Date of Stay: August, 2015
My wife and I are a middle-aged couple who travel with our two dogs. We try to avoid KOAs and other similar campgrounds that have a lot of kids because we prefer solitude when camping. We never seem to be able to find a nice campground in Virginia, but this one was convenient on our way home from South Carolina so we decided to try it. As we were trying to set up, kids kept riding their bikes and walking through our site, acting as if we weren't even there. After we finished setting up I noticed that a lot of campers used their trucks, toads, and picnic tables to try to prevent the kids coming through their sites, and we followed suit. The internet didn't work while we were here, and our cable TV didn't work until we went to the office to complain and they sent someone out to fix it. Oh, and we had to walk to the office because no one ever answers the phone here. Of the four times we left a message with our call back number, we received one return call. There is absolutely NO privacy in this campground - the sites are short and narrow, with nothing dividing the camping pads. This being Virginia, you'll see all kinds of... "different" types of people here. We saw a young woman with a child in her lap riding a motortorized leather recliner around the campground (!) and another camper with their pet pig in a pen on their site (or maybe it was going to be their supper). Oh, and there are LOTS of semi-tame rabbits running (hopping) around - we were told some bizarre story about how a camper released their pet rabbit here years ago, and since rabbits... well, you know... PROCREATE like rabbits, there has been a population explosion. So between the ill mannered kids - presumably raised by ill mannered parents - and rabbits... and barking dogs ... and being packed in like sardines... This is one of the worst campgrounds we have ever visited, but if you have kids and don't mind a lack of privacy you'll probably like it as there are LOTS of activities.
Date of Stay: April, 2015
This is a small private campground in Greenville County, SC. Located "upstate" in the foothills, it is close to Caesars Head, Jones Gap, and Table Rock state parks. It is about 25 minutes to Traveler's Rest (the nearest town of any size with shopping and restaurants) and about 40 minutes from downtown Greenville. We chose this park because we prefer private campgrounds over state parks (so we can have full hookups) and we wanted to be as close as possible to Greenville. (After we arrived we physically drove to many other private campgrounds in the area, and believe me, this is definitely the nicest one. Most of the others are mostly rundown seasonal campgrounds. There are only 14 rv sites, and 6 cabins. We chose site 14 (closest to the road, and only a seasonal camper on one side of us) for maximum privacy. They helped us back our travel trailer in, and even leveled it for us. We had no problem with cell service here (ATT), and our wifi signal was strong even as far away as we were from the office (I don't know where the repeaters are, if any). There is no cable, but if we had Directv service we could have rented a box to use during our stay. We received several channels with our antenna. Across the road from the park entrance is a small dock on the river from which you can launch one of the two rental canoes. There is a small playground. Water pressure was slightly low. We bought a generous amount of firewood for only $3, and one of the staff offered to get ice cream for us during one of his excursions into town. We used the bathhouses once because we had a leak in our RV's shower, and they were spotless, as was the laundry room ($2 to wash, $2 to dry, and $0.75 for a box of detergent). There is a nice .42 mile beautifully wooded loop (up and down a narrow path, so wear boots) around the campground that I enjoyed with my dogs most mornings. Overall, we loved this park!
Date of Stay: October, 2014
We love the Wellsboro area, and this was our third visit to Canyon Country Campground. The campground is small, rustic, and privately-owned, which is nice since you get personalized attention from owners and their dog Misty. The whole campground is heavily wooded, which increases the sense of privacy, although (as with most campgrounds) you cannot reserve a specific site and you are placed on the smallest site that will accommodate your rig, even if larger sites are available. This time around we were placed on site 3, which accommodated our 26' travel trailer well enough, but required creative parking in order to fit my truck on the site as well. We wound up having to squeeze the truck in along the front edge of the trailer and at the very edge of the woods, which didn't leave us any room to walk around the entire truck. I saw other campers park their tow vehicles perpendicularly at the rear of their sites. The sewer pipe is the non-threaded type, so you will need either a rubber sewer hose seal, or use some of the plentiful rocks to weigh down the fitting end. Also, the sewer hose is mid-site, and my RV drain is at the rear of my rig, and this particular site is un-level enough that my sewer hose had to run uphill from my camper to the pipe. I remedied this by placing more rocks under my sewer hose support to get the hose more level, but I still had to manually lift the hose along its length as I was emptying the tanks. There is no cable TV here. Our antenna didn't pick up any channels, and we had very weak cellular service (although there is a pay phone by the office!). Wi-Fi is available only in close proximity to the office, and the network is password protected. The rate chart says that only the first hour is free, but the owner told us that the policy is in place just to keep kids from hogging all the bandwidth, and that he wouldn't charge us if we went over an hour (we wound up not using it anyway). Speaking of kids, there is very little for them to do here... except to actually, you know, CAMP. The "playground" is very small, and the game room houses only a pool table and an air hockey table. But there is a nice trail that you can use to hike to Leonard Harrison State Park and the edge of the "Grand Canyon" which we love taking our dogs on (takes us about 15-20 minutes). We didn't use the bathrooms or showers, but I did check them out and they looked very clean. There is also a laundry and dish washing station available. This is our go-to place when we visit the area, and we look forward to returning.
Date of Stay: September, 2010
We stayed here only two nights as we were passing through New Hampshire, stopping only because we wanted to hike Mount Washington. We had a hard time finding a campground because it was a holiday weekend (Labor Day) and most campgrounds in the area either didn't allow dogs or required a minimum 3 night stay for the holiday. Fortunately, Apple Hill had no problem getting us in. This campground was cheap, which suited our purpose of just being a quick stop-over, but the sites are not very wide and so there isn't much privacy between trailers and positioning can be a little tricky to be able to open your slides and awning. Some of the other campgrounds that we passed by in the area seemed to have trailers much more tightly packed-in. Interior roads are rough in spots and tight, with some big rocks and other obstacles to be careful of, making maneuvering a little tricky, but manageable. The gentleman who checked us in, was very friendly and helpful, pointing out several local dining and shopping options, and also a trail to hike to hike up Mount Washington that was closer than the one we planned on hiking. I don't think they advertise having internet access, but when we asked we were pleasantly surprised to find out that they did indeed have a WiFi network that we were able to access from our site for free. So the sites were somewhat crowded, but the price and service were great, and it was in a location convenient for what we wanted. We would stay here again.
Date of Stay: September, 2010
We stayed her for five nights. Campground caters to adults, and most guests seemed to be retirees. Sites are spacious and level, and access is easy. The sites are on grass, so there is little dirt and gravel to track indoors, but there are grass clippings to deal with when the grass is mowed. Outdoor carpets are not allowed so as not to harm the grass. Our site had an amazing view of Lake Champlain. Staff escorts you to your site to ensure that you get maneuvered in OK, and both they are exceptionally friendly and helpful, although they are always so busy it was sometimes hard to find them around. No Internet or CATV, although we managed to receive a few English speaking stations with our antenna and a few more in French. They charge extra if you plan to use your AC (we didn't need it), and they ask that you don't use electric heaters, reasonable requests given the high cost of electricity, I suppose. The campground is like a small community of friendly mature adults; on the Saturday night we were there we were invited to bring a dish to share to a potluck dinner, even though we weren't well known to the regulars. And a large group usually headed down to watch the sunset together on the lake's edge most evenings. There is a small beach area (stone, not sand) with a pier for swimming or launching a canoe or kayak. The campground is within a two hour drive to Montreal (maybe less if you can make it through the border crossing quickly and there's not much traffic). If we were to return to this area of Vermont we would definitely stay here again.
Date of Stay: August, 2010
This review is pretty useless at this point, because the owners are retiring after this season, which is almost already over. The campground is quaint and rustic, the grounds very clean and the owners pleasant enough. The campground sits on a lake (Toddy Pond) and the owners have some small canoes and a rowboat that you can use for free (no oars for the rowboat, though, and only one canoe paddle). If you bring your own boat you will need a special sticker from the town of Orland ($20), and the fishing licenses are expensive for out-of-towners. The location is convenient, about 50 minutes from Bangor and Bar Harbor/Acadia National Park, only a few miles to Bucksport, and about 15 minutes from Fort Knox and the Penobscot Bridge Observatory. We rode our motorcycle up Coastal Route 1 from here for a nice day trip including Machias and the lighthouse at Lubec, with many more sites to see along the way. Detracting from the campground is its proximity to Route 1 and the constant drone of traffic, no WiFi or CATV if you care about such things, and worst of all only 20 amp service, meaning no running of air conditioners in RVs. Maybe that's not normally a big deal in Maine, but we happened to visit when the temperatures set records for heat, making for some very uncomfortable nights. Also, the owner commented about me walking around with an open bottle of beer, mumbling something about state laws. I didn't know state laws applied to private property. The owners sell firewood, but no other camping supplies at all. Not even ice, although I was offered a handful for free. We don't have kids going with us, so it's hard for us to judge, but there seems to be absolutely nothing for kids to do, so I would think this is not a family oriented campground. In fact, most of the campers were older couples. They do allow dogs, however, even though we were yelled at for our dogs barking during one of our daily excursions (in noisy campgrounds with closely spaced sites such as this one we normally leave all our windows closed with the AC running so our dogs are isolated, but again, only 20amp service. Our dogs don't bark unless provoked and we returned to find people on our site.) In all of the years camping with our dogs, this is the FIRST time we ever had a problem. Several days there was a pronounced sewer smell in our fresh water, even though we always run our water through 2 filters. And finally, they only accept cash or checks, if that matters to you. So, the location was pretty good, the price was reasonable, even without Internet or cable, BUT not being able to use our AC was a deal breaker for us. We would not return (if they were to still exist after this season) unless they made some MAJOR upgrades.
Date of Stay: July, 2010
We have stayed in this campground twice, and both times has been pleasant. The price is reasonable, and even better with the Good Sam discount. The office staff is hit or miss: some of the younger ones seem like they can't be bothered, but others are very helpful. One of the maintenance men was exceedingly helpful and even offered us a ride back to our camper after we bought some ice at the office. There are a lot of seasonals at the lower end of the campground, keeping pretty much to themselves. We don't swim, but the pool looked okay. The game room wasn't much to look at. It can be a little difficult maneuvering larger rigs, but manageable with caution. Our site was perfectly level and spotless. It seems that they clean the sites and rake the gravel almost immediately upon someone's departure. Trash is picked up right at your site. There is a mobile RV repairman that makes the rounds to the local campgrounds, which is a plus if you have an issue with your rig. The campground is close to many Lake George attractions. There aren't a whole lot of amenities, but if you're looking for a quiet place, close to everything and reasonably priced, this is the one for you. We had also looked at Lake George Escape, which provides more (especially for kids) but would have been almost double the price. Pet friendly, and wireless internet available near the office.
Date of Stay: July, 2010
Very rustic and quiet, and on a creek. But the interior roads are very rough with many "potholes." Almost all of the gravel on the roads and on the campsites has disappeared over the years, leaving the place a muddy mess the days we were here (our stay happened to be during a wet spell). Exacerbating the problem, is the fact that the tree cover is so thick that nothing can ever dry out. It seems that this campground had been maintained well at one time, but now it is need of some serious TLC. Navigating through the trees and low-lying limbs was a bit of a chore even in our small RV. We were to spend a weekend here with my brother, but they wouldn't honor my brother's reservation, because they wanted to leave his site available in case the previous camper wanted to extend their stay (?!). My brother wound up staying at a B&B in town, but then they wouldn't let him and his wife visit us at our site unless they each paid a $10 visitor's fee! They explained that they instituted this policy because they were tired of people bringing their entire families with them to use their pool for free. I can understand their position on not wanting non-paying guests to use the pool, but I don't swim, so I shouldn't have to subsidize other campers who DO wish to use the pool. Why not institute a pool fee instead, to be fair to all? Has ridiculous rules, like the $10 per inch fine for using any standing dead wood?! Playgrounds are a joke, consisting of a few swings and some huge tires painted and sunk into the ground. Woman in office (owner?) not very pleasant. You have to pay for a shower. Internet available only near the office. In essence, this campground is only marginally better than a state park, at double the cost. I guess we've been spoiled by the many great campgrounds available in other locales in the same $50 price range. We will not return.
Date of Stay: September, 2009
My wife and I love this campground – this was our second visit with our fifth wheel. Upon arriving you use one of their golf carts to ride around the campground to find an empty site that you like. Check-in was fast and easy. The office staff and owners are exceedingly pleasant and sincerely interested in you having an enjoyable stay. The entrance and some of the interior roads may be a little tricky to navigate with big rigs, but there were plenty there. All the sites are back-ins. The roads are well paved, and the sites have concrete pads and beautiful lush landscaping. The sites are actually privately owned and when the owner is not using them they are rented out. Some owners add their own personal touches to their sites, such as water features, paver patios, chimeneas, lighting, outdoor tables, etc. We paid $49 for our interior site; waterfront sites are $10 more but you do not get to use the private docks. There is a restaurant, small gym, laundry, and two pools on the grounds. The pools look like they don't see much use and they are slightly dated and not quite as well maintained as the rest of the campground. There is free cable TV and a WiFi hotspot located near the office (we were unable to connect from our site). There is a dock for fishing, but you need to buy a license. The campground is located close to many of Hilton Head's attractions and many excellent restaurants. All the residents/guests were very friendly. We will definitely return here every year and we hope to purchase our own site someday.
Date of Stay: September, 2009
We usually stop here on our way back to Pennsylvania after a stay in Hilton Head or Florida because of its proximity to 95. The sites are large and level with gravel pads (the small gravel tends to track into our fifth wheel very easily). The roads are very easy to maneuver and after a quick check-in the owner escorts you to your site on her bicycle. The campground is exceptionally clean (we didn't use the bathrooms or showers). There is free Wi-Fi with good signal strength at the site we had (B5), but no cable TV (although we got a good number of channels with our antenna). The lake is pretty but watch out for droppings left by the geese if you walk along the edge. There isn't a pool, but I think most people are just traveling though anyway and wouldn't have time to use it. There is an RV/car wash which is a nice touch. For the price this campground represents an excellent value. The only problem we have is the constant drone of cars and big rigs from nearby 95, and an occasional passing train, but we will still continue to camp here because of all the great features.
Date of Stay: September, 2009
This is one of the cleanest campgrounds we have ever visited, but a little pricey. The restrooms, pool area, and laundry room were spotless. Hard to keep the dust down on the roads. On weekends kids are allowed to run wild, kicking up more dust with bicycles and rented carts. The adult hours for the pool was a nice touch. It was a little difficult to position our 5th Wheel in our site and still be able to reach the sewer and open both our slide-out and awning due to the proximity of a large tree. A little pricey for a mature couple such as my wife and I; for the price I would expect cable TV and free Wi-Fi, although I can see how a campground like this with all the amenities for kids would be a good value for families. "Smitty" was awesome; he worked non-stop keeping the grounds perfectly maintained and was also a great source of information. Elmer's mobile produce cart was an added bonus! Overall a good experience, but definitely more suited for families with kids than a couple wanting a quiet camping experience. We would stay here again during the week, but not on weekends or during summer vacation when there are too many kids for our taste.