Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: List Parks That You Have Or Would Stay For At Least A Month
RV Park Reviews Campground Discussion Forum > RV Park and Campground Discussions > RV Park Discussions
stitchlips
I am new here and my wife and I are going to start full timing. I would like to know from anyone, anywhere in the USA, what parks they have or would consider staying at for a period of at least a month. It can be federal parks, state parks, resorts or boondocking it really does not matter.

I would like to start penciling in some good places on my map. I am born and raised in Florida and have not been to many other places.

Thanks in advance and I hope there are a lot of suggestions.
FosterImposters
Welcome aboard Stitchlips! Like you two, we thought about full timing quite a while before actually cutting the landlines. (Like everytime one of us was laid off, downsized, right-sized, or was made cross country re-location offers.) tongue.gif

We've now been full-timing 4 years. We've evolved. You will too. What was the cat's meow when we started out; no longer works so well.

Our first winter (from Southern California), we just wanted to stay someplace close by on a monthly basis so we could get the hang of a new coach, and finalize a ton of details, including our home's sale. Literally nothing in our community would either allow, or had the infrastructure to support month to month stays. Sort of trapped by weather as well. If we could have made Pechanga Resort in Temecula, California our monthly headquarters, it would have been perfect. New, concrete pads, safe, totally robust hook-ups, satellite, cell phone friendly and great proximity to everything we knew. Alas, 29 days was the most they could do. Then an undefined time had to be spent off-site.

We actually spent a fair amount of time there, then would bounce out to the Anza Borrego Desert.

The AB Desert is my favorite, but was too far away for all the daily running around we needed to accomplish that first winter. (Had to run up and down those mountains everytime a realtor called!)

NOW, it's a perfect winter location. I don't think the State Park allows monthly stays, but there's a very nice new RV and Golf Resort in the town of Borrego Springs now.

What do you two like? Golfers, bikers, frustrated naturalists (like me)?
A.E.Michell
Hi! Welcome...IF I had all the money in the world I would go to The Outdoor Resort in Hilton Head,SC. I can keep on dreaming!
stitchlips
We love nature and love to ride our bikes. We just want to see the world!
A.E.Michell
In Hilton Head there are about 50 miles of paved trails as well as the hard packed beach where you can ride for 12 miles in 1 direction. Lots of nature also!
FosterImposters
QUOTE(stitchlips @ Sep 14 2010, 07:27 AM) *

We love nature and love to ride our bikes. We just want to see the world!


OK we have a vibe.
Can recommend Astoria, Oregon. History, location, beauty, the Columbia River, food, ahhhh. It's close enough to Portland for mega shopping, but remote enough to avoid the crush.

Fort Stevens State Park is a fabulous location and after Labor Day, it is MUCH less crowded. It has paved bike trails all over. Downside is the limited connectivity with electronics.

Another option is the Lewis and Clark RV Park in south Astoria. Newer park, robust hook-ups, no hassle cell and satellite connectivity and they cater to the those who can entertain themselves. (aka no little kids). Was a fabulous base for us. The owners will adopt you.
cool.gif
RFCN2
smile.gif The RV Park we have stayed at so far that I could easily spend a month at is the "Springs at Borrego". This is in Borrego Springs CA. We have spent a week here the last two years from just after Christmas till just after New Years and we really love it. The park is immaculately clean, beautiful, great views, green in the desert, golf, bike riding, big dog run, wonderful winter weather. Plus Borrego is a great small place. Quiet but not empty. Not much to do but some things to do. Plus Palm Springs is an acceptable drive.
smile.gif We also like the Tombstone Territories RV Park just west of Tombstone. We were very comfortable here for several days earlier this year and could spend a month here. Not nearly as lux as the Springs, but very nice people and beautiful stars at night.
Tom
In Connecticut.... hmm.... My first thought is there isn't one campground/park here I'd like to spend a whole month at. From a practical standpoint, though, I guess a full service campground sorta in the middle would be good. Connecticut is not too big, so a middle campground allows day trips to pretty much the whole state.

I guess Nelson's Family Campground in East Hampton would work. Has full hookups, a busy, well maintained campground, and you can explore the state from there.

I'll have to think more about this!

Have fun campin'!
Jurhee
QUOTE(stitchlips @ Sep 12 2010, 09:23 PM) *

I am new here and my wife and I are going to start full timing. I would like to know from anyone, anywhere in the USA, what parks they have or would consider staying at for a period of at least a month. It can be federal parks, state parks, resorts or boondocking it really does not matter.

I would like to start penciling in some good places on my map. I am born and raised in Florida and have not been to many other places.

Thanks in advance and I hope there are a lot of suggestions.



If within your budget, Outdoor Resorts are great. We own one in Indio, CA, and have stayed at several others, Las Vegas, one in Arkansas is awesome, Oregon, is nice if you like the coast. A couple of weeks we visited "The Palms" a new resort in Yuma, AZ. We are seriously considering a month or two there next winter. There are lots of great places around, depending on your style and budget! ENJOY!!!!!

Jurhee
Piscesman
Pleasant Harbor RV Resort north of Phoenix...the sites are small, but the location and the low monthly rates can't be beat! Zion River Resort just outside Zion Nat'l Park.
DXSMac
Doubt you would ever have a reason to go to Richland, WA (in the middle of a desert and all that Hanford stuff....), but if you do, Horn Rapids RV Resort is an EXCELLENT place to spend a month. They keep pretty late hours (open as early as 6:00 AM, I think......) and stay open to I think 8:00 PM in Winter, longer in summer.

http://www.hornrapidsrvresort.com/

They plan activities for everyone there, they have dinners, Poker, breakfasts..... Good place to meet people.

JJ
AngelB
Crown Point Camping Area in Perkensville, VT. Hands down, no contest.
Id live there fulltime if I could. Beautiful, the lay-out is like a small community with little roads, big private sites lots of trees. Hand carved 'street' signs with names like "whipperwill lane".

(I tried writing a review but I kept getting timed out =/)

Anyways, if you're ever in Vermont, this place is a must.
rvgirl22
I travel with my work and stay at about 8 to 10 parks a year. I use the park reviews here, quite alot while making my decision in choosing a park.
The only time the reviews were wrong, was with a park in the Jackson Ms area (specifically Brandon, Ms)
DO NOT wacko.gif stay at the Allens Creek Resort in Brandon. The management (who do not own the park) was terrible and some of the worst I have ever had to deal with in my travels.
Texasrvers
QUOTE(rvgirl22 @ Oct 3 2010, 11:59 AM) *

I travel with my work and stay at about 8 to 10 parks a year. I use the park reviews here, quite alot while making my decision in choosing a park.
The only time the reviews were wrong, was with a park in the Jackson Ms area (specifically Brandon, Ms)
DO NOT wacko.gif stay at the Allens Creek Resort in Brandon. The management (who do not own the park) was terrible and some of the worst I have ever had to deal with in my travels.



Hmmmm, I thought the topic was parks you WOULD stay at.
Tom
QUOTE(AngelB @ Oct 2 2010, 03:09 AM) *

(I tried writing a review but I kept getting timed out =/)


Try writing the review beforehand using something like Microsoft Word, then just copy and paste it into the review for RVParkreviews.

dog bone
We like Frontiertown, Ocean City, Md. I could stay all summer. Bike riding would be great on Assateauge Is. It is just accrossed the bay. You can ride with the wild ponies and the midget deer.
shovelguy
Just came back from a week stay at Casey's Riverside RV Park in Oakridge, Or. It was lovely, right on the Middle Fork of the Willamette River. Great fishing, or so I am told. The physical facilities were just great (concrete pads, very clean restrooms, laundry) and the owners were very helpful. Great place and we would definitely stay there a month, in the summer or fall.
EMDQueen
Welcome!
Full timer for 4 years. Have stayed or would stay at Lazy Palms in Edinburg Texas. Off the beaten path but cant beat the friendliness of the owners. Also Hatch RV park in Corpus Christi Texas. Hidden gem in the heart of the city. Very quiet and not too expensive. Quiet Texas RV park in Hondo is another well kept secret. Great rates, Nice people and quiet. Enchanted Trails in Albuquerque, nice big sites for a reasonable rate. I think the secret is to figure out what is important to you. Do you require a pool to be happy? Are you ok parking on gravel or only want paved sites. Another one is On the Beach in Port Aransas, Texas. Dirt spaces, no pool, no clubhouse but just steps from the Gulf of Mexico! Heaven! Braunig Lake by San Antonio is another nice place. As you can tell we spend most of our time in Texas. For other states, in Big Timber, Montana there is a campground called Spring Creek where you can back right up to the river. If you have a back window, this is amazing. The grass is lush and green. No sewer connection but they do have a dump. Sites that are not on the river do have septic. Again, not for everyone. The Grand Casino RV Resort in Hinkley, MN is OMG! They even have a shuttle that picks you up and takes you to the casino and then brings you home. Great lodge as well. Don't know how long you can stay there. Hope this helps.
RVfan
Crown Villa RV Resort, Bend, Oregon.

cool.gif

DXSMac
QUOTE(RVfan @ Dec 7 2010, 12:15 PM) *

Crown Villa RV Resort, Bend, Oregon.

cool.gif


I agree that is a nice place, but it's PRICEY! Crown Villa is like staying at the Marriott!

JJ
Lindsay Richards
I can not imagine staying in one place that long. We have stayed in one park in Berlin, Oh (Amish country) for 7 days and in another in Port Townson for 6 days (but actually stayed in the motor home 3 nights as we went to see friends.). I think we would be bored staying much longer. Our normal routine is to travel one day about 3 or 4 hours and then stay two nights or one night with a very short hop. We love to explore and frequently put more miles on our toad than on the coach even when we are gone for several months. One problem we have is our kitchen only work in the morning and is always broken for lunch and dinner or so my wife tells me.
RLM
There are alot of nice places that I could mention, but I am not being factitious when I say that the answer to that question would be any..any place that I had all to myself.

I doubt that anyone who has been RVing for some time could argue with that.
EMDQueen
QUOTE(Lindsay Richards @ Dec 8 2010, 05:32 PM) *

I can not imagine staying in one place that long. We have stayed in one park in Berlin, Oh (Amish country) for 7 days and in another in Port Townson for 6 days (but actually stayed in the motor home 3 nights as we went to see friends.). I think we would be bored staying much longer. Our normal routine is to travel one day about 3 or 4 hours and then stay two nights or one night with a very short hop. We love to explore and frequently put more miles on our toad than on the coach even when we are gone for several months. One problem we have is our kitchen only work in the morning and is always broken for lunch and dinner or so my wife tells me.


Hmm, kitchen broken... I like it! I'm going to use that one!
Skymessenger
QUOTE(Lindsay Richards @ Dec 8 2010, 05:32 PM) *

One problem we have is our kitchen only work in the morning and is always broken for lunch and dinner or so my wife tells me.


My wife would tell me to get OUTSIDE and cook something on the gril! biggrin.gif
MaineDon
We've just spent a month at the McDowell Regional Park near Fountain Hills, AZ. Every site has wonderful mountain views and hikes onto the Sonoran Desert are plentiful. You have a 2-week limit in each of their two loops, but you can move from one to another after your 1st 2 weeks are up. It's a great place.....W-E, with a dump station.
FosterImposters
QUOTE(EMDQueen @ Dec 2 2010, 08:19 PM) *

...the secret is to figure out what is important to you...


EMDQueen and RLM captured the essence.
When first started with our full-timing experience; we found a wonderful park local to our original home. Was perfect to finish closing out one life-style and begin another:
Pechanga RV Park in Temecula, California. Security, full hook-ups, spotless laundry and bathrooms. The edge of town location was ideal. After 3-4 months (on and off, as they have a 29-day stay limit), we were ready to hit the road.

Still prefer southern California for winters, due to proximity of our grown kids. However we've outgrown Pechanga.

Spent several months at Sunland RV Park in Escondido, California. Great location to all things San Diego. Likewise enjoyed couple winters at Golden Villiage Palms in Hemet, California. Both are full hook-up, RV parking in suburbia kind of places. One takes the tow car to all the outlying areas (ocean, mountains, deserts, malls, and downtowns).

Spending this winter at Rancho California RV Resort: Aguanga, California. Renting an owner site (best value) which overlooks a small fishing lake. Fabulous elbow room, full hook-ups, security and waaaaaay out of any town. Clear view of the southern sky and all my electronic toys purr without issue.

Could easily park here for eternity... cool.gif
camper12549
QUOTE(stitchlips @ Sep 12 2010, 09:23 PM) *

I am new here and my wife and I are going to start full timing. I would like to know from anyone, anywhere in the USA, what parks they have or would consider staying at for a period of at least a month. It can be federal parks, state parks, resorts or boondocking it really does not matter.

I would like to start penciling in some good places on my map. I am born and raised in Florida and have not been to many other places.

Thanks in advance and I hope there are a lot of suggestions.

rockfarmer
If money were no object, I think that Willow Tree in Longs, SC is a great campground. It is close to Myrtle Beach and there are lots of activities nearby. The park itself is excellent with large sites, lots of walking paths, a large lake (catch and release only), and very quiet. If you wish, you can get a site with a hot tub but it is $$$. The staff is very friendly and the grounds are well maintained.

We have spent a week there for the past 6 years and plan to continue to return.
Glenn Norton
We tend to camp for only a few days at each park, but have spent a month at Shadow Ridge RV Park in Ajo, Arizona. The park has most amenities including a clubhouse and the area is close to many desert trails. Also the town is small enough to walk around or take your bike. cool.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.