206704 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Denali National Park, Alaska (Air Miles)
Nothing Nearby
Alaska
Denali National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Teklanika Campground (NPS Campground)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-03-17 00:03:10
7 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Denali National Park, Alaska
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   4   4   7   8   6   8   7   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  no  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  no  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
Campground has 3 pay coffin type showers, and small restrooms that are overused with so many campers. One of the two toilets in the men's restroom was backed up and not fixed in a timely fashion. Laundry is expensive. Outlying outhouses are disgusting. Although we stayed in a tent cabin, which was down a steep hill with a poor trail, we normally travel in an RV. Rv spaces were close together and short. They had the RVs crammed into every possible place, making maneuvering difficult. Roads are narrow. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This campground is 6 miles south of the park. Most campgrounds in this area are that far out. We were told they had free WiFi. You do, for 1/2 hour for your entire stay. If it is one day or one week, you get 1/2 hour. Cable TV is via your antenna, and it does not come in. The spaces are not long, but it was empty so we had room. The office staff does seem new and does not speak clear English, so don't expect help on the area. We ask if we could have a later "checkout" and were told we would have to pay a 1/2 day rate to do it. They were more concerned about the bus tours they have, staying in their hotel here. Bus's were in and out a lot. The sewer dump is set up so you have to back into it. Not possible with our 40'. We would not stay here, but the National Park next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
We were placed in pull through site number 32 which did not turn out to be a pull through. The equipment was on the wrong side of our 36 foot trailer and we had to back out more than 100 yards upon leaving. It appears that this park should be restricted to small rigs only. It is far too small and tight. Even the dump station was misplaced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Denali Grizzly Bear Cabins and Campground (Privately Owned)
Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   7   1   2   3   7   1   7   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  yes  yes  no  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  no  yes  no  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
We had reservations for two nights. Quiet time is a joke. Sites are so tight that late arrivals wake neighbors up simply because of difficulty backing in and hooking up. Sites were entirely gravel and very, very narrow. Barely 4' between vehicles. Conditions so tight we had no place to park our tow vehicle. When we asked staff about parking of tow vehicle and reported that WiFi was not working, we received sarcastic response with nasty attitude from female staff at desk. Said nothing can be done. Wi-Fi did not work during the entire stay for anyone in our immediate area. It appears that the focus of this park is on caravans of large motor homes. That half of park comprised of extra large sites and WiFi that worked. Would not stay here again. There are too many other RV Parks along the highway between Anchorage and Denali. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Friendly staff, great location. Small spaces, no landscaping, weak Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Ugh. What a dump. RVs crammed into a gravel parking lot behind a strip mall. Two bathroom stalls for the entire park, same with showers. We would have been better off parking on the side of the highway. We saw nicer looking parks as we left town. Once again, we were in a caravan and had no choice. Bummer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Denali Rainbow Village & RV Park (Privately Owned)
Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   3   3   1   5   7   7   6   3   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
There is not much to add to the previous reviews. This is a situation where the owners are trying to maximize the use of this small property during their short season. As long as they have customers they can continue to do so. There is absolutely no effort made to make this more than a cramped gravel parking lot. I gave it a three because of a lady staff member walked our elderly dog while we went on the 12 hour bus ride in Denali. So I'm taking that as a good sign that she did a good job. When I mentioned to the manager that their park had poor reviews she responded that "nobody reads those reviews." We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
We were backed up against the shops. Sites aren't very level, lots of noise, and people walking through your site to get to shops. Shops employes walk through your site dragging trash to dumpster. A semi parked in front of our rig for 2 hours starting about 7 am to unload merchandise for shops. There was lots of throwing stuff around in box truck, banging and obsessively noise. We couldn't get out of our site till they left. I had a dental emergency and needed to leave for Anchorage a day early, but their policy is no refunds whatsoever. It is convenient to the park that is the only reason I gave it a 3 We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
This park gets a 3 only due to its location. The office staff was nice but everything else pretty much stinks. The campground is small and cramped. We had a back in sight RIGHT behind the strip mall. We were 5 feet or less from the trash cans of the business behind us. Our neighbor was about 6 inches from a large propane tank. It was also loud late and very early the next morning due to the businesses behind us. We stayed one night because we wanted full hook up before going into Denali with no hook ups. We would have never stayed otherwise. I just want others to know what they're getting in to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Denali Riverside RV Park (Privately Owned)
Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   7   7   8   7   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
Everything that the previous reviewer said is spot on so I won't bore you with the same information. I will add however that the Wi-Fi is the best I have seen in Alaska. On my last visit to this area, I stayed at the RV park in the commercial area. I may have been convenient, but can't hold a candle to this RV Park. I would definitely stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
We stayed here a total of 3 nights. This RV park backs up to a mountain range, so the view is beautiful. Not a whole lot of trees in the park, but the sites are level and wide enough for slides, and there are pull-throughs as well as back-in sites (which are easy to get into and out of). The staff are very helpful and friendly, and the office stocks souvenirs and Denali National Park jackets, sweatshirts and t-shirts that are very reasonably priced. Best of all, they offer dog walking -- twice a day for $10 -- so if you're taking a day-long bus tour in Denali, you don't have to worry about your furry friend. I can't praise this place highly enough - I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it if you're visiting Denali Nat'l Park. They're about 10 minutes drive away and it is definitely the best of any of the campgrounds outside the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Although this park is several miles form Denali National Park, but based on our options, it was worth the drive. The office staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The sites were back-in and a little tight, but doable. The front office had very upscale gift items, which was a pleasant surprise. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Denali RV Park & Motel (Privately Owned)
Camp Information
Sites
146
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   9   8   9   9   4   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$12
If you have a big rig and want to stay in Denali National Park, this is your only choice of the 5 campgrounds - but it's a lovely one. We stayed 3 nights here, and would have stayed longer, but like most national parks, the campground has no hookups, and our house batteries were dead. We paid only $12 a night because we got the senior rate, which is half the normal rate - but even without hookups, $20 or $25 is definitely worth it. Lots of trees, plenty of peace and quiet, wide level sites (but if you have a big rig, not many sites to accommodate you, so call ahead for reservations). There's a camp store within walking distance with supplies, ice and treats, and there are bathrooms (pit toilets, but clean) interspersed throughout the campgrounds. Showers are available - we didn't use them, but we heard they're clean and no limit on how long you shower ($4 including towel). I love national park campgrounds, and this one was definitely a special place. Even my "What, no hookups?!" husband agreed he would come back to Riley Creek. We have a 40 ft RV and would return in a heartbeat. By the way, if you go to Denali National Park, definitely take the shuttle bus to Eilsen Visitor Center - the view of the mountain is spectacular! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
This is a very busy campground. When you pre-book, you are not assigned a specific site; as we arrived closer to 6pm. It took us quite a while to find a spot large enough to fit our 24 ft trailer as many of the large sites had already been chosen by tenters. Wash houses have flush toilets and sinks are fairly clean. There was a good ranger presentation in evenings at the ampi-theatre that was very interactive for the kids. It costs $4 to shower at the main store, but you get a nice almost fluffy towel to use. The shower room was well maintained although the showers weren't super clean when we used them at the end of the day. Steady line up to use the 4 or 5 sets of laundry machines, but at least they have Wi-Fi to use while you're waiting. Don't forget that if you camp here, you also have to pay the National Park Service entry fee on top of the camping fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
Located near the entrance of Denali National Park. Very close to the general store, showers, laundry, and dump station. A resident moose wandered through camp the 2 nights we stayed there. We will definitely stay here again when visiting the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Riley Creek Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
33
Date of Stay
July 2010
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$14
Nice dry quiet campground 15 miles into the park. We preferred this to Riley, due to the noise from the park entrance. Moose and grizzly bears and other wildlife passed through the CG. Has a good view of Mt. Denali when it occasionally emerges. Be careful of the large pull through sites. The curve of the site and the 4x4 timbers along the edges can fool you. I should have backed into mine, rather than pulling in. Wound up moving the 4x4 just to park. (Shhh!) Rate based on Golden Age pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
We loved the short walk to the river and the nearby hiking trails. Of course, none of the campgrounds in Denali have power or water, but the scenery more than makes up for the inconvenience. We saw beautiful sunsets, and there was almost no sky brightness and plenty of wildlife. We saw snowshoe hairs and a vole near the river. The campsites were closer together than I liked but still private. They had back-in sites for shorter rigs and a series of arc-shaped pull-through slots for longer rigs. Our pull-through was not very level, but it was easy enough to get in and out of. The flush toilets were rustic but clean. Bear-proof trash cans were located at the sites, and there was water available nearby. It was not really wilderness camping, but you did feel as though you were out in the middle of the wild. Our campground host was very friendly and helpful, and a ranger gave a lecture two out of the three nights we were there. The one downside of our location was that it was a long drive to everywhere. The only showers and the dump station were at Denali’s Riley Creek Campground at the bottom of the mountain (15-20 minutes away). The laundry room at Riley Creek looked excellent, but we didn’t use it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
Nice basic dry campground. Very quiet. Site #24 has a great view of Mt. McKinley. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Savage River Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
53
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   9   9   9   10   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  no  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  question  no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$12
Great campground! Two loops with some sites very near the river. There is some vegetation space between the sites. Very clean rest rooms (vault toilets) and convenient water stations as well as food-fuel storage areas. Very pristine area. Abundant wildlife in area. Good hiking on the river and in adjacent hills. Good ranger shows in campground several times per week. Great campground host! Friendly and helpful! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$8
The rate reflects a National Parks Senior Pass 50% discount. This campground requires some advanced planning and you do need reservations, but it is worth the effort. There is a three day minimum at this campground to reduce traffic on the park road. We stayed for four days and wished we had booked for five or six. The campground is 29 miles into the park, with the last 14 miles (on a good gravel road) requiring a special permit. There is drinking water at the campground, but not for filling tanks. Fill your tanks the another campground, just inside the park entrance. Also dump your tanks as there is no dump station at this campground. We drove into the campground early on our first day. We had been told that we could not go in early, as checkout was not until 11:00, but the ranger at the checkpoint did not give us any problem when going in early. We drove very slowly getting to the campground to enjoy the view and look for wildlife. (No luck on large mammals). There is supposed to be a host at the campground, but there was not one when we camped there. Once you go in, you cannot come out until the end of your stay. You will want to make for sure you get your bus ticket (TEK Pass) before you go in. Book early if you want to get one of the early buses into the park. The great thing about staying at this campground is that you eliminate about an hour of bus travel in going into the park. You get a firm reservation for your first full day, and then you can travel on the buses on a space available basis into the park, but not out of the park. The campground is nicely laid out with some separation and privacy between sites. We had no phone or data Verizon service. If visiting Denali again, we would definitely stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$17
This campground has approx. 10 sites to hold big rigs if they are available when you arrive. The sites are spaced in such a way that your neighbor maybe close but it doesn't feel like they are on top of you. Mosquitoes are pretty heavy at the campground, however they are horrible at the bus stop to go further in to Denali. (bring spray & mosquito nets for head) This is a great location to hop on the park bus because you are about 1 hour and fifteen minutes from the park entrance which saves you 2 1/2 hours when going to the rest of the park. Private cars are not allowed beyond Teklanika campground. The park buses take you the remaining 56 miles to the various stops. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Teklanika Campground (NPS Campground)
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com