Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: What Are Your Pet Peeves Rv'ing?
RV Park Reviews Campground Discussion Forum > RV Park and Campground Discussions > General Chat
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Luvtheroad
QUOTE(Lindsay Richards @ Apr 23 2013, 07:58 AM) *

Terminology is a moving target in the RV business. Resort is a really abused term too. Since when is a parking lot a resort.


Oh, yeah...."resort".....that's a good one. Add the word "resort" to your name and you can charge an extra 15 dollars a night. We've stayed in "resorts" that had no pool, no clubhouse, etc. but, by dang, THEY WERE RESORTS! One place even charged a $3 per day "resort fee" for absolutely nothing - no pool, gameroom was locked the entire time we were there, laundromat was a disaster, you couldn't swim in the lake, and the store was open only a couple hours a day.

And then there are the places that have an ungodly number of rules. Now, I'm all for rules and I'm a rule-abiding person, even if I don't agree with the particular rule. But, one place we stayed a couple of years ago had the most unbelievable number of rules that covered about anything you could do or even THINK about doing. The RULES were posted everywhere and I mean EVERYWHERE. We hadn't even come to a complete stop before the owner's wife roared up in a golf cart and informed us of a couple of rules we had already broken that we didn't even know about yet. Best yet, they offered "free nights" to people who ratted on their neighbors.....this was stated in the 3-page list of "rules". It was a good park, but at times I felt like I was in Stalag 17, especially when the owner's wife would slowly drive around the park all day, stopping at each site to have a good look to make sure you weren't breaking any of the rules.
mdcamping
QUOTE(jamarynn1 @ Apr 23 2013, 06:21 PM) *

Oh, yeah...."resort".....that's a good one. Add the word "resort" to your name and you can charge an extra 15 dollars a night. We've stayed in "resorts" that had no pool, no clubhouse, etc. but, by dang, THEY WERE RESORTS!



Yup...we stayed at a "RESORT" campground once with all the same missing amenities, but add NO dumpstation! dry.gif

Mike
Fitzjohnfan
Ok, I have a new peev which you park owners woulld appreciate: people who rate their stay lower, due to items completely out of control of the park. I just read a review that said: "I'm sure this park is quite nice in the spring, but when we were there it was cold and rainy which brought down the score."

So park owners, on top of providing good wi-fi, clean bathrooms, good hook ups, and big-rig friendly sites, you also have to make sure the weather is favorable!
dalsgal
QUOTE(Fitzjohnfan @ Apr 24 2013, 01:05 AM) *

Ok, I have a new peev which you park owners woulld appreciate: people who rate their stay lower, due to items completely out of control of the park. I just read a review that said: "I'm sure this park is quite nice in the spring, but when we were there it was cold and rainy which brought down the score."

So park owners, on top of providing good wi-fi, clean bathrooms, good hook ups, and big-rig friendly sites, you also have to make sure the weather is favorable!

We are also responsible for birds pooping on vehicles, lady bugs, and all other normal insect populations.
BC Wanderer
QUOTE(docj @ Apr 23 2013, 09:44 AM) *

I think it is amazing that you would recognize this CG as the one we were at! laugh.gif

We did stay at a KOA in Flagstaff that used boulders for the same purpose, but the one in Wilsonville was the one with the steel posts.

Did you also notice that no one had a single thing outside their RVs? I recognize the weather is still cool in OR but there wasn't a single chair visible outside near any RV. Personally, I found it a bit spooky, in a Stepford Wives way.


I think that the biggest reason that most folks stay inside their rigs at this place is because there isn't room outside. I was there a couple of years ago in October but the weather was warm and would have loved to have been outside. There was room on the pad for my coach and toad but not much else. Once you are off the pad the ground sloped so badly that you couldn't walk along the side of your rig. I had a little bit of space to set up my grill between the coach and the Jeep and that was all.

We usually go for a walk to check a park out and chat with other campers. We too noticed that this place appeared empty even though there were quite a few spaces taken.

This park still gets high ratings. We stayed there because of the reviews. Unfortunately, I didn't "read" them. I just looked at their numbers. Sadly, all of the parks short comings were listed but mentioned in different posts. I now take the time to read reviews.

Again, I'm glad you made it out of the park safely.

Darrell
Texasrvers
QUOTE(Fitzjohnfan @ Apr 24 2013, 01:05 AM) *

Ok, I have a new peev which you park owners woulld appreciate: people who rate their stay lower, due to items completely out of control of the park. I just read a review that said: "I'm sure this park is quite nice in the spring, but when we were there it was cold and rainy which brought down the score."

So park owners, on top of providing good wi-fi, clean bathrooms, good hook ups, and big-rig friendly sites, you also have to make sure the weather is favorable!


What I've noticed is that often when there is a legitimate problem--maybe there was a dispute over the reservation or the price quoted or the front desk person wasn't as friendly as they could have been, etc.--the reviewer gets mad and then purposely looks for and “piles on" every other little thing that they can possibly find that is wrong with the park. If the one and only problem had not occurred, they probably would not have even noticed or mentioned anything else.
retiredtwice
QUOTE(Lindsay Richards @ Apr 23 2013, 07:58 AM) *

Terminology is a moving target in the RV business. Resort is a really abused term too. Since when is a parking lot a resort.


re·sort
/riˈzôrt/
Noun

A place that is a popular destination for vacations or recreation, or which is frequented for a particular purpose.

QueenofQuitealot
Long time lurker, 1st time poster. hello all!

I've had a good time reading this thread, mostly just saying 'Yeah! Me, too!' LOL

I think I can sum up my pet peeve in just one. One that might take care of a lot of yours, too.


Park/Campground owners/security/host that do not or will not enforce their own basic rules. I don't mean they have to be the Gestapo over one dropped candy wrapper or radio that is a wee bit loud during the day, but if a camper complains to you that their neighbors are too loud during quiet time, their kids are running all over your site, or they repeatedly don't clean up after their pet please don't ask us to tell the camper ourselves. We're pretty laid back (really, we are) and most of the time we don't mind the little things that go along with sharing a public space, but there is a definite line between being able to just roll your eyes at your neighbor and carry on and things that are just way out of line and need to be addressed by the people 'in charge'.

But then again, as my Grandma used to say:

"I know my faults are many,
My neighbor has but two.
Everything they say,
And everything they do".
mdcamping
QUOTE(QueenofQuitealot @ May 27 2013, 01:56 PM) *

Long time lurker, 1st time poster. hello all!

I've had a good time reading this thread, mostly just saying 'Yeah! Me, too!' LOL

I think I can sum up my pet peeve in just one. One that might take care of a lot of yours, too.
Park/Campground owners/security/host that do not or will not enforce their own basic rules.


That's is one of my pet peeve also...its interesting to read the reviews of those campgrounds that don't enforce their own rules. Usually the people reviewing those campgrounds you will read words like busy, loud, out of controll, etc and for the most part the people writing the reviews will have fewer other reviews online...I guess you could call it a learning curve! biggrin.gif LOL

BTW a Big Welcome to the forum!

Mike
TrailerParkBoys
QUOTE(FosterImposters @ Aug 8 2012, 12:48 AM) *

Rude folks captures it for us as well.
Am usually out in the great outdoors to get a break from these people: in the office, on the roadways, in the store, in the stands behind me at a grandchild's game... dry.gif

Oblivious, it's all about them.

So my favorites.
Demanding something ridiculous of the check-in clerk, as I stand in line behind them.
Letting their dog defecate on my little patch of dirt, sand, grass.
And (yep) building a pallet fire when we are packed in like sardines.


Rude folks and especially when they feel they are better than you
reogem
QUOTE(QueenofQuitealot @ May 27 2013, 11:56 AM) *

Long time lurker, 1st time poster. hello all!

I've had a good time reading this thread, mostly just saying 'Yeah! Me, too!' LOL

I think I can sum up my pet peeve in just one. One that might take care of a lot of yours, too.
Park/Campground owners/security/host that do not or will not enforce their own basic rules. I don't mean they have to be the Gestapo over one dropped candy wrapper or radio that is a wee bit loud during the day, but if a camper complains to you that their neighbors are too loud during quiet time, their kids are running all over your site, or they repeatedly don't clean up after their pet please don't ask us to tell the camper ourselves. We're pretty laid back (really, we are) and most of the time we don't mind the little things that go along with sharing a public space, but there is a definite line between being able to just roll your eyes at your neighbor and carry on and things that are just way out of line and need to be addressed by the people 'in charge'.

But then again, as my Grandma used to say:

"I know my faults are many,
My neighbor has but two.
Everything they say,
And everything they do".


Hello to all,
I signed on to this forum because I own an RV campground. This thread caught my interest. QueenofQuitealot's post especially hit home.
I was informed that a recent lady "tagalong" camper wrote a bad review about our campground on this site. Her 6-7 year old son first was 13 sites from his site without mom riding a bicycle in another campers site. Crashed into a folding cage with their two small dogs in it then came with in an inch of scratching the side of a $50,000.00 pickup truck. I had to tell him to get out of the site and ride in the driveway.
Within ten minutes I was informed that he was doing a tight rope walk on top of the swing set 8 feet above ground. I went and immediately told him to get down, go up to his site and that he was not welcome at the play ground without his parents. Children must be supervised at all times is listed in our"basic rules" we give to all campers. I then went to the site to tell the parents what happened. Sitting a the site was one man one woman. I told them the boy was not allow in the playground without a parent. He indicated that his wife was down there. I said there was a woman sitting there that did utter a word when I was tell the boy to leave and he better get down there to see what is going on with her. As it turned out the tagalong woman was the mother of boy. When I said it was a boy named C----- she proceed to to jump me about being polite. I was polite until they sat there non-responsive and had to almost demand that he go check.
So as I see it I was trying to enforce our"basic rules" and now I am the jackass.
We built this campground eleven years ago. We have had hundreds of guests and hundreds of kids. This is the first time I have had to come down on anyone.
Web sites like this give these misguided "keyboard warriors" an avenue to vent founded or unfounded.
By the way my use of "tagalong" camper means that she was with the couple that rented the site. We charge $2.00 per night for extra adults. We collected $6.00 for her and now we have to deal with this.

Florida Native
We were in the lodging business for a decade and idiots like this can really hurt you. This site will listen and possibly remove the bogus review. With places like trip adviser, you are stuck. You can write a rebuttal, but that sometimes does more harm than good. Places like Trip Adviser are there strictly for the clickthrus and making money. I would suggest if the review shows up here to get in touch with webmaster and see what can be done.
QueenofQuitealot
[quote name='reogem' date='Jun 5 2013, 08:23 AM' post='33707']
Hello to all,
I signed on to this forum because I own an RV campground. This thread caught my interest. QueenofQuitealot's post especially hit home.
I was informed that a recent lady "tagalong" camper wrote a bad review about our campground on this site. Her 6-7 year old son first was 13 sites from his site without mom riding a bicycle in another campers site. Crashed into a folding cage with their two small dogs in it then came with in an inch of scratching the side of a $50,000.00 pickup truck. I had to tell him to get out of the site and ride in the driveway.
Within ten minutes I was informed that he was doing a tight rope walk on top of the swing set 8 feet above ground. I went and immediately told him to get down, go up to his site and that he was not welcome at the play ground without his parents. Children must be supervised at all times is listed in our"basic rules" we give to all campers. I then went to the site to tell the parents what happened. Sitting a the site was one man one woman. I told them the boy was not allow in the playground without a parent. He indicated that his wife was down there. I said there was a woman sitting there that did utter a word when I was tell the boy to leave and he better get down there to see what is going on with her. As it turned out the tagalong woman was the mother of boy. When I said it was a boy named C----- she proceed to to jump me about being polite. I was polite until they sat there non-responsive and had to almost demand that he go check.
So as I see it I was trying to enforce our"basic rules" and now I am the jackass.
We built this campground eleven years ago. We have had hundreds of guests and hundreds of kids. This is the first time I have had to come down on anyone.
Web sites like this give these misguided "keyboard warriors" an avenue to vent founded or unfounded.
By the way my use of "tagalong" camper means that she was with the couple that rented the site. We charge $2.00 per night for extra adults. We collected $6.00 for her and now we have to deal with this.
[/quote


You are not a jackass, you are a caring host who wants his guests (those who are considerate) to enjoy their stay. And an out of control kid can really ruin your day. I have no doubt that the rest of your guests were silently applauding you! I know I would have been. And for that one (insert perjorative here) who posted a negative review I am sure there are multiple positive reviews to cancel it out. And I for one read multiple reviews posted to decide if I want to stay at a particular place. You can't control what people say in their reviews, but a good park will always have more positive reviews & people can usually tell when someone's review is actually sour grapes.

I would have told them that they would have to keep Junior at their campsite from then on or they could choose to find somewhere else to stay. Especially if they are still there because it sounds from your post as if they were when you posted.
docj
QUOTE(Lindsay Richards @ Jun 5 2013, 12:03 PM) *

Places like Trip Adviser are there strictly for the clickthrus and making money. I would suggest if the review shows up here to get in touch with webmaster and see what can be done.


I'd be interested in why you are so down on TripAdvisor. We rarely use it for campground recommendations because it has very few, but we rely on it for "things to do" and restaurant recommendations. I personally have contributed over 200 reviews in 129 cities. I find that its reviews are no better or worse than those for this site; I usually read several and form a "consensus" view of a place. I don't think we have ever gone to a highly rated "thing to see" and left totally disappointed. It has also helped us find "unusual" places to visit such as quilting museums in Lincoln NE and La Conner WA, the latter being a place that probably never would have made it into a conventional travel site or the POI list in a GPS.
sammytoo1950
QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Apr 24 2013, 11:26 AM) *

What I've noticed is that often when there is a legitimate problem--maybe there was a dispute over the reservation or the price quoted or the front desk person wasn't as friendly as they could have been, etc.--the reviewer gets mad and then purposely looks for and “piles on" every other little thing that they can possibly find that is wrong with the park. If the one and only problem had not occurred, they probably would not have even noticed or mentioned anything else.

sammytoo1950

Ok, I have a new peev which you park owners woulld appreciate: people who rate their stay lower, due to items completely out of control of the park. I just read a review that said: "I'm sure this park is quite nice in the spring, but when we were there it was cold and rainy which brought down the score."

So park owners, on top of providing good wi-fi, clean bathrooms, good hook ups, and big-rig friendly sites, you also have to make sure the weather is favorable!



QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Apr 24 2013, 11:26 AM) *

What I've noticed is that often when there is a legitimate problem--maybe there was a dispute over the reservation or the price quoted or the front desk person wasn't as friendly as they could have been, etc.--the reviewer gets mad and then purposely looks for and “piles on" every other little thing that they can possibly find that is wrong with the park. If the one and only problem had not occurred, they probably would not have even noticed or mentioned anything else.


I know I'm replying to an old post but are you saying it's acceptable to downgrade a campground because the traffic was bad today. Are we supposed to dissect each review to determine what the reviewers real problem was.
It seems to me that if the reviews are not honest and objective, yet still go unchallenged the whole process is without merit.
docj
I think quite a few people would agree with you on this. There are, unfortunately, too many instances of reviewers complaining about things totally irrelevant to a review of a CG and often completely out of its control. Reviewers complain about the winds in west TX (duh??); that it rained every day they stayed at a place; that a CG associated with a casino was next to a casino; etc, etc.

All you can do is laugh and, in your mind, discount the value and credibility of those reviews. I'm sure the moderators of this site try to limit this sort of thing, but I suspect it would be unmanageable if they started to challenge a significant percentage of the reviews over issues such as

You gave this CG a "3" rating but most of your issues seem to relate to not having been able to see many birds during your visit to the nearby bird sanctuary. Would your rating of the CG been higher if they had been able to rustle up more birds? Do you think it's the CG's fault that you didn't see any? Please re-evaluate your rating. laugh.gif

With the large volume of reviews submitted to this website, IMHO such a dialog, even though possibly beneficial in the long run, would require a much larger forum admin staff and could easily result in acrimonious debate. I think the site is better off relying on other people to use common sense when reading such reviews.

Florida Native
We were in the lodging business for 10 years. We were there for the beginning of the review era. Trip adviser is one of the survivors. There was a tremendous level of cheating. There were in the form of owners making rave reviews about themselves and horrible reviews about their competitors. It got to a very bad level. We figured about 70% of the reviews were bogus. We had one guy in town that even accidentally used his own email. You can get an email in about a minute. He told a friend of mine about what he had said about my place and I stopped him by telling him I would kick his @ss if he did it again. He still wrote bad reviews about other places. They started using host masks so they could tell the provider and that is easily gotten around by using different computers. Now the trick used by many in the B and B business is to send a guest you think will write a good review an email with a link to the right page so they can gloat on your place. Not really on the up and up. It is too bad that this happens. Trip Advisor wasn't too interested in fixing it. I take their reviews with a grain of salt. I still look at the reviews in my old town and the cheating is going strong. The more reviews they have, the more click through they have and the more money they make. Their awards programs for lodging properties are a stick scam. You buy your rewards with cash. They are not picked by the customers. In times of a bad economy, the urge to cheat becomes even greater.
docj
Since I have only used TripAdvisor once for hotel lodging, I have to assume everything you say is correct. However, I don't believe the same thing is true for the Things To Do listings or, for that matter, for restaurants. Many of the "things to do" are museums, parks, not-for-profits, etc, that wouldn't be playing in the game you describe. Maybe some restaurant reviews are planted, but most seem to be rather genuine.
Florida Native
I believe many of the restaurant reviews are bogus also. Notice that when there is a bad one, there are quickly 4 or 5 very good ones to move it down the list. What I do is look at the following ones and see if they had done other reviews. Frequently, the glowing ones were their first. This site requires 3 reviews before posting any. The sad truth is that if an owner wants to be sneaky, it is very hard to stop them. It is almost impossible to tell by reading a review if it is quinine or not. We usually read quite a few reviews and throw out the top and bottom ones.
docj
I honestly don't think that the kinds of places we frequent are prone to falsely planted reviews. We don't often go to high profile places that would wage ratings wars with each other. Our kind of restaurants are small local places in smaller cities. We're not naive about how to interpret reviews; we always discount the ones written by people who complain about everything or the ones that are too complimentary.

What we look at primarily is the distribution of reviews across ratings categories. At most decent places the number of low ratings will decrease as the rating level decreases. In other words there will be fewer 2-star ratings than 3-star and fewer yet 1-star ones. What we try to avoid are those places that have a cluster of very poor ratings that "clump" near the bottom. That often seems to indicate an inconsistency of performance which results in some "really bad" days.

If a restaurant has more than a handful of reviews it is unlikely that a significant fraction of them will be "plants" anyway. Like any other statistical analysis problem, as the number of samples gets larger the true distribution becomes more evident. I rarely pay that much attention to any particular review but, rather, I look to see where the average rating is. IMHO most restaurants end up with averages in the 3-4 star range. We try to look for those that rate 4+ or higher.
Florida Native
It is almost impossible to detect a serious review cheater. I heard of one B and B that had over 500 bogus reviews. Places brag about them and how good they are. Big monitary incentive to cheat.
docj
To each his own; as long as I am content with the places I go on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews then I am satisfied. I am not as cynical as you with respect to how many of the reviews are false; I guess when I encounter the first place at which I have a serious disagreement with the opinions of reviewers I'll revisit my position. Until then I will consider it to be a valuable resource.
KFS
Pet Peeve: Exterior speakers.

There is an amazing invention for personal enjoyment of music in public spaces: headphones.
Florida Native
I have personal experience with Trip Adviser and have read many articles and studies about their results. Many places also ask certain people to give good reviews and give rewards for them. It is not being cynical, it is local knowledge. Feel free to believe them all, but realize that most of the time you will be reading bogus reviews. They thrive on people like you who believe the hype. Smaller sites who try to eliminate fraud are much better.
Texasrvers
cwcsmc,

Your post was removed here because it contained an inappropriate word. You are welcome to post your comments again without that word.
cwcsmc
QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Sep 1 2013, 11:10 PM) *

cwcsmc,

Your post was removed here because it contained an inappropriate word. You are welcome to post your comments again without that word.


So what was the word? Never mind. Doesn't matter. I didn't save a copy of what I wrote so I guess it doesn't matter because I am not going to re-write it and therefore your little community is safe from outsiders who have a different view about what RV'ing is doing to the world of camping.
dalsgal
We don't have a problem with you having a different opinion. We do have a problem with your attitude towards those of us that think differently than you do. No one said a thing about your being wrong with what you look for in a camp spot but you have said lots of things against us just because we like our RV's. Perhaps your day would go better if you would get that load of anger off your shoulders.
HappiestCamper
One of my pet peeves are people that use inappropriate words in a public forum then act like they don't know what word they used.
dalsgal
QUOTE(HappiestCamper @ Sep 3 2013, 08:16 AM) *

One of my pet peeves are people that use inappropriate words in a public forum then act like they don't know what word they used.

Sure wish we had a like button I could use for this comment. biggrin.gif
dementinator
Most Likely I am THE pet peeve on here, one of those annoying dudes from the U.K in a large 37ft class A Rental MH, although I have been doing this for 20 years and have covered around 100,000 miles in the U.S in most states and a lot of major cities etc, so am quite experienced and used to large vehicles.

My pet peeve has been mentioned here before, folks who join interstates at a nice leisurely 40mph or so, who expect you to move over, you do so to avoid parking in their Queen size and then get a Peterbuilt up your ass because they then speed up leaving you stranded in the left lane...

Also Gas Stations where when in a long almost 40ft vehicle with the fuel filler at the back, means your front end is now in the shop next to the shelf with the beef jerky on it.

Folks who pay to enter a beautiful national park and then have to get through it in under 25 minutes and expect you to drive over a cliff to get out of their way.

Overal though, driving in the U.S is far more relaxing than in the U.K
docj
If you've driven 100,000 miles in a rental RV then you probably aren't our concern. No doubt by now you've learned which side of the road we drive on over here! laugh.gif

But we totally agree with you with respect to tourists who think that national parks are "tickets to be punched" as in, "Ok, I saw Yellowstone this morning; we'll do the Tetons after lunch." A few years ago we encountered a lady at the Little Bighorn battlefield who went from viewpoint to viewpoint simply photographing the signs without spending even a moment to read them. Maybe she read them when she got home! biggrin.gif
doggyz
QUOTE(jim crowl @ Aug 22 2012, 08:56 PM) *

My pet peeves are related to people, rather than facilities:

1. Neighbors who do not know the term "bedtime", and are outside laughing and talking at the top of their lungs at 1am, 2am etc. just like it were the middle of the day. When this has happened I usually just shut the windows and turn on the air conditioning to drown them out and get some sleep.

2. Pet owners who make no effort to quiet barking dogs, or clean up after them. The park I am at this week has an interesting policy: they charge campers a $25 fee if they are caught NOT cleaning up after their pet, and give campers a $25 payment if they turn someone in NOT cleaning up after their pet. It must be working, as I have not seen any pet waste.

3. Smokers who feel the earth is their ashtray. I stayed at one park that was fairly new, overall kept clean, but had over 200 cigarette butts in my site alone (no I didn't count them, but that's accurate). I'm not a smoker, but assume it must have been someone who stayed more than one night.


I am naively new to RVing AND I'm of all things a resident camp host..#2. is quite intriguing to me.
I have dogs and often clean up after lazy campers. We offer an enclosed area where the dogs can be off leash to do their business and a large can to put the droppings in, just inside the gate. There are also posted signs asking to clean up after your pet.
I've been known to catch the camper walking past my site and hand them a baggie asking them to clean up and oops you must have forgotten a baggie. lol. No they weren't happy, but it didn't happen again, at least with them.
Offering incentive to clean up is something my manager probably won't do, but I'm gonna bring this up.
I don't wanna be the poop cops, but the mess ultimately ends up being my job, because it matters to me how my park looks and what my own dog is exposed to.
ThreeTravellingBlondes
I've been reading these posts, sometimes getting a kick out of them, for quite some time. Often I thought "ah, yeah, campfires suck" or "hope that wasn't my dog's pile that the guy stepped in"....never thinking I'd have my own.

Well, it seems lately there are two that are really odd, but happen so frequently now I'm scratching my head over them.

1. "Your dog/kid/whatever is so cute!! I could just take her/him with me! Better lock him/her up!"
Okay friends, I get it. My kid is cute. My dog is cute. I take the compliment. But for goodness sake don't joke about kid/dog napping. Really now. It kind of takes the relaxing element out of the experience. You may look like a sweet old grandpa/ma to some, but to me, well, you just became a total CREEPER.

2. CG hosts or neighbors who are on a crusade. I don't want the flyers. I don't want to hear about JC or the Bible. I just want to get to my site and take off my shoes. Talk to me about coffee, about your homeland, about anything. Except how much you want to save me. Let me take care of that.

and pay showers. Those suck, especially when I can't load them and they turn off every 4 minutes while I scramble for another quarter with soapy fingers.
Tom
QUOTE(ThreeTravellingBlondes @ Sep 27 2013, 10:33 PM) *

and pay showers. Those suck, especially when I can't load them and they turn off every 4 minutes while I scramble for another quarter with soapy fingers.


I forgot about pay showers! I understand having showers on a timer -- our local state park has that, push the button and you have about a minute of water - just push again for more, you do this for as long as you like. The timer helps control usage and conserve water.

When I pay $30-$60 (or more) for a campsite, why do I have to pay if I want to use the campground showers?
joez
QUOTE
why do I have to pay if I want to use the campground showers?


Which raises the old argument about charging via a menu of services. In seven plus years of traveling at least six months per, we have used a campground shower once and it is likely we never will again. Why do we have to pay for hot water for your shower included in our lot rent? As impractical as it would be, wouldn't it be nice to be able to pay for only those services actually used?
Tom
Yet the cost of "renting" a camper/RV site is usually substantially more than a "tent" site without hookups. We have used campground showers rarely since getting our TT, but it just irks me to have to pay to use the shower after paying so much for our campsite.

I have heard the reasons campgrounds have for charging for showers, it is just one of my "pet peeves".

TheTravelingCo
Newbie here-

I have really enjoyed reading the discussions in this thread. Furthermore, I REALLY appreciate this site as it has kept me from going to some really bad CG's/parks, etc. My initial thoughts are the "live and let live" mentality but it should in my opinion start with the people that offer spaces.....Owners/hosts/managers.

I have lived full time in my MH with my children and dogs for 365 days now so I consider myself a mildly seasoned fulltimer. I have also seen that fulltimers get treated like parasites no matter how nice your rig is or how well behaved you are. I originally bought my rig to travel and see the US and NOT see pains in the rear people. I have encountered more times than not, horrible RV parks but not because of the neighbors, their dogs, kids or trash......MANAGEMENT. My expectations are some what unrealistic though so lets keep that in mind as I complain.

FALSE ADVERTISING-

"We have free wifi!" Another poster pointed this out it is only free because they cant offer it for a price. It's not like its that hard to control, I spend a lot of time at RV parks having to maintain their internet for guests just so I can get access. I have had to sit at the office (not my cup of tea) and use the internet. Not digging the wifi that parks offer and I feel when they advertise it I am paying for it in the fees just like a hotel.

PET FRIENDLY/PET TOLERABLE-

If it were pet friendly, you would understand that small, I mean very small breeds cant hold it to walk the half a mile to the dog park that is usually flooded with other dogs poop anyway. I have no desire to let mine go far off to do their business taking the chance that they cant hold it til we get there and then make the neighbors mad because 17 other dogs liked their yard too even if we pick it up. Let us poop at home!

KIDS-

I have never had a problem with kids except one park where kids thought we lived in cave man days and they had no toys other than the gravel to throw at MY CAR! If your kid is off YOUR site and acting like no sane adult is around, I will have no problem saying HEY, THATS MY CAR CAN YOU PLAY SOMEWHERE ELSE?! I generally like kids in parks because I have them and gives them a sense of community of their own.

MY SQUARE FOOT NOT YOURS-

I have paid for this spot, I dont appreciate this mentality that park owners seem to have (that I have been to anyway) of NO REFUNDS. If I pay for a month in advance and say you offer a swimming pool year round and you close it for the month I am there I feel I have the right to ask for a refund, am due it and can leave. But these park owners act like they are militant that YOU follow the rules but they dont have to offer just simple customer service. I have no problem with neighbors entertainment centers, parties, I have teenagers I can sleep through anything. But if say Mr and Mrs. Retired people have a problem with it, why not offer them to move into the quiet side of the park, know your people. I personally don't allow anything outside my RV as I do not want to portray a trailer trash look but if someone else does....I dont care. I dont care if your dog comes and poops in my yard, it would be cool if you pick it up but if you dont and its not the size of a large rat Im the neighbor that wont complain. I dont complain when your website offers services you "used" to offer but dont anymore yet you raised your rates. I do however complain when you charge me something that was there the day I signed in but somewhere on the path to the park making a buck they took it away but forgot like the government has taught them that they dont owe me a dime back for me loosing the service.

FINALLY-

Breathe-

I will continue to travel and I will continue to try to "live and let live" but I will also try to point it out to the owners that have this NO REFUNDS policy like a cheap motel that we are people too!


Thanks for letting me vent!
dalsgal
Welcome The Traveling Company. I have a couple of things that caught my attention in your posting.

If dogs go to the bathroom in your site and you are there for a month or more the smell does tend to get a bit rough sometimes for the other people around you. We don't have a problem with letting your dog potty in your yard on occasion but we do have a problem with people not cleaning it up or letting their dog go to the bathroom in your site. I will take issue with anyone that does that when staying with us. Usually the ones that don't clean up behind their dog is someone that doesn't bother putting their dog on a leash even though that rule is for the safety of your dog and others.

Also if you rent an apartment on a monthly basis they do not refund you so why do you think a CG should refund your money when you move out before your month is over?

Sometimes what seems an easy fix to you on the WiFi may not be an easy fix for the CG. We offer it here free and it is good for every campsite. There have been a few times when there was a problem with it and it was the provider and not us that is the problem. Our WiFi rarely ever goes down and we have gone down, in the middle of the night, to reset it to be sure people can get online. We do the best we can to make sure everything works.
TheTravelingCo
I have read the forums here for a long time before posting and realized one thing.....if I were going to ask for an opinion of a park manager it would be you. So kudos to you for being the type of person that catches my attention with a level head.

My dogs are so tiny, specially bred, that they dont have poop you can see without a special microscope....my dogs are all under 4lbs. So it would make sense that their guts cant hang til the dog park so they are pad trained but even at that, they still like a good 30 mins in the sun. Doing that with their bladders means they have to pee pee 7 times in that 30 mins. LOL Territory go figure. If it does not smell in my house where they pee and poop several times a day how can it smell in the grass? My final statement about the dogs are, what is "occasional"? If the manager has a bad day is THAT the day that occasional is subjective?


In an apartment, if they dont fix something I can deduct it from the rent and they have to fix it. Landlord tenant laws apply to us too!! If you decide that you want to charge us for power, and water and chose not to pay your bill and we do without why is that a reason to put it on us? Im just saying, you sound like a reasonable person but you have competitors that ARE NOT and have shown their rears time and time again. When you do me that way thats one thing, Im jaded and I complain but when I see a history of it for many, many Rv'rs, it's time to do something. Don't worry, I will find the good people in the midst as I always have. I know they are there but right now because people dont know their rights, they are few and far between.

As far as the wifi, I wouldn't have EVER bothered getting an account on here to vent, if not for the fact that CG's religiously place "free wifi" symbols on their website if I have not encountered the problems country wide, I would have thought it to be me. Apparently its not.

Thank you SO MUCH for your help, I do very much appreciate your response as I figured I would not get one. But curious, what amount of 365 days in a year do you spend at the risk of CG owners, or RV parks? Not including who you work for.

Ive watched your posts for a while and do respect your position so please dont think for one minute that I will write you off and your opinion.

Still-
TravelingCo


dalsgal
Thank you for your kind words.

We lived in our RV for about 9 years full time, not even a home base anywhere so everything we owned traveled with us. We have been in many campgrounds and dealt with many types of management. That's one reason I try to be as fair as possible. There are things I would do differently here if I owned the park but we have managed this place for 4 1/2 years and I'm often in the middle between campers and owners.

We travel with cats and we don't smell their litter box but anyone coming to visit can smell it even though I am almost freakish about keeping it clean. We did have some people here recently that had a site that stunk from letting their dog go right outside. I probably have one of the least sensitive noses of anyone (can't even smell dead skunk) and yet I could smell the urine around their RV.

We do have a few rules here that I don't necessarily agree with but I am obligated to see that everyone complies with them. The majority of the rules I really enforce are the ones that are common courtesy and it is amazing how many people feel that no rule applies to them.
TheTravelingCo
I can tell that you are probably always trying to keep the peace. I will be heading out again for another year in a couple of months, am down right now til I get some repairs done. I hope the park I am in now does not change a thing because from what I can tell things are very, very nice. I hope that when we travel next year I will take what I have learned the last 12 months and apply to the future.

1. If at all possible pay for a month somewhere, over the course of a year you cant imagine how much money was wasted on stopping for a few days here and there when we could have covered so much more ground for a lot less doing it this way. However, I dont like being treated like a parasite because I am a "monthly".

2. ALWAYS read the reviews on this site before making a decision.

3. NEVER let them park me by the dog run.....talk about the hassle of my tiny dogs getting the small dog mentality going off with every Tom, Dick and Harry that walks their dogs...lol

4. Im going to do my homework and find out the reason for this NO REFUNDS thing and how to get around it because I stayed at a AOK that is well known for kicking you out if you complain about the services not working and yup, they asked me to leave and did not get a refund. If it werent for having a teen on board I would probably never stay at a park, only private land owners land but she needs the social life....go figure. That NO REFUNDS thing is probably my biggest pet peeve. The fact that they dont have to evict you like a normal landlord, they dont have to give you what you paid for the best you can hope for is leaving a review warning others and saving them the headache. Would love to hear your feed back on this part.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.