Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Rv Park Reviews New Look
RV Park Reviews Campground Discussion Forum > RV Park and Campground Discussions > General Chat
Beastdriver
Webmaster

Just when you think this site can't get any better, you guys make it a LOT better. The new site is much easier to use, easier to understand,easier on the eyes, and more complete. Thank you. We appreciate your continuing efforts!
semperfi
sad.gif It appears that that the new site only works well with Explorer on a PC.

I have tried it with Foxfire on a PC and Foxfire, Safari and OmniWeb on a Mac and the site does not work. The old one did.

Has anyone else run into this?

BYW, I am writing this on my PC running Explorer.

This is NOT good!
Cheryl
I'm using Netscape with no problems.
John Blue
I love the new look, it may take couple days to pick up on all the new changes you put in place. What is next? Did I miss spell check?
Webmaster
QUOTE(semperfi @ May 6 2006, 05:38 PM) *

sad.gif It appears that that the new site only works well with Explorer on a PC.

I have tried it with Foxfire on a PC and Foxfire, Safari and OmniWeb on a Mac and the site does not work. The old one did.

Has anyone else run into this?

BYW, I am writing this on my PC running Explorer.

This is NOT good!:angry:



We have been testing the site with IE and Firefox on a PC as well as Safari 2.0.3, Firefox 1.5.0.3, and Opera 8.54 on the MAC/OSX side of things. I haven't been able to duplicate your issues from 5 different macs, so I can't imaging what could be going wrong. We do use a little javascript, so if you have javascript disabled, that could be the issue.

I personally use a Mac and will be happy to help you resolve these issues.

We will get these growing pains resolved!
semperfi
Sorry, I found the problem.

Since it was not just one browser I began to think about what might be the problem. It had to be universal. It wasn't the firewalls or the browser settings. They were all OK.

For the PC it worked with Explorer but not Firefox. It was because Firefox was an older version. The site worked with the update. Sure enough I updated the Mac browsers and all seems well although Safari was already the latest update and is flaky on the site, the others work well. The only real problem I now have is with the state maps not showing the dots for reviewed CG's.

This is my favorite RV'ing site. It is great information. The new design will be even more helpful.
philhoey
biggrin.gif Great new site. I was a little taken aback at first thinking my link was busted. But - I like it.

Phil
skipanda
I had to check to see if my computer sent me to a place I've never been before!

Holy smoke - great new look. I love it!
PJinNH
Love the new look. Great improvement on a site that was already wonderful. Way to go!!!
fiverdriver
Great job on the new look. I check in quite often and was very plesently surprised with the change. It not only looks better but it's easier to read and the extra local info for each area is very helpful. I also like the longer list of new reviews. In the past if I missed a few days I didn't get to see the recent additions. Now with the longer list I have a better chance of reading all of them.

I never camp anywhere without checking here first. Thanks for you efforts. By the way, I using Firefox and it looks great, no problems.
Butch
The new look is interesting to say the least. I have issues with the system as follows: upon loading the website, an "error on pages" message appears. (I'm using Internet Explorer) Upon closer investigation, have tried to engage the "spell checker", and nothing happens--no spell checker. The right and left scroll at the bottom of the page is a pain in trying to read the entire page as in the past. In the forums, the originator of the posting is not shown, a feature that I appreciated. The lighter green background color makes the white lettering, within the green background, harder to read. These old eyes are not as good as they were in my younger days. I would be the first admit that, one: I have an older computer system, useable but outdated.(windows 95) two: I'm not a computer wizard by any stretch, but can use it to obtain the information as needed. Otherwise I really do enjoy and appreciate all the efforts and work involved in making the information listed here. A job well done, thank you.
Cheryl Fuller
QUOTE(Butch @ May 8 2006, 06:14 AM) *
The new look is interesting to say the least. I have issues with the system as follows: upon loading the website, an "error on pages" message appears. (I'm using Internet Explorer) Upon closer investigation, have tried to engage the "spell checker", and nothing happens--no spell checker. The right and left scroll at the bottom of the page is a pain in trying to read the entire page as in the past. In the forums, the originator of the posting is not shown, a feature that I appreciated. The lighter green background color makes the white lettering, within the green background, harder to read. These old eyes are not as good as they were in my younger days. I would be the first admit that, one: I have an older computer system, useable but outdated.(windows 95) two: I'm not a computer wizard by any stretch, but can use it to obtain the information as needed. Otherwise I really do enjoy and appreciate all the efforts and work involved in making the information listed here. A job well done, thank you.






Butch, I too, have been unable to access the spell checker, and I really need it. I am running Windows 2000. I followed the directions that the Administrator had posted previously to no avail. I am going to have hubby look at it - he is a computer genius so maybe he can show me where I am going wrong.
genestoy
Cheryl,

I think it only works if you are using Internet Explorer as these forums use a IE plugin called iespell. dry.gif
Charles
Great new look but seems like alot of reviews have been lost in the change. I realize some were old and maybe out dated but I liked the idea of seeing all the remarks from many members on a park.

Charles
aMazin
Very nice new look. I check in every few days and was blown away by the new, great look. biggrin.gif

Thanks for the great site!
jtrimmer
QUOTE(Charles @ May 8 2006, 11:27 AM) *

Great new look but seems like alot of reviews have been lost in the change. I realize some were old and maybe out dated but I liked the idea of seeing all the remarks from many members on a park.

Charles


I am one of the developers for the new layout and I just want to say Thank You to everyone for posting your comments positive or negative. It helps point us in the direction we need to go to keep this site great.

All the reviews and parks should still be there. When the site was updated not one piece of info was removed just new things added and wrapped in a new layout. One thing I've noticed is a few of the parks are not where you might think they should be. They might be on the border of 2 cities and you are looking in city A and its actually posted in city B. We are currently finishing up a great search tool for the site that will hopefully help everyone out.
Cheryl Fuller
QUOTE(genestoy @ May 8 2006, 08:27 AM) *
Cheryl,

I think it only works if you are using Internet Explorer as these forums use a IE plugin called iespell. dry.gif





Gene, I am using IE but am now having another problem. I found the ABC icon that the admin. was talking about it and whne I click on it, I get a message that says iespell not detected - click ok to go to download page. I click OK and it goes nowhere. Guess I will eventually figure it out...
genestoy
Cheryl,

Here is the link http://www.iespell.com/download.php download and install it on your computer and then your spell check will work properly. smile.gif
jamesone
I note there is a little factoid near the top of each State page. The developers may want to look at Montana. It doesn't look quite right.
genestoy
The Highest Point of Montana is Granite Peak, 390 m (12,799 ft)

Should be 3,901 meters smile.gif
pjtjmn
Hi -

I don't really post much, (okay this is my first), but I have a question.

Is there any way to see all the reviews listed for a state by town like you used to be able to do?
I'm new to camping, and I enjoyed being able to browse all the listings for a state by town name. When I found one that had multiple "thumbs up", I made a note of it to investigate further.

It was easy to scroll through the state to find the "gems". So did I miss the button which allows you to see everything on the same page?

I do love this site, though. I've book three trips this year on the advise given here!

Thanks for the great resource!
Cheryl Fuller
Gene, thanks, I think I have it now. I went to the link you provided and downloaded it. Thanks for you help.
jtrimmer
QUOTE(pjtjmn @ May 8 2006, 07:14 PM) *

Hi -

I don't really post much, (okay this is my first), but I have a question.

Is there any way to see all the reviews listed for a state by town like you used to be able to do?
I'm new to camping, and I enjoyed being able to browse all the listings for a state by town name. When I found one that had multiple "thumbs up", I made a note of it to investigate further.

It was easy to scroll through the state to find the "gems". So did I miss the button which allows you to see everything on the same page?

I do love this site, though. I've book three trips this year on the advise given here!

Thanks for the great resource!



Well you can still do that pretty much. Just use the previous and next city buttons at the top of each city page to go onto the next. It will be in the same order by city that the old site use to be. They are just now grouped by city to save our dialup users some headaches. Those full state listings use to be around 10 megs on some states. For broadband users that is nothing but for 56k ouch biggrin.gif
genestoy
QUOTE(Cheryl Fuller @ May 8 2006, 05:36 PM) *
Gene, thanks, I think I have it now. I went to the link you provided and downloaded it. Thanks for you help.




Cheryl,

Even though they have put the spell check back here it still is good to have that plug-in. After you install it go to Tools at the top of Internet Explorer and you will see iespell. And when anything is in the browser you can click on it (even filling out a form) and it will check the spelling for you. smile.gif
cblomax
You guys have done a fantastic job of developing and converting the old site to this one. Talk about customer delight! I was totally used to looking up the cg's on the old one, and since it is a free service, well who was going to complain. You not only gave it a new look but did a total leap forward in functionality.....with no interruption to service. And all of our old reviews and userid's were already moved to the new site. Thanks!

Now a couple of feedback items, not complaints, just feedback to help you get everything worked out:
  • Did I read somewhere that there are supposed to be dots on the map where the cg's are located? I don't see them if they are supposed to be there.
  • I can not get the browser's BACK button to work when in the forum. I'm using IE 6.0, and it works on every other site and forum I use.
Thanks so much, and please keep up the good work. Your site really helps. Not only do we use it for reviews, but we also use it as a resource to find cg's that are not even listed in the cg guidebooks.
jtrimmer
QUOTE(cblomax @ May 8 2006, 09:33 PM) *

You guys have done a fantastic job of developing and converting the old site to this one. Talk about customer delight! I was totally used to looking up the cg's on the old one, and since it is a free service, well who was going to complain. You not only gave it a new look but did a total leap forward in functionality.....with no interruption to service. And all of our old reviews and userid's were already moved to the new site. Thanks!

Now a couple of feedback items, not complaints, just feedback to help you get everything worked out:
  • Did I read somewhere that there are supposed to be dots on the map where the cg's are located? I don't see them if they are supposed to be there.
  • I can not get the browser's BACK button to work when in the forum. I'm using IE 6.0, and it works on every other site and forum I use.
Thanks so much, and please keep up the good work. Your site really helps. Not only do we use it for reviews, but we also use it as a resource to find cg's that are not even listed in the cg guidebooks.


Map Dots:
We are tracking down a bug with the dots in IE right now so we disabled them in IE. If you want them you can use any other browser and they will show up until we get that fixed.

Forum Back Button:
Can you give any more info on this? I'm running IE6 and I don't seem to have the back issue. I've been trying to duplicate the bug all day to fix it. Also OS version would be wonderful along with any error screens or messages would be great if you just want to send me a private message on here with that info. Then I might be able to get it tracked down and fixed.
Homer
Normally I live by the rule "if it ain't broke don't fix it". However, having said that, I really like this new make over. I drop in nearly every evening just to read the mail and see if I can add any information about some one's qusestion. This is certainly attractive and Mr. Webmaster, my head hurts when I think about how much time you spent constructing this very necessary site for RVers. Thanks ~~~ Homer
Yorkieluvr
Great new look! I love poking around and discovering new tools.

I too am having the problem with the browers back button (IE6). There's no error message, it just doesn't go anywhere. Luckily you can click on the tool bar along the top to get back to the main forum or home pages.

We appreciate all your hard work!
Cheryl Fuller
It must just be affecting some users because I use explorer and am not having any trouble with the back key. I love the new look.
RVman3252
I like it!

Although I do not post in the forum that often, I do stop by and check the reviews... Was I ever shocked at the new look. I haven't checked it out totally, but I have to say "Great Job"...

Thanks!

RVman
Kevin & Terri C.
Will add one more, "looks great, and thank you for all the time & effort"!! biggrin.gif



I, too, cannot get the *back* button to work. Strictly on the forum, no problem on the campgrounds portion, or submitting a review. I'm also using IE 6.0.



Terri C.
pjtjmn
QUOTE(jtrimmer @ May 8 2006, 04:48 PM) *

QUOTE(pjtjmn @ May 8 2006, 07:14 PM) *

Hi -

I don't really post much, (okay this is my first), but I have a question.

Is there any way to see all the reviews listed for a state by town like you used to be able to do?
I'm new to camping, and I enjoyed being able to browse all the listings for a state by town name. When I found one that had multiple "thumbs up", I made a note of it to investigate further.

It was easy to scroll through the state to find the "gems". So did I miss the button which allows you to see everything on the same page?

I do love this site, though. I've book three trips this year on the advise given here!

Thanks for the great resource!



Well you can still do that pretty much. Just use the previous and next city buttons at the top of each city page to go onto the next. It will be in the same order by city that the old site use to be. They are just now grouped by city to save our dialup users some headaches. Those full state listings use to be around 10 megs on some states. For broadband users that is nothing but for 56k ouch biggrin.gif


Ohh....yeah... dial up is not fun! I can relate to that!!

But... It still would be nice to have the *Option* to convert the individual states back to all of them grouped together.. It really helped me quickly spot the standouts--- good and bad!

Still I like having a place to find reviews... but, I LOVED having a place to find them all grouped together in one place. I even remember thinking back then how I would have preferred being able to group several states together, and start from there!
Lynnwagoner
I really, really like the new format. Much better!!!! I use this site almost exclusively for planning my trips because I trust the reviews. Keep up the good work.
Yorkieluvr
The back button seems to be working now! Thanks!
Donna P
This site has alway been great but now I have a hard time seeing the list of reviews. sad.gif Too small and hard to line up. My eyes aren't that great. I also liked the number ratings with the thumbs up or down instead of the stars cause I can't really see them. Maybe put the city next to the name of the camp ground and then the stars would be easier to see. blink.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.