Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Camp Ground Owners' Response To Review
RV Park Reviews Campground Discussion Forum > RV Park and Campground Discussions > General Chat
jimbob07
I have been a watcher of this site for several years and look forward to the reviews....especially the reviews of my park !
We have been fortunate to receive good reviews over the years and work hard to try to correct any issues identified ( issues we can correct ) and we work hard to make our park a place campers look forward to returning to.
My issue is the one-in-a-hundred camper that just doesn't have a good experience and slams the park with reviews that aren't fair and reasonable. Sometimes, despite honest attempts to please, you run across customers that just don't really want to be pleased....they seem like they like to fuss !
I subscribe to the saying that the customer is always right. Everyone has their opinion and the right to express their opinion. I would like to see some process or forum, or even a way to respond to a review, where an owner can offer a reasonable explanation to reviews that may be unfairly negative.
We have an overall rating somewhere just north of 9, but every once in a while, we'll get a 4 because the lake was rough or the wind blew too hard. That is an obvious exaggeration, but I think you get my point.
Has there been any consideration given to a reply or response feature for the reviews ?

Thanks for any feedback. I would be interested to hear what other park operators thing about this topic.
DOTLDaddy
I think your idea has merit, but instituting it may be difficult to integrate into the workings of rvparkreviews.com.

Perhaps park owners such as yourself could add an "rvparkreviews.com comment" section on their own website. There, they could make rebuttals to those rogue reviewers who dis your park for no good reason. You could mention the month and year of the review, and then give your rebuttal.

Personally, the way I use rvparkreviews.com, is to take the average rating as my clue. I have seen many parks that got a string of 8,9 and 10's, then one real low review, and then a bunch more 8, 9 and 10's. Who am I gonna believe? I think most of us would realize the low reviewer had an axe to grind doe to unusual circumstances. Or, he's just a jerk. One of the two . . . blink.gif
hoefler
QUOTE(DOTLDaddy @ Nov 1 2013, 07:34 AM) *

I think your idea has merit, but instituting it may be difficult to integrate into the workings of rvparkreviews.com.

Perhaps park owners such as yourself could add an "rvparkreviews.com comment" section on their own website. There, they could make rebuttals to those rogue reviewers who dis your park for no good reason. You could mention the month and year of the review, and then give your rebuttal.

Personally, the way I use rvparkreviews.com, is to take the average rating as my clue. I have seen many parks that got a string of 8,9 and 10's, then one real low review, and then a bunch more 8, 9 and 10's. Who am I gonna believe? I think most of us would realize the low reviewer had an axe to grind doe to unusual circumstances. Or, he's just a jerk. One of the two . . . blink.gif



I do the same thing as stated above. I even go one step further, I will look at the negative review's author's history of parks they have reviewed. Some times they have a slew of bad reviews, then I just ignore anything that reviewer states.
Dutch_12078
I agree with the others, in that I typically ignore a singular bad review for an otherwise well rated park by many. An exception to that might be when the poor review refers to some element of the park that is new or recently changed, in which case I would give it more consideration if that element is important to me.
mdcamping
As said before, I wouldn't worry if your average is around 9 and you get a 4 every once in a while. Most people can smell out the ax to grind or advertisement type reviews...especially when those reviews have just a couple of other postings.

As far as being able to respond to a review directly, then to be fair the reviewer should be able to respond back, and to be honest I don't think that would work... from what I've read and experienced on other camping/review forums it would probable turn into something nasty.


Mike
JDOLLEN
QUOTE(jimbob07 @ Oct 31 2013, 10:10 PM) *

I have been a watcher of this site for several years and look forward to the reviews....especially the reviews of my park !
We have been fortunate to receive good reviews over the years and work hard to try to correct any issues identified ( issues we can correct ) and we work hard to make our park a place campers look forward to returning to.
My issue is the one-in-a-hundred camper that just doesn't have a good experience and slams the park with reviews that aren't fair and reasonable. Sometimes, despite honest attempts to please, you run across customers that just don't really want to be pleased....they seem like they like to fuss !
I subscribe to the saying that the customer is always right. Everyone has their opinion and the right to express their opinion. I would like to see some process or forum, or even a way to respond to a review, where an owner can offer a reasonable explanation to reviews that may be unfairly negative.
We have an overall rating somewhere just north of 9, but every once in a while, we'll get a 4 because the lake was rough or the wind blew too hard. That is an obvious exaggeration, but I think you get my point.
Has there been any consideration given to a reply or response feature for the reviews ?

Thanks for any feedback. I would be interested to hear what other park operators thing about this topic.


I agree with the previous posters although it would be nice to hear park operator's views on us every once in a while.

It's good to hear that you "listen" to your customer's concerns. That and making sure you meet, or exceed, what you advertise will make sure your ratings stay high. There is always going to be the one bad apple.

Darrell
Lindsay Richards
We were in the lodging business for 10 years and trip adviser had this feature and I believe it was the opinion of owners that it did more harm than good. I think most of us realize that there are some nuts out there. The bad thing is when it isn't a real camper, but a competitor who writes it. We had that happen and he told a friend of mine about it who immediate told me. They wouldn't remove it. I had a short talk with him and he never did it to me again, but did do it to others and even stupidly forgot to use a fake email address.
NorthernIllinoisPlumber
A couple bad reviews can happen.

But there is never an excuse for running out of toilet paper though!
Lindsay Richards
When we were in the lodging business, people used to take the toilet paper sometimes. We knew it when changing over the rooms, but in a campground situation, it could easily happen. I once walked into a campground bathhouse at about 6:30 AM and all the showers and sinks were running wide open. Somebody, probably a kid, just came in a thought it was funny. Anything can happen.
kcmoedoe
QUOTE(NorthernIllinoisPlumber @ Nov 5 2013, 04:33 PM) *

A couple bad reviews can happen.

But there is never an excuse for running out of toilet paper though!

I agree, as long as the park's restrooms are well stocked with TP, you are never far from a supply for your RV. rolleyes.gif
NorthernIllinoisPlumber
I usually bring a roll with me....
EastPAcamper
QUOTE(DOTLDaddy @ Nov 1 2013, 08:34 AM) *

I think your idea has merit, but instituting it may be difficult to integrate into the workings of rvparkreviews.com.

Perhaps park owners such as yourself could add an "rvparkreviews.com comment" section on their own website. There, they could make rebuttals to those rogue reviewers who dis your park for no good reason. You could mention the month and year of the review, and then give your rebuttal.

Personally, the way I use rvparkreviews.com, is to take the average rating as my clue. I have seen many parks that got a string of 8,9 and 10's, then one real low review, and then a bunch more 8, 9 and 10's. Who am I gonna believe? I think most of us would realize the low reviewer had an axe to grind doe to unusual circumstances. Or, he's just a jerk. One of the two . . . blink.gif


I ALWAYS love the people who slam a park because of weather, "whether" it was rain, wind, hot temperatures, cold temperatures, whatever the case may be. My second favorite is the complaint of WiFi being too slow. I have given one poor review to a campground, I have read nothing but great reviews since then. The problem we had was dirty/sloppy conditions of the rest rooms/shower area. Seriously, there were mushrooms the size of my fist growing in the shower area. T/P was actually piled on the stall floors for the 2 days we were there. Again, nothing but 8, 9, 10's for this park since then. I don't think I was unreasonable and certainly not making stuff up, I work in construction and sometimes need to resort to "job-johnnies" and THEY are cleaner than the rest rooms were that time. You also have to look at some of the ones that are 8. 9. 10's, I know around here anyway, the seasonal camper can manipulate the ratings as well. A bad CG can seem to be a great place, until you get there and are met by truth and reality. Been there too.
jim crowl
I've never owned a park, but can imagine I'd feel frustrated after spending a fortune to refurbish the restrooms, having an employee check every couple hours to keep them spotless, then see a bad review because someone walked in to use the shower right after the camper from hell who was covered in mud, and dropped his empty shampoo bottles on the floor took his turn.

However, as a camper, I'm sure most of us look at the bigger picture, and tend to look at the general opinion more than one specific review. I stayed at one campground that was known as being in an area that had the best night sky in the country. It even had permanent telescopes and star parties. Most people staying there commented on the beauty of the park, and the wonderful night sky. One reviewer however slammed the park and gave it a poor rating because it was too dark, and needed more pavement and lighting.

Also the exact number assigned to the rating varies with not only what is most important to the reviewer, but how they see the numbers. Some people have never rated a park with a 10, and others seem to hand them out all too frequently. I find it helps to wait a couple days after leaving a park to write the review as I can be more objective, and see how it contrasts to what I have rated other campgrounds and make sure I'm not being influenced too much by the wonderful host, or loud neighbor.
gotsmart
I like what newegg.com has done with their user reviews. Here is a random newegg link. If you open it and click on the Reviews tab and scroll down, you'll see several reviews where the manufacturer replies in a quote at the bottom of the review.

A park owner could send a review link and response to the admins for vetting. Admins would then edit the review to post the park owner's response.

I really like the idea of newegg has done, though I don't know how this could be implemented successfully here. It might cause for peeing contests between reviewers and park owners.
Andy R
Thank you all for the wonderful feedback in this thread. We are currently working on a new foundation for RV Park Reviews and will be building in features to address most of the issues mentioned. For example, we plan to have a process for a campground to "claim their listing" and once verified they can unlock features such as responding to reviews, update campground/park info, etc). We don't have any exact details but we are working hard to get the technology running our review community to a place where we can more quickly develop/expand on features.

We also plan to aggressively monitor for unethical usage and be as transparent as possible. Some other review sites use a "Wall of Shame" to expose those trying to game the system. We might do something similar. We have developed some tools to identify most of the people who are not authentic. So don't be sketchy, be honest & if you feel positive about the community we are trying to build here on RV Park Reviews, help us spread the word.
Lindsay Richards
I think the Wall of Shame is a great idea.
mdcamping
QUOTE(Andy R @ Jan 19 2014, 04:56 PM) *

Thank you all for the wonderful feedback in this thread. We are currently working on a new foundation for RV Park Reviews and will be building in features to address most of the issues mentioned. For example, we plan to have a process for a campground to "claim their listing" and once verified they can unlock features such as responding to reviews, update campground/park info, etc). We don't have any exact details but we are working hard to get the technology running our review community to a place where we can more quickly develop/expand on features.

We also plan to aggressively monitor for unethical usage and be as transparent as possible. Some other review sites use a "Wall of Shame" to expose those trying to game the system. We might do something similar. We have developed some tools to identify most of the people who are not authentic. So don't be sketchy, be honest & if you feel positive about the community we are trying to build here on RV Park Reviews, help us spread the word.


Good to here you guys are working on keeping this the best review site in the RV community!

Mike
dalsgal
I don't think it would work to allow owners to respond but there have been a few I would like to question just as a reader. I read one yesterday made me want to ask them why they saw a certain rule as a negative. That rule is one that at least 90% of people that camp with us would love.
pianotuna
Hi,

I hate the wall of shame idea.
dodge guy
I understand what you are saying, but I doubt they would allow it. however I have read several parks with 8`s 9`s and 10`s and the occasional 1 or 4. those I ignore. you can usually figure out which reviews to ignore and which ones are honest.

Good luck with your campground!
edcornflake
QUOTE(dalsgal @ Feb 1 2014, 09:59 AM) *

I don't think it would work to allow owners to respond but there have been a few I would like to question just as a reader. I read one yesterday made me want to ask them why they saw a certain rule as a negative. That rule is one that at least 90% of people that camp with us would love.


@dalsgal,
What is the rule, just curious?

ed
dalsgal
The speed limit is 10 mph. If you break that rule you cannot have your car in the RV park and must park out at the road. Our limit is also 10 and most people follow it pretty closely but there have been a few I would love to make park elsewhere. I like a park that has rules and expects campers to follow those rules out of consideration for others.
edcornflake
QUOTE(dalsgal @ Feb 6 2014, 06:32 PM) *

The speed limit is 10 mph. If you break that rule you cannot have your car in the RV park and must park out at the road. Our limit is also 10 and most people follow it pretty closely but there have been a few I would love to make park elsewhere. I like a park that has rules and expects campers to follow those rules out of consideration for others.

Thanks. The place we have decided to park for the season has a 5mph limit throughout the park. It's annoying to have to idle through the park and still use the brakes, but the alternative of hitting someone's kid or dog is much worse. I wish it were 10 though.
Dutch_12078
We were at a CG last fall that had a posted speed limit of 7-1/2mph. I don't know how well it was enforced, but the odd number did get your attention.
dalsgal
Dutch, I have wanted to change ours to 9 1/2 because the 1/2 does get your attention much faster than a whole number does.
RanMan
I bought signs from Trumbull Recreation Supply that say 9 MPH. By being very specific, we hope they will see that 9 MPH, MEANS 9 MPH. People are so used to disregarding the speed limits on the highway and adding 10 or 15 to the "suggested" speed limit, that 10 mph to most people means 20 or 25. But it doesn't matter what you post to some.
docj
QUOTE(edcornflake @ Feb 14 2014, 12:35 PM) *

Thanks. The place we have decided to park for the season has a 5mph limit throughout the park. It's annoying to have to idle through the park and still use the brakes, but the alternative of hitting someone's kid or dog is much worse. I wish it were 10 though.


IMHO speed limits such as that encourage abuse because they are unrealistically low. Once people start to ignore them, there is nothing to keep them from going even faster. If 10 mph is Ok, then maybe 20 is also!
jamarynn1
I have found that if someone is going to ignore the speed limit, it doesn't make a bit of difference whether the sign says 5 mph, 10 mph or 20 mph, they're still going to go 30. Why? Because the speed limit doesn't apply to THEM, THEY'RE in too big of a hurry to get where they're going to worry about a silly speed limit, and nobody's going to tell THEM how fast to drive, dammit!
GandJ
QUOTE(pianotuna @ Feb 1 2014, 11:22 PM) *

Hi,

I hate the wall of shame idea.


I completely agree. If you have someone "gaming" your web site's system or rules, please deal with it internally. Your users certainly don't need the drama and negativity.

Also, I see absolutely no value in CG owners responding to reviews. I read RVPR to get CAMPERS' insights and ideas, not those of campground owners.

I have seen this "feature" on other sites, specifically one dealing with RV repairs, and it generally goes something like this:

Reviewer: Some type of negative (but probably honest) comment.

Owner's Reply: That is completely untrue. The reviewer seemed happy when he left here (so obviously he is either a liar or a complete idiot).

dalsgal
I just read a review and I wanted to respond for the owner and I have never stayed at that resort. The poster was angry because people on RVPR had listed that they paid $10-$12 a night but the rate at the actual CG was much higher. He gave the park a bad review because of this. He apparently did not check the locations website but was angry that they didn't honor the price he saw quoted here. I hope everyone that reads his review realizes how ridiculous his review is. I did get a good laugh at his expense.
Texasrvers
Unfortunately we get this all the time. Usually it is the park owner who contacts us to report that the rate listed for their park is not correct. We explain that it is the rate the reviewer reported that he paid, and we have no way of knowing if it is accurate. It could reflect a discount, it may be a prorated weekly or monthly rate, it may contain the taxes; there are lots of variables, and it is something that I think we need to better clarify.
docj
I think we ought to consider having the system show the range of prices reported. That way someone would see something like $35-45 and know the approximate price before they bother to pull up the park's website. The range could continually be updated but it would at least give the reader some guidance. IMHO showing one aggregated number is meaningless.
dalsgal
QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Mar 15 2014, 03:54 PM) *

Unfortunately we get this all the time. Usually it is the park owner who contacts us to report that the rate listed for their park is not correct. We explain that it is the rate the reviewer reported that he paid, and we have no way of knowing if it is accurate. It could reflect a discount, it may be a prorated weekly or monthly rate, it may contain the taxes; there are lots of variables, and it is something that I think we need to better clarify.

I think the people reading the reviews should be savvy enough to know that they should check the website for pricing. This man gave the CG a bad review because he didn't bother to check for himself. The CG should not have been held responsible for his laziness.
Texasrvers
QUOTE(dalsgal @ Mar 15 2014, 06:58 PM) *

I think the people reading the reviews should be savvy enough to know that they should check the website for pricing. This man gave the CG a bad review because he didn't bother to check for himself. The CG should not have been held responsible for his laziness.



I agree. I was just trying to say that there are a lot of variables for a reviewer to consider when listing the price, and I do not think we give them very much guidance. As a result we might see a rate of $40 followed by $20 if someone got the Passport America discount. If the two rates are fairly close together or if there are lot of other $40 listed, someone should be able to figure out that the regular rate is probably $40. But if there are a lot of $20 listed with no explanation that it was PPA, it could lead someone to believe it is the regular rate. In any case, the wise person always checks the park's website.

I'm pretty sure I know which review you are referring to, and I am betting the numerous low rates are monthly rates divided by 30 to get the nightly rate. This is why I think we need some standardization as to what rate is used.
HappiestCamper
If the idiot had bothered to read the reviews that had those low rates, he would have seen where the reviewer stated that rate reflects Coast to Coast or Passport America.
Lindsay Richards
We always mention the Passport America when talking about the rate, membership in PPA can be flexible and campgrounds go in and out. We always check with their free phone app to be sure. When arriving at a campground, it is nowhere full, we are not above asking for a discount and usually get one. Something is better than nothing.
Fitzjohnfan
So far, you folks have only mentioned discounts such as PPA and Coast to Coast, but like Texas said, alot of things can affect price. When i write a review, i put down what i paid, but my price reflects a 30amp hookup, two kids, pets, no tow vehicle, and frequently i get electric only. I also get an FMCA discount (if available), but not Good Sam or KOA. I think the only way to show price is to show a range from low to high of what has been paid in the past, or maybe "average price per night".

I can see where park owners and campers can both be hurt by comparison shopping by price without thurough research.

Lindsay Richards
There is almost always a link to their website which usually states their prices, With the advent of cell phones, you can call for free also. Generally speaking, the more in advance you pay, the higher the price will be (discounting increase as the date gets closer).
ewald628
QUOTE(hoefler @ Nov 1 2013, 06:56 AM) *

I do the same thing as stated above. I even go one step further, I will look at the negative review's author's history of parks they have reviewed. Some times they have a slew of bad reviews, then I just ignore anything that reviewer states.



Dutch I do the same when looking at reviews its the overall and I understand you cant please everyone. I am from MiddleGrove in Saratoga county and not far from Sacandaga. Just finished posting the last 3 campgrounds we stayed at in KY.
Dutch_12078
QUOTE(ewald628 @ Apr 27 2014, 12:16 PM) *

Dutch I do the same when looking at reviews its the overall and I understand you cant please everyone. I am from MiddleGrove in Saratoga county and not far from Sacandaga. Just finished posting the last 3 campgrounds we stayed at in KY.

Welcome to the forum! Heh! I know right where you mean. For about ten years, we lived in a house I built up on the mountain near Lake Desolation before we renovated our summer cottage at Sacandaga for year round living. smile.gif
n5lfh
I could do without the price rate box, but to some it gives them decision info. For planned stops, I like calling to ask if they have a vacancy, can my coach get around, how the utilities and wifi are working...TODAY. We do make instantaneous decisions when broke down, for weather, tired, no net service or ???, but feel lucky someone is there and can just pull in if the unexpected happens...cost is not a high priority under those conditions.
I very seldom mention in a rating, personal and beyond the owners control issues. Most park owners didn't know future campers and tow/trailers would be 45'+ long, weigh 50,000#+, need TWO~50A, 120V power legs and slides that double the width of the RV.
We recently stayed at a park under development...3 years in the making. The owner explained his present accomplishments and future ideas...Today it's 35 FHU sites developed out of his pocket next door to his home on a major highway with his farm land on the other 3 sides. Everything underground including future necessities is over spec'd, roads/base are heavy haul, all pull thu sites, all gravel and instantaneous wifi. NO bathrooms or really any other facilities. Now that the campers have packed his roads and sites, he's ready to start installing level concrete pads and asphalt roads. At $17 per night, he's paid back his investment and has covered his phase 2 material. He'll increase his prices to $23 after phase 2 and $32 after the final phase (most typical park facilities/amenities). He has considered 140 sites max, but has a start that has drawn satisfactory reviews, labeling the park as an overnight stay. He feels his return customers will make this successful because he started so simple.
GaryWT
I go on one site that owners can respond and it is interesting. One campground thanks people for good reviews and explains things of bad reviews. One bad review they asked the reviewer to call them as if they really had the issues they claimed, they would refund their money. The review disappeared after a week or two. Another site lets anyone comment on a review which can be interesting.

I find a lot of times the rating does not match the write up, great place etc etc but the get a 1,2 or 3 for various reasons. As someone else said, the weather. Other good ones are our friends had to pay a visitors fee (have yet to see a campground that did not charge), neighbors were noisy, had to pay 25 cents to shower so the next guy can have hot water as well and on and on.

Talking to an owner, they usually know who posted the negative review because something happened during their stay which the owner knew about. One that I remember, they told my 12 year old that could not go in the adult only hot tub.

Anyway love to read the reviews and if improvements are made, should be good. I remember the days when they would post on the site, going camping, no new reviews will be posted for a week or so...
vincee
I think it would be a great idea to have a thread where campground owners can respond to complaints and criticism's of their business. Maybe they made upgrades, or plan to, since the review or they made a change of personnel or what ever, they should have a chance to set the record straight from their perspective.
Texasrvers
QUOTE(vincee @ Jul 12 2014, 11:43 AM) *

I think it would be a great idea to have a thread where campground owners can respond to complaints and criticism's of their business. Maybe they made upgrades, or plan to, since the review or they made a change of personnel or what ever, they should have a chance to set the record straight from their perspective.



A completely updated site will be introduced soon, and we are working on a way to allow this.
vincee
Looking forward to the upgrades/changes!
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.