Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Review Camping Dates
RV Park Reviews Campground Discussion Forum > RV Park and Campground Discussions > General Chat
jtrimmer
Lately I have been noticing a lot of time traveling reviewers and as I am an advocate for the ability to go anyplace in time for a vacation this doesn't bother me, but unfortunately the site doesn't support it since it isn't a proven fact yet.

Ok, seriously though with the change of the year people tend to forget the check the year when submitting a review and I have seen a lot of 12/2007 reviews coming in to the queue to be processed. I would just like to ask everyone to please re-check the date before you submit the review and make sure it says the correct year.
dlr
QUOTE(jtrimmer @ Jan 7 2007, 12:03 AM) *

Lately I have been noticing a lot of time traveling reviewers and as I am an advocate for the ability to go anyplace in time for a vacation this doesn't bother me, but unfortunately the site doesn't support it since it isn't a proven fact yet.

Ok, seriously though with the change of the year people tend to forget the check the year when submitting a review and I have seen a lot of 12/2007 reviews coming in to the queue to be processed. I would just like to ask everyone to please re-check the date before you submit the review and make sure it says the correct year.


How does a new member find why their review didn't get posted.
Meterman46
QUOTE(dlr @ Jul 5 2007, 10:00 PM) *
QUOTE(jtrimmer @ Jan 7 2007, 12:03 AM) *

Lately I have been noticing a lot of time traveling reviewers and as I am an advocate for the ability to go anyplace in time for a vacation this doesn't bother me, but unfortunately the site doesn't support it since it isn't a proven fact yet.

Ok, seriously though with the change of the year people tend to forget the check the year when submitting a review and I have seen a lot of 12/2007 reviews coming in to the queue to be processed. I would just like to ask everyone to please re-check the date before you submit the review and make sure it says the correct year.


How does a new member find why their review didn't get posted.




Did you summitt atleast 3 posts yet?? If not you won't see the post until 3 seperate posts have been summitted. Hope this helps. smile.gif
etoyoc
Unfortunately, I don't get an option other than 2007. I would like to review some sites from fall 2006; however, the scroll down selector only gives my 2007 as a choice. I guess I will just wait until we camp at those sites again this year.
T Lynn
QUOTE(etoyoc @ Jul 27 2007, 11:38 AM) *

Unfortunately, I don't get an option other than 2007. I would like to review some sites from fall 2006; however, the scroll down selector only gives my 2007 as a choice. I guess I will just wait until we camp at those sites again this year.



I'm having the same problem. What gives? dry.gif
Lindsay Richards
I think eliminating the day and just going with the month would be an improvement.
T Lynn
I'm all for that! Thanks Lindsay.
Butch
Please note:

If the reviewer puts a notation, reflecting the month and year, at the beginning of that review, the proof reader of that review can change the year to another, other than 2007. Example: October 2006. When the change is made, then the proof reader should delete the notation to avoid confusion.
jobob
Hate to revive an old thread, but....

I would like to see the date the review was actually submitted. That way I can tell if the poster is reviewing a park several months after they actually stayed there. A lot can change in a few months...good or bad.
Texasrvers
QUOTE(jobob @ Mar 19 2009, 09:14 PM) *

Hate to revive an old thread, but....

I would like to see the date the review was actually submitted. That way I can tell if the poster is reviewing a park several months after they actually stayed there. A lot can change in a few months...good or bad.


I am sorry to be slow responding to your post. For some reason I missed it when it was first posted.

We are actually dealing with 3 dates here: the date the reviewer stayed at the park; the date he submitted his review to this site; and the date the review gets posted. Two of these are displayed with the review at one place or another.

The new reviews on the home page have the "posted date." When the reviews are listed under the state and city they are in, they are in reverse chronological order, and they display the month and year that the reviewer stayed in the park. The date not shown anywhere is the date the review was submitted by the reviewer.

I believe I understand why you think this date would be helpful, but I'm not sure I agree. You want to know if the reviewer's information about the park is current. But a reviewer can only give information based on the time he was there regardless of when he actually writes it up. It makes no difference if the information is submitted 2 weeks or 2 years later. It will be the same information.

For instance, let's say that I stayed at a park a year ago (March 2008). Six months ago (in September) I wrote a review for that park and submitted it to this site. The things I said would be based on what I saw at the time I was there. Today that review was posted. When you see it on the home page you know it was posted today. When you look at it under the state and city you can see that I stayed there in March 2008. At this point you know that the review is a year old and is based on the condition of the park a year ago. How will knowing the date the review was submitted be helpful? When I wrote the review (in September) I did not update the information. I still used the March 2008 information because I did not know how or if the place had changed since I stayed there.

To me the more important date to take note of is the "stay" date. If you can see that it was a year ago you know there has been plenty of time for the park to change one way or another (and then you should seek a more recent review). Besides even if I wrote the review in the same month I stayed there, and even if you know that I wrote it then, the information is still a year old so I'm just not seeing how the "submitted" date makes any difference.

Well, this has been a bit complicated to explain, and I hope I have made myself clear. Maybe you are seeing something I'm not, but that's my take on it.
DeRenzy
OK Texasrvers, I understand that but can you (or anyone else) help me out with how to review a place that's not already listed? I didn't get pertinent details but do have a name and address. If it's too late, at lease I'll learn to look at the site before hand to lean if it is listed.

Thanks

Dan DeRenzy
Illinois
DXSMac
You can review a park that's not listed. Something about.... "Campground not in database" on the review part. You can submit a review of a park that isn't listed.

JJ
Texasrvers
JJ is correct. I'll expand a little. When you submit a review the first thing the form asks for is the state the campground is in. After choosing a state the form gives you 2 drop down menus--one listing the name of the camp and then the city; the other listing the city and then the name of the camp. The instructions on this page say, "If the campground is not in either list, choose "Not in List" and click NEXT to enter a new park. Before choosing "Not in List" please check the lists above carefully to prevent duplicate park entries!"

If you click "next" a form appears that allows you to enter the name of the campground and the information about it.

Does that answer your question? If not, let us know and we'll try again.
Snure Family
QUOTE(jtrimmer @ Jan 7 2007, 12:03 AM) *

Lately I have been noticing a lot of time traveling reviewers and as I am an advocate for the ability to go anyplace in time for a vacation this doesn't bother me, but unfortunately the site doesn't support it since it isn't a proven fact yet.

Ok, seriously though with the change of the year people tend to forget the check the year when submitting a review and I have seen a lot of 12/2007 reviews coming in to the queue to be processed. I would just like to ask everyone to please re-check the date before you submit the review and make sure it says the correct year.


I could not even do a review for Dec 23, 2009 and it is Jan 2, 2010. I'll try again tomorrow and see if this is fixed. I do appreciate the efforts y'all make in keeping this site running, I use it more than any campground search site just to find campgrounds, let alone see what others have to say about them.
Texasrvers
Snure Family and all others wanting to submit a review:

I think there is an automatic date change in the system which switched to 2010 right on schedule, but someone forgot to tell it that members still need to post reviews from the last few months of 2009.

Until it's fixed please choose January 2010 as the date, but at the beginning of the text say what month that you were actually there in 2009. The review checkers have the ability to correct the date back to 2009. They are already aware of the problem and know to watch for it.

Sorry for the trouble, and hopefully this will be corrected soon.

Texasrvers
RussJ
Just had a problem submitting a review.

Completed a review on a campground, in Vegas and went on to a review of my next campground. Filled in all of the info and then submitted an recv'd an error msg, to enter the 'day', did so and resubmitted and recv'd the same error msg, did this about three times and gave up. What's up ? Hesitent to enter ay other reviews, especially after entering lengthy comments and not being able to complete.
Am I doing something wrong?

Thanx

RWJ
Texasrvers
Sorry you had trouble. It sounds like you did everything right so all I can say is to be sure you entered the date correctly. I know you think you did, but the system is usually right so please try again. Also here are some suggestions so you won't lose all your comments if it doesn't work.

1. Before you try to send the review, copy your comments so if the form is lost you will at least have your comments that you can paste back in a new form.

2. You could write your comments in Word (or some other word processor) and then copy and paste your comments onto the review. And again if you lose the review for some reason you will still have your comments to paste in again.

Try again and let us know if it works or not so that we can look into it further.
beecavebee
Am I to understand that my review will not be shown until I give two other ones. That is hard to believe and I would appreciate an explanation to that ruling. Thank you.
John Blue
This is true. The problem we found was park owners and work campers would write up there park over and over as a great place. No park owners can write reviews and if you only write one review this would be very odd to see. We all travel a lot and three reviews is a small number. Also the reviews need to be on different parks.
travelingfools
I made a post on the wrong RV park..Is there anyway to get that 1 removed..I have never been there and I posted a bad review...sorry
John Blue
Yes, send in the in formation to "Contact Us" and you will find this at the bottom of all pages. Need the name of park, city, and state on wrong park plus new park. It would also help to send the ID# and you will see this in right side of parks name. Someone will help you. smile.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.