Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Best Of Rv Park Reviews
RV Park Reviews Campground Discussion Forum > RV Park and Campground Discussions > RV Park Discussions
Fitzjohnfan
I hope this is acceptable, but I came across a review that made my wife and I both laugh quite a bit. If you find any other reviews you find are extra entertaining, post them here (please be kind to the park and remove any references to the park itself)

It is a very strange place and we won't go back. It is very, very dusty because of the farmer's field next to the park and the constant cultivation. Two of our cats vanished and when I found the body of a neighbor's cat I realized that the coyotes were getting the pets in the park. The Border Patrol makes almost a daily visit. We had illegals knock on our door one night asking for food and water. The next door neighbor went out for a walk and encountered a dozen illegals and their smuggler. Border Patrol helicopter woke us up several times hovering over the park. But the worse thing is that the park owner's son is basically a pest and the local village idiot and was awfully annoying; many of our neighbors went out of their way to avoid him when he would come around. We camped here in a Motorhome
RLM
That is quite funny, but one wonders why the reviewer stayed long enough to be a participant in all of those weird events.
Luvtheroad
I'd never find it again, but one review for a park mentioned that there was an elderly permanent resident who liked to expose himself to female campers. They were told to just ignore him as he didn't expose himself to children, just grownups, so "no harm was done". Okaaaay....
kcmoedoe
We did not feel comfortable allowing the kids (15 12 10) to venture even to the shower house alone. We stayed here 2 nights 1 day out of necessity of a stop over but wouldn't stay there again. Did not feel safe walking to the shower house due to some of the people staying there. Guys and Girls going to the same side together and my son walked into the men room while a couple was doing their thing in the shower, not impressed esp. when they told him it was OK he could watch, fortunately my son (10) came back out. Park was quiet enough but wasn't willing to leave the rig unattended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

The user that posted this review has 2 other reviews online. Click here to see them.

I was never that lucky at 10
dalsgal
I just read one that said the park is closed or the name changed, no phone and they reviewer didn't stay there so they gave it a 1. How could they review a park that, according to them, doesn't exist?
Texasrvers
Many times members have sent in a "review" to say that a park is closed. This is appreciated and keeps our listings up to date. It also prevents someone from going to a park only to find out the hard way that it is closed. However, to post even that kind of "message" there has to be a rating before the system will accept it. If people read the comments, I think they can easily figure out the reason for the rating.
dalsgal
I understand that but I still think it is funny.
mdcamping
My reviews would probably make...."most boring" cool.gif

Mike
HappiestCamper
I saw this in one today:

"People looked unhappy and mad. Kids were crying and people were loud."
Denali
I just read one that started out "Very friendly campground. Mostly people live here."
FosterImposters
QUOTE(Denali @ Feb 16 2012, 10:03 AM) *

I just read one that started out "Very friendly campground. Mostly people live here."

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Although.
We have stayed at nice parks, where dogs have definitely outnumbered people. cool.gif
Fitzjohnfan
QUOTE

I saw this in one today:

" just read one that started out "Very friendly campground. Mostly people live here."


That was great!! made me laugh a bunch!

Here's another one, pretty long, but has some good comments:

We chose this park because previous reviews below said it was good, and because all the other parks in the XXXX area were terrifying. However, that was a mistake. Positives: a nice girl in the office, who seemed to welcome us despite the fact that she had only a couple of spots available, and the cable signal with hookup was strong with nice reception; there is also a nice pond behind the office. Negatives: we were sent to a site with only half the length needed for our rig, forcing us to either block traffic on the road, or unhitch our truck, even though we planned to only stay the night, plus the grassy bit on one side was littered with dog poop and I had to find wood and pieces of concrete to cover up the mess so we wouldn't step in it in the dark;; the restrooms and showers were HIDEOUS and the worst I have ever seen. They were filthy, with used toilet paper on the floors, filthy and falling apart, with full garbage cans, odd wires strung across the walls to supply power to a heater and a light over the sink, but no light switch on the wall and no way to turn it on; showers and tubs stained with gigantic yellow patches that looks like human waste; knobs to turn on the shower were, unbelievably, missing (so I assume you were supposed to bring your own wrench to the shower to turn on the water). The walls of the door frame to the bathrooms were so bowed and warped, that they let in light between the door and the frame - that was all the light you could get. The laundry area had a strong smell of gas, indicating a gas leak, making me think an explosion would be imminent should someone light up outside the laundry. The whole place just smells of raw sewage. I have no idea if the bathrooms are serviced more than once a month, or if anyone maintains this property, but the reviews that follow are totally inaccurate today.
2beagles
"We knew there were rules going in, but this place is nuts. Sign posted in office stated you could not even wash the bugs off your windshield. We had a reservation for 2 nights but when I saw that we left the next morning. I am sure they had their reasons, but they were over the top. I would never stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel."

Excuse me, but they left becuse they couldn't wash their windshield? ohmy.gif
Tallboy
How about this one?
Same person two different campgrounds.

Campground #1

"Yes some of the sites are unlevel but all it takes if for guests to level there camper out a little effort goes along way, stop being lazy. The roads are narrow but had no problem driving on them, if you can't drive on this roads you shouldn't be driving period. "

Campground #2

"The most extreme out of level sites I have ever seen at a campground. It was very hard to get into our site."

dalsgal
Just spotted this one tonight:

"The bathrooms did not have showers and were not clean and friendly."

I guess I've been missing something all these years since I never met a friendly bath house at any campground. rolleyes.gif
willranless
"Was quiet except for the trains that ran off and on all night long blowing its whistle"

Just made me chuckle a little bit.
John Blue
Train whistles were last use back in 1950. Diesel engine trains use an air HORN. If you see this item then the person who wrote the review has a good bit of age on them. smile.gif
mdcamping
QUOTE(John Blue @ Oct 13 2012, 11:23 AM) *

Train whistles were last use back in 1950. Diesel engine trains use an air HORN. If you see this item then the person who wrote the review has a good bit of age on them. smile.gif



or maybe a good bit of experience on them...sounds better! biggrin.gif

Mike
Fitzjohnfan
"If you have a travel trailer or smaller 5th, this place is OK, only OK. Sites are dirt, not level and not at all suitable for a NICE motor home. Owner was very nice but this place is a 2 on a scale of 1 to 10. Only good for one overnight. You don't want to spend any time here. We camped here in a Motorhome."

Ok, can anyone read this any other way than this person is a complete snob? I know this is supposed to be best of rv park reviews, but this is up there as worst of...
willranless
This is the story of the shrinking RV Park. Maybe if we could conduct a study to find out how this park shrank so much in one month, we could figure out a way to reverse the process and create an RV Park stretcher. biggrin.gif

Review #1
Good in and out park. We stayed one night on our way through Texas. 40 foot rig with a 20 foot trailer was no problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

REVIEW #2 (Different Guest, same park, one month later)
We called to make a reservation and the host stated, when I gave her the length of our rig (40' plus tow), that they did not have any sites that would accommodate that length. Driving by the campground on I-20 and observing the Park from the highway, I would question whether any RV longer than roughly 32' would fit.
Jerry S
I, too, saw the recent review noted by the previous poster. I, however, thought it was enough of a problem to start a separate topic (Review of Sweetwater (TX) RV Park).
Snidely Whiplash
QUOTE(Fitzjohnfan @ Nov 30 2012, 02:29 AM) *

"If you have a travel trailer or smaller 5th, this place is OK, only OK. Sites are dirt, not level and not at all suitable for a NICE motor home. Owner was very nice but this place is a 2 on a scale of 1 to 10. Only good for one overnight. You don't want to spend any time here. We camped here in a Motorhome."

Ok, can anyone read this any other way than this person is a complete snob? I know this is supposed to be best of rv park reviews, but this is up there as worst of...



OK, I just had to check out their other reviews. One of the recent ones states "They have a standard of nicer, cleaner RV's which keeps the riff raff out and makes the place more upscale and WORTHWHILE." And from another review "Fellow campers were nice except for one IDIOT with IOWA license plates on a travel trailer who was a dog hater and had an anti dog sign on his rig. You don't see this type of miserable BUFFOON very often, most RVers love dogs and are friendly people."

I have to admit, I give some serious weight to the parks they give high ratings. They really must be nice parks if they can satisfy this reviewer.

OK, found another gem by the same reviewer:

"The owners are rather Gestapo like. And if you like that, then fine. ... We are mid 50 year olds. You need to be 100 years old to enjoy this type of environment. If you are a little younger: stay away."

I think this is my favorite reviewer ever; Their reviews certainly are entertaining. biggrin.gif

But my lowly fifth wheel is still fairly new. I might feel different / not see as much humor as it gets older or, God forbid, if I found myself parked next to them. ohmy.gif
rkw99
QUOTE(Sterner @ Jan 30 2013, 11:42 PM) *

OK, I just had to check out their other reviews. One of the recent ones states "They have a standard of nicer, cleaner RV's which keeps the riff raff out and makes the place more upscale and WORTHWHILE." And from another review "Fellow campers were nice except for one IDIOT with IOWA license plates on a travel trailer who was a dog hater and had an anti dog sign on his rig. You don't see this type of miserable BUFFOON very often, most RVers love dogs and are friendly people."

I have to admit, I give some serious weight to the parks they give high ratings. They really must be nice parks if they can satisfy this reviewer.

OK, found another gem by the same reviewer:

"The owners are rather Gestapo like. And if you like that, then fine. ... We are mid 50 year olds. You need to be 100 years old to enjoy this type of environment. If you are a little younger: stay away."

I think this is my favorite reviewer ever; Their reviews certainly are entertaining. biggrin.gif

But my lowly fifth wheel is still fairly new. I might feel different / not see as much humor as it gets older or, God forbid, if I found myself parked next to them. ohmy.gif


I would most enjoy parking next to them in my slideless, 29ft travel trailer (1995 model-clean, well kept and paid for) smile.gif


Here are 2 reviews from the same person a month apart. Not necessarily worthy of "Best of" but the Goldilocks of RVers

1. My family and I stayed here for a few nights at the end of July through the beginning of August. This place is massive and has a lot going on. Our children enjoyed themselves, and my wife enjoyed the pools, but we felt that it is too much going on; we felt like we could not relax, especially with all of their rules. The rates are also very steep, especially in this economy. It is a beautiful place but we prefer "campgrounds." Don't think we will be going to any more "Resorts." We camped here in a Travel Trailer.


2. My family and I stayed here for a weekend in August. My wife and I enjoyed our stay, and it was convenient as our children had soccer games nearby Saturday morning. The sites were large and level and the grounds were well kept. The only real complaint I have is I wish they had more activities for children; however, we liked it here, and we will come back, especially if our boys have soccer games in the area again

And this one was Juuust Right:

3. My family and I stayed here for Labor Day Weekend. It was our first time staying at this place, and we were impressed. There were so many kids for our children to play with, and there were a lot of activities as well as a lot of courts and the swimming pond, but what impressed me the most was the staff. The girl in the office was very polite and helpful, and my wife said she rarely sees restrooms and grounds so clean and manicured. She also enjoyed how close they are to the shopping outlets and ocean. The price was very reasonable as well, most other campgrounds we have been to charge a lot more for holidays. The only regret I have is that we made reservations last minute, and they did not have many sites left to choose from, next summer we will call earlier.
Fitzjohnfan
QUOTE(rkw99 @ Feb 1 2013, 11:11 AM) *

I would most enjoy parking next to them in my slideless, 29ft travel trailer (1995 model-clean, well kept and paid for) smile.gif
Here are 2 reviews from the same person a month apart. Not necessarily worthy of "Best of" but the Goldilocks of RVers

1. My family and I stayed here for a few nights at the end of July through the beginning of August. This place is massive and has a lot going on. Our children enjoyed themselves, and my wife enjoyed the pools, but we felt that it is too much going on; we felt like we could not relax, especially with all of their rules. The rates are also very steep, especially in this economy. It is a beautiful place but we prefer "campgrounds." Don't think we will be going to any more "Resorts." We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
2. My family and I stayed here for a weekend in August. My wife and I enjoyed our stay, and it was convenient as our children had soccer games nearby Saturday morning. The sites were large and level and the grounds were well kept. The only real complaint I have is I wish they had more activities for children; however, we liked it here, and we will come back, especially if our boys have soccer games in the area again

And this one was Juuust Right:

3. My family and I stayed here for Labor Day Weekend. It was our first time staying at this place, and we were impressed. There were so many kids for our children to play with, and there were a lot of activities as well as a lot of courts and the swimming pond, but what impressed me the most was the staff. The girl in the office was very polite and helpful, and my wife said she rarely sees restrooms and grounds so clean and manicured. She also enjoyed how close they are to the shopping outlets and ocean. The price was very reasonable as well, most other campgrounds we have been to charge a lot more for holidays. The only regret I have is that we made reservations last minute, and they did not have many sites left to choose from, next summer we will call earlier.



RKW99, That was just great! Individually, they really don't stand out, but you read them all together, and....

I was scanning through the reviews in Yuma, and there were some bits and pieces of various reviews that made me chuckle...

1) One of the campground directories gave this park a "10" rating and consider it one of the best parks for 2011. I would really like to know what they were using to measure excellence?

2) Lots of chickens and roosters roaming the park. The flies were horrendous, could not sit outside of RV at any time of the day or evening.

3) BUT the worst part is the narrow spaces for transients. With our slide out and the neighbor's slide out there was 27 inches between the two motorhomes. (are you sure it was 27 inches and not 28 or 26? You actually got out a tape measure and checked?)
WrongWayRandall
I just ran across this review (funny part clipped out for brevity) for a park that I was considering visiting and it gave me a really good laugh so I thought I would share it in this thread

"...Neighbor to my camper attempted to preach the Book of Revelation to me, starting off by asking me if I would wear a white robe one day. Strange. Next morning, a child almost ran over me on a bicycle. Perhaps it was because I was not wearing the white robe..."

Living in the South, being preached at is nothing new or unusual, and having been in a few campgrounds being run down by a child on a bike is far from atypical, but the tone of the post really struck a chord laugh.gif
jfml44@yahoo.com
QUOTE(dalsgal @ Apr 14 2012, 09:25 PM) *

Just spotted this one tonight:

"The bathrooms did not have showers and were not clean and friendly."

I guess I've been missing something all these years since I never met a friendly bath house at any campground. rolleyes.gif

Stay at Sleepy Hollow Campground in Wall, SD you won't be disappointed on the showers.

Luvtheroad
QUOTE(jfml44@yahoo.com @ Jun 12 2013, 11:15 PM) *

Stay at Sleepy Hollow Campground in Wall, SD you won't be disappointed on the showers.


We stayed there in 2010. Bathrooms were clean but I don't remember them being exceptionally friendly......
Jerry S
I saw this comment in a recent (May 2013) review of the Snake River RV Park and Campground in Idaho Falls, ID: "Did not rate a 10 because the grass wasn't in perfect shape .... and because I'm not a fan of the type of trees in the park". So now the grass has to be "perfect" and the trees must be those that the reviewer likes!!! Does this reviewer want the grass to be like a putting green at an exclusive golf course? Does he ask RV parks what type of trees they have before staying? Good grief!!!
WVA3185
QUOTE(Jerry S. @ Jun 13 2013, 07:53 PM) *

I saw this comment in a recent (May 2013) review of the Snake River RV Park and Campground in Idaho Falls, ID: "Did not rate a 10 because the grass wasn't in perfect shape .... and because I'm not a fan of the type of trees in the park". So now the grass has to be "perfect" and the trees must be those that the reviewer likes!!! Does this reviewer want the grass to be like a putting green at an exclusive golf course? Does he ask RV parks what type of trees they have before staying? Good grief!!!

As my big brother always said..."People in hell want ice water too but they don't get it!" laugh.gif
Luvtheroad
I just came across one from a couple of years ago that was a doozy: the park manager was described (and I quote) as having the "friendliness of a cobra with PMS and the attitude of a skunk on steroids". Okaaaay, tell us what you REALLY think of her.....
MontanaGypsySoul
Just wondering how friendly they were hoping that bath house would be. I mean, are we talking bubble baths and wine here or......????

QUOTE(dalsgal @ Apr 14 2012, 07:25 PM) *

Just spotted this one tonight:

"The bathrooms did not have showers and were not clean and friendly."

I guess I've been missing something all these years since I never met a friendly bath house at any campground. rolleyes.gif

Fitzjohnfan
This is a paraphrase, since I can't find the original post, but I read one last week that said:

"If you like hearing trucks in a warehouse setting all day and night, getting woken up by a loud train at midnight, and then woken up again by two homeless people fighting over a bottle of wine at 2:00am, then this is the park for you."
fastalker64
"Without a doubt the worst campground we've ever been in. No rules at all. Our neighbors were up partying loudly at 3AM and staff does nothing. On our second night we were treated to a live episode of something like the "Jerry Springer" show when a woman and her male 'friend' fought for over an hour - punching, kicking, screaming, cursing, crying, yelling, more cursing and yet more cursing. When looking for the camp manager the next morning, he was over at the offending campsite hanging out with the 'fighters' and drinking beer and playing games at about 11AM! The dump station was pathetic. The fresh water hose at the dump station has it's valve under ground! To turn the water on and off you had to get down on all fours and reach into some sort of ditch and under a sheet of nasty, rotted plywood to reach the spigot. The restrooms were awfull. The camp office was a rundown trailor that looked to be ready to collapse. The pool was not open and looked to be in horrid condition. Many. many, permanents here. Most of which are not kept up very well. I seriously think they could have filmed the movie "Deliverence" here. This place was that bad. The only reason it gets a "1" rating is because "0" is not a choice. Stay away from this place at all costs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer."

Different campground, same state:

"This park has a mix of seasonal campers and weekend campers. The campgrounds website makes it look like a nice place to camp but its not. The website says that they have a private lake in the park but it is really just a big hole that the rain water drains into. However, they do have fish in it. I saw some fish floating in it. ....The campground managers are never anywhere to be found and when I did find the manager,Tom he was drunk. I talked to one of the seasonals and they said that they were going to leave because the park was just going down hill. I would not recommend staying there and I would not stay there again even if it was free. We camped here in a Travel Trailer. "
Fitzjohnfan
Another one that shows it takes all kinds of people to run an RV Park...

"Staff a bit unfriendly to customers. Fire caused the park to close in the middle of our stay. Rather than deal with irate RV'ers about a refund, they locked up and left. They abandoned their customers to the threat of an approaching forest fire"
dalsgal
QUOTE(Fitzjohnfan @ Aug 12 2014, 11:14 PM) *

Another one that shows it takes all kinds of people to run an RV Park...

"Staff a bit unfriendly to customers. Fire caused the park to close in the middle of our stay. Rather than deal with irate RV'ers about a refund, they locked up and left. They abandoned their customers to the threat of an approaching forest fire"

I thought that one was a bit funny. I would not have left our CG unattended until all RV's wre gone. Also, as an RV'er I would not have even thought about getting a refund because my life is more important than a little bit of cash.
BankShot
I realize this is not spot on this subject but thought our own experience would be enjoyed by a few of you. A couple of years ago we stayed at a park and while pulling in a guy came up and just started helping us with hand gestures and guidance, etc. We though he was the official park guide but it turned out he was a full timer and the park "busy body". We were experiencing a minor problem with the AC and asked him if he knew of a mobile service in the area that might stop by to take a look at it. He told us he didn't but not to worry, that his wife was an electrician by past trade and would be glad to come over and take a look at it for us at no charge. So we figured what the heck, he seemed like a nice guy. He left and came back about a half hour later with his wife IN A WHEELCHAIR!!! She managed to get up and actually was able to climb up into the coach where she started telling us to do the things we had already done. Long story short, she was of no help whatsovever. We ended up having them there with us telling us all about their families and pets, etc. for over an hour when we finally told them we had to get some things done and dinner started, and thanked them for their time and trouble. They left and we went on about getting the BBQ out and preparing dinner. I came down out of the coach with the steaks to grill and lo and behold, there he was standing beside our BBQ telling us how good it was starting to smell and what were we having for dinner. He could see the steaks on the platter but I told him anyway that we were having steaks. He then told us they hadn't had dinner yet and those steaks sure looked good. I will finish this little story by just saying I did get rid of him and was actually really nice in the way I did but for the rest of that evening and the next day we were there, we kept a close eye out for them to make sure they weren't hanging around waiting to jump us again. We have had a few laughs about that little scenario ever since......................... rolleyes.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.