223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Copper Center, Alaska (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Alaska Bible College
13.20 miles NW
Alaska
Copper Center
Most Recently Reviewed
Squirrel Creek State Recreation Area
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-15 21:40:20
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Copper Center, Alaska
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   6   6   5   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
I cannot add much to previous reviews except that the staff was quite friendly and helpful. The "parking lot" aspect was no problem because there was hardly anybody there. We got the Wi-Fi well. We had (and needed) only electricity. The place served its purpose of being a take-off point for McCarthy and Kennicott. The gas pump was very busy, but not a problem. The washers and dryers apparently serve the whole community; when I took a shower, it ran out of hot water very quickly because the washers had used it up. The no hookup sites were very nice, and if we stayed there again, which we would do if visiting McCarthy, we would probably stay in that area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
Note that this campground is not actually in Cooper Center. It is in the Village of Kenny Lake, thus the name, and is about 25 miles from Cooper Center. The reason for staying here is to be nearer McCarthy/Kennicott (about 90 miles – 3 hours) so you can drive it as a day trip or overnight, leaving the RV at this campground. This is the last fuel (gas or diesel) that you will find on the road to McCarthy. The use of the onsite dump and fresh water fill is an extra $5.00 per visit. It is a parking lot (with electrical hookups) next to the road beside the store and gas station. There are also some sites without hookups that are more private and widely spaced in a wooded area. We would have stayed in one of these sites except that we were leaving the RV for a night and felt more secure with it being more in the open area. Though not terrible, being right next to the road, there is road noise. It is not a major highway, but does have considerable traffic. The WiFi was a weak signal at our site, but we could get it, and it was fairly fast. Our Verizon phone worked well here. We did not try the data MiFi. The sites are quite close, but the manager tries to spread RV’s so that there is space in between. This campground works for a few days to visit the area but is probably not a place you would want to linger. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
This RV park is under new ownership (according to the sign outside). It has electric-only sites, but it does have a dump station. You have to pay $5 extra if you want to fill your fresh water tanks or use the dump station. (Our $25 rate includes one of these extra fees.) The sites are all back-in, but since all sites are along the edge of a large parking lot, we had no problem here. The on-site restaurant has gone out of business. Like others, we stayed here in order to have as short a drive as possible to/from McCarthy. This is the only diesel gas between here and McCarthy (and there is none in McCarthy), so the diesel price is quite a bit higher than Glennallen or Valdez. It served the purpose, but nothing more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Kenny Lake Mercantile & RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$29
We have stayed at various times throughout the red salmon run. The sites are arranged so that most have river view and all are within a 150 feet of the river. There is electric, but water is via a water station. There is a dump site at the gas station next door which is free to those staying at the camp. There is a fire pit and picnic table at each site. There is plenty of space for slides and lots of trees and shade. There is a small store with basic fishing supplies, but no provisions. The staff are helpful and both king and red salmon charters are available on site. Our last trip on 16 August and as the red run was dying down, there were very few campers and we spent a glorious evening grilling fresh fish over an open fire. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$14
This is a quiet place, with some sites on the lake and creek. We have twice stayed here and it is a convenient place to stay prior to going to or from Valdez. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$15
Treed campsite beside pond and creek. Rainbow and grayling fishing in pond. Pond had duck chicks during our stay. River otters also call this pond home. Big rigs can fit into sites. Big rigs should stay on the main road or scout before committing to some of the more narrow roads. Deep pots holes are present; however, they can be navigated if you go slow. Road and sites are gravel / dirt. Some road noise was present but not significant. Bugs were present but not horrible. No facilities; however, there is a full service campground near by that operates the Squirrel Creek Campground. Campground did fill on the weekend (later in the evening). We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$1
This state campground appears to be very neglected. There were no fee envelopes available so it's free. The vault toilets were filthy and garbage was piled next to the overflowing dumpster. We chose Site #23 for our 40' motorhome, pulled in forward, and had a magnificent view of the small lake with a background of mountains. There was only one other traveler here. It was o.k. for a night but definitely not a destination. It is at MM80 of the Richardson Highway near Copper Center toward Valdez. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com