206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Chicken, Alaska (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Original Chicken Gold Camp Approx
0.12 miles SW
Alaska
Chicken
Most Recently Reviewed
Walker Fork Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-08-30 20:50:59
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Chicken, Alaska
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   9   8   5   10   9   7   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$10
Great, fun place. Dry camped in a 40' RV on our way home after a one month stay in Alaska. Park was sold out so we were fortunate to find a dry site. One must always remember that you are in the middle of nowhere so finding a place like this with a few comforts is a real treat. Food and wine on the outdoor deck was very good. Staff was great. Gift shop as well. Drove on to Dawson on the 100 mile dirt road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
Ok folks - they've done well in making a go of putting an RV park in the middle of nowhere. Yes, the upper lot is 20 amp electric-only (diesel genset, by the way), there is no black water dump, and all water is hauled in from a well a ways down the road. Showers are pay-per-use. Spaces are OK level - and gravel - and there are seemed to be either long-term amateur miners or caravan-ers in the park. We stayed only one night, but it was pleasant - beer at the saloon, supper at the RV Park kitchen, and a nice tour of "Tish's" school/home the next day (read the book). Considering what it must cost in O&M for the park, we're not griping about the cost for plugging in - it would have cost that much in gas for our genset had we dry-camped. A tour of the dredge just outside the office is kind of spendy - if you're coming through Dawson City, find "Dredge 4" instead - it's WAY bigger. If we come back to chicken, we'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$7
Best choice in the town of Chicken. It is a rustic campground with a lot of history and gold mining equipment. Best gift shop in Chicken also has food and ice cream. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Rate reflects dry camping in caravan pull thru's next to Gold Dredge. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Chicken Gold Camp and Outpost
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   3   6   6   4   6   7   1   2   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  no  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
Big gravel spaces. No water, no sewer, no wi-fi, no cable. Expensive for what you get, but the other park in Chicken is the same. If you're going over the Top of the World Highway, leave early in the morning because the border doesn't open until 8:00 and there will be no oncoming traffic on the American side. The Canadian side is paved and easier to drive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$26
The nightly rate is Good Sam discount applied to an electric site. Worth the price? No. We were in town a night before the "Chickenstock" bluegrass festival. They sell gasoline and have a dump station. They gave a 10% discount on a campsite with fuel or Good Sam. Their price was $4.99, competition in town was at $4.49. Do the math, don't buy fuel from them. No potable water was on site during our stay. Would we stay again? NO. Won't drive the Top of the World Highway again either. I can't think of a better way to destroy your RV at 10-15 MPH. The speed limit is 50 MPH. The highway is nothing more than a bunch of hype to line the pockets of the businesses at end of the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Great overnight stop. Get there early because you want to have time to see the sights. This is a large property with fuel, gift shop, general store and café. Sites are all dirt with both pull-through and back-in sites. No water, no sewer and no dump. It is electric only so come prepared. Wi-Fi works only around the office. What makes this place fun is the town of Chicken right up the hill within walking distance. Downtown Chicken is made up of 3 buildings. A store, saloon, and café. Great gift store and good food at the café. You can tour a gold dredge and pan for gold at the creek right next to the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Goldpanner / Chicken Creek RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
18
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$5
Rate was half price with senior access pass. A BLM campground with no services beyond pit toilets. It was a pretty campground with nice, level sites, but only two seemed big enough for our 36 ft class A. It was on the "40 Mile River" but we could not see it for the dense vegetation. The mosquitoes in early June were almost as dense as the vegetation; we stayed inside mostly. But after coming across the scary, dusty, rough Top of the World highway from Dawson, it was a welcome relief. We had thought we would make it to Chicken, but enough was enough, and this was a good stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$5
Rate is for a no hookup, pull through site with 50% Senior Pass discount for this BLM campground. Have both pull through and back in sites. Can accommodate big rigs, we fit with no problem. Roads are narrow, gravel/dirt, but sites are wide. Pit toilets and potable water are available, and the long time hosts, ten years and running, are a joy. Even gave us tips on collecting wild mushrooms. After a hard drive over the Top of the World and Taylor Highways, this is a welcome respite. Fire pits and free fire wood add to the pleasure. While not everyone's cup of tea, especially if you require hookups, this is one of those special places for those that enjoy the simple things. Yes, the entrance road is potholed, and the mosquitoes can be bad, but it is a great first taste of Alaska if you are coming from Dawson. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com