Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: The "General Chat" forum
RV Park Reviews Campground Discussion Forum > RV Park and Campground Discussions > General Chat
Motorhome Madness
Hi everybody!
We have created this forum for those of you that wish to discuss "Off Topic" things other than something about particular campgrounds or campgrounds in general. Please still post those topics pertaining to RV Parks & Camprounds in the other forum.
We still reserve the right to delete and "objectionable" posts made in this forum so again lets all get along and have fun camping! rolleyes.gif
jjandpop
QUOTE(Webmaster @ Dec 10 2005, 03:16 PM) *

Hi everybody!
We have created this forum for those of you that wish to discuss "Off Topic" things other than something about particular campgrounds or campgrounds in general. Please still post those topics pertaining to RV Parks & Camprounds in the other forum.
We still reserve the right to delete and "objectionable" posts made in this forum so again lets all get along and have fun camping! rolleyes.gif


Would this be a good place to post concerns about a motorhome that was fabricated to support a handicapped passenger that I would like to sell to someone that could really use it. I am about to remove the wheelchair lift and other items that make this RV special. I don't want to cheat someone that needs this type of RV and has to pay out big $$ to have it fabricated for them??

Jim
Dina
Or would this be the place to warn campers about the nightmares some people have had with their new trailers that were commissioned by FEMA for residences after Katrina. The guy beside us last week had leaks in the roof at the corners, which have cupboards and they didn't find out until they went to get out some blankets that were stored there. They had gotten soaked in rains at least a week or two before because everything was covered in mould. Also, the shower downspout was not connected to anything-no hole-nothing. So every shower just drained between the floor (plywood?) and the flooring.
Fortunately they had purchased from a reputable dealer, who told them to "bring it in" (sorry can't report on what happened after that). The dealer also told them this spring he has been indundated with problems from the FEMA trailers they sold last fall.
jkc40
QUOTE(Webmaster @ Dec 10 2005, 02:16 PM) *

Hi everybody!
We have created this forum for those of you that wish to discuss "Off Topic" things other than something about particular campgrounds or campgrounds in general. Please still post those topics pertaining to RV Parks & Camprounds in the other forum.
We still reserve the right to delete and "objectionable" posts made in this forum so again lets all get along and have fun camping! rolleyes.gif

How can I edit or even delete my review of a campground? I am having second thoughts about some things that I wrote.
rangiebob
QUOTE(jkc40 @ Jun 10 2007, 05:11 PM) *

How can I edit or even delete my review of a campground? I am having second thoughts about some things that I wrote.



I'd like to know the answer to that, also. I thought of something I wanted to add to my review but couldn't find a way to do it so I just posted it like a new review.
dockdev
QUOTE(Webmaster @ Dec 10 2005, 01:16 PM) *

Hi everybody!
We have created this forum for those of you that wish to discuss "Off Topic" things other than something about particular campgrounds or campgrounds in general. Please still post those topics pertaining to RV Parks & Camprounds in the other forum.
We still reserve the right to delete and "objectionable" posts made in this forum so again lets all get along and have fun camping! rolleyes.gif



[size=5] I'm new to this whole scene and I'm not sure this is where I would ask this question...but..we are thinking about becoming full-time RVer's. We have our home up for sale and now I'm having second thoughts, can anyone help me out?
FosterImposters
Hello dockdev and welcome aboard! You are amongst friends here.
We've been fulltiming for 15 months. Yes it took some stones to sell the house...however the relief was incredible. We'd camped for years...but always had to come home.

Like you (?) we were not sure if we'd 'take' to this lifestyle so... hedged the bet. Stored the nice frige, washer, dryer, monster TV...other stuff that would make re-setting up a stick home pretty easy.

What part of the country are you currently?
We wanted to see a bit more of the US...reassess where we wanted to live and work.

Technology has made fulltiming smoother: you have a choice as to how far off-the-grid you want to be. Can take your satellite TV, computer, cel phones. You didn't mention in your message: do you already have an RV?

What are your concerns? unsure.gif
dockdev
QUOTE(FosterImposters @ Mar 9 2008, 07:21 PM) *

Hello dockdev and welcome aboard! You are amongst friends here.
We've been fulltiming for 15 months. Yes it took some stones to sell the house...however the relief was incredible. We'd camped for years...but always had to come home.

Like you (?) we were not sure if we'd 'take' to this lifestyle so... hedged the bet. Stored the nice frige, washer, dryer, monster TV...other stuff that would make re-setting up a stick home pretty easy.

What part of the country are you currently?
We wanted to see a bit more of the US...reassess where we wanted to live and work.

Technology has made fulltiming smoother: you have a choice as to how far off-the-grid you want to be. Can take your satellite TV, computer, cel phones. You didn't mention in your message: do you already have an RV?

What are your concerns? unsure.gif



Thanks for responding, we live in a cabin between Cheyenne and Laramie Wyoming.......wind, wind, wind! lol All of our kids are in Colorado, which is where we would park for extended periods of time.......Are you finding that gas prices are putting a damper on your travels? What kind of RV do you have....we have the cabin up for sale and would shop for maybe a toy hauler. Not sure yet....I'm not crazy about the living quarters in a toy hauler altho I'd very much miss the 4 wheeler, paddle boat ect......If we did get a fifth wheel, can you get screens that attach to your awning? If you do take a computer, would a laptop be better to have? Are you guys ready to settle down or will you keep RVing? I would think that storing would be the smartest way to go.....in case you want to quit.

The place I have found that was very beautiful was Payson Arizona, east of Flagstaff in the White Mountains, and Senoma Arizona, just a skip south of Flagstaff, we haven't traveled very many places.

Another question, if I am a massage therapist, will I be able to work at my camp site?

Thanks so much for emailing us back...It's great to correspond with someone that is already RVing, thanks again.......
FosterImposters
You will find ALL kinds of RV'ers and just about as many RV, 5th Wheel, Trailers and Toy Haulers, screens and outdoor rooms... wink.gif

If you have the time (perhaps while your home is in escrow ?) rent a couple different styles of RVs to get the feel of driving, setting up/breaking down and just plain liveability.

Weekend camping = no big deal to monkey around with leveling blocks and hand cranking everything from the awnings to the supports. Living full-time in a rig takes on an entirely different perspective. We traded in a nice little Class C for our current Class A with couple slide-outs. More wiggle room. We tow a little Honda for all the side trips as it's a gas-sipper.

Let not get started on fuel prices. Plenty of other threads here devoted to that mess.
Can't answer if we'll ever 'settle down' again. No rush to decide...still basking in our freedom to explore and wander. tongue.gif

Every campground/RV park is slightly unique. Bit like towns in miniature. Host/owner is the town mayor and sheriff. Each one has a different personality. Check out the park reviews on this site for those Arizona cities you would like to visit.

As for setting up a massage parlor... blink.gif unsure.gif rolleyes.gif

Check out www.irv2.com for another bunch of friendly folks who RV.
Relax and try it...we're sure glad we took the plunge. cool.gif
Cheers!
NandFamily
I recently used the wrong name of a state park during a review. LOL, it just happened. I contacted the web master via-email and stated the problem. I sent the correct information in a reply to them at their request to get it fixed. Odds are you could do the same. biggrin.gif
lbrachfeld
Anyone know a way to edit or re write a review ? I spoke to soon about a highly rated park in Texas that has a "We are not responsible" attitude when it comes to "Lawn Day" and the big smiles turned to sharp teeth quickly.
Texasrvers
In all honesty unless your review contains a really big mistake I don't think they get changed after they are posted.
DXSMac
I've had the same problem, I send in a review, then I have the "oops, I should have mentioned this other thing" issue.....

You just have to learn to wait a few days before you send in the review.

JJ
full timing fools
In the winter months how can you keep mold out of your rv.
Texasrvers
full timing fools,

It would be better if you posted this as a new topic down below in the main section of topics. I think you would get more responses there.
FPguy
QUOTE(jkc40 @ Jun 10 2007, 03:11 PM) *

How can I edit or even delete my review of a campground? I am having second thoughts about some things that I wrote.


I stayed at a nice park in CT a couple weeks back. I have the unpleasant privliage of being near a couple from Oaklahoma. This old guy swore at his wife the kids working there and the owner. Then said he was going to write a nasty review about the place. If you hate camping so much and all campgrounds in the north east, try hotels. Common sense goes a long way common courtesy goes even longer.
FPguy
QUOTE(Webmaster @ Dec 10 2005, 11:16 AM) *

Hi everybody!
We have created this forum for those of you that wish to discuss "Off Topic" things other than something about particular campgrounds or campgrounds in general. Please still post those topics pertaining to RV Parks & Camprounds in the other forum.
We still reserve the right to delete and "objectionable" posts made in this forum so again lets all get along and have fun camping! rolleyes.gif



I stayed at a nice park in CT a couple weeks back. I have the unpleasant privliage of being near a couple from Oaklahoma. This old guy swore at his wife the kids working there and the owner. Then said he was going to write a nasty review about the place. If you hate camping so much and all campgrounds in the north east, try hotels. Common sense goes a long way common courtesy goes even longer.


rontrem
How long do reviews stay posted? I think I submitted some reviews that are now gone?
r0n..
John Blue
The time a review may stay here could be a long time or short time. If a park only has a small number of reviews = long time, if park has lots of reviews per week = shorter time.
seashell777
QUOTE(Webmaster @ Dec 10 2005, 01:16 PM) *

Hi everybody!
We have created this forum for those of you that wish to discuss "Off Topic" things other than something about particular campgrounds or campgrounds in general. Please still post those topics pertaining to RV Parks & Camprounds in the other forum.
We still reserve the right to delete and "objectionable" posts made in this forum so again lets all get along and have fun camping! rolleyes.gif

Does anyone know the legal way to be told to leave from an rv park when your rent has been paid..can they give you less that 24 hour notice?
Texasrvers
Seashell 777,

It would be better if you posted this as a new topic down below in the main section of topics. I think you would get more responses there.
joez
QUOTE
Does anyone know the legal way to be told to leave from an rv park when your rent has been paid..can they give you less that 24 hour notice?


Your answer would really depend on the state (and perhaps local) laws concerning tennant/landlord and likely hotel/motel rental rules. We own short term rental property in FL and have asked people to leave early even though they paid in advance. Sometimes they get refunds, sometimes not depending on amount of damage. Sometimes the rental termination is amicable, sometimes local LE needs to be involved. The reason for booting (happens very rarely) normally involves damaging,illegal, immoral, or other behavior not allowed in the rental agreement(neighbors complaining a lot, drugs, working on cars in driveway, etc). This is really a question where you need sound legal advice.
nmunozjr
Not sure where to post this question, but I thought that a response to you may be appropriate. Where does one go if you've reviewed a park in a prior year but wish to update after a later visit?

Nick
Texasrvers
Our guidelines state that a member must wait 90 days before submitting another review for a particular park. If it is past this time period and you have stayed at the park again, all you need to do is use the "Submit Review" form to write another review.
nmunozjr
QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Jun 8 2011, 10:08 AM) *

Our guidelines state that a member must wait 90 days before submitting another review for a particular park. If it is past this time period and you have stayed at the park again, all you need to do is use the "Submit Review" form to write another review.


Thanks for the prompt reply.
norcalrockhunter
QUOTE(nmunozjr @ Jun 8 2011, 04:22 PM) *

Thanks for the prompt reply.

this is a test
RockyandBullwinkle
Today I posted our 116th RV park review and when it was published I noticed that this website had edited my review for no apparent reason. What was deleted from my review was not objectionable in any way and I cannot imagine why some content was deleted. I need to hear a response from this webmaster here and I want my review published in its original form or I will no longer participate on this website.
Onemoretrail
QUOTE(PandM @ Jun 21 2012, 10:57 PM) *

Today I posted our 116th RV park review and when it was published I noticed that this website had edited my review for no apparent reason. What was deleted from my review was not objectionable in any way and I cannot imagine why some content was deleted. I need to hear a response from this webmaster here and I want my review published in its original form or I will no longer participate on this website.

I was the one who edited your review. I can't remember exactly what I took out, but if you resubmit your original review to one of the moderators then they can take a second look at it and decide if your original submission can be left the way you sent it.
Texasrvers
PandM,

You are welcome to send a copy of your original review to me through our Personal Message system and I will see that it gets to the appropriate admin.
Wydglide
Why do the people have to berate campgrounds because of no WIFI or too many kids or no cable?
That's not what camping is about. I actually go to campgrounds that I see are reviewed by
"RV'ers/Motorhomes". Old people with nothing to do but complain about families having fun.

This website needs to make a section called "OLD PEOPLE COMPLAINTS".

Then I would avoid that section so I can objectively make a decision on a campground.

Just my 2 cents if it gets posted. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
BC Wanderer
QUOTE(Wydglide @ Jul 14 2012, 10:09 PM) *

Why do the people have to berate campgrounds because of no WIFI or too many kids or no cable?
That's not what camping is about. I actually go to campgrounds that I see are reviewed by
"RV'ers/Motorhomes". Old people with nothing to do but complain about families having fun.

This website needs to make a section called "OLD PEOPLE COMPLAINTS".

Then I would avoid that section so I can objectively make a decision on a campground.

Just my 2 cents if it gets posted. rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif


You are entitled to your opinion. If you see a review that you feel was unjust, and you have stayed at the park, write a review.

To many, RVing is a whole lot different than camping. The range in services and amenities stretches from a piece of dirt where one can pitch a tent with a bit of bush for a bathroom to a luxury "resort" complete with pool, golf course, planned activities etc. Different strokes for different folks.

If your wants are simple you will be easy to please. If one is paying for a service, one expects to be able to use said service. To many people Wifi is a must. Users are demanding that it be available. If a park advertises it, it becomes part of the agreement a guest and the operator enter into. The same with a pool etc.

Folks here complain about the lack of services that they pay for and expect to enjoy. Without these objective observances, other folks would be oblivious to the pitfalls waiting for them. That is what a review is all about. There are some folks who do vent without justification. It is up to you to "read" and make your judgement accordingly. You then have an opportunity to make an educated choice where to spend your money.

I doubt if all of the complaints made on this site are by "old" people. But even if they were, they are just trying to give YOU fair warning.

Please unroll your eyes. You will do better venturing into the world with them wide open.
Wydglide
I can tell just by the tone of your response you are one of the "I want my demands met or else".
Because someone rates a CAMPGROUND negatively due to no WiFi, that is not an accurate or fair review of the facility itself. These people need to simply stay at the "Resort Style RV Parks" and not at campgrounds. I have been traveling all of my life since I was a kid. I have stayed at many of the places that have gotten less than a 5 by Motorhome travelers.
I have to say, 9 out of 10 times, it has been the complete opposite of their post.
I'm all for the fact that if you pay for something, you best get it but don't go to a CAMPGROUND and be disappointed if they do not have the luxury amenities you demand.
By the way, I never DEMAND anything. I am polite and I ask.
joez
QUOTE
Because someone rates a CAMPGROUND negatively due to no WiFi, that is not an accurate or fair review of the facility itself.......I'm all for the fact that if you pay for something, you best get it but don't go to a CAMPGROUND and be disappointed if they do not have the luxury amenities you demand.


Sorry, I thought this website was rv park reviews, not campground reviews. I agree there is a difference, but I think most of us are here looking for rv park information. I personally gave up camping years ago, except for our once a year canoe/backpack trip with the kids and grandkids.
Wydglide
I agree the site IS RV Park Reviews. Another foot in mouth case.
If it is RV Park only, stop rating campgrounds on this site then, correct?
In your own words "I thought this website was RV Park Reviews".

Too many people here who just aren't happy unless they complain about something, Too many kids, no WiFi, no cable etc. I will no longer support this website along with many, many other CAMPERS.
Fewer hits means fewer advertisers means won't last long.

I have never stayed at a place that caters to the "older crowd" so it would be appreciated if the complainers (RV'ers and Motorhomers) didn't stay at Campgrounds geared toward families.

Or at least don't write a bad review just because you don't like kids and families having fun.

Lastly, this is my opinion and view just as yours is and the other responder to my post.
BC Wanderer
QUOTE(Wydglide @ Jul 16 2012, 12:53 PM) *

I agree the site IS RV Park Reviews. Another foot in mouth case.
If it is RV Park only, stop rating campgrounds on this site then, correct?
In your own words "I thought this website was RV Park Reviews".

Too many people here who just aren't happy unless they complain about something, Too many kids, no WiFi, no cable etc. I will no longer support this website along with many, many other CAMPERS.
Fewer hits means fewer advertisers means won't last long.

I have never stayed at a place that caters to the "older crowd" so it would be appreciated if the complainers (RV'ers and Motorhomers) didn't stay at Campgrounds geared toward families.

Or at least don't write a bad review just because you don't like kids and families having fun.

Lastly, this is my opinion and view just as yours is and the other responder to my post.


Wydglide, you are entitled to your opinion. This will be my final reply to anything you post as it appears you are just a flamer. By your own words you don't like people complaining but this is exactly what you are doing.

"Too many people here who just aren't happy unless they complain about something"


Good bye, enjoy your life.
kcmoedoe
QUOTE(JDOLLEN @ Jul 16 2012, 08:17 PM) *

Wydglide, you are entitled to your opinion. This will be my final reply to anything you post as it appears you are just a flamer. By your own words you don't like people complaining but this is exactly what you are doing.

"Too many people here who just aren't happy unless they complain about something"
Good bye, enjoy your life.

As important as the ratings are, to me the comments and reasons are more important. Someone gives a park a 10 and then tells us the reason is all the long term guests have a pot luck dinner and the neighbor cooked a great brisket, fine. But that doesn't really mean the park is right for me. If they give it a 1 and say it is not kid friendly, that might just sell me on the park. Complaining is an American Tradition, ascertaining the facts and their impacts on me is sometimes an art.
Wydglide
Finally a response that makes sense. I did not know that this forum was for personal attacks either J. You have shown your true colors and just how low you can go.
Thank you kc for explaining it in a different way.
Denise#2
Hey I'm going to Carlsbad, New Mexico and IV called every RV park and campground and all were full do u know of any where there might be openings? I did get a hold of brantley lake state park and booked a site for 2 nights but I'm looking for something more long term my old man and I are up here for a job and need full hook ups dose anyone have any suggestions ?
Fitzjohnfan
QUOTE(joez @ Jul 15 2012, 04:33 PM) *

Sorry, I thought this website was rv park reviews, not campground reviews. I agree there is a difference, but I think most of us are here looking for rv park information. I personally gave up camping years ago, except for our once a year canoe/backpack trip with the kids and grandkids.


Ummm, sorry to rain on your gramatical parade, but if you go to the top of your browser and type in http://www.campgroundreviews.com, or type in http://www.rvparkreviews.com, you end up at this site.

This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.