Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: The Review I Submitted Was Changed Without My Permission
RV Park Reviews Campground Discussion Forum > RV Park and Campground Discussions > General Chat
Pages: 1, 2
mauigirl
Thanks, Admin Peeps. After reading how much effort goes into making sure our reviews actually make sense I give you two thumbs up!!

Personally, I use Campground Review before making a decision on a park and am most grateful that people actually take the time to write a review.

Keep up the good work, everyone!! biggrin.gif

RLM
QUOTE(mauigirl @ Jul 22 2013, 12:16 PM) *

Thanks, Admin Peeps.


Thank you. And welcome to the forum.
KFS
I'm a professional writer. I get paid (knock wood!) to write. The truth is that everyone can benefit from editing and typos happen to the best of us.

I appreciate the reviews here - and the people behind the scenes who bring them to life - and light. Thank you!

Now if we could just talk about adding photos ... wink.gif
pianotuna
Hi Jerry,

Please get over this and go rv'ing. Everyone has bent over backwards to be nice to you. You are the one with the fragile self esteem.

QUOTE(Jerry S. @ Jul 5 2013, 08:27 PM) *

I thought I'd better post this now before we hit the road for the rest of the summer. I knew I'd catch some flak for my previous post (6/11/13) but was disappointed that some of my statements were taken out of context and/or misunderstood.

I have previously stated that I understand how difficult the job of being an Admin is and did not feel it was necessary to make the statement again. I am also well aware of how bad some of the submitted reviews are when they are initially submitted.

The point I was trying to make in the second paragraph of my 6/11 post when I mentioned the sites/sights issue was that "lots of RVing experience" was not the most important factor in being a good Admin. A basic knowledge of the basics of written English is much more important. The sites vs. sights was an example. It was not the point of contention. As for my review where the word "sites" was seemingly changed to "sights", I went back and looked at the review(s) in question. The word had been corrected to "sites". So, as I also said in the second paragraph, my aging brain may be playing tricks with me. At any rate, the review (now) shows the correct word.

In the third paragraph I admitted to making my share of mistakes. I do plead not guilty of spelling "possible" incorrectly. That was a simple typographical error. Additionally, the last sentence of that paragraph says if I were reviewing the incoming reviews, I would send them back if I found more than one improper word usage. Even my overbearing style would allow for a few misspellings and/or typographical errors that could be easily corrected.

It is almost ironic that a site that is based on gathering critiques of something (RV parks), is afraid to criticize the site's contributors. Are we afraid of hurting their feelings or damaging their fragile self esteem? Is "self esteem" one word, two words, or should it be hyphenated? My very old dictionary shows it as one word but the spell checker won't accept it as one word.

Back on the road in less than 40 hours. I've got a couple folks on here who are creeping up on my review total.

tsparky
QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Oct 29 2012, 09:14 PM) *

I cannot find a review submitted under your username. Is it possible you used a different name? Do you remember getting a "Thank You" screen when you completed your review. If not, then your review was not submitted successfully.


It's funny, I've submitted several in the last year with no problem. I just submitted 3 and only 2 posted. I received a confirmation for all 3. The one that didn't was at the same campground as before, Carpinteria State Beach, CA. I posted a review for the same campground in the past, but it was in 2008.
Texasrvers
QUOTE(tsparky @ Sep 8 2013, 10:39 PM) *

It's funny, I've submitted several in the last year with no problem. I just submitted 3 and only 2 posted. I received a confirmation for all 3. The one that didn't was at the same campground as before, Carpinteria State Beach, CA. I posted a review for the same campground in the past, but it was in 2008.


I located your two most recent reviews for Carpineria State Beach from August 2013 and October 2012. Neither was approved for posting, and the “confirmation” you received was to inform you that they had been deferred and the reason why. In both cases the review lacked information about the campground, and you were asked to add information and resubmit your review. It is too late to resubmit the review from 2012, but if you still have the most recent email you received for the 2013 review, you are still welcome to make the necessary changes and resubmit it.
tsparky
QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Sep 8 2013, 11:01 PM) *

I located your two most recent reviews for Carpineria State Beach from August 2013 and October 2012. Neither was approved for posting, and the “confirmation” you received was to inform you that they had been deferred and the reason why. In both cases the review lacked information about the campground, and you were asked to add information and resubmit your review. It is too late to resubmit the review from 2012, but if you still have the most recent email you received for the 2013 review, you are still welcome to make the necessary changes and resubmit it.


Ah, I understand. I need to change my email but I can not find out how. Can you give me instructions?

Thanks,
Sparky
Texasrvers
Click on the "Contact Us" button at the botton of eash page, and explain what you need to do.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.