Date of Stay: August, 2010
Not a bad park. Would stay again. Front desk staff was helpful. Unable to get internet in our loop. Campsites were very crowded, neighbors were very friendly. Would have loved a more private site and more trees. No open fires allowed, city wide rule. Handy location next to HWY 1/Trans Canada. A little tricky to get into coming from the East, however plenty of signposts to show the way after exiting the highway. Did not use the lounge, store or laundry.
Date of Stay: July, 2010
Nice location. Stayed in D loop with a bison nearby, elk visited that night. No bears. Back in sites very small. We had a pull through site, small loop adjacent to the road, difficult to keep all wheels on the paved site. Other sites were no more than a widening of the road, similar to a pullout. Pretty level front to back, had to use blocks side to side. No shade at our site, but a few sites did have shade. Picnic table and fire ring. Heavy summer use, highly recommend reservations.
Date of Stay: July, 2010
Quite amazing this campground is in business. A for sale sign out the front - possible for the cabins or perhaps the whole campground. Owner was extremely rude, very upset about a tent on the grass. Wanted it moved immediately, stood there to see if we did move it. We in fact moved it, out of his park, and our whole party as well. Were going to stay for 2 nights in Virginia City, left after only one due to this owner. Called the Chamber to let them know how 2 big families left the town after only one night stay. No response from Chamber. Would never stay again, too strict, too rude and quite frankly, felt this owner would resort to violence to get his way. Virginia City however was pretty good, for 1-2 day visit. Easy to do the town in an afternoon and just keep on travelling. Don't even think of camping here. Looked like a nice KOA just 20 minutes west in Alder. Wi-Fi worked intermittently due to power failures. Water hook ups had a short thread, difficult to get a good seal. Bathrooms under construction. Nothing remarkable about this RV park. Hope some one else buys this place, it is in a convenient location. Beware if you do stay and lock your doors.
Date of Stay: June, 2010
We enjoyed this park. A great location overlooking St Mary's. A little aged, rustic you might say. We camped in a pull behind, stayed in the back of the park where most of the tents were. Able to find a level spot, used water and electric. Nice shaded spot, however still very windy: St Mary's is often quite windy. Bathrooms were nearby, quite clean, maintenance crew each morning. Quiet and non crowded where we camped. Mostly full in the front of the park. Reservations recommended for the full service sites. Did not try the restaurant. Will be staying again.