Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Rating Parks When Not Staying
RV Park Reviews Campground Discussion Forum > RV Park and Campground Discussions > RV Park Discussions
pogoil
Seems to me many are rating a park when they are not even staying one night.
That is a flaw with this site.
kcmoedoe
I am kind of 50/50 on that. I would like to know if someone didn't stay at a park because they drove up and it appeared to be a refugee camp or a war zone. On the other hand, giving a park a low score and a bad review because it is in the North and wasn't open in January, or had security gates and wouldn't let someone just drive through to check it out, or the cost was beyond what someone wanted to pay etc is very wrong. We all know that about 10% of the reviews for parks are wildly inaccurate. Of that 10% half are scathing reviews by someone with an ax to grind that has nothing to do with the park and the other half are glowing reviews written by someone with ties to the park. Toss the highs and the lows and what is left pretty accurate.
wprigge
QUOTE(pogoil @ May 30 2011, 10:40 AM) *

Seems to me many are rating a park when they are not even staying one night.
That is a flaw with this site.


I plead guilty on that one. I have written a review on a park where I did not stay, simply because it was in an area where not many campgrounds are listed here and I felt it could be useful for someone to know about the existence of this place that appeared quite ok.
joez
As long as the reviewer states clearly that they did not stay I have no problem with a rating and comments. If someone said, for instance "I gave a low rating because the road into the park was too narrow for my motorhome", or "the first thing we saw were two pit bulls fighting over a chicken carcass", I would be able to figure out whether to consider the campground or not. Even one of the "I did not like the check in person's attitude" would tell something - that the rating was not worth considering. I like this site the way that it is - it has served us well.
FosterImposters
QUOTE(joez @ May 30 2011, 01:37 PM) *

..."the first thing we saw were two pit bulls fighting over a chicken carcass"...


laugh.gif laugh.gif
OMG I loved this! I have tears running down my face and my DH thinks I've lost my mind.



dalsgal
I expected a review from a man that got angry at me because I smiled at him but not the way he wanted me to and I couldn't do that because I had just returned from getting serious dental work done. He got in his vehicle and drove through the park at about 25 mph and then almost ran me down. He screamed at me that I was very rude not to smile properly.
blomquir
I believe I'd rather have the opportunity to discern whether or not a "non-stay" review had merit or not than to not have the choice to hear what a member had to say.

Personally, I've recon'd a couple of parks that were so horrendous there is no way I could recommend anyone staying at them. I think that information is valuable and appreciated by most.

The metric should be that as long as a reviewer actually puts "boots on the ground" then they should be free to post what they experienced.

Tom
QUOTE(joez @ May 30 2011, 01:37 PM) *

As long as the reviewer states clearly that they did not stay I have no problem with a rating and comments. If someone said, for instance "I gave a low rating because the road into the park was too narrow for my motorhome", or "the first thing we saw were two pit bulls fighting over a chicken carcass", I would be able to figure out whether to consider the campground or not. Even one of the "I did not like the check in person's attitude" would tell something - that the rating was not worth considering. I like this site the way that it is - it has served us well.


I agree with this. Combined with other reviews, you can get a good idea of the campground.
dog bone
Back before we joined here,we traveled around a bit. We would pick a campground where we wanted to stay and sightsee, that would include other campgrounds in the area. Sometimes you can tell quite a bit from driving through.

Stop at the office tell them what we are doing there and get a site map. Most of the time the personel was friendly. Drive around and look at the sites and the rest of the park. Look for a site we would want for the next time and write it all down in our log book. We couldn't tell about water pressure or electric, but from looking and talking we could decide if we wanted to go there next time or stay where we were.

I guess what I'm saying, I don't see anything wrong if drive throughs are writing reviews. I was just long winded about it.

katsuey
I agree that "drive-through" reviews are fine by me. If someone takes the trouble to go to a campground and then decides not to stay - that tells me something and may save the rest of us some time! rolleyes.gif
Cape Codger
ohmy.gif
I have to add my two cents here. We drove seven miles down some of the most dangerous roads in TN to get to a campground. There were drag marks in the tar from other campers and trailers going over the edge of the non-shoulder from the axles and springs dragging when the wheels dropped off. There were no shoulders, just a drop off on each side. After I arrived I found no office at the campground, just a self check in and when I went to find a site I found I could not fit in the so called pull through (opening the slide would extend into the road) and the other sites were only small trailer size.
When I submitted the review it was rejected because I didn't stay. I explained I didn't stay because I couldn't fit and I wanted to warn others to avoid this place unless you have a small B or Mini trailer or some such sized camper.
Now I wonder how many others drove all that distance only to find what we ran into. Also wonder how many had problems on this road because two rv's would have to fold in the mirrors creep by each other to pass on by. The road is that narrow and twisty.
Yes, I do know how too drive an RV. In my former life I drove fire trucks, cruisers and big rigs so I know what to watch for on the roads and how to read pavement.
Terry Morehouse
As a campground owner, I object to reviews where people did not stay. I do not see how they can properly rate a park. In my case, we closed the camp a few days early due to some freezing weather and risk of frozen pipes. We had a latecomer reservation whom we were unable to contact. We made a reservation for him at a camp just down the road, (approximately 2 miles) that was still open. I admit a camp does not look its best when windows/doors etc are boarded up for winter months ahead. I feel that we did our best to accommodate the gentleman.
Texasrvers
Did this person write a bad review for your campground?
Terry Morehouse
QUOTE(Terry Morehouse @ Jun 17 2011, 08:33 AM) *

As a campground owner, I object to reviews where people did not stay. I do not see how they can properly rate a park. In my case, we closed the camp a few days early due to some freezing weather and risk of frozen pipes. We had a latecomer reservation whom we were unable to contact. We made a reservation for him at a camp just down the road, (approximately 2 miles) that was still open. I admit a camp does not look its best when windows/doors etc are boarded up for winter months ahead. I feel that we did our best to accommodate the gentleman.


Yes they did, my suspicion is that they had to pay quite a bit more than we charge as we are a Good Sam park and give a 10% discount. They probably had to pay$6-$10 more a night plus $5 for WiFi as we give Free WiFi at our park. I was very polite and apologized profusely for not being able to take them due to the inclement weather we had been having.
Wink
QUOTE(Terry Morehouse @ Jun 17 2011, 02:21 PM) *

Yes they did, my suspicion is that they had to pay quite a bit more than we charge as we are a Good Sam park and give a 10% discount. They probably had to pay$6-$10 more a night plus $5 for WiFi as we give Free WiFi at our park. I was very polite and apologized profusely for not being able to take them due to the inclement weather we had been having.


If it is that cold I am going south or home any way.We camp last year in Florida south of Orlando
and it got dow to 24 and sleet the day we got there.Showers and rest rooms no heat that was fun.
First time my little electric heater would not keep up.They had put heat tapes on the pipes inside the rest room. sad.gif

QUOTE(Terry Morehouse @ Jun 17 2011, 08:33 AM) *

As a campground owner, I object to reviews where people did not stay. I do not see how they can properly rate a park. In my case, we closed the camp a few days early due to some freezing weather and risk of frozen pipes. We had a latecomer reservation whom we were unable to contact. We made a reservation for him at a camp just down the road, (approximately 2 miles) that was still open. I admit a camp does not look its best when windows/doors etc are boarded up for winter months ahead. I feel that we did our best to accommodate the gentleman.


It depends on how they review it and state that they did not stay.I have drove up to a few that I would not stay in over night.In the respect and you explain why as the one I am thinking about look like a refuge camp.Don`t need to stay at one like that to know you don`t want to stay.And I am not that picky.But when you feel you need to sleep with you pistol in hand with one eye open
as most I would like to know before I go there.
Lindsay Richards
I think you should have at least visited the campground. We did this once when in New Orleans when we went to the campground and it was in a bad neighborhood and had a large fence around it to keep the who knows what out. We drove up and left. I wrote it up so others would know what they were getting into.
Wink
QUOTE(Lindsay Richards @ Jul 11 2011, 05:15 PM) *

I think you should have at least visited the campground. We did this once when in New Orleans when we went to the campground and it was in a bad neighborhood and had a large fence around it to keep the who knows what out. We drove up and left. I wrote it up so others would know what they were getting into.


Lindsay
This one looked like the rest of the neighborhood no fence.Driving in would be like driving though a Field of dilapidated trailers.And it is not rated as I did`t remember the name of it.
We were in Kentucky and just saw the sign.Over night RV spaces.There was about 8 spaces that you could see and they did have power boxs and water that you could see.
chowhound
We are members because we are seeking information and the benefit of others experience in selecting where to stay. In that regard all information whether they stayed there or not could be helpful, particularly if the reviewer is upfront as to why. Then in the end we all have to decide for ourselves.
Galli
QUOTE(wprigge @ May 30 2011, 11:32 AM) *

I plead guilty on that one. I have written a review on a park where I did not stay, simply because it was in an area where not many campgrounds are listed here and I felt it could be useful for someone to know about the existence of this place that appeared quite ok.

I am sorry, I don't agree with you and with anyone that concur with you even by stating .. I didnít stay there.
A review is some thing very, very serious that can improperly enhance or denigrate a facility.
A campground is a business organization where serious people had invested a lot of money in order to get into that business and if you did not use the facility is unfair in both way to recommend or denigrate the facility and in final analysis it is also detrimental to the credibility of this forum.
I am sorry, I am not trying to lecture you but at the time our words, as campers, bring lots of weight for other people to make a decision of whether to use a specific place or not.
this is why I was always against a specific review in which it is not specified the items that are wrong.
I had a chance to visit the camp that had been tore apart by a reviewer in which it was stated that the management was impolite, you couldn't ask a thing because they weren't listening to you, they were rude with my children.. etc..,
Well, speaking with residents at the camp I learned that that family was very dirty in their property, the children were very impolite, wild and disturbing the neighbors and parting up to very late at night.
As far as I was concerned , that place was nothing special but not to be treated as negative as it was done.

PS = I Am a regular camper and not a camp owner
Lindsay Richards
When safety is involved and you decide to leave for that reason, you have a responsibility to pass along your comment in a review with good explanations. I think most of us have the ability to weed out the oddball review by somebody that had a problem. I rarely write a "scathing" review. I do only when it is needed. Usually when I feel like I have been taken advantage of by a campground owner or deliberately lied to. On our last trip, we had 2 different campgrounds tell us over the phone that they had WiFi. Neither one was workable. I talked to the owners on both. One guy was just uninformed on WiFi and didn't have a clue. I gave them a fair review and highlighted the WiFi. The second guy basically lied to us and said we could get it in all sites. He was a techie and was just advertising falsely. I gave him a low score and a bad review stating why. We have also given a review because of inability to get into a campground due to overhanging trees. I felt like this was important for others to see. As far a people making an investment in a business, I have seen many that were just running out the string on somebody elses investment.
Galli
QUOTE(Lindsay Richards @ Jul 26 2011, 07:58 PM) *

When safety is involved and you decide to leave for that reason, you have a responsibility to pass along your comment in a review with good explanations. I think most of us have the ability to weed out the oddball review by somebody that had a problem. I rarely write a "scathing" review. I do only when it is needed. Usually when I feel like I have been taken advantage of by a campground owner or deliberately lied to. On our last trip, we had 2 different campgrounds tell us over the phone that they had WiFi. Neither one was workable. I talked to the owners on both. One guy was just uninformed on WiFi and didn't have a clue. I gave them a fair review and highlighted the WiFi. The second guy basically lied to us and said we could get it in all sites. He was a techie and was just advertising falsely. I gave him a low score and a bad review stating why. We have also given a review because of inability to get into a campground due to overhanging trees. I felt like this was important for others to see. As far a people making an investment in a business, I have seen many that were just running out the string on somebody elses investment.

Lidsay, I agree with you 100 %, a review should present facts, in your case it was about WiFi or trees too low and an other campers can decide whether these items are important to him/her or not.
It is very difficult to write a non-opinionated report and in my case, before deciding for a specific campsite, first I try to find a review and then I am asking in this forum if anyone was there and if I find some one who's been there before, I will discuss with him/her the status, this will give me an idea of what it's there also you get the feeling of the accuracy of the person that you are corresponding.
Donít take me wrong, there are too many crappy campgrounds that deserve to be shunned but on the same token, there are too many campers that inconsistently use attributes, positive or negative to indicate a specific place which have no basis except a personal friendship or vendetta and this is not a help
Lindsay Richards
And then there are the reviews from the campground itself or a competitor to that campground. No system can be perfect and I think it behooves us all as users of this site to understand the potential problems and work through them.
Meyer Camping
QUOTE(Lindsay Richards @ Jul 27 2011, 03:37 PM) *

And then there are the reviews from the campground itself or a competitor to that campground. No system can be perfect and I think it behooves us all as users of this site to understand the potential problems and work through them.

Well I think it is time for me to put in my two cents here. I agree with Lindsay, not only because he correctly used "behooves" in a sentence but also for the underlying principle. When I am looking for a campground to stay at with my wife and daughters, safety is a primary concern. If a campground is in an unsavory neighborhood then I want to know about it and I don't think someone else should be forced to stay someplace they are not comfortable so that information can be passed on.

One caveat, I would expect that any review for which the reviewer did not actually stay there would contain that information, clearly stated.

One other thing, I view all reviews here as opinion, not fact. To use an example already related, the low hanging branches that caused potential damage could have been trimmed the next day/week. Things change, some for the better and some for the worse.
rvmamabel
I absolutely agree with the last post. I am a mom with two young daughters and we go out on our own in the TT and leave dad at home a lot. I absolutely want to know about run down and unsafe campgrounds. Also, I will say that I benefited from such a post last summer in St. Louis. We drove thru the CG in question, thinking to save some money, but had to agree with the reviewer who said, "we drove in and drove out" as we did exactly the same. Now, we did take the time to check it out on our own, as we had the time to do so, but when I can't, those types of reviews about rundown CG's are super appreciated by this mom.
Galli
QUOTE(Meyer Camping @ Jul 27 2011, 09:04 PM) *

Well I think it is time for me to put in my two cents here. I agree with Lindsay, not only because he correctly used "behooves" in a sentence but also for the underlying principle. When I am looking for a campground to stay at with my wife and daughters, safety is a primary concern. If a campground is in an unsavory neighborhood then I want to know about it and I don't think someone else should be forced to stay someplace they are not comfortable so that information can be passed on.

One caveat, I would expect that any review for which the reviewer did not actually stay there would contain that information, clearly stated.

One other thing, I view all reviews here as opinion, not fact. To use an example already related, the low hanging branches that caused potential damage could have been trimmed the next day/week. Things change, some for the better and some for the worse.

*****If a campground is in an unsavory neighborhood then = Interesting but, if you have never bee there, how do you know it is located in unsavory neighbprhood ?****
I like your suggestion but I don't see how you can decide before arriving there.
Lindsay Richards
QUOTE
I don't see how you can decide before arriving there.



Listen for banjo music.
rgatijnet
Keep in mind that any review written and submitted to this website is the OPINION of the submitter. This is exactly as it should be. If I had a bad experience with management, or if I found the campground to be in deplorable condition, that is what I will write. I personally could care less what others think about the campground, what the owner thinks, or what others think about my review. This website would be totally useless if people were restricted from writing reviews that may be negative against an RV Park. Who knows what happened to the park in the days, or weeks, after my experience? Maybe there was a complete management change, and a complete refurbishment of the parking sites, etc. If there was, that is for the NEXT reviewer to comment on.
All of us have driven miles out of our way to go to a RV Park that we thought was going to be enjoyable. If I arrive, speak with the management, and drive through the park without staying, for my own personal reasons, I think it is appropriate that I warn/tell others of my experience, in whatever descriptive words fits the situation IN MY OPINION. If the next person wants to check it out for themselves, then they can write their own review, using whatever words match their experience.
For this website to be of any help, we each need to give an honest review of each park, based on our own experiences, period. Anything less than that is a waste of time. I just ask that a review that is negative spell out the exact reason why. If it was because the pool had alligators in it, and I didn't plan on using the pool, then I could ignore that portion of the review and focus on the things that may affect my stay.
Meyer Camping
QUOTE(Galli @ Aug 26 2011, 12:30 AM) *

*****If a campground is in an unsavory neighborhood then = Interesting but, if you have never bee there, how do you know it is located in unsavory neighbprhood ?****
I like your suggestion but I don't see how you can decide before arriving there.

Galli, I am not sure how anyone could rate a campground badly because of the location without having ever been there. I never intended to infer that anyone would do so and I would have a hard time believing that happens. Perhaps this is just because of my rose colored glasses. smile.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.