Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Changes To Review Submittals
RV Park Reviews Campground Discussion Forum > RV Park and Campground Discussions > RV Park Discussions
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Texasrvers
mch2464,

Yes, your policies sound fair to me, except for one thing. Now this is just my opinion, but I think 10 days notice to get a refund of the deposit is a little too much time. I think 24 or 48 hours notice should be plenty of time in order to receive a full refund possibly minus a fee.

Your 20% cancellation fee does not sound out of line. Most of the ones I've encountered have been a flat fee of around $10. I am guessing your 20% would be about this same amount. I think the hard part would be trying to determine if there was a legitimate reason for the cancellation. I think most people are honest and would not cancel unless they really had to. Unfortunately there are some pretty good liars out there.

I'm sure there is a lot more to taking and holding and refunding reservations than I understand. From my perspective I would hope there would be no cancellation fee at all, but I can understand the need for one. Thanks for giving a little insight into the cg owner's side.


John Blue
MCH2464,

You will find this true in all walks of life. People are people and will tell you one thing and them do as they please. We had a lot of rental homes at one time, a lot like an RV park. People would call and ask to see a house in five mins. We drive out and no one would show up, we call people and find out they were looking at TV. Other people told wife and I they worked at someplace for ten years now. We call and find out person was fired years ago due to poor working habits. You will never get people to do the right thing if you have a open policy on refunds. I see no problem with your policy. We also had policies that were in place and everyone had a copy of the rules so if you break the rules you pay up. This will never change!

We had an air bag problem long time ago and had to call parks and tell them what happen. It was no problem at all and we returned back home for repair work.

prytania
Oh.

I do not normally camp, but I have thought about getting into it.

But I have had a recent terrible experience at Campfire Lodgings in Asheville, NC--one that has put me off camping forever--and thought I should let others know about it, since my experience was very similar to others' (I ran into the incredibly angry manager and she ruined my stay). But, since I have no interest in ever running into that kind of mistreatment again, it looks as if I will never meet the posting requirement that would have allowed me a voice.

So long.
Big White
Why do campers think they deserve some break, or that RV park owners aren't businesses? I think a cancellation fee is ABSOLUTELY appropriate. There is practically NO hotel in north america that doesn't require a credit card to book a reservation and requires "cancel by 6PM or one nights fee is due against that credit card".

Cancellations not only cost park owners money, they prevent other campers from finding sites. It seems a perfectly business-like and win-win practice that improves the "status quo" for all of us if all park owners would follow the hotel standard practice of cancel by or pay for the 1st night.
FosterImposters
Hello Prytania...pls remember you have a voice on this forum regardless of the number of campgrounds/RV parks you have reviewed. cool.gif Welcome aboard mate!
Lee and Fran
A couple of years ago I paid in advance for two sites in Michigan and than we could not make it and I notified them two weeks prior and they kept our money and said that was what they do. And yet they told me when I made the reservation they did not keep the deposits.
Bob & Marie
I am a new member and tried to post my first review without reading this forum - it must be in the hold queue. In the instructions, it refers to 3 reviews and then 5 reviews - which is it?
Cheryl
It used to be 5, but the webmaster changed it to 3.
hwytracker
[size=2]
Hello, I am a bit curious now that I found this forum and read the part where one is required to Post three or four Reviews before their first post will be posted.

I am a full timer who travels often but I don't think I have to comment on every c/g I visit.

I enjoy reading posts of c/g's that are less than desirable but most of the time I look between the lines for where the person is coming from.

As a full timer I have encountered many a turkey rver while on the other hand I honestly believe there are more lovely folks out here than the turkeys who complain about everything.

I don't want to read about a campers 'bad' time at a c/g when they are the problem.

Now where does this leave me today? Are you still requiring us to post three or four post befor the first post will be posted?

Respectfully, Hwytracker
JWT
The site map for Lake Leon is incorrect. The review posted has the correct information but the map that comes up when you check the site places it near Dickinson down on the gulf. it is up in East Texas and no where near the site map blink.gif
Texasrvers
You are right. The pin for Lake Leon seems to be way off if Lake Leon is between Ranger and Eastland, Texas. However, I cannot get my map program to find Lake Leon, but I can see that there is a lake between these two towns just south of I-20. Is that the correct lake? The only RV park listed for Lake Leon is La Mancha Lake Ranch, but when I looked at its website there was no map showing where it is located. If you can give more information about where this park is located we would appreciate your help. And thanks for reporting this.

danel-ksc
I submitted three reviews several days ago, when will I see them posted?
Texasrvers
QUOTE(danel-ksc @ Jul 29 2009, 03:44 PM) *

I submitted three reviews several days ago, when will I see them posted?


When the 450 that came in before yours are done. Sorry I'm not trying to be rude. It's just that there is a huge backlog right now, and the admins who check the reviews say they are really having a hard time keeping up. They say the reviews are coming in faster than they can do them. But they will get to yours eventually.
danel-ksc
I appreciate the response and explanation, but I certainly did not need the first sentence.
HappiestCamper
QUOTE(danel-ksc @ Jul 30 2009, 03:30 PM) *

I appreciate the response and explanation, but I certainly did not need the first sentence.


Don't take it personal - he's been having to answer this same question constantly in another thread.
FosterImposters
QUOTE(danel-ksc @ Jul 30 2009, 12:30 PM) *

I appreciate the response and explanation...

biggrin.gif
Wow!
Guess that means new folks are not only enjoying this forum site, but are out'n about camping and taking the time to post a review! Fabulous!

Without giving away your confidentiality...what part of the country are you camping Danel-ksc? Is it busier this year in your opinion?
Just a curious full-timer.
cool.gif
danel-ksc
We live in Central Fl and so far this year we have traveled to Biloxi, MS; Ashburn, GA; Blairsville, GA; Townsend, TN; Naples, FL and several local campgrounds in Orlano and Ocala area with our Grandchildren.
We will head back to the GA and SC area in Oct.
We have been RV'rs since our retirement in 2000
danel-ksc
Didn't mean to avoid part of your question in my previous Post but dinner was calling.
Yes, there has been a big difference over the last two years. Last year fuel prices had a profound effect`but the financial situation was just starting to rear its ugly head so RV'rs seemed to reduce the radius traveled from home to save fuel but still have available cash/credit for CGs and entertainment. This year fuel costs are down but free cash, credit availability and the rising unemployment have taken a toll on RV'rs. Apparent at the CGs we have stayed in and has been pretty much confirmed in conversations with CG managers and owners.
Texasrvers
QUOTE(danel-ksc @ Jul 30 2009, 02:30 PM) *

I appreciate the response and explanation, but I certainly did not need the first sentence.


Just so you know that I'm not always a grouch (just most of the time), I looked through all of the newly submitted reviews (there were 512) and I did not find any with your username. Are you sure you got a "Thank You " screen at the end of each one? If not then they were not submitted. If you don't mind listing the names of the parks here I can look some more. Otherwise we just don't seem to have them.
danel-ksc
The three Reviews were posted tonight. Two GA and one TN.
We all are a little "gruff" from time to time, appreciate the Post.
Texasrvers
Good, I'm glad we had them after all.
danel-ksc
TX,
I think the reason you could not find the Reviews is they are shown as Submitted by "Columbia" not danel-KSC.
Tie-in:
danel--DANiel/ELaine
KSC--Kennedy Space Center
Columbia--Our first Space Shuttle Orbiter, which we lost with her crew on reentry.
Texasrvers
Yep, that's why I couldn't find them. That's interesting to see how you came up with the names. Again, I'm glad they got posted.
fishnhikefamily
I kind of got the fraud feeling on some reviews. Now I know why. The new rule should help. This is my first review posting but our 5th or 6th rv camping trip. Guess I should have reviewed sooner. These review sites can make or break a trip decision, so I plan to continue reviewing.
ham2405
I registered here to be able to submit a correction to an rv park location and review or two in the near future, but with the rules in place, I won't bother! I camp almost exclusively in forest service campgrounds that have gravel/dirt entry roads and parking pads, pit toilets and hand operated water pumps - so what's to review there?
Texasrvers
QUOTE(ham2405 @ Mar 17 2010, 10:14 PM) *

I registered here to be able to submit a correction to an rv park location and review or two in the near future, but with the rules in place, I won't bother! I camp almost exclusively in forest service campgrounds that have gravel/dirt entry roads and parking pads, pit toilets and hand operated water pumps - so what's to review there?


I'm sorry, but I don't understand how any of our rules would stop you from reviewing the campgrounds you stay in. We have quite a few national forest campgrounds in our database (a search on "national forest" pulled up 42 listings) and the reviewers have found numerous things to include in their reviews. They mention the condition of the roads and sites; how large the sites are; can they accommodate big rigs; are all sites shaded or are some open; are they level and well cared for; do they have a fire pit, grill, picnic table; is there a dump station available; is there a lake or river nearby and how accessable is it; are there hiking trails; etc, etc, etc. I would think you could find a lot to write about that would be helpful to others, and I hope you will.
FosterImposters
QUOTE(ham2405 @ Mar 17 2010, 08:14 PM) *

...I camp almost exclusively in forest service campgrounds ...


We really enjoy basic forest (and desert, and beach..,) campgrounds. Some can no longer accommodate a modern rig, but others sure can. Would sure like to read your impressions, feedback, etc. Can determine (in advance) which ones we can still wiggle into, and which to visit with the tow car.

Welcome aboard Ham2405!
Cheers! cool.gif
NorthernIllinoisPlumber
Leave your review. My family and I like parks. I read a lot of reviews concerning them.
Loillian & Louie
WE HAVE BEEN FULLTIMERS FOR FOUR MONTHS NOW. SINCE I LOCATED YOUR SITE I USE IT TO READ UP ON ALL PARKS WE INTEND ON STAYING. MY CONCERN IS THAT MOST OF YOUR REVIEWS ARE ONE OR TWO YEARS OLD. I BELIEVE ANYONE WHO TAKES THE TIME TO WRITE A REVIEW SHOULD BE POSTED REGARDLESS OF HOW MANY TIMES THEY HAVE DONE THIS. IF ANYONE HAS A BAD EXPERIENCE WITH A PARK IT WOULD BE NICE TO READ THAT SO WE COULD BE INFORMED ON ANY CHANGES IN THESE PARKS. THE PARKS COULD ADD WHAT THEY WANT ON THERE SITES AND THIS SITE IS THE ONLY SITE THAT MAY TELL ALL THE REAL STORY ON THE SAID PARK.
Texasrvers
L & L,

All new reviews are posted (provided they follow the website's guidelines for submitting reviews). If reviews for a particular park are older it is because no one has sent in a more recent review.
John Blue
ham2405,

If you have items that are not correct here please sent me a PM and list the problems so we can fix them. Also as others have said we all stay in all types of places and love to see information good or bad on all parks.
Billy Bob
biggrin.gif Hi I'm new to this forum. I have been camping for more years than I care to remember & RVing for the last 15 or so years. For the record I think that requiring a user to post 3 campground reviews before they are posted is a good rule. Telling about your experiences good or bad for 3 campgrounds shouldn't be a problem for most campers. Looks like a site with a lot of camping info. keep up the good work
Billy Bob
Texasrvers
Welcome Billy Bob,

We look forward to your experiences and insights.

TX
RVParkGuy
QUOTE(Webmaster @ Jul 4 2006, 09:18 AM) *

We have found it necessary to add some more security to the website when it comes to approving reviews. All members will now have to submit a minimum of three (3) different campgrounds before any of their reviews will be posted on the website. If you have not seen a recent review you submitted posted on the website that is because it is in a holding queue until the five review quota has been met and then they will automatically transfer to the approval queue and will then be posted. Any member that has already posted five or more will see no change. Sorry we have to do this but some campground owner's/employees think they don't have to follow the rules of this website and continue to try to post great reviews about their campground. The "great" campgrounds will never have to do that as they will always receive positive reviews from their customers. smile.gif We have caught several and will continue to do so to try to keep this website as it was intended.


Is this still in effect? A review of my park was posted and the reviewer has only posted twice.
Texasrvers
Here is probably what happened. The reviewer sent in the required number of reviews but one of them was deferred because of mistakes. This is also why you see some reviews where the reviewer has no other reviews listed.
Dave-and-Ellen
Well, I just did a review yesterday. I have done several others but some were said to have been lost. This time I did a shorter one and I will see if I finally get mine posted for a park in Westfir. OR.
Texasrvers
Dave-and-Ellen,

I am sorry you are having trouble getting your reviews posted. Unfortunately there currently does not seem to be a submitted review from your username or one for a park in Westfir, OR. If your review is submitted correctly you should get a screen that says "Thank You." Please be sure this screen appears; otherwise we are not receiving your reviews.

If you continue to have trouble, please let me know and I will do what I can to help you.
Dave-and-Ellen
QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Apr 17 2010, 03:44 PM) *

Dave-and-Ellen,

I am sorry you are having trouble getting your reviews posted. Unfortunately there currently does not seem to be a submitted review from your username or one for a park in Westfir, OR. If your review is submitted correctly you should get a screen that says "Thank You." Please be sure this screen appears; otherwise we are not receiving your reviews.

If you continue to have trouble, please let me know and I will do what I can to help you.


Well, I believe it did say that...it even asked if the location on the map was OK.
I am using FireFox, perhaps I can try IE8, but I am not going to keep trying to post Reviews...it is a shame as I like this site and have had some good info to post.

I have reviewed parks in Sequim, WA, and several in Oregon. NOTHING has shown up yet.
Dave-and-Ellen
QUOTE(Dave-and-Ellen @ Apr 17 2010, 06:20 PM) *

Well, I believe it did say that...it even asked if the location on the map was OK.
I am using FireFox, perhaps I can try IE8, but I am not going to keep trying to post Reviews...it is a shame as I like this site and have had some good info to post.

I have reviewed parks in Sequim, WA, and several in Oregon. NOTHING has shown up yet.



Well...look what I get when I try to review this park AGAIN...

You must wait at least 90 days before submitting another review
for a campground that you have already submitted a review on.
You submitted a review for Casey's Riverside RV Park on 04/16/2010.
Texasrvers
Dave-and-Ellen,

I have looked into your situation again, and this time we did find a review for Casey's Riverside RV Park that was submitted on 4/16/10. We missed it the first time because we were searching on the username Dave-and-Ellen. This review was submitted by a different username, but since it includes part of the Dave-and-Ellen name we believe it is yours.

This review has not been posted because to date it is the only one you have submitted under that username that the system has accepted. At this point we do not know why the other reviews you did in the WA and OR area were not accepted and/or posted. Are you sure you did not get a message telling you that the reviews had been deferred for some reason? Also is it possible they too were submitted under a different username, and therefore, the system sees them as being only one review by that name.

At this point I suggest you send in more reviews under the same username that you used for Casey's park. That should pull Casey's review out of the "On Hold" section, and then all your reviews will be checked for errors and posted.

Again I am sorry for your trouble. The majority of the reviews that we receive go through with no problem. Also just so you know, this system works OK with IE, but FireFox is the better browser to use.

If you are still having trouble after you have submitted 2 more reviews, please let me know.

TX
armadillo53
I am all for having fair reviews, but what about those rv'ers who post a negative review simply to get even for their bad behavior or totally ignoring the guidelines of the park. We as manager's and owners have no way to give a rebutal to these unfair reviews. I am amazed that two reviews of the same park can be so totally opposite, makes you wonder.
John Blue
armadillo53,

We know how you feel as well. We have people that post all parks as a 1 or 10. We also have been in tons of parks. We see negative reviews wrote up on some park and think the person was not in this park. I could not see what that person said was poor. That is life and will not change. All reviews that come in and only run a park down and have no bases are sent back. Hard call for admins to say what happen in a park. Remember to look at all the reviews not one and you can see what a park is like.
FosterImposters
QUOTE(armadillo53 @ Apr 18 2010, 12:35 PM) *

...but what about those rv'ers who post a negative review simply to get even for their bad behavior...



Hello Armadillo53.
Hey, don't worry about two reviews of the same park looking so different. We camper/RV'ers can generally spot the 'ringers'. Those 'bashers' do stick out like sore thumbs.

The 'over the top glowing' are a little harder to spot for ringers. laugh.gif A beautiful view, clean campsite and friendly hosts, combined with a good glass of merlot...and I'm posting a 'glowing' too!

Love the fact I can click on "other reviews by this person." Those poor folks with unrealistic expectations or a pack of 30 dogs...are never happy. And the guy with only 2 reviews: one glowing and one bashing? He sticks out as well.

So, if you got bashed, don't worry! It WILL come to light as more folks come stay with you all.

Have a great season!
Cheers
cool.gif
Dave-and-Ellen
QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Apr 18 2010, 11:42 AM) *

Dave-and-Ellen,

I have looked into your situation again, and this time we did find a review for Casey's Riverside RV Park that was submitted on 4/16/10. We missed it the first time because we were searching on the username Dave-and-Ellen. This review was submitted by a different username, but since it includes part of the Dave-and-Ellen name we believe it is yours.

This review has not been posted because to date it is the only one you have submitted under that username that the system has accepted. At this point we do not know why the other reviews you did in the WA and OR area were not accepted and/or posted. Are you sure you did not get a message telling you that the reviews had been deferred for some reason? Also is it possible they too were submitted under a different username, and therefore, the system sees them as being only one review by that name.

At this point I suggest you send in more reviews under the same username that you used for Casey's park. That should pull Casey's review out of the "On Hold" section, and then all your reviews will be checked for errors and posted.

Again I am sorry for your trouble. The majority of the reviews that we receive go through with no problem. Also just so you know, this system works OK with IE, but FireFox is the better browser to use.

If you are still having trouble after you have submitted 2 more reviews, please let me know.

TX


Well, I do not know what username you want...is it DaveR and if so, how can I change it from the current Dave-and-Ellen?

Also, even though I show Pacific time with auto DST, it still shows my time of posting 1 hour later than it should be.

Dave
Texasrvers
Dave-and Ellen,

DaveR is the username that submitted the review for Casey's Riverside RV Park. As I said before we could not find your review at first because we were looking for a review from Dave-and-Ellen, not DaveR. After we learned the name of the park we looked for the park name and found a review for it from DaveR and assumed this was you and that this was the review you were inquiring about. That review is On Hold because it is the only one you have submitted under the DaveR username.

Once you set up your username I do not know of a way to change it. And as for the time zone being off, mine is, too, but I don't know any reason why that will matter; so I wouldn't worry about it.

TX

Dave-and-Ellen
QUOTE(Texasrvers @ Apr 19 2010, 08:03 PM) *

Dave-and Ellen,

DaveR is the username that submitted the review for Casey's Riverside RV Park. As I said before we could not find your review at first because we were looking for a review from Dave-and-Ellen, not DaveR. After we learned the name of the park we looked for the park name and found a review for it from DaveR and assumed this was you and that this was the review you were inquiring about. That review is On Hold because it is the only one you have submitted under the DaveR username.

Once you set up your username I do not know of a way to change it. And as for the time zone being off, mine is, too, but I don't know any reason why that will matter; so I wouldn't worry about it.

TX



OK, well, I do not know how the username and login name are not the same, but I guess it is OK. My other reviews were submitted in the same way, so who knows what name it is under, but I am not going to resubmit them.

OH, I know the Time does not matter, I just mentioned it in case I had it wrong.

Thank you again...

DaveR aka Dave-and-Ellen
torce
I've been reading reviews on your site for quite some time, and since I read a disparaging review of a campground that we have stayed at for some 30+ years, I finally decided to sign up and put in my own review. Unfortunately, after doing so, I find out that I must post multiple (2, 3 or 5???) reivews of different campgrounds (and that none can be more than 6 months old) or my reivews will never be seen.

Well, guess that ends your site for me. We have given up most of our "camping" travel, and now only go to one campground...the one I reviewed. I seriously doubt that, within a six month period, we will travel to 2, 3 or 5 campgrounds....at least not in the foreseeable future.

There's obviously nothing that I can do about your rules....BUT.... the only standing review (from 2005!!!) on your site of a fine campground does not in any way represent a true
picture of what people will find at Murphy's Camping on the Ocean in Nova Scotia. BTW, the campground is actually located in Murphy Cove, Nova Scotia.

Since you will not post my review, my suggestion would be for you to remove a 5 year old review, as if nothing else, it is horribly outdated.
Texasrvers
torce,

Thank you for your comments and suggestions. Our rules were established to insure that only legimate reviews are submitted in a timely manner. This sometimes restricts a person such as you from submitting a review, but in the long run we feel it improves and protects the overall quality of the site.

Also just so you know, our rules do ask that a member submit 3 reviews before any is posted. The review should be for a stay date that is within the last six months, and we ask that a member wait 90 days before reviewing the same campground again. I can see that this is not compatible with your style of camping so the only suggestion I have for you is that the next time you stay at your favorite campground you might also stay at a second and third one around the same time and then submit all reviews. Then if our guidelines for submitting reviews are followed your reviews will be posted.

Finally the admins have suggested that older reviews be removed, but as of yet our very busy webmaster has not found the time to work on this.

Again thank you for you interest in rvparkreviews, and we hope you will be able to post reviews in the future.
torce
Texasrvers,

Thanks for your quick response.

I fully understand your need for rules.
Unfortunately, they don't mesh with our current lifestyle...a few years ago we could have
filled volumes with reviews for Nova Scotia and Newfoundland!! However, we're now lucky to grab a week or two of camping a year. Maybe some day when (if) we're able to retire! sad.gif

It's just that I find it unfortunate that others reading that single negative review will probably never experience staying at what is, in reality, a very nice campground.

Now, if you ever start reviewing hotels...... I can certainly fill you in about a few!! laugh.gif

Happy trails!!
DXSMac
Torce, the reverse is also true. I once stayed at a campground that, on this site had a RAVING review that was quite old (from 2003). I stayed at the campground in 2009 and, it was quite the opposite. Run down.

JJ
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.