain they cannot get a satellite signal. Now we have both shady and open sites, so it is not an issue of a satellite friendly site not being available, it is as if they do not know that trees can block satellite signals. Some people act like it is my fault, if I had planned better I would have raised satellite transparent trees. As we say here at the campground, Everyone wants in the forest, but nobody wants any trees!.
Parkview
biggrin.gif

Hello weternparkowner,

Glad to have you on this forum; from my perspective as a fellow park owner, your posts have all been right on target. I have witnessed everything you have described and some worse.
The challenge for all of us in order to maintain our sanity is to not let the crude, the rude, and the ugly behavior of the 2% affect our attitude toward the 98% who are some of the finest people in the world. Keep smiling and keep your informed posts coming.

Doug
mch2464
[quote name='westernrvparkowner' post='13148' date='Sep 10 2008, 07:11 PM'] I am a park owner as well. And although like others have said, most people are great - there are those that aren't. Toilets gets plugged. Kids are allowed to play with toys that are for sale while parents watch and do nothing, and they complain about having to pay for our waterslide although it clearly states everywhere that it is fee based. But that's the way it works. We have had less problems with wifi after we made it free, but sometimes people can't be helped because they don't want to be. People also assume that the campground is public property so they can remove anything they want and they get irate when we object. We have had to bury our firepits so that they aren't removed. Campers back in their trailer obviously not where it is intended to be then complain that the firepit is in the wrong spot. laugh.gif That's the way the industry is. It is nice to rant a little. At least this is not involved with a jealous park owner trashing another busier and better park owner. We all need to stick together. MCH
Florida Native
Life would be much easier wthout all of those pesky customers I guess. They do pay the bills though.
westernrvparkowner
QUOTE(Lindsay Richards @ Sep 18 2008, 05:39 PM) *

Life would be much easier wthout all of those pesky customers I guess. They do pay the bills though.

If the definition of a customer includes someone who defecates on the floor, curses staff, abuses property, ignores rules and has no consideration for anyone other than themselves then perhaps I AM in the wrong business. Maybe in your world Lindsay, these type of people are acceptable, and maybe you are one of them yourself. In my world, they are unwanted and can stay as far away from my business as possible. Most other responses on this post are sympathetic to park owners. It appears, Lindsay, that you are not. You are certainly welcome to your opinion. As I stated at the beginning of this tread, I am considering selling out to developers. Responses like yours make that option all the more likely. Hope you like paying more and more every year for a site as parks like mine close down and the remaining parks take advantage of the falling supply of sites and raise their rates accordingly. Just for your information, the customers I referenced at the start cost me much more than I ever get in site fees. They don't pay the bills, they create them.
Parkview
biggrin.gif

As I have stated before on this forum, I have been an RVer for about 20 years longer than I have been an RV Park owner. As an RVer I have visited parks that I will never visit again just because of the attitude of ownership or staff, even though the parks themselves may have been beautiful.

As a park owner, about 80% of our business is repeat business and word of mouth referrals. In order to be a repeat customer at our park, you must obey our rules or you will be blacklisted. This policy alone makes life much more enjoyable for the other 98% of our customers as well as our staff. We do not hold grudges against customers if they cause us problems; we simply bar them and never let them affect our attitude toward the vast majority of the RVing family. If I ever decide to sell our park, it will not be because customers irritate us; it will be because we are no longer profitable. I enjoy the business. I enjoy RVing. And I enjoy the people I meet (most of them).

Happy trails everyone!

Doug

PS: Lindsayrichards, from your previous posts, you are welcome at our park any time.

Florida Native
My wife and I were in the lodging business for over 10 years and had over 20,000 customers. I know very well how bad they can be. We saw it all. We also saw some of our competitors develop attitudes that shone through like a spot light no matter how hard they tried to cover it up. Customers are very perceptive as how they are welcomed. When I first read you original post, I told my wife that this guy was suffering from terminal burnout like so many others we had seen. When you open your door to the public, you can not control who walks thru the door. You must be prepared to accept the bad with the good. This is a fact of life. Like it or not. How you handle the bad customer can frequently mean the difference between red and black ink. If your customers are routinely driving you up the wall, then it is time to do something else. You health and well being depend on it. If this business is eating you up mentally, I would suggest doing something else. Life is too short to be unhappy in your work. We lived at our business as you probably do and it is a 24/7/365 business. Your cliental will probably not be changing. As far as there being a shortage of RV parks, this is just the opposite of what we see. I have stayed in probably a hundred RV parks in the last year or so and have not seen any real bad customers although I know you see them better than me and have not spent one night in a full park. All hundred had vacent sites. Rv’ing is certainly in a down turn and I think everybody will agree with that.

Thank You Parkview as I recall, you are in Texas. We missed you on our recent park. I had you on our map, but my navigator decided to go another way. We were in Texas for about 3 weeks and could have stayed a year without seeing anything twice.
westernrvparkowner
QUOTE(Lindsay Richards @ Sep 19 2008, 09:24 PM) *

My wife and I were in the lodging business for over 10 years and had over 20,000 customers. I know very well how bad they can be. We saw it all. We also saw some of our competitors develop attitudes that shone through like a spot light no matter how hard they tried to cover it up. Customers are very perceptive as how they are welcomed. When I first read you original post, I told my wife that this guy was suffering from terminal burnout like so many others we had seen. When you open your door to the public, you can not control who walks thru the door. You must be prepared to accept the bad with the good. This is a fact of life. Like it or not. How you handle the bad customer can frequently mean the difference between red and black ink. If your customers are routinely driving you up the wall, then it is time to do something else. You health and well being depend on it. If this business is eating you up mentally, I would suggest doing something else. Life is too short to be unhappy in your work. We lived at our business as you probably do and it is a 24/7/365 business. Your cliental will probably not be changing. As far as there being a shortage of RV parks, this is just the opposite of what we see. I have stayed in probably a hundred RV parks in the last year or so and have not seen any real bad customers although I know you see them better than me and have not spent one night in a full park. All hundred had vacent sites. Rv’ing is certainly in a down turn and I think everybody will agree with that.

Thank You Parkview as I recall, you are in Texas. We missed you on our recent park. I had you on our map, but my navigator decided to go another way. We were in Texas for about 3 weeks and could have stayed a year without seeing anything twice.



Thanks for the long distance analysis, however I think you may be a little off base. I certainly am tired from a long season, but by no means am I burnt out. I am very happy with my business, but just wanted to get across to the people that read these posts that there are sometimes reasons a park owner may be a little short or, yes, even cranky at times. As for an overabundance of RV sites, it may be true where you have traveled, but it is not the case in my area. We keep detailed records and were completely full and turning away guests 93 days out of our 180 day season. This means ALL our sites were full, including the 15 smaller sites that only accomodate small camping vans and class C rigs. Our park is not small, 85 full hookup sites plus cabins. We also have no seasonal guests, the park is totally occupied by guests on vacation. We turned away larger rigs due to availability an additional 28 days meaning 121 days out of 180 we were somewhere close to full capacity. There are only 4 RV parks serving a 50 mile radius of my location and one has sold to developers for a luxury housing development. Inventory is dropping and there is a shortage of sites in our area. If you visit the national park I serve in June, July or August and do not have a reservation, be prepared to dry camp in a forest service campground well off the beaten path or drive 50 plus miles to find a vacancy.
BBear
QUOTE(westernrvparkowner @ Sep 20 2008, 12:13 PM) *

I am very happy with my business, but just wanted to get across to the people that read these posts that there are sometimes reasons a park owner may be a little short or, yes, even cranky at times.


I'm sure there's lots of reasons why you may be a little short or even cranky because of things that happen, but you also have to understand that you really shouldn't treat other customers in a cranky manner if they have nothing to do with the situation or are even privy to the situation that made you cranky to begin with.
Florida Native
You are welcome for the analysis. I usually charge big bucks for them. Glad you are bucking the national downward trend in the Rv’ing industry.
John Blue
Wife and I run our housing rental business for 30 years and everything I read here was on our plate as well. Most people are happy most of the time but others will never be happy anytime. People would call you at 11:00 pm and tell you they need some small item fixed. We had ask two days before do you have any problems that I need to fix, answer = NO! A/C would stop and on Sat night you get a call that unit is hot (yes FL is Hot). What day did it stop, well I think it was couple days ago. So now you ask me to fix it on Sat. night, now that all the parts houses are closed and it is hard to work in the dark. It never got any better.

RV parks are much the same as our work. People move in and out all the time and you clean up the mess!
Tom
QUOTE(westernrvparkowner @ Sep 10 2008, 06:11 PM) *

My season is almost over and I need to vent off some steam.


GREAT rant! Hope it helped. I run a small business (not a park), and so have some understanding when I am talking to a park owner. More than once (when we arrive and are patient and polite while checking in) we have seen the owner / counter help give out a great sigh of relief and thank us for being patient, as they are having a crazy day. Usually it is late on a Friday, with everyone checking in for the weekend, and calling the office to complain about their site.

When we have had issues with our site, I don't freak out unless it is an emergency (and that would have be one heck of an issue!).

At one campground, when we pulled up to our site the firepit was just in completely the wrong spot for any kind of setup with a fire going. The fire pit was right next to the only place to put our TT (not sure what kind of setup the previous campers had). This campground has strict rules about moving the firepits. I contacted the office, told them that it was in NO way an emergency, but when they had a chance send someone over to look at the situation. Being (as usual) late on Friday, it took almost two hours, but a guy came over to see. He said it made no sense at all where the firepit was, and pointed out that the previous campers obviously had moved it from where it was supposed to be. He and I moved it back to it's proper place, and he thanked me for contacting the office before moving anything.

Another time at a different campground, the grey water drain at our site was loose in the ground. I wanted the office to have a staff member check it out before we used it, to see the condition it was in. I went to the office and told them it was NOT an emergency, but when they had the chance to send someone over (again, this was during busy checkin time on Friday, and our TT does have a grey tank so we would be fine for days if need be). About an hour or so later, a nice and polite gentleman came by, checked everything out, tightened the pipe, and said it would be fine. He thanked us for letting the office know and telling them that is was not an emergency.

Notice a trend? It seems that when we are polite and reasonable, the campground staff is polite and reasonable. Who would have thought that?

We just had someone threaten to report our dog for being aggressive at a campground. The person was walking their dog (on a leash), and when they passed close to our campsite (basically, their dog was IN our campsite, although on a leash), our dog lunged at them, but was held back inside our campsite by her stout collar and strong cable we use. No growling or barking involved, just our dog checking out the newcomer. We politely replied: "Go ahead, our dog is kept securely within our campsite". Campground staff did stop by later, saw how everything was setup, and said to please continue to enjoy our stay. And No, we did not "report" the other campers for allowing their dog into our campsite... to me it is all just part of camping at a busy campground.

Well, this went a little longer than I had expected. Anyways, see you on the road!

B HANSEN
I use to be a repairman for a major appliance dealer. The public can be a pain in the back side. I also had many who were great people and they like the job or service I did. Try to remember the good people. In you urinals you should put the pictures of your pain in the butts. This may have the guys take better aim.

We aim to please so please aim!
RV Camper
Like any subject, there are two sides to this. I spent 32 years in customer service and have been spending most of my time as a resident volunteer on public facilities as a campground host, or interpretive staff in a great many locations. I have also been a fulltimer for more than 8 1/2 years so I have seen both sides in both RV park situations and in business. A major part of this thread is what you choose to remember and which customers.

I have learned that the larger the dog a camper owns, the more likely that the owner will not pick up what his dog deposits along the way. It also seems that the owners of the the most expensive and of the least expensive of RVs tend to give the most problems. Children seem to come in two forms, well behaved and terrorists. Very often the parents are of the same nature.

But in both my service career and in my current avocation, I have found that there are far more nice folks than there are nasty ones. To me, it only makes sense to stay in a service business as long as one can continue to believe this. In both my career and in my current life, it is the people that I have enjoyed most.

There will always be those who are demanding, arrogant, destructive and just plain jerks. But when we reach the point of becoming like them, we allow them to win. The owners have my empathy, but that does not make me willing to tolerate a bad attitude on their part.
Parkview
biggrin.gif

Kudos to all of you who seem to have a little understanding of the issues that we park owners and other campers face from the less considerate among us. As stated well by others, the trick is to not let the misbehavers affect our attitude toward everyone else. Our motto - "When you wrestle with a pig, you both get muddy, but the pig likes it."

Hope to you down the road.

Doug
biggrin.gif
Florida Native
QUOTE
the trick is to not let the misbehavers affect our attitude toward everyone else.


Well said. This is the key to success in any "people" business. Having been in it forever and now being retired f0or several years, I miss the people the most and find the nasty types are the ones you forget the quickest. It is the funny things that tend to stick with me about my former guests and customers.
Just Jack

5) If there is a power outage throughout the campground due to a storm, I cannot make your power pedestal work no matter how much you yell.

As a park owner I would like to add a couple of additions to the list.

Addition to Item 5

Yes I know the power is off and No I don't know when it will be back on. Please don't run to to office to tell me.

Add one additional item.

READ the rules and READ the signs posted. I am sure most parks give you thier park rules at check in. READ THEM, and we will not have to come by and tell them to you. When it clearly says door mat size rugs outside because of the grass, and you carpet the entire site, you probably didn't read the rules. They may be a little different than the last park you stayed in.

Great posting, thank you
pharmacistkaren
I LOOOOVE this!!!!
DXSMac
IT's raining! Make it stop! Oh, you can't do that? Well, what kind of an RV park is this? You obviously don't care about customer service if you can't make it stop raining. That's it, I'm giving you a ONE on RVParkreviews.com..........


JJ


( tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif )
KevinBurns
Thanks for the post. We got a real laugh out of it. Being in business presents some unique challenges.

I'm in construction estimating and have seen my share of similar experiences. In fact, today I had a good one. I provided a budget price for a job at $7 million. The drawings were little more than sketches. It turns out that a competitor bid $3 million and the contractor is awarding the job based on that price. Talk about risk! They could easily lose $4 million on their guess if they accept the contract. I've worked with this engineer for 28 years and I wouldn't touch the job for that price.

Sometimes it's better to just say "no thanks".
conway
I LOVE THIS!!!!!!!!! It is sooo true!
Tom
QUOTE(beartoo @ Oct 2 2008, 09:59 AM) *

Try to remember the good people. In you urinals you should put the pictures of your pain in the butts. This may have the guys take better aim.

We aim to please so please aim!


In re-reading this thread, I just caught this! laugh.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.