224369 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Denali National Park, Alaska (Air Miles)
Nothing Nearby
Alaska
Denali National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Riley Creek Campground (NPS Campground)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-05 13:14:13
7 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Denali National Park, Alaska
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   4   4   7   8   6   8   7   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  no  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  no  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
Campground has 3 pay coffin type showers, and small restrooms that are overused with so many campers. One of the two toilets in the men's restroom was backed up and not fixed in a timely fashion. Laundry is expensive. Outlying outhouses are disgusting. Although we stayed in a tent cabin, which was down a steep hill with a poor trail, we normally travel in an RV. Rv spaces were close together and short. They had the RVs crammed into every possible place, making maneuvering difficult. Roads are narrow. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This campground is 6 miles south of the park. Most campgrounds in this area are that far out. We were told they had free WiFi. You do, for 1/2 hour for your entire stay. If it is one day or one week, you get 1/2 hour. Cable TV is via your antenna, and it does not come in. The spaces are not long, but it was empty so we had room. The office staff does seem new and does not speak clear English, so don't expect help on the area. We ask if we could have a later "checkout" and were told we would have to pay a 1/2 day rate to do it. They were more concerned about the bus tours they have, staying in their hotel here. Bus's were in and out a lot. The sewer dump is set up so you have to back into it. Not possible with our 40'. We would not stay here, but the National Park next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
We were placed in pull through site number 32 which did not turn out to be a pull through. The equipment was on the wrong side of our 36 foot trailer and we had to back out more than 100 yards upon leaving. It appears that this park should be restricted to small rigs only. It is far too small and tight. Even the dump station was misplaced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Denali Grizzly Bear Cabins and Campground (Privately Owned)
Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   1   3   3   7   1   2   3   7   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  no  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  question  yes  no  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
This campground is just a narrow, tight parking lot. The wifi is almost none. Hard to connect and stay connected. Office staff is not friendly or helpful. We made reservations in January for August. Received confirmation for 2 sites with full hookups. About a month before arriving we received info that they made a mistake and they did not have full hookups for us. Our site was barely long enough for our rv and not even close to level. Turns out 6 rvs traveling together called and we were moved to other sites. When we come back we will not be staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$42
We stayed here July 16, 2014. The lady that checked us in was very friendly. Quiet time is a joke. Sites are so tight that late arrivals wake neighbors up simply because of difficulty backing in and hooking up. Sites were entirely gravel and very narrow. Plus it was all muddy and severe potholes. Extremely tight everyone was just packed together. Barely 4' between vehicles. If you had your shades open your neighbor could wave to you, Conditions so tight. Wi-Fi did not work during the entire stay for anyone in our immediate area. The place is really dirty and it looks like people live in the out lying RV's. We will definitely not be staying here again. It is way over priced for being packed like sardines and it cost $4.00, each for a load of wash and dry.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
A simple gravel parking lot with hookups. The advertised cable hook up did not work. The WiFi was difficult to connect to and if I was lucky enough to get connected; it was at a speed so slow it was nearly unusable. I clocked their internet at an average of 1.2mbs. When I spoke to them about this they admitted that the two 20mbs servers were not enough to support the 80+ sites. They thought that the guest shouldn't be using it so much and didn't think they needed to provide better service. I would leave but they will not refund me for early departure. I strongly recommend going elsewhere. This place will not be able to provide you with all services promised. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Denali Rainbow Village & RV Park (Privately Owned)
Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   3   3   1   5   7   7   6   3   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
There is not much to add to the previous reviews. This is a situation where the owners are trying to maximize the use of this small property during their short season. As long as they have customers they can continue to do so. There is absolutely no effort made to make this more than a cramped gravel parking lot. I gave it a three because of a lady staff member walked our elderly dog while we went on the 12 hour bus ride in Denali. So I'm taking that as a good sign that she did a good job. When I mentioned to the manager that their park had poor reviews she responded that "nobody reads those reviews." We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
We were backed up against the shops. Sites aren't very level, lots of noise, and people walking through your site to get to shops. Shops employes walk through your site dragging trash to dumpster. A semi parked in front of our rig for 2 hours starting about 7 am to unload merchandise for shops. There was lots of throwing stuff around in box truck, banging and obsessively noise. We couldn't get out of our site till they left. I had a dental emergency and needed to leave for Anchorage a day early, but their policy is no refunds whatsoever. It is convenient to the park that is the only reason I gave it a 3 We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
This park gets a 3 only due to its location. The office staff was nice but everything else pretty much stinks. The campground is small and cramped. We had a back in sight RIGHT behind the strip mall. We were 5 feet or less from the trash cans of the business behind us. Our neighbor was about 6 inches from a large propane tank. It was also loud late and very early the next morning due to the businesses behind us. We stayed one night because we wanted full hook up before going into Denali with no hook ups. We would have never stayed otherwise. I just want others to know what they're getting in to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Denali Riverside RV Park (Privately Owned)
Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   9   8   7   7   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
Right on the highway just north of the park. Clean, wonderful owners, nice gift shop. Laundry very clean and pleasant as were showers/bathrooms. Full but quiet except for some highway noise which did not bother us....it was cool so windows were closed. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
Nice park convenient to Denali Nat'l Park. Very good Wi-Fi. All services worked well. Nice folks in the office. Right off Hwy 3, so some road noise during the day. We would return in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
Everything that the previous reviewer said is spot on so I won't bore you with the same information. I will add however that the Wi-Fi is the best I have seen in Alaska. On my last visit to this area, I stayed at the RV park in the commercial area. I may have been convenient, but can't hold a candle to this RV Park. I would definitely stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Denali RV Park & Motel (Privately Owned)
Camp Information
Sites
146
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   8   9   9   8   9   9   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$14
Rate reflects use of Access Pass. If you have a big rig, this is the place to stay. Sites are marked A, B, or C and the A sites are for big rigs, Some sites are double sites but available to single camper units. We registered the day before so we were able to look for an open site before check out time. We ended up with a double site which was very wide and had plenty of room for our big Dually truck. Our site was not only wide but the sites extend way back from the parking pad for the picnic table and fire pit. This campground has no hook ups and generator hours are 8-10 am and 4-8 pm, Verizon cell and mifi worked well. A laundry is available near the Mercantile. It is pretty pricey and there are more washers than driers which causes a back log. Showers are available for $5, more if you want a towel. We did not use the bathhouse so cannot comment on its cleanliness. Dump station/water fill is one of the best we have ever encountered. There is no diesel fuel near Denali so you have to travel to Healy for fuel. We stayed her 6 nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay, we would stay here again, We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$22
We stayed here on two different occasions and both times were able to get a very nice site. Sites are private and well spaced. Reservations are a must during peak summer time. You do not book individual sites. You reserve an "A" site for RVs over 30 ft or a "B" site under 30 ft. Reservations mean there will be an available site for you so get there early for a first come first serve choice. Some sites have short narrow drives, so parking your RV and tow vehicle will be tight. Facilities and sites are well maintained. We loved our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$12
If you have a big rig and want to stay in Denali National Park, this is your only choice of the 5 campgrounds - but it's a lovely one. We stayed 3 nights here, and would have stayed longer, but like most national parks, the campground has no hookups, and our house batteries were dead. We paid only $12 a night because we got the senior rate, which is half the normal rate - but even without hookups, $20 or $25 is definitely worth it. Lots of trees, plenty of peace and quiet, wide level sites (but if you have a big rig, not many sites to accommodate you, so call ahead for reservations). There's a camp store within walking distance with supplies, ice and treats, and there are bathrooms (pit toilets, but clean) interspersed throughout the campgrounds. Showers are available - we didn't use them, but we heard they're clean and no limit on how long you shower ($4 including towel). I love national park campgrounds, and this one was definitely a special place. Even my "What, no hookups?!" husband agreed he would come back to Riley Creek. We have a 40 ft RV and would return in a heartbeat. By the way, if you go to Denali National Park, definitely take the shuttle bus to Eilsen Visitor Center - the view of the mountain is spectacular! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Riley Creek Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
33
Date of Stay
July 2010
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$14
Nice dry quiet campground 15 miles into the park. We preferred this to Riley, due to the noise from the park entrance. Moose and grizzly bears and other wildlife passed through the CG. Has a good view of Mt. Denali when it occasionally emerges. Be careful of the large pull through sites. The curve of the site and the 4x4 timbers along the edges can fool you. I should have backed into mine, rather than pulling in. Wound up moving the 4x4 just to park. (Shhh!) Rate based on Golden Age pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
We loved the short walk to the river and the nearby hiking trails. Of course, none of the campgrounds in Denali have power or water, but the scenery more than makes up for the inconvenience. We saw beautiful sunsets, and there was almost no sky brightness and plenty of wildlife. We saw snowshoe hairs and a vole near the river. The campsites were closer together than I liked but still private. They had back-in sites for shorter rigs and a series of arc-shaped pull-through slots for longer rigs. Our pull-through was not very level, but it was easy enough to get in and out of. The flush toilets were rustic but clean. Bear-proof trash cans were located at the sites, and there was water available nearby. It was not really wilderness camping, but you did feel as though you were out in the middle of the wild. Our campground host was very friendly and helpful, and a ranger gave a lecture two out of the three nights we were there. The one downside of our location was that it was a long drive to everywhere. The only showers and the dump station were at Denali’s Riley Creek Campground at the bottom of the mountain (15-20 minutes away). The laundry room at Riley Creek looked excellent, but we didn’t use it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
Nice basic dry campground. Very quiet. Site #24 has a great view of Mt. McKinley. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Savage River Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
53
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   8   9   9   9   10   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  no  question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$12
You might ask how can I rate a park with no hookups and no amenities a 9? LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! Where else can you walk 1/4 mile to the river and watch grizzly bears eating berries for $12 a night? Several sites are large enough for big rigs. Some privacy between sites with ample room to open slides and awnings. Read the rules for Tek on the Denali NP homepage as there are several things you need to know prior to arrival. No problem catching shuttle buses at the bus stop. Rangers presented educational programs every night while we were there and camp hostess and her sons are super friendly. If it is raining plan on getting your RV very dirty as at least 15 miles of the road is dirt/gravel. No problems traveling the road but it is NOT paved. Saw moose going in and coming out from Tek. We stayed 4 nights which was perfect for us. We waited out a rain day and a cloudy day to have a day with 6 hours of clear view of the mountain. We will be back in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$12
Great campground! Two loops with some sites very near the river. There is some vegetation space between the sites. Very clean rest rooms (vault toilets) and convenient water stations as well as food-fuel storage areas. Very pristine area. Abundant wildlife in area. Good hiking on the river and in adjacent hills. Good ranger shows in campground several times per week. Great campground host! Friendly and helpful! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$8
The rate reflects a National Parks Senior Pass 50% discount. This campground requires some advanced planning and you do need reservations, but it is worth the effort. There is a three day minimum at this campground to reduce traffic on the park road. We stayed for four days and wished we had booked for five or six. The campground is 29 miles into the park, with the last 14 miles (on a good gravel road) requiring a special permit. There is drinking water at the campground, but not for filling tanks. Fill your tanks the another campground, just inside the park entrance. Also dump your tanks as there is no dump station at this campground. We drove into the campground early on our first day. We had been told that we could not go in early, as checkout was not until 11:00, but the ranger at the checkpoint did not give us any problem when going in early. We drove very slowly getting to the campground to enjoy the view and look for wildlife. (No luck on large mammals). There is supposed to be a host at the campground, but there was not one when we camped there. Once you go in, you cannot come out until the end of your stay. You will want to make for sure you get your bus ticket (TEK Pass) before you go in. Book early if you want to get one of the early buses into the park. The great thing about staying at this campground is that you eliminate about an hour of bus travel in going into the park. You get a firm reservation for your first full day, and then you can travel on the buses on a space available basis into the park, but not out of the park. The campground is nicely laid out with some separation and privacy between sites. We had no phone or data Verizon service. If visiting Denali again, we would definitely stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Teklanika Campground (NPS Campground)
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com