Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Blaming A Campground
RV Park Reviews Campground Discussion Forum > RV Park and Campground Discussions > RV Park Discussions
The Other John Doe
I recently read a review by someone who blamed a campground because their flip flops were stolen from the beach and their shower caddy disappeared after they, admittedly, left it in the shower.

Seems to me this is more of a problem with your fellow campers, not the campground. To lower a campground's rating because of this is disingenuous.

When giving reviews, please keep them directly related to what the campground offers and not your disappointment in the honesty of your fellow campers.
nedmtnman
QUOTE(Gunship Guy @ Sep 4 2011, 06:51 AM) *

I recently read a review by someone who blamed a campground because their flip flops were stolen from the beach and their shower caddy disappeared after they, admittedly, left it in the shower.

Seems to me this is more of a problem with your fellow campers, not the campground. To lower a campground's rating because of this is disingenuous.

When giving reviews, please keep them directly related to what the campground offers and not your disappointment in the honesty of your fellow campers.



The ones I like are the ones complaining about dog doo everywhere. Who created that? I work in campgrounds on occasion and it is not a pleasant experience cleaning up behind someones dog. Most people are considerate and pick up after their pet.
joez
Just some "devil's advocacy". Many reviews, in addition to rating physical facilities apply rating criteria to the campground "experience". If management is surly or camp workers yell at children reviewers downgrade ratings. If the speed limit is not adhered to, the roads are full of golf carts driven by ten year olds, leash laws and quiet times are not enforced the ratings likely will be down graded. IMO if my experience included the theft of my property I would certainly say so in the review and would report it to the ranger/office. Businesses, especially lodging businesses, control their guests behavior by rates, rules and their enforcement, and the atmosphere they create. JMHO
kcmoedoe
QUOTE(joez @ Sep 4 2011, 08:44 AM) *

Just some "devil's advocacy". Many reviews, in addition to rating physical facilities apply rating criteria to the campground "experience". If management is surly or camp workers yell at children reviewers downgrade ratings. If the speed limit is not adhered to, the roads are full of golf carts driven by ten year olds, leash laws and quiet times are not enforced the ratings likely will be down graded. IMO if my experience included the theft of my property I would certainly say so in the review and would report it to the ranger/office. Businesses, especially lodging businesses, control their guests behavior by rates, rules and their enforcement, and the atmosphere they create. JMHO

I appreciate it when the park employees yell at children if the parents aren't going to do it. Theft, I would report if I thought the park bore some responsibility, like there were cars driving thru there was no security and my rig was broken into. But I wouldn't say anything if I left something valuable unattended and it disappeared, that is my fault. Leave a $500.00 camera wrapped in 100 dollar bills on a table in the lobby of the Ritz, it will be gone and the hotel won't be responsible. I try to rate parks on two levels. First, does everything work, is it clean and well maintained. Secondly, how does it stack up to parks in similar situations. By that I mean a luxury resort park, that is $100.00 a night, with lots of amenities in a resort area will be rated at a different standard than an overnight stop in central Kansas. If a park delivers what I expect it to deliver it will get a high mark, fail to deliver what I expect and get a low score.
acampingfan
Have to agree with the OP....as much as we'd like an RV Park to be "all seeing and all doing" they cant control the behavior of all those staying at there Park. There are inconsiderate, theiving individuals and downright criminal behavior at all socio-economic levels so no matter the Parking space choosen be it a City, County, State Park or the most lavish Resort...some things you have to take responsibility for. Of course I see Ratings suffer because there Cell phone didnt have 4 bars!! Oh well.
dalsgal
I wonder if the person bothered to ask at the office if the stuff had been turned in. When I clean our bathrooms I often find things there and put them in the office for someone to claim. It is not the responsibility of the campground staff to knock on camper doors asking if you left something lying around.
Richard & Samme Buck
QUOTE(dalsgal @ Sep 4 2011, 06:12 PM) *

I wonder if the person bothered to ask at the office if the stuff had been turned in. When I clean our bathrooms I often find things there and put them in the office for someone to claim. It is not the responsibility of the campground staff to knock on camper doors asking if you left something lying around.


Dalsgal; This hits the nail on the head!! If you left something, check with the shower cleaning staff or office. That's your fault. Grow up, assume responsibility and if you mess up, get over it. It's a public campground, not your personal bavk yard to leave things laying around. I don't use CG showers or (usually) restrooms, but if I found something, I would turn it in to the staff...as a park host, I have found numerous items, but if I find one shoe laying on the beach, and there is no one around, it goes in the can. If I find a jacket, or pocket knife, it goes to the office. (Can't speak for the shower items, we don't do bathrooms wink.gif )
dodge guy
I agree! it`s the same as saying the fly`s were terrible, or there were to many mosquitoe`s!
BriBri
It seems like a general trend in today's society that people want to blame everyone else except themselves for their own mistakes or problems. It shows a lack of maturity and honesty. Unfortunately, those people can do much reputational damage to campgrounds (or other vendors/companies, for that matter), as unaware prospective patrons may avoid a particular campground based on the irritated person's review (particularly if the person's review is not justified or is outright false).

But....You cannot change some people's disposition.
RFCN2
I find the reviews in this web site to be very accurate and helpful when traveling by rv. In general I think they are more useful than the big books report. But you have to look at several ratings to get a general picture of what to expect. Same as when getting the news.

I do think things like dog poo, flies, mosquitoes, cell phone service, ambient noise level, ability to use sat dishes should figure in to the ratings.
chowhound
I agree! it`s the same as saying the fly`s were terrible, or there were to many mosquitoe`s![quote]

No it is not. Flies, mosquitos, ants, snakes, raccoons, gators, bears are all pests or potential problems you might encounter while camping is true. However, if a particular cg has one or more of these problems to such a degree that the reviewer felt it was worth noting in their review, than accept the information in the spirit it was given. It allows you to make the choice to stay at that cg and be prepared or take precautions for that potential problem, or not stay and not have to deal with it. I would much rather be prepared and not have a problem than have a problem and not be prepared.
JDRobar
Chowhound, I believe you have made a valid point. While it is not a problem that the CG can be held accountable for, let's not feel like we can't mention it.

I understand the ideas that earlier posters were making, in that the owner can do nothing about some issues, and that sometimes we need to take responsibility for our own actions; but on the other hand, we all make mistakes and it is valid to suggest that maybe an improper action was taken which might have aleviated the issue.

Those that look at the reviews should read between the lines. If a reviewer has really pasted a camp ground owner, and few other are, maybe the owner had a bad day or possibly there was a conflict between the two individuals.

Most of the time on the web, we see an unusual abundance of negative comments when people review products. It is a way of venting for a motivated individual. I have to wonder how many people are as motivated when they receive the expected experience.

This web site is probably somewhat of an exception, as loyal members want it to remain a good source of information for their own purposes, and the product being reviewed is so varied in the execution of its task.

I would encourage people to look at more than just the three last reviews, and look at the trend of reviews more.
Luvtheroad
I can't blame a campground because it rains, but I can blame them if they know they have a drainage problem and they don't do anything about it. The rv park we're in right now has a terrible problem. The mud at our site is ankle deep. I complained to a park worker and he said that, yes, he agreed that a lot of gravel is badly needed, but the park won't go for it. That'll be one park we won't be back to.
dalsgal
I just read a review that gave the campground a 3 rating because there was nothing to do in the area. No description of the campground and no problems mentioned either other than the lack of things to do near the campground. I can understand that they might mention that information in their comments but I don't see the justification for giving the CG such a low rating.
John Blue
dalsgal,

Look at the review again. The other review is on KOA in Sioux Falls, SD.
dalsgal
John, that post must have been edited because I had the message screen up as well as the review screen and what I typed was what was there last night. I still see no reason for the score they gave the campground unless the CG claimed to have lots to do.
HappiestCamper
QUOTE(dalsgal @ Sep 21 2011, 01:39 PM) *

John, that post must have been edited because I had the message screen up as well as the review screen and what I typed was what was there last night. I still see no reason for the score they gave the campground unless the CG claimed to have lots to do.


I went looking for it after your post, and I saw the 3 also.
John Blue
The 3 was correct but was updated by admin due to incorrect rating. Was not fair to the park owner.
HappiestCamper
QUOTE(John Blue @ Sep 21 2011, 05:26 PM) *

The 3 was correct but was updated by admin due to incorrect rating. Was not fair to the park owner.


Did the reviewer say to change it? IF admins can change a reviewer's score, I don't think the reviews are going to be worth anything. Better if you just didn't post a review that you think is incorrect instead of changing scores. If you think the score of 3 is unjustified because of lack of information, then tell the reviewer to redo it.
dalsgal
QUOTE(HappiestCamper @ Sep 22 2011, 07:27 AM) *

Did the reviewer say to change it? IF admins can change a reviewer's score, I don't think the reviews are going to be worth anything. Better if you just didn't post a review that you think is incorrect instead of changing scores. If you think the score of 3 is unjustified because of lack of information, then tell the reviewer to redo it.


I agree with that. Since there was nothing really said against the campground itself, other than being located where where there is nothing to do, any negative rating seems unjustified. The same poster gave 3 stars to a KOA that they basically said everything was okay at. I think they are just extremely hard to please.
kcmoedoe
I agree with a couple of posters. I really don't think the admins changing the scores to reflect the written review would be fair. In the post in question, leaving a very low score with that review would indicate to me that the reviewer was off their rocker and I would dismiss the review entirely. Changing it to a midling score of 6 makes me believe the park was mediocre at best, and the lack of things to do only part of the problem. Even editing for grammar and spelling sometimes changes the whole tone of the review. A poorly written review, riddled with spelling and grammar errors is something I would take less seriously than a well constructed review. If a park had six reviews, three of them well written and complimentary of the park, and three of them negative and written by people who appear to be 1st grade dropouts, I would lean towards believing the good reviews. If the sentence structure and grammar was the opposite, and the bad reviews were well written and the positive reviews were nearly incomprehensible, I would lean towards the park being a mess. How people communicate is important to me, and if I don't see their original work I feel important information has been lost in translation.
BC Wanderer
I just looked for the review that may be the one in question. There is a 3 rating listed for the KOA but the actual review doesn't seem to be visible.

There may be a reason that someone would rate a park poorly simply because there was nothing to do there. I just rated a park quite high for that very reason. I need the peace and quiet after a very stressful work week. I did specifically note the quietness and serenity in the review.

Perhaps the writer was expecting the park to provide some type of entertainment. The review is not available to me. I was hoping to be able to "read between the lines". If the park promised entertainment, then perhaps the writer provided a valid review. It should have been specified in the review though. i.e There were no Clowns or Three Ring Circus as promised.

I think the review should stay posted as it was written. Perhaps it was lacking a proper exlaination but "I" would rather make that call.
dalsgal
Jdolen, the campground in question was not the KOA and was not even in the area of that KOA.
BC Wanderer
QUOTE(dalsgal @ Sep 23 2011, 06:19 AM) *

Jdolen, the campground in question was not the KOA and was not even in the area of that KOA.


Oops. My bad. I just had KOA imbedded in my mind.

I still maintain that reviews should remain as posted unaltered.
Wink
I just go by what they say they have and general condition of the camp ground.As in are the rest room and showers clean.If they say they have WIFI does it work and so on.Is the grass cut or if they have a pool is it clean.Also I don't expect a camp ground I pay 24 dollars a night for to be the same as one that is 80 dollars a night. smile.gif
Traveling man
Having been in customer service for many years, I agree, it's amazing how some people can justify blaming others for their own lack of good judgement.

However, I think most of us can look at the reasons given for a campground rating, and see if its reasonable or not. That's why I like it when there are lots of reviews for a campground I'm considering staying it, as I can see patterns, and disregard the ones with bad ratings because someone misplaced their $2 flip flops etc. I have read reviews for parks where several people have mentioned the friendly, helpful managers....then I read a review from someone who mentions they have lived at that park for several months, and most of the review goes on about what a jerk the manager is. I tend to disregard the later's rating for the park.

In regard to various bugs, you will expect them if you do much camping . Mosquitoes are common near water. However in one review I too mentioned the mosquitoes because they were so bad that campers could not sit outside for several days, and a tent camper across from me actually left the park because of the seriousness of the problem. I returned a year later and the mosquitoes were gone- the park management said they now had someone come in to supply mosquito control when it got too bad, so sometimes management can make "the experience" better even though they didn't create the initial problem.

I've never mentioned "dog poop" in a review, as it's never been a major problem where I have camped. However if a reviewer stayed somewhere where it was an excessive problem, and felt there was no attempt to enforce the rules, and a month's worth was on the ground, I would appreciate it being mentioned in the review.

In regard to the theft issues mentioned, let's say the park owners built and staffed a guard shack at the campground entrance, had a private patrol car drive up and down the roads every few minutes, and installed cameras in key locations. Even here the ratings would be up and down. One person might give a high rating and mention the wonderful security, and another could give a low rating, and mention the lack of privacy and feeling of being in a prison. Of course they would have to increase the rates, so someone would blame the campground for the rise in cost.

Texasrvers
Sorry, but I have to disagree with those of you who think all reviews should be posted as received.

The problem is you have not seen how bad some reviews are. Even though a spell checker is provided when the review is written, it is obvious that many reviewers ignore it. Also what you may not be aware of is that we try to correct only those reviews that have a few minor mistakes. Making those small grammatical changes should not alter the content or "change the tone" of the review in any way. If we receive a review that contains numerous mistakes, we do not try to rewrite it. We return it to the sender and ask them to make the needed corrections.

This site has always prided itself on publishing well written, easily read and understood reviews, and I hope we can continue to adhere to these standards for a long time to come.
BC Wanderer
QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Sep 24 2011, 11:35 PM) *

Sorry, but I have to disagree with those of you who think all reviews should be posted as received.

The problem is you have not seen how bad some reviews are. Even though a spell checker is provided when the review is written, it is obvious that many reviewers ignore it. Also what you may not be aware of is that we try to correct only those reviews that have a few minor mistakes. Making those small grammatical changes should not alter the content or "change the tone" of the review in any way. If we receive a review that contains numerous mistakes, we do not try to rewrite it. We return it to the sender and ask them to make the needed corrections.

This site has always prided itself on publishing well written, easily read and understood reviews, and I hope we can continue to adhere to these standards for a long time to come.


Allow me to clarify my position. My concern was only to do with a posters original "rating". This thread related to a park being given a poor rating because there was nothing to do near by. Is it fair to allow the rating to stand?

I appreciate being able to read a post. If it must be edited for content or grammar, I have no problem.

I believe the task that you undertake must make you want to pull your hair out at times. Even after proofing what I write myself, I discover errors. Since you are proofing material that you didn't write, the ability to do a little mind reading has to come in handy. You are doing a fine job. I thank you.
kcmoedoe
QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Sep 25 2011, 01:35 AM) *

Sorry, but I have to disagree with those of you who think all reviews should be posted as received.

The problem is you have not seen how bad some reviews are. Even though a spell checker is provided when the review is written, it is obvious that many reviewers ignore it. Also what you may not be aware of is that we try to correct only those reviews that have a few minor mistakes. Making those small grammatical changes should not alter the content or "change the tone" of the review in any way. If we receive a review that contains numerous mistakes, we do not try to rewrite it. We return it to the sender and ask them to make the needed corrections.

This site has always prided itself on publishing well written, easily read and understood reviews, and I hope we can continue to adhere to these standards for a long time to come.

Thanks for the clarification on editing.
hoefler
I have had a well written review of a negative experience with a prominent RV park that would had been helpful for many others including my self, denied by the powers to be saying that it was something this site is not designed or intended to be used for.
chowhound
QUOTE(hoefler @ Sep 25 2011, 05:05 PM) *

I have had a well written review of a negative experience with a prominent RV park that would had been helpful for many others including my self, denied by the powers to be saying that it was something this site is not designed or intended to be used for.

Maybe you should clarify those issues with the moderators and try again. I have not found them to be unreasonable, and in fact very fair.
mdcamping
QUOTE(Gunship Guy @ Sep 4 2011, 09:51 AM) *

I recently read a review by someone who blamed a campground because their flip flops were stolen from the beach and their shower caddy disappeared after they, admittedly, left it in the shower.

Seems to me this is more of a problem with your fellow campers, not the campground. To lower a campground's rating because of this is disingenuous.

When giving reviews, please keep them directly related to what the campground offers and not your disappointment in the honesty of your fellow campers.


We've had a couple of instances where our cooler was broken into at our campsite...to me that's a reflection of campground security or lack of it. I've rated lower because of this but it certainly wasn't a deal breaker with my online reviews...more of a heads up for other RVers who might be staying at the campground.

Mike
Wink
QUOTE(mdcamping @ Oct 21 2011, 07:25 PM) *

We've had a couple of instances where our cooler was broken into at our campsite...to me that's a reflection of campground security or lack of it. I've rated lower because of this but it certainly wasn't a deal breaker with my online reviews...more of a heads up for other RVers who might be staying at the campground.

Mike


I don`t know where you were camping but are you sure it was a person? Raccoons, Squirrels and other critters get real smart that live around a campground, rolleyes.gif

Wink
mdcamping
QUOTE(Wink @ Oct 22 2011, 07:52 AM) *

I don`t know where you were camping but are you sure it was a person? Raccoons, Squirrels and other critters get real smart that live around a campground, rolleyes.gif

Wink


If they had opposable thumbs to open my cooler top latch and a taste for beer than maybe that could be true! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Actually it was two beach area campgrounds...most likely teenagers

Mike
rgatijnet
One of the parks that we have stayed at got a negative review because the user complained about the winds. Apparently they felt that the owners should somehow have been able to block the wind from blowing through their park. Of course the park was located in the middle of the Great Plains where high winds are pretty common. We have stayed at some parks in the Great Plains where it is against the rules to leave a canopy extended when you are absent. If you travel in the Great Plains, which covers from Texas to Canada, you can occasionally expect high winds and there is nothing a park owner can do about it. biggrin.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.