Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: The Review I Submitted Was Changed Without My Permission
RV Park Reviews Campground Discussion Forum > RV Park and Campground Discussions > General Chat
Pages: 1, 2
RV Dog
I submitted a review of a park that I really like... it was totally changed without any permission or notification. I have never had this happen before... What do I do?

Thanks
Texasrvers
RV Dog,

First let me say that reviews are sometimes edited for grammar, spelling, and clarity, but the main ideas and comments are not supposed to be changed to a great extent.

That said, we do not find any reviews under the name RV Dog. Did you use a different name to submit them? To look into this we need to know what name you used and the name of the park you are referring to. You may submit this two different ways. 1. You can send me the information using the website's personal message system, or 2. you can click on the "Contact Us" button at the bottom of each page and send the information that way. Either way the information will remain secure.

Texasrvers
HappiestCamper
According to this thread, they will change a score if they think you did it wrong - Thread where admin changed score from 3 to 7
John Blue
RV Dog,

Like TX said use "Contact Us" and tell what happen or what was wrong with the review.
=======

To others: Checked in reviews is a hard job that all admins face each day. We see mistakes that you would never think a person would make. Great review and then rate the park a 1, nightly rate will come in as $1 yet this park rate has been $35 for years and no information to support this amount, reviews come in with so much Red underline it is hard to see the review due to all the spelling mistakes, review will change the correct website address and phone number to one that is wrong, information in comments will tell you this is the wrong park due everything is wrong in review - admins work parks to the point they know by looking at information in review that this is the wrong park, reviews come in with all CAPS - wrong per the rules but who reads the rules in the first place, you will see a poor review that we cannot read or understand so do we post it so others can translate it? The list could run into pages each month like this. We like to keep this site so a person can read the reviews and the information is as correct as possible. Admins are all RV people and like others we all make mistakes at times. As people write in and point out mistakes we fix them as soon as we can. No website is every 100% correct on all items but we all try hard to keep it right. smile.gif
HappiestCamper
Don't get me wrong - y'all do an awesome job. I just don't agree with changing a score without the reviewer's permission. Better to tell the reviewer to explain the score and not post it until they give more reasons.
mikel
I reviewed a park in San Antonio I've stayed multiple times, but not since the last review. There were numerous problems from reservations, price and the actual site condition. I backed them all up with solid objective examples during the review.

I was actually contacted by RV Park Reviews, saying the owner of the park would like me to reconsider my rating. I explained the situation, by email, having previously filed a complaint with the park's national office. Nothing was changed by RV Park Reviews. Hopefully it helped the park. I am generally pretty lenient and try to take into account everything and possible fault. If the park has no control, I don't mark them down. However rude staff, unsanitary situations - for extended periods of time - meaning sometimes it takes a while to clean the messes some idiots make, etc are considered.

Be objective, don't get mad if the guy next to you is drunk, or it rained in your RV when you left the windows open or you forgot to check for generator use times.
FosterImposters
Over the years of posting RV park and campground reviews on this site, I've had a couple things changed. 99% were my spelling goofs. tongue.gif

I also learned NOT to publish owner/manager/caretaker names too.

Years ago, I went on a dog poop rant about some park. (Long forgotten even where we were now. Just remember being really upset.) Review was posted: with an abreviated version of my rant.
I got the message.

Someone, on another thread, mentioned holding off on the posting of their reviews. Would post the following day, etc., sort of a cooling off period.

I know my spelling REALLY improves when I'm not upset... laugh.gif
flatraveler00
I submitted a review awhile back and have yet to see it posted. Just how long does it take for one to get approved?

Thanks,
flatraveler00
Mario Machado
QUOTE(flatraveler00 @ Jul 23 2012, 07:47 PM) *

I submitted a review awhile back and have yet to see it posted. Just how long does it take for one to get approved?

Thanks,
flatraveler00

It just happened to me too. I have noticed that a review to the same campground I wrote a review has been posted. I don't understand the criteria or if there is a problem with their servers. I would like to see what the problem is.
Texasrvers
To flatraveler00:

It appears that you have submitted only one review. Our guidelines require that you submit 3 reviews before any of them is posted.


To Mario Machado:

We could not find any reviews submitted under the name Mario Machado. Is it possible you used a different name to submit your review? Do you remember getting a "thank you" screen after you submitted your review? If not, your review was not submitted successfully. We can look further if you will click on the "Contact Us" button at the button of each page and provide us with the name of the park you reviewed, the date you submitted your review, and if you used a different username.
John Blue
Mario,

I check the system and you have not posted any reviews on our website. You may have the wrong website in mind.
Mario Machado
QUOTE(John Blue @ Jul 24 2012, 10:37 AM) *

Mario,

I check the system and you have not posted any reviews on our website. You may have the wrong website in mind.

Hi texasrvers John Blue
Thanks for your responses to my post.
As I wrote above I posted my review to a campground I have visited recently and the past 2 years, to your info I don't remember getting a thank you screen.
I will post a review to the campground again.
TXBobcat
I have posted a number of reviews over the last few years as we fulltime. I would like to know if there is a way to read my reviews of campgrounds. I have wanted to see what I posted about a campground before I go back to visit them again.

I know I can see the reviews of a person that were posted, sort of like a timeline, but I can't always remember the last time I was at a specific campground. I have also changed how I review the campgrounds over the years.

BC
Texasrvers
Go to a campground that you know you have reviewed. At the bottom of the review you wrote there will be a link that you can click on to see the rest of your reviews.
TXBobcat
Thanks.. I found my answer while browsing some of the threads.

It would be intresting to beable to see something in the review that would tag a person that is reviewing without giving his name. That way I coud see if that person is the same person reviewing certain ways. Sorta Oh... I have seen that persons reviews and they are dependablen but not reveiling who they actualy are.

Thanks for the reply.

BC
rkw99
I submitted a couple reviews and got messages saying I had to edit certain things before they would be posted. Things such as general background about myself like ages of my kids and the route we had taken, etc. There was other things like the fact I mentioned other campgrounds which I can understand is not appropriate. However, I think it is relevant to a review what my situation is so that others can understand if my perception might be relevant for them. I won't post reviews to a website that censors reviews as is basically being done here. I am glad that I realize that now because I did not before and wondered why the reviews were so generic. So while I will still use this site as a tool for choosing campgrounds, I will take it all with a grain of salt and I am not bothering to waste my time thoughtfully composing a review only to have to censor it for it to be posted.
dalsgal
rkw, the reviews are supposed to be about the campground itself and nothing else. I don't know what you sent in but giving the route you took has no bearing on the camground and it's being good or bad. Saying you have young children that did or didn't use the pool or play area would probably be okay but the majority of people are interested in the basic facts about the actual campground and nothing more.

I'm sorry you were upset but I, for one, am very glad the moderators tries to eliminate too much personal info from the descriptions. Facts, not detailed emotions, are what this site is about....in my opinion.
pianotuna
Hi,

So, you will take, but not give back to this site?

Follow the rules. Don't give your life history. No one gets paid for being an admin here, and often there are hundreds of reviews waiting to be vetted.

QUOTE(rkw99 @ Sep 14 2012, 01:36 PM) *

So while I will still use this site as a tool for choosing campgrounds, I will take it all with a grain of salt and I am not bothering to waste my time thoughtfully composing a review only to have to censor it for it to be posted.

Denali
QUOTE(dalsgal @ Sep 14 2012, 01:09 PM) *

rkw, the reviews are supposed to be about the campground itself and nothing else. I don't know what you sent in but giving the route you took has no bearing on the camground and it's being good or bad. Saying you have young children that did or didn't use the pool or play area would probably be okay but the majority of people are interested in the basic facts about the actual campground and nothing more.

I'm sorry you were upset but I, for one, am very glad the moderators tries to eliminate too much personal info from the descriptions. Facts, not detailed emotions, are what this site is about....in my opinion.
Well put.
Snidely Whiplash
QUOTE(rkw99 @ Sep 14 2012, 01:36 PM) *

I submitted a couple reviews and got messages saying I had to edit certain things before they would be posted. Things such as general background about myself like ages of my kids and the route we had taken, etc. There was other things like the fact I mentioned other campgrounds which I can understand is not appropriate. However, I think it is relevant to a review what my situation is so that others can understand if my perception might be relevant for them.


I've experienced the same thing. I think the vast majority of reviews are held to very reasonable standards. I think the admins for the site deserve a lot of appreciation for the good job they do here. I'm sure it's a lot of work for very little reward. That being said, I think there may be one or two reviewers who are a bit overzealous and expecting "Just the facts, ma'am".

QUOTE(rkw99 @ Sep 14 2012, 01:36 PM) *
I won't post reviews to a website that censors reviews as is basically being done here. I am glad that I realize that now because I did not before and wondered why the reviews were so generic. So while I will still use this site as a tool for choosing campgrounds, I will take it all with a grain of salt and I am not bothering to waste my time thoughtfully composing a review only to have to censor it for it to be posted.


Recently I posted a review for Johnny's RV Resort and made the opening statement that "Johnny is outright lying by calling this a resort". The review was changed to "It is outright lying to call this a resort". I wasnt trying to call anyone out, I dont know if there really is a Johnny at Johnny's RV Resort, but I thought it was a bit nit-picky to change the review that way. There were also MANY changes made to that particular review (sentance structure, phrases, etc) which made it read like I was unable to write a grammatically correct couple of sentances and threw off the entire tone of the review. I mean, how much stock would you put in a review that was incomprehensible and grammatically very poor?

QUOTE(dalsgal @ Sep 14 2012, 02:09 PM) *

rkw, the reviews are supposed to be about the campground itself and nothing else. I don't know what you sent in but giving the route you took has no bearing on the camground and it's being good or bad.


Actually, I find it to be quite relevant to reviews, and try to include in my reviews whether access is easy or not for a large RV from the direction I used to access the park.

On rare occasion I used to tell my son "My house, I pay the bills, I get to make the rules" and I get it that it's the same here on this website where I am a guest. But I wont go to the trouble to write reviews if all that is wanted are generic reviews that differ very little from one to the other. Besides, I think most people reading the reviews are better served by getting an unedited version of the review from which to make their own determination as to the reviewers credibility.
RLM
The Review Notice posted before one gets to the pages where a review is done has at least three rules that could be relevant to this topic discussion.

1- Everything that you enter incorrectly (including partial names of parks) has to be re-entered by hand. This will not only result in the delayed posting of your review, but it may also cause your review to be deferred.

2- Take care to use proper capitalization, punctuation, and grammar when writing your review.

3- In the comments section, write 2-3 sentences which contain information about the facilities, services, and amenities provided at the park.


At the end of what few rules there are for submitting a review is this red highlighted sentence.
I hereby state that I have read and will abide by the instructions listed above when writing my review. It doesn't mean anyone actually bothered to read the rules, but if you didn't and still checked the box, then you probably can't expect much sympathy for breaking them.

None of us want to feel like we are back in school having our papers graded so maybe we should be more careful with our reviews so as not to put ourselves in that situation in the first place. We also should remember that this is a public website that provides us with an excellent resource and it doesn't cost us anything to get it.
Texasrvers
QUOTE(Sterner @ Oct 13 2012, 10:37 PM) *

Actually, I find it to be quite relevant to reviews, and try to include in my reviews whether access is easy or not for a large RV from the direction I used to access the park.


It is one thing to say that a park has good access from a particular interstate or to state that it is down a long, dusty road. This information is valuable to other members. It is another thing to say (for example), “We traveled from Oklahoma City across I-40 to Fort Smith, then turned north up through Fayetteville to Springdale where we stopped for lunch at a McDonalds but we had to park across the street because their parking lot was too small. From there we took Hwy 412, which was very hilly with lots of curves, over to Hwy 65. At 65 we headed north again and got to Branson about 30 mi. later where we stayed at AAA RV Park.” This is totally irrelevant information as it pertains to what the park is like.

There is a huge difference between telling about the “access” to a park and the “route” taken to get there. You have no idea what all rkw included in his/her review. I do know, and it included a travel itinerary similar to the one above that I made up. Likewise there was a lot of other personal information which had nothing to do with the park. If this is the type of information you want to provide, then write a blog somewhere.



QUOTE
I think most people reading the reviews are better served by getting an unedited version of the review



I would like nothing better than to post reviews just like they come in. That would be less work for all of us. So since you have made this suggestion, I thought I would let you see some examples of what comes in. Following are some reviews that are unedited. This is exactly how we received them. Trust me; I can’t make this stuff up.

“i dont know what your all talking about your probably mad about something but this was a great campground. family friendly and with great clean restrooms. don't listen to these people because the camping experience was fenominal best trip ever and there is shade in tent sites and there are pullthroughs i saw them when i talked to the owner. who was a very nice man”

“Side by side hook ups way to close together WiFI was tengo but was not working tree seemed to block the signal staff friendly and took you to the sites probably because there was no clear its just field with hookups"

“i red your rewiews about the resort and went anyway. me and my wife had a wonderful time there. the people were very friendly . it was paradise. its what your looking for. camped by the river and it was great! you and nature.”


Then we also get reviews like the following that give no useful information for other travelers.

“A great little surprise on our trip north, stayed 2 nights, will come again when in the area.”

“Very good RV park”

“I enjoyed it very much”

“AVOID"


At the opposite end of the scale are these:

“I am sharing a letter below that we had to write to the campground's Manager. We also sent a copy to the corporate office. We found their address online, however, they never contact us. We were promised by the manger to get 1/2 our money back, but did not receive all of it (it was short $20). We finally gave up trying to contact the manager. Letter to the Manager: We stayed at the [name removed] Campground on the above-referenced dates and endured many problems during our stay. Minutes before we packed up to leave the campground, you advised that a follow up would be made with us regarding these matters. We have not heard from you to date. This letter is to summarize the problems we had so that we can come to a resolution. Attached are copies of the three confirmations we received after making our reservation (electric and water sites). Note: each confirmation has a different price on it. When we contacted your facility to question the prices, we were told that the campground closed in 10 minutes. When I notified the person from your office that my friend would be calling immediately to resolve this issue, he stated he would pick up the phone and said “not to worry he will be by the phone”. But when my friend called back, nobody answered the phone and we had to wait until the next day for a resolution. We arrived at your campground Friday afternoon. The line to get into the park was so disorganized. Some of the vehicles in our group received car tags, park information, garbage bags, etc. and others did not. That night started the long weekend of no electricity. We have never been to a campground that offered 1 electricity pole for 4 camping vehicles. We paid for the site with electricity (which we believed was expensive to begin with) and should have had our own pole. I understand that it was a holiday weekend, but even your workers stated that this issue happens constantly through the camping season and that the campground was overbooked. One of your maintenance workers attempted to resolve this issue by taking an extension cord and running one of the camping vehicles electricity to another pole. This only worked for a few hours and we continued to be without electricity until the last night of camping. The campsite next to us started having the same problems. So the same maintenance person on your staff decided to run their electricity to our pole knowing very well we were already having the same issue. We were just getting back from the pool when we noticed we were without power yet again and our dogs had been in our camper without air conditioning. It was at least 100 degrees in our camper. This disturbed me more than anything along with the fact that we could not use our fridge and spent an incredible amount of money to purchase ice in order to keep our food cold. This was all on top of the disgustingly dirty shower rooms, campers blowing off fireworks, golf carts that drove too fast, extremely loud neighbors till at least 2 a.m. and the fact that when we first talked to you you were a “security guard” then the next time we talked to you you were thee “general manager”. You admitted doing this and stated the reason was to “control” certain calls. It was very apparent that rules listed on our website are not enforced by your campground. We tried to contact you on multiple occasions and even left our cell phone numbers. On one visit to the office, we were told that you were not in the park then heard your voice over the radio speaking to a female campground worker. It is really disappointing that we are having to contact you for resolution to these matters. It is astonishing that you knew of all these problems but choose to ignore them. We will not be camping at your campground again and do not wish to receive a credit to do so. At this time, we would like a refund of at least 50%.”


“my first introduction to the park was coming around the blind corner of south [name removed] and finding a 12'3" railroad underpass. see, i was looking for any port in a storm; i had planned to stay overnight at any walmart i could find since i would be leaving early the next day and i wasn't going to stay overnight in the motorhome anyway--i was meeting my wife in one of the downtown hotels (long story). anyway, screech. had to stop the motorhome--pulling a toad, of course--in the middle of the street while i called the cops to block traffic so i could unhook the cr-v and extricate myself from the position i had put myself in. longer story short, they never showed up and i had to do it without any assistance--unhook the toad, drive it to a side street, back the motorhome around a blind corner hoping no one was going to hit me in the process. it all worked out. so i get to the park well after closing, find an empty site from the list they post for the after-hours arrivals like me, and navigate myself down airstream drive to the site--which was the only pull-through left. the first thing you notice is how tight all the turns are. that's also the second and third thing you notice, too. the site was ok--gravel but level, narrow but wide enough, trees not cut back very much but just enough to barely scrape the top of the coach, and water pressure way too high but manageable with a pressure reducer. i hooked up as quickly as i could and went to meet my wife in town. got back the next morning and began securing for the short ride home--we live only about 35 miles northwest of [name removed]. the site i had chosen looked pretty good on paper--but i wasn't parked on a paper site. the turn out of the site was tight. we have a 34' FRED--i'm not sure a 40' coach would be able to make the turn but would have to back out instead. interesting idea, backing ut of a pull-through site. for a brief moment i suspected i was going to have to unhook the cr-v again to back up. anyhow, just made the turn and headed for the office to pay up. they take passport america so i got half off. nice people in the office. i didn't use any of the facilities during my stay--including my own motorhome. i would probably stay there again if i had a reason to--but i can't for the life of me think what it would be. they key ideas here are that the sites are pretty close together and the streets are narrow with some very sharp curves; don't take [name removed] street unless you have a short rv--or really want one; and make sure you have your own water pressure reducer--because they charge $17 for the one you can buy at walmart for $5.


Are any of these the type of reviews you want to see on this site? I’ll bet you didn’t even try to read all the way through those long ones, and neither will anyone else.

We are strict with our guidelines for a reason--it makes our reviews readable, and therefore, useful. If we posted reviews like the previous examples we would not be providing a very good service to our members.
Hutch333id
Texasrvers,

I, along with many others, appreciate the considerable time and effort you guys put in to moderating this site. Having read some of the examples you have to either translate or endure has given me a new in-site into the poor review and comments that are made. I hope others will take the opportunity to give more thought before putting pen to paper (so to speak). Incidentally, you we right about the long reviews. I managed about five lines before wondering where they where going with the review. After that I gave up and scrolled to the end.
Thanks again. biggrin.gif
Snidely Whiplash
Texasrvers, Maybe I'm reading your reply wrong, but it reads to me like I offended you somehow, or that your upset about my having voiced my opinion. Let me say (type) again:

QUOTE(Sterner @ Oct 13 2012, 09:37 PM) *

I think the vast majority of reviews are held to very reasonable standards. I think the admins for the site deserve a lot of appreciation for the good job they do here. I'm sure it's a lot of work for very little reward.


Now, what I said in my post was:

QUOTE(Sterner @ Oct 13 2012, 09:37 PM) *

Actually, I find it to be quite relevant to reviews, and try to include in my reviews whether access is easy or not for a large RV from the direction I used to access the park.


QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Oct 14 2012, 03:13 PM) *

It is one thing to say that a park has good access from a particular interstate or to state that it is down a long, dusty road. This information is valuable to other members. It is another thing to say (for example), "We traveled from Oklahoma City across I-40 to Fort Smith, then turned north up through Fayetteville to Springdale where we stopped for lunch at a McDonalds but we had to park across the street because their parking lot was too small. From there we took Hwy 412, which was very hilly with lots of curves, over to Hwy 65. At 65 we headed north again and got to Branson about 30 mi. later where we stayed at AAA RV Park." This is totally irrelevant information as it pertains to what the park is like.

There is a huge difference between telling about the "access" to a park and the "route" taken to get there. You have no idea what all rkw included in his/her review. I do know, and it included a travel itinerary similar to the one above that I made up. Likewise there was a lot of other personal information which had nothing to do with the park.


No, I have no idea what rkw included in his original post. I never claimed I did. I'm not sure how I would determine good or bad access to the park if I didn't know the route the reviewer was referring to. I certainly wasn't trying to infer that directions similar to your made-up and extreme example are appropriate.


QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Oct 14 2012, 03:13 PM) *

I would like nothing better than to post reviews just like they come in. That would be less work for all of us. So since you have made this suggestion, I thought I would let you see some examples of what comes in. Following are some reviews that are unedited. This is exactly how we received them. Trust me; I can't make this stuff up.


Although I realize it is the rvparkreviews.com policy to "clean up" submitted reviews and correct same for grammar, spelling, and punctuation, I think that proves my point about leaving submitted reviews unchanged. It would certainly give me some added perspective into which reviews to give more (or less) legitimacy to. But, I understand and accept rvparkrevies.com policy is what it is and my opinion is meaningless. However I think it somewhat disingenuous
to post:

QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Oct 14 2012, 03:13 PM) *

We are strict with our guidelines for a reason--it makes our reviews readable, and therefore, useful. If we posted reviews like the previous examples we would not be providing a very good service to our members.


When, with regard to a recent review I submitted I stated:

QUOTE(Sterner @ Oct 13 2012, 09:37 PM) *
There were also MANY changes made to that particular review (sentance structure, phrases, etc) which made it read like I was unable to write a grammatically correct couple of sentances and threw off the entire tone of the review. I mean, how much stock would you put in a review that was incomprehensible and grammatically very poor?


It seems to me that for you to stress the importance of meeting the submitted review criteria, the reviewers of the reviews should be doing the same. In making the changes to the review I submitted, the admin / reviewer actually made the review worse and, imho, much less grammatically correct.

QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Oct 14 2012, 03:13 PM) *

I'll bet you didn't even try to read all the way through those long ones, and neither will anyone else.


I quit a few sentances short of the end of the 1st example, but read the entire 2nd one and actually found it interesting. I wouldn't complain about reviews like the 2nd one being posted, but again I recognize my opinion means exactly zero in this instance.

QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Oct 14 2012, 03:13 PM) *

If this is the type of information you want to provide, then write a blog somewhere.


If this was directed specifically to me, am I to interpret that as an invitation to leave?
HappiestCamper
"sentance"?
Snidely Whiplash
QUOTE(HappiestCamper @ Oct 16 2012, 07:30 AM) *

"sentance"?


There you go! You can use my spelling skills to judge my credibility, and I can use content and level of contribution to the discussion to judge yours!
dalsgal
Sterner, you asked a question and he gave you a good, clear answer. He was explaining to you and the rest of us how and why they make changes. They work hard to make the reviews and the forum easy for everyone and they spend many hours of their own time working for this site. Getting angry at him for explaining why your review was changed and then attacking his explanation was unnecessary in my opinion. You must get offended very easily.
Texasrvers
QUOTE(Sterner @ Oct 15 2012, 01:59 PM) *

Maybe I'm reading your reply wrong, but it reads to me like I offended you somehow, or that your upset about my having voiced my opinion.


Sterner,
I was not offended by your remarks. Ultimately, I just wanted to try to explain to you why it is necessary edit many of the reviews we get.


QUOTE


“If this is the type of information you want to provide, then write a blog somewhere.”

"If this was directed specifically to me, am I to interpret that as an invitation to leave?"


No, this was not directed specifically to you, and it is not an invitation to leave. I meant this to be the plural “you,” and in fact, to make that clearer, I should have said, “If this is the type of information someone wants to provide, then he/she should write a blog somewhere.”
HappiestCamper
QUOTE(Sterner @ Oct 16 2012, 08:25 PM) *

There you go! You can use my spelling skills to judge my credibility, and I can use content and level of contribution to the discussion to judge yours!


Just pointing out what YOU said earlier:

QUOTE(Sterner @ Oct 13 2012, 11:37 PM) *
There were also MANY changes made to that particular review (sentance structure, phrases, etc) which made it read like I was unable to write a grammatically correct couple of sentances and threw off the entire tone of the review.


YOU claim when they re-write your reviews, it makes it look like YOU can't write. Maybe you can, maybe you can't - our only example is what you write here.
Snidely Whiplash
QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Oct 16 2012, 10:11 PM) *

No, this was not directed specifically to you, and it is not an invitation to leave. I meant this to be the plural “you,” and in fact, to make that clearer, I should have said, “If this is the type of information someone wants to provide, then he/she should write a blog somewhere.”


OK, then clearly I misinterpreted the tone of your post, and if I came across harsh in my reply (as dalsgal indicated) then I would hope that you would accept my apology.
Texasrvers
No need for an apology. As you said, you were just expressing your opinion.
tsparky
I submitted a review last week that hasn't appeared yet. Is there a procedure? I checked and I don't have any messages.
Texasrvers
QUOTE(tsparky @ Oct 29 2012, 08:47 PM) *

I submitted a review last week that hasn't appeared yet. Is there a procedure? I checked and I don't have any messages.



I cannot find a review submitted under your username. Is it possible you used a different name? Do you remember getting a "Thank You" screen when you completed your review. If not, then your review was not submitted successfully.
Jerry S
In the past week or two I have had several reviews take 5-6 days to post versus 1-2 days for other reviews written at about the same time. I'm guessing that at least one review checker is a bit more backlogged than some of the others.
Jerry S
TX,

Actually, I am begining to wonder about a review I did about a week ago (I'm almost positive I got the "Thank You" message on this review) for the Belton RV Park in Belton, TX. I was there 10/26 & 27 and I think I submitted the review 10/28 or 29. I've written at least 4 reviews on other parks since then that have already posted. I'd appreciate it if you could check on this review.

Thanks.
Texasrvers
Sorry Jerry, but I can't find your review. When you made your previous comment on Oct. 31 about it taking a little longer before your reviews were posted, I checked to see if we had a backlog, but we didn't. At that time there were less than a dozen reviews waiting to be approved, and they had just recently come in. I did notice that you had two reviews in that list, and I am fairly certain that neither of them was for Belton. I am pretty sure they were for RV parks at a casino. So at this point I have no idea what happened to the Belton review. All I can suggest is that you send it in again. If it shows up some weird place in the meantime, I'll let you know. Thanks for checking.

TX
Jerry S
TX,

Thanks for checking. As I said, I'm fairly certain that I saw the "Thank You" page. I'll just redo it tonight or tomorrow.

Jerry
Jerry S
I almost hate to bring this thread back to life, but I guess it is my turn to whine a little. I recently submitted my first review of the year. It was for Camp Lakewood in Effingham, IL. I felt the review was butchered by whomever checked it. They removed almost half the review. For starters, I explained why I was re-reviewing that park so soon after my previous review - there had been a significant change in the park situation. Since this a fairly popular park with lots of regular returning customers, I thought most of them would appreciate learning that the folks who owned the park for years had sold the park. I do understand eliminating the names of the old and new owners. If that was all the admin did, I wouldn't be upset. Why take out comments about the importance how well the owners take care of the park? Also, is it wrong to reference a previous review of your own that may shed light on the park amenities and facilities? I think I did that in this review (or the one I also submitted yesterday on Lady Luck RV Park in Caruthersville, MO) and it was taken out.

I'm certainly not threatening to stop submitting reviews like the complaintants earlier in this thread, but I would like to think somebody with my track record shouldn't have their reviews cut so severely.

Thanks for letting me rant a bit.
RLM
QUOTE(Jerry S. @ May 10 2013, 12:21 AM) *

Thanks for letting me rant a bit.


First, let me say that I don't think your post is a rant. It is a tactful explanation of your concern and that is appreciated.

The Admins do have the authority to make corrections to a review so that it complies with the rules, guidelines, and standards that are established for this website. Most of those guidelines are covered in the Rules for Submitting a review. Everyone must acknowledge those prior to submitting one. Unfortunately, we still get lots of non-compliance from those who do not read them or choose not to comply. Some of the standards are not published but are common sense. Like not putting personal names in a review, mentioning a competing campground in the review of another, or adding comment information that has serves no useful purpose for fellow Rvers in their decision to use the campground.

All of the Admins are hand picked and trained to do the job to a certain standard. They are experienced RVer. They check hundreds of reviews that come in for accurate campground information and to insure that the comments are easily read and understood. A review does not serve it's purpose when what is written cannot be easily read and understood. With all due respect to everyone, the bottom line is that if the Admin, an experienced RVer, doesn't understand what you are trying to communicate then neither will other readers.

If the Admin does take the time necessary to make a correction, we try to do so in a manner that respects the reviewer's submission and in a way that doesn't change the intent of what is being said by that person. However, if we did that for all of the reviews then we would be working at a snail's pace. That would be doing a disservice to those who expect to have their review approved in a timely manner. The easiest, and quickest, solution is to send the review back to the individual and let them make the corrections.

I read this particular review and some of your previous ones. They are well done and would serve the purpose of my making the decision to use one of the campgrounds mentioned. You have submitted a lot of good reviews. Perhaps, because of your “track record” and service to fellow Rvers, the Admin was thinking it would be a courtesy in not sending it back for the corrections that they took the time to do - even if those were more than necessary. Both chooses are judgment calls. We would like to get them right 100% of the time, but that is impossible.

None of Admins would reject suggestions that help us to do a better job of serving the website visitors. Thank you for yours.
JCZ
I just submitted a review for an RV Park in Sacramento, Ca. (Mark J RV Park). As I was going down through the check boxes I noticed that it changed to Cal Expo RV Park. I manually changed it back to Mark J and again went through all the check boxes and posted my text. Then, after I clicked "next" a window opened that said "Thank you for your review of Cal Expo RV Park". Not the park I was reviewing.

So I wonder if this is happening to others and that may be why their review isn't showing up where it should be?

JC
Texasrvers
QUOTE(JCZ @ May 10 2013, 10:43 AM) *

I just submitted a review for an RV Park in Sacramento, Ca. (Mark J RV Park). As I was going down through the check boxes I noticed that it changed to Cal Expo RV Park. I manually changed it back to Mark J and again went through all the check boxes and posted my text. Then, after I clicked "next" a window opened that said "Thank you for your review of Cal Expo RV Park". Not the park I was reviewing.

So I wonder if this is happening to others and that may be why their review isn't showing up where it should be?

JC


I have never heard of anything like that happening before--but hey, there's always a first. I cannot explain why that happened, but I checked, and your review that is in the queue definitely says it is for Mark J RV Park. It should be checked in a day or so. Thanks for reporting this.
Jerry S
RLM,

While I appreciate the effort you went through to write a reasonable explanation of what may have happened to my review, I still have issues with those explanations.

1. I certainly did not "break" any of the written "rules" for submitting a review.

2. As for the "other rules" (mentioning names or other campgrounds) which you say are based on common sense, I don't understand how they are based on common sense. They may be based on potential legal issues, but common sense?

3. I do understand not putting useless information in the review and I do not believe I did that. Some of the information I included, which the Admin eliminated, may not have seemed important to him/her, but I think it was usefull information for the many members of this site who have stayed at this park previously. The Admin did not have adequate knowledge of the situation to make the decision to eliminate my comments.

4. Just because somebody has travelled a lot by RV does not automatically mean they are qualified to be Admins - even with some sort of training. Many experienced RVers actually have very limited experience with diffferent types of parks and campgrounds. There was one instance a few years ago when somebody in that position actually used it to screw with other members. Although I was not one of them, many folks here probably thought highly of this guy until his fall from grace. I am not saying the Admin I am disageeing with is a bad guy, but I do believe his judgement concerning this particular review was way out of line.

RLM
Jerry> Avoiding potential legal issues could be considered common sense.

Please know that I did not intend to imply that you broke any rules or that the information in a review is assessed based on what was important to the Administrator. Your legitimate concern about the change to your review gave me the opportunity to let others know some of the logic behind what we do and why decisions are made. It was to let them know that we apply the same guidelines and standards whether a reviewer is submitting their first couple of reviews or the individual has submitted several hundred. Aside from the change issue, we certainly would prefer to approve a review instead of sending it back. If for no other reason than someone has to work it all over again when it is resubmitted with the requested changes. More importantly, we would like to approve a review because we simply know that someone took the time to do it for the benefit of others who might be looking to use that particular campground.

Your observation is true that a lot of travel in an RV may not give one the experience to be in customer service for this website. Please know that the current Administrator staff are both experienced RVers and experienced with their job. And, as with any organization, there are rules for them to follow and adhere to. As a group, they have been to many, many of the Mexico, Canada, and the US campgrounds being reviewed. Having done so, one may totally disagree with the submitted campground review, but that is never a factor in approving the review.

It is impossible for any Admins, or for that matter anyone in customer service, to achieve a perfect record of pleasing everyone all of the time. That is because his/her occasional judgment call may have to be used to determine if an uncertain or unclear review is within the guidelines for the site. I would ask that you have patience and understanding for that fact.

My Dad worked for and loved the railroad all of his life. One of the things I remember him saying is “I ride up front but I don't get to steer the locomotive. I don't get to choose the route, instead I have to go where the tracks take me. I have to blow the whistle to keep people out of the train's path, but they only complain about the noise. Basically, I have little control over the train, but if the darn think jumps the track see who gets the blame.”

Again, the change to your review could have been way out of line and it could be one where our train jumped the track. Be that as it may, the issue is a good reason for us to re-think “useful” information. As I said in the last post, we are always open to anything that helps us do better a better job of customer service.
Jerry S
RLM,

I really don't want to get into a discussion of the semantics of the meaning of "common sense" but I don't necessarily agree that knowing the intricacies of our legal system (pertaining to libel, for example) comes under the heading of "common sense". We are, afterall, on a site that considers being in a house on wheels with heat, A/C, TV, beds, kitchen, bath, etc. to be "camping".

While I understand and appreciate your explanation of how difficult the job of Admin is, I do not believe "having done a lot of RVing" to be the most important qualification for the job. In one of the last reviews I did on my recent 5 week trip, I used the word "site(s)" maybe half a dozen times in the review refering to the RV sites in the park. Somehow, the first time the word came up in the reviews, it was spelled "sight(s)". All the other "site(s)" remained the same. It is posible that my aging brain was malfunctioning for a moment and I improperly wrote "sight(s)", but I am guessing an Admin may have changed it from "site" to "sight". If that is the case, that Admin is not qualified to do this job. From now on, whenever I see some common words (site/sight, too/to/two, then/than, their/there, etc.) being misused in a review, I will wonder whether it was the reviewer or the Admin who is making the mistake.

I've made plenty of writing errors in my reviews and posts over the years, so I do understand that none of us is perfect. Still, let's not contribute to the "dumbing down of America" by ignoring poor written English. As I told somebody on this site a few years ago, if I was checking reviews submitted here, I'd probably send most of them back once I saw that more than (not then) one correction of improper word usage was needed.

End of rant.

Jerry S.
docj
As one of the Admins on this website I constantly bemoan the state of language usage in the reviews which we process. I doubt even half of the reviews submitted accurately distinguish between "sites" at an RV park and "sights" to see in the vicinity of the park. I dare not even think about the percentage that understand the difference between "its" and "it's". Spelling mistakes are an entire other rant.

I do my best to correct those mistakes I notice but I don't swear I will have caught all the errors in any particular review. I do try not to introduce any new ones on my own. I know that my feelings are shared by my colleagues.

Even if a single instance of the word "sites" was incorrectly changed to "sights" in one of your reviews by an Admin, I disagree that this one mistake makes that person unqualified to do the job. Mistakes happen and everyone makes them.

If you would identify which of your reviews this pertains to I am quite willing to correct the error you noted so that no one will think your language usage is that poor.
Texasrvers
Aw, c'mon Jerry. Lighten up. You should see the messes we sometimes get. (I have even posted some examples back in post #22.) If we try to rewrite them enough so that they make some sort of sense, we get slammed for changing the review. If we post them like they are, we get slammed for posting something that has a mistake. Yes, we miss some things. Yes, some reviews are put on line that maybe shouldn't be. And yes, we get complaints for trying to make the posted reviews adhere to guidelines that make them readable and helpful to other RVers. It doesn't seem to matter what we do; we can't win, but we keep trying.
NYDutch
I for one thank DocJ, Tex, and the rest of the volunteer editors for the hard work they do to keep this site both current and as accurate as possible. As a professional tech writer, my works were reviewed and revised by multiple well paid proof readers and editors, yet "misteaks" in spelling and grammar still made it to the printers on occasion. I know it's an often thankless job that you do, but please know that it is appreciated!
kcmoedoe
I agree with Jerry S. All reviews and posts with any misspellings, punctuation errors or other grammatical errors should immediately be discarded. We can start with his comments, since he misspelled "possible". If we eliminate all of that grammatical clutter, this will be a very clean website. I seriously doubt more than one or two reviews a week would make it past the gatekeeper. It sure would be nice to be able to visit a review site and not have to sift through a whole bunch of reviews. In that wonderful alternative universe, you would probably only find one review, properly written, for each park. Since the author used perfect grammar and punctuation, we all would know everything they had written must have been the gospel truth.
FosterImposters
QUOTE(kcmoedoe @ Jun 14 2013, 07:19 AM) *

"...we all would know everything they had written must have been the gospel truth."

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Jerry S
I thought I'd better post this now before we hit the road for the rest of the summer. I knew I'd catch some flak for my previous post (6/11/13) but was disappointed that some of my statements were taken out of context and/or misunderstood.

I have previously stated that I understand how difficult the job of being an Admin is and did not feel it was necessary to make the statement again. I am also well aware of how bad some of the submitted reviews are when they are initially submitted.

The point I was trying to make in the second paragraph of my 6/11 post when I mentioned the sites/sights issue was that "lots of RVing experience" was not the most important factor in being a good Admin. A basic knowledge of the basics of written English is much more important. The sites vs. sights was an example. It was not the point of contention. As for my review where the word "sites" was seemingly changed to "sights", I went back and looked at the review(s) in question. The word had been corrected to "sites". So, as I also said in the second paragraph, my aging brain may be playing tricks with me. At any rate, the review (now) shows the correct word.

In the third paragraph I admitted to making my share of mistakes. I do plead not guilty of spelling "possible" incorrectly. That was a simple typographical error. Additionally, the last sentence of that paragraph says if I were reviewing the incoming reviews, I would send them back if I found more than one improper word usage. Even my overbearing style would allow for a few misspellings and/or typographical errors that could be easily corrected.

It is almost ironic that a site that is based on gathering critiques of something (RV parks), is afraid to criticize the site's contributors. Are we afraid of hurting their feelings or damaging their fragile self esteem? Is "self esteem" one word, two words, or should it be hyphenated? My very old dictionary shows it as one word but the spell checker won't accept it as one word.

Back on the road in less than 40 hours. I've got a couple folks on here who are creeping up on my review total.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.