223426 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Gulf Shores, Alabama (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.59 miles N
10.07 miles E
12.76 miles NE
14.15 miles N
16.95 miles NE
18.11 miles NW
18.12 miles N
22.12 miles NE
23.81 miles NE
24.72 miles W
29.43 miles NW
35.01 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Alabama'S Gulf Coast
1.33 miles SW
Kirk Kirkland'S Hitchin
1.74 miles NE
Super Wal-Mart
170 Fort Morgan Rd
1.76 miles SE
Boudanz
2.05 miles SE
Gulf Coast Rv
(251)968-6494
2.22 miles NW
Mikee'S Seafood
2.44 miles SE
Sea-N-Suds
2.81 miles SE
Sun Runners Rv
(251)955-5257
3.78 miles NE
Bay Breeze
4.78 miles SW
Keller Road Rv
(251)955-6260
4.91 miles NE
Romar House Bed & Brea
5.81 miles E
Hazel'S Family Restauran
6.57 miles E
Super Wal-Mart
2200 S Mckenzie St
7.56 miles NE
Zeke'S Landing
8.08 miles E
Magnolia Springs Rv
(251)965-6777
8.24 miles NW
Perdido Pass
9.11 miles E
Wolf Bay Plantation
9.13 miles NE
Gift Horse
9.28 miles NE
"Elks - E,W,D"
9.35 miles NE
Perdido Key State Recrea
12.79 miles E
Lazy Acres Rv Park
(877)986-5266
14.34 miles NE
Alabama
Gulf Shores
Most Recently Reviewed
Gulf State Park Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-13 14:41:38
11 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   10   10   8   9   10   10   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$46
It was a beautiful park. We were within feet of the water. There were chairs on the sand and chairs on the deck by the water for everyone to use. The staff were great and very helpful in getting us backed in and set up. We had a great 5 nights. There was lots of shade and the park was very quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
Great place to stay, very friendly management and campers. They assist you in backing in, and they are very good at it, too. Clean restrooms, although there's only one men's and one women's for the entire park. Laundry facilities are good; decent price and excellent machines. Access to the beach is readily available for all. Sites are close together, but roomy enough. Each site has a concrete pad with an excellent picnic table. Full hook ups in a good location. Only problem we had were the bugs. The park can't do anything about those darn yellow flies. I hope we can return and stay with them again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$43
This is a small, narrow, tree lined park that fronts on Mobile Bay. Park roads are gravel. All sites are gravel with a concrete patio with picnic table. There are no campfire rings. Water, cable, electricity and sewer are appropriately located on the left side of the trailer. I appreciated the careful attention of the park manager and the assistance I received in getting parked, including help with leveling. Sites are close together but adequate. Residents like to get together and are friendly. Verizon 4G cell coverage was good. WiFi quality was good, but slowed down significantly during peak times. We found plenty of broadcast channels with my antenna pointed towards Mobile. I use the Android TV Listing app and set it to zip code 36603. Because this campground is located on a peninsula there is minimal road noise. You can actually hear the sound of waves hitting the shore at night. Our rate was for a bayside site (not a bayfront site, though we could see the water from our kitchen table.) They only accept cash or checks. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Bay Breeze RV On The Bay
Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   9   9   8   8   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$32
Nice out of the way park so it's quiet. We'll kept and tidy. Seems to be mostly full-timers. Arrived after the office had closed and they left a note for me with my pad number. Pads are mostly sand with a little grass and of a generous size. Would like more grass or gravel but it's a nice park and I'd stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
We ended up here after Gulf State Park was full, even in early March. Doc's turned out to be a pleasant surprise! Good location for attractions. Level, roomy, gravel, back-in sites; quiet country setting with plenty of green space. Large grassy area with lights around the perimeter - great for walking my dogs. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$30
We really did love this park, a lot of friendly people and manager. It is about a three mile drive to the beach. Will be sure to stay here again for the winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Doc's RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   9   4   5   8   4   8   8   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  no  question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  no  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$19
Very basic park so don't expect a lot of amenities. One of the few places in Gulf Shores where you can park directly on Mobile Bay with 7 sites. Perfect for 5th wheel with rear living. I have stayed here for 3 consecutive years for 30 days in a Class A. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$49
Friendly staff. Great trees and located right on Mobile Bay. Sunsets are amazing. Lots of waterbirds to watch and we even saw dolphins twice. We stayed a week at a waterfront site. Downside is the roads need work and are narrow. We could never pick up a Wi-Fi signal at our site and the cable was unwatchable. They did come and try to fix the cable but it just didn't work. I don't like paying for a service that I'm not receiving. The explanation given was the stormy weather but we were there an entire week! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$39
A laid back park with plenty of trees, gravel roads and pads. Friendly staff and guests. Sites are not jammed together. They just completed the new bath house, complete with 'craft room' and FREE laundry. Nice hiking trails and beaches just a mile or so down the road at the Bon Secour NWR. If you need heated pools, hot tubs, and 'planned' activities, not for you. If you want to put your feet up, relax, maybe do a little fishing and meet some nice folks you will like this park. It's our kind of place. Our stay this year will total 3 months. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Fort Morgan RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
267
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   9   8   9   10   8   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
Nice quiet campground, located near shopping, restaurants , movies and 4 miles to public beach. RV sites have grills and picnic tables. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2013
$16
Rate reflects a the monthly rate. This campground is very cliquey. If you are an outsider, you are treated differently. For Example: They made me move my tow dolly because it was partially parked on some grass. I really don't mind this rule, but I DO mind when I'm the only on who has to follow it. As I was bringing my dolly to storage, I noticed 8 entire cars parked on the grass. Remember, its cliquey...different rules for outsiders. There are plenty of other RV parks to choose from and if you have a RV longer than 36ft, you'd be well advised to go elsewhere. Roads are tiny. The streets are so skinny that two RVs probably couldn't pass one another if going opposite ways down any of the roads. This RV park sure does the absolute minimum for there guests. Enjoy your 700 yard walk to the only one location to bring your garbage. Shorter walk if your lucky to get a spot on the NW part of the property. Site RV pad is only 9ft wide and roads are only 19ft wide. Offensively high speed bumps with chunks on concrete taken out of them. The concrete patio was set way back so we got to enjoy tracking wet grass, wet leaves, and wet yard refuse into our rig. Stepping out right on the constantly wet grass. Luckily our time there is over and done. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
Husband and I stayed here late October, early November. This is a large park that appears to have many "snowbirds" stay in the winter; however, there were still some nice sites to choose from. Yes, there are speed bumps but they did not bother us and are a good deterrent for speeding. The grounds were well maintained, as were the buildings on site. What impressed us was the space between each site and the sites behind each site were offset to give a roomier feel. Our back-in site was very deep, which gave us ample room to park our tow truck. The pads were concrete with an extension on the side for the picnic table. Three bathhouses with laundry facilities which were neat and clean. We did not use the clubhouse, hot tub or pools. The park upgraded their TV cable and although the numbering system was a little confusing, it worked great. The Wi-Fi was good, although in the evening it seemed a little slow. Overall, a great stay. We hope to be back in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Gulf Breeze RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   4   2   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
We came expecting to receive Passport America 50% discount as advertised on the PA site and the campground's own website. Their normal rate is $22, plus they charge you $2 for cable, all plus tax. We were charged $15 which after I went away and thought about it, didn't add up. They stated that the "free" wifi was included with the $2 cable charge, so if you don't want cable (we didn't), you couldn't have the wifi, which we need. That's sneaky, and sharp practice in my opinion. I questioned the rate we'd been charged with the owner (Tom) and he stated "Oh, it's the lodging tax. We have a real high tax rate here. In fact, it should be $15.07 but we round it down to $15". So after working that out, it came to 16.34% tax on the $11 + $2 rate. I called the Depts of Revenues in Alabama State, Baldwin County and Gulf Shores City to check the facts. There is no lodging tax, but there is normal sales tax. The tax rates are:- a) 4% state b) 3% county c) 2.5% city Total: 9.5%, which applied to $13 comes to $14.23. I then politely put these points to Tom, whose response was to go very red and shout over & over again, "Don't you worry about the taxes" before walking off. Anecdotal evidence from other residents suggested that this was normal practice at this site, especially for folks from out the area. As the owner refused to discuss my questions with me, I cannot therefore verify the position with how they apply tax. I can only post tax rate information as supplied to me by the authorities and the amounts charged by the site, which do not add up. I have however reported the matter to the three relevant departments and am content to leave it with them. They only accept cash, and we were only issued with a handwritten yellow piece of paper without any address or other issuer's information on it. It simply showed the dates of stay and a total - no breakdown. The site is run down and not welcoming in any way, although our neighbors were nice. There is no way we would ever stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2012
$14
This place is a wreck. There is no swimming pool, sites and roads are NOT paved. I called to reserve and said we had a 40 ft rig with tow. We barely fit in the park roads and there was only 1 spot we could get into. They had to move a small RV that was in the space. We were having mail sent here so we had to stay. Having said all of this, the owners are nice and helpful. But that is not a reason to stay here!! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$11
Some of the comments on the below posts are correct. Put the park is clean with a lot of trailers stored here. The rec room was clean as was the laundry. The site was large enough for our 40 foot fiver and tow vehicle to park. Electric was very good. The rate we paid is based on Passport America rates. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Gulf Coast RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
496
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   9   9   10   8   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2014
$33
What's not to like? Efficient, courteous check in, beautiful beach and pool, plentiful clean restrooms, great bike trails, large sites of all kinds. We already booked two weeks next year. That should tell you something. One of our favorite campgrounds the past 5 months of almost continuous camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
This place is huge and busy. Luxury camping – swimming pool, tennis courts, beach – even golf. Have to drive to the beach but campers have free access to the day use beach area with boardwalk to the beach, outdoor shower spot, and concession stand with covered tables. Wifi was great one day and couldn’t connect the next – so I won’t rely on it. We never could connect at our campsite – had to go to the camp store area – that was the only time we were able to connect. Very convenient location to town and beach. Glad to see that they are starting a program to eradicate the tallow trees – it will eliminate some of the minimal shade available at the camping spots but will be great for the ecosystem in the long run. Not much shade, but some sites do have it. But since you can’t reserve a specific site you take what’s available. Many of the sites don’t have much shrubs screening them from other sites. But many small trees have been planted so in a few years there’ll be more shade and privacy. One tip: if you plan to eat at a popular restaurant in town - go during or right after lunch. Dinner and peak lunch time is really crowded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
Very well maintained site. Pads are well spaced. We stayed on the lake and had beautiful sunsets every evening and great sunrise every morning looking across the lake to the south. Maybe a mile or so to the beautiful beaches of Gulf Shores. Great gift shop, swimming pool with water park, quite for having so many kids around, Don't know about the internet service but the Satellite reception was great. Would definitely stay there again, in fact I can't wait to get back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Gulf State Park Campground
Camp Information
Sites
153
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   3   5   1   2   5   5   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2014
$32
Rate reflects Good Sam discount. This is a pretty nice park with a few drawbacks. The location is good, with only a short drive to many activities. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Park roads are paved and sites are in good condition, with easy access to hookups. Several sites have shade, which is a big plus in the summer heat. Cable TV only consists of about 20 channels and most were snowy, but watchable. Internet was weak and pretty unreliable at our site. Maintenance guy had a German Shepard tied outside that barked frequently and lurched menacingly toward us whenever we walked by on the street. Some long term campers looked junked up around them. I'd stay here again but I might just check around for something better next time. Maybe that big dog will be gone by then. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
We almost didn't come because of the most recent ratings. This is a pretty good park. The office staff was very helpful and accommodating. Everything you need (Walmart, beach, restaurants) are within 2 miles. The showers/restrooms were kept clean. It is easy access and the sites are adequate. There are some FEMA trailers, but the vast majority are family campers. The park seemed to be very safe. The WiFi was good and the cable had enough channels to keep us entertained! Some of the slabs are cracked (like my driveway), but they all appear to be level. Water pressure and electricity were good. Overall, this is a good campground and I wouldn't have and concerns about recommending it. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
This park is not being maintained and rules are not enforced. The maintenance man has two ratty trucks parked in the grass along side of his boat. His dog is tied up to the boat with no one outside. Many campsites look trashy. People have freezers, refrigerators, couches, multiple tents, shelving, and other home items outside of their units. They have pet areas but they are full with boats and trailers. Filthy old units look as if they have been abandoned. It is a shame that better care is not given to this park. The location is great and many nice people come for the summer. The pool area is nice. This could be a 7-8 if the rules they state in their brochure were enforced. Great potential but for now I cannot recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Island Retreat RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
A nice laid-back, quiet park with only 40 total sites. The owners are super nice and what a great "retreat" it is, you're close enough to Gulf Shores and lots of restaurants. You're not paying for a pool, but there are two large ponds. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$23
Over all a nice park. The interior roads are gravel but good. The RV site we had was concrete but there were others that were just gravel. The Internet access was weak but work basically OK. The site are wide with lots of room on either side. There are two small lakes or two large ponds which whichever term one wants to use and they are stocked with bass so one can fish. We were told no license was required by the owners. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
87
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   8   8   8   9   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$36
Nice level concrete sites. All back-in sites. Restrooms and showers are dated, but kept very clean. Good cable TV, Wi-Fi weak at our site. Close to shopping and the beach. E-Z check in. Staff friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
The first thing that comes to mind is the misuse of the word "Luxury". This is NO Luxury RV Resort, although in all fairness the campground was clean, had good roadways and nice concrete pads, all utilities were excellent and friendly people. No shade trees just a lot of concrete. The bathrooms and showers were cleaned but not very well. The shower stall did NOT have a hook, bench or anything to put towel and clothes on, only the floor!! Yet a sign was posted on the wall with instructions on how we should clean the hair out of the drain before leaving! I thought that was a lot of nerve for a place that calls themselves "Luxury" and the bathroom/showers never properly cleaned to begin with. Only stayed one night, found a much nicer place to be. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
Good park. Not very good Wi-Fi on the very end of the park. Clean bathhouses, but not much shade. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Luxury RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
126
Date of Stay
July 2010
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
This place is low end. Stayed there only overnight before we packed it and found another campground. Small sites, poor connections, and a pot bellied pig that roams. Will not ever use this place again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
Easy off highway, right on the Intercoastal Waterway. It was neat watching the barges go up and down the canal. Lulu's (Jimmy Buffet's sister) Restaurant/Marina on other side of overhead bridge. Wal-mart 1/2 mile; Gulf of Mexico about 1 1/2 miles. Close to great restaurants, shopping, waterpark, Gulf. 9 miles to hospital. 3/4 mile to Urgent Care Center. Yes, the Route 59 bridge goes right over the edge of the campground but eventually you don't even notice it and when you're in your camper, you don't hear it at all. Unfortunately, the tent sites are right next to it but they are under the trees so I don't know how loud the traffic is there. Nothing special about this campground (no pool, no playground) except for proximity to dining, restaurants, and the town of Gulf Shores while still seeming to be "in the country". Restrooms dated but clean. Laundry good. Mostly seasonals but everyone friendly. We will stay here next year when we come to Gulf Shores and would recommend this park to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   2   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$15
Rate is for Passport America. A no frills park. We were just here overnight and did not even hook up to water due to predicted freezing temperatures. Restrooms & showers dated, but clean. Close to an outlet mall and the beach. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
They were nice. It's clean. Close to shopping, beach, church. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
We stayed there around the 4th of July and this campground was not equipped for the volume of a holiday. We had 2 dogs in our camper when we were gone 6-7 hours at a time with the air conditioning running. We came back and the lady had shut off our power and our dogs were in our camper panting and it was 100 + degrees in there. She said if she saw someone not there, she had to shut their power off because her breaker kept tripping. So my recommendation is if you are going to stay there, make sure it is not around a holiday. Also there was no soap in the restrooms so we had to bring our own to wash our hands. There was also a sign reading, "Toilet paper is for the pleasure of all guests. If you need more pleasure, buy it, keep it home, leave mine alone." What in the world was that supposed to mean? We still haven't figured that one out yet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Sun Runners RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com