206928 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Pelham, Alabama (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
0.96 miles SW
7.35 miles N
11.86 miles NW
12.41 miles SE
18.40 miles SW
19.73 miles SW
23.52 miles NW
23.65 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Super Wal-Mart
I-65 Exit 246
2181 Pelham Pky
1.76 miles NE
Oak Mountain State Park
2.91 miles NE
Wal-Mart
3500 Pelham Pky
3.22 miles S
Sams Club?I-459:13 3053 John Hawkins Pky (Located To Block)
4.10 miles N
Meadow Lark Restaurant
4.16 miles SW
Grady'S American Grill
4.21 miles N
Winston'S - Birmingham
4.37 miles N
Wal-Mart
1855 Montgomery Hwy
4.73 miles N
Riverchase Galleria Shop
5.27 miles N
Formosa Chinese Restauran
5.31 miles N
Super Wal-Mart
I-65 Exit 255
209 Lakeshore Pky
9.07 miles N
Sams Club 201 Lakeshore Pky (Located To Block)
9.07 miles N
Salvatore'S Italian Res
9.46 miles N
Connie Kanakis' Cafe
9.60 miles NE
Golden City Chinese Rest
9.70 miles NE
Wal-Mart
5291 Hwy 280 S
9.74 miles NE
Bessemer Civic Center
10.04 miles NW
Samford University
10.23 miles N
Super Wal-Mart
I-59 Exit 108
750 Academy Dr
10.36 miles NW
Bright Star
10.38 miles NW
Bob Sykes Bar-B-Que
10.87 miles NW
Birmingham Zoo
11.79 miles N
Southeastern Bible Colleg
11.84 miles N
Wal-Mart
7100 Aaron Aronov Rd
12.13 miles NW
Arman's
12.42 miles N
Burton Campers, Inc
12.51 miles SE
Cobb Lane
12.56 miles N
Super Wal-Mart
5100 Hwy 31
12.79 miles SE
Arlington Antebellum Home
12.93 miles N
Alabama State Fairground
13.18 miles NW
University Of Alabama At
13.21 miles N
Michael'S Sirloin Room
13.33 miles N
Legion Field
13.55 miles N
Bombay Cafe
13.55 miles N
Bogue'S Restaurant
13.57 miles N
Romeo's
13.70 miles N
Birmingham Civil Rights
13.81 miles N
La Paree
13.98 miles N
Miles College
14.02 miles NW
Birmingham-Southern Coll
14.05 miles NW
Boutwell Municipal Audito
14.18 miles N
Birmingham Museum Of Art
14.22 miles N
Christian'S Classic Cui
14.48 miles N
Birmingham-Jefferson Conv
14.74 miles N
Rv Repair & Sales 15 2 0
15.56 miles NW
Alabama
Pelham
Most Recently Reviewed
Birmingham South Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-04 23:25:32
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Pelham, Alabama
Camp Information
Sites
114
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   6   6   7   6   8   7   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$45
This campground is a pretty good stop for an overnight stay. There is easy access from the highway. It's a former KOA. Some sites have broken pads and leveling was a bit tricky. Owners were friendly and helpful. We will stay again for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$44
It's a site that's convenient to Birmingham. Overall a pretty good site, but the detractors included poor asphalt and non-level sites. Drainage is poor; there had been significant rain and quite a few sites were flooded (we were assigned a site high up enough to not be affected). Cable was very poor quality; antenna reception was marginal due to nearby hills. Noisy due to a nearby train and many workers departing in trucks to work early in the morning. Not a bad campsite, but the amenities do not support the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$42
We have stayed at Birmingham South several times as an overnight stop for one night. Good location for restaurants, fuel, etc. The restrooms and shower facilities are the cleanest you will ever see in a commercial RV park. The Wi-Fi works very well. There are several full time residents here. The cable television hasn't worked the last three times we stopped here. Several of the sites are not level. The asphalt is breaking up a lot on many sites and the concrete walk in front of each site is also in bad shape on many of the sites. For $42.00 per night for 50AMP is a little more than I want to pay until they work on the cable and sites. Will probably stay a little further down the road for a lot less. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Birmingham South Campground
Camp Information
Sites
155
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   3   10   8   7   8   9   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$23
This is a huge park with nearly 10,000 acres close to Birmingham but you'd never know you are near a big city. There's a lake, a golf course, RV camping, day use facilities, etc. The setting is beautiful and peaceful. The A-area sites are large and private. Satellite TV is possible from some sites. The Verizon 4G signal was adequate. The campground is a 5-mile drive from the main park entrance but the road is wide and well-paved. All the campground roads and sites are paved. There is a small general store at the campground entrance so you don't have to go back out in order to buy milk or eggs. Some pull-through sites are a bit odd in that your door ends up being on the street side away from your wooded area, but we didn't think think was a problem and we were invited to pull in the other way if we wanted to. There is a 15% senior discount during the week which, in addition to lower weekday rates, made this into a delightful bargain. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
What a beautiful park! The campground in this park is a bit difficult to find and about 5 miles from the entrance gate, but what a pretty drive through the grounds. There is a lake close by the campground, but didn't have time to drive to there. We spent one night on our travels through the area and found the park quiet and very pretty. The layout is quite different, but there is ample space between sites, It is nice for privacy and maneuvering. The big "downside" was the toilet/bath facility. It's definitely past due for an upgrade or fixing up. I'd love to stop here again when I have time to hike, bike, fish, golf, etc. Very nice! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30+
Sites were paved and nice and level. Park staff was the greatest. Showers/baths/laundry facilities were really in desperate need of updating. Really a scenic park and loved the people we met, facilities are my only complaint! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Oak Mountain State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com