214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Fairbanks, Alaska (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
20.45 miles NE
Alaska
Fairbanks
Most Recently Reviewed
River's Edge Resort
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-08 18:14:20
7 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Fairbanks, Alaska
Camp Information
Sites
28
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
This hot springs resort and campground is about 60 miles outside of the town of Fairbanks on a good (by Alaska standards) paved road. The reason for going to this campground is to partake of the hot springs and associated activities. There is an indoor pool and two indoor hot tubs and a great outdoor hot pool for adults only. Using the pools is $15 per person per day. There is also an ice carving museum that is well worth seeing. The campground has no hookups, but there is fresh water for filling tanks and a dump station. Some of the sites are in or near a parking lot area; others are a little further away in a wooded area. We chose a wooded site because of the privacy, but these sites would not be suitable for larger RV’s. The turns are too tight and there is vegetation on the sides that can be difficult to navigate. Our Verizon cell phone worked well here, but the Verizon MiFi worked very, very marginally. There is no public WiFi at the resort. Don’t think of this resort as being fancy, it is actually quite rustic and funky. We loved this campground because of the hot springs and because it was nice and quiet at night. We would definitely visit here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
July 2009
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   1   9   9   10   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Now this is an awesome place with friendly people. We would stay again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
Unfortunately, this very good campground is closed to all but seasonal campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$1
The park is not open unless you stay for 3 months at $880 a month. If you pay that price for this park you are insane. The Wi-FI is so weak it is useless. No cable TV, no satellite TV, no 50amp, weak 30 amp that kicks breaker all the time. The park has a dirt road running by it; some site's are 10 feet from that road; it is very dusty. Only one person stayed a month the owner would not let him have a site because he had a tent so she put him near a mosquito hole behind some of the buildings on the property. The park is not open until around May 15 for full hook up; until then you only have power. Owner has an RV rental company on site so the campground is very old and run down and basically closed to the public. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Chena Marina RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   10   8   3   9   9   8   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  no  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
Nice state park in downtown Fairbanks. Sites were good sized and clean. Convenient to amenities in city. Some road noise, but not too bad. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
The entrance is no longer on University, it's been moved around the corner to 3530 Geraghty Av, The park was closed, but in the process of getting things hooked up when we drove in. The happy host went out of his way to make sure we had water and electricity. (It was just turned on.) There was snow everywhere and the dump station was frozen up. We were the first RV campers of 2013. Nice and quiet in a forest. You would not suspect it's in the middle of the city. There were caribou or moose droppings all through the camp. We stayed two nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$17
After the first night, we dry camped. For $17, you can't beat it. Pretty setting, although in the middle of Fairbanks you feel you are in the country: woods, river, and quiet. Walking distance to grocery stores. Easy access to everything in Fairbanks. We used this campground for 5 nights, and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Chena River Wayside State Recreation Site
Camp Information
Sites
100?
Date of Stay
June 2009
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
In the heart of Fairbanks, this is a non-profit campground. Their main mission is to hold every February and March, the world's most prestigious ice carving event in the world. Check out their web site. In the summer, the place is quite empty. We selected an "electric only" site but the campground lets you dump and fill your drinking water for free. We thought when we checked in that the "advertised" rates were way too steep. Surprisingly, we were able to come to an agreeable price for our monthly rate. Which BTW is reflected in our rate posted above. The CG is very, very quiet. Shower rooms consist of toilet, sink, and shower in each of 2 rooms, and very clean. If you stay here try to figure what the black walls are for. With just a short walk you can venture over to Pioneer Park via a foot bridge over the Chena River with a 3 mile paved walk way good for, dah, walking and bicycling for the brave hearted. The sites are VERY large and lots and lots of trees. We were here in June and the mosquitoes weren't to bad, mostly because we are in the center of the city. There is a medium sized "meeting" hall if your clan is large. It even has a commercial kitchen you can negotiate for it's use. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   2   8   3   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
This is a paved parking lot. Fresh water is available with a dump site about 2 miles away. Plenty of room for any size rig. This place is noisy with road noise till around 11:00 pm. It is located with easy access to anywhere in Fairbanks. Very few mosquitos. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$12
This isn't really a campground. The park just allows overnight stays in the parking lot with some parking marked for RV's for a $12 fee. The location is right in town and has extremely convenient biking and running trails by it. I stayed 2 nights and my stay again due to trails and convenience. It is noisy due to road noise. There are clean bathrooms open during park's open hours but no showers. Showers are available through laundromats or pools here if needed. The Wi-Fi works and they have a water fill available. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2011
$12
Just a parking lot. RV area doesn't have room for rigs longer than 30', but they allowed us to park along the perimeter. Very noisy and congested until 10 pm when the park closes. Then, noise from the highway all night. There is a fresh water filling station. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Pioneer Park
Camp Information
Sites
190
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   8   9   5   7   6   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
We were here over a busy Fourth of July weekend so the park was full. Our site was riverfront so nice view, but a little close to the tent sites. No privacy. Other sites looked more private with trees in between. Management pleasant and helpful. Shuttle bus to tours. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
Nice park. Tour drivers pick you up in the park. We used the free city bus that stopped next to the office. Fred Meyer is within walking distance if you do not have a car. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
Things aren't as pleasant as they were when I stayed here in 2007. Roads need more gravel. It rained and lots of standing water on roadways and in gravelled sites. Wi-Fi worked well most of the time. Seemed to slow down during "rush" hour. Shopping is close with Fred Meyers and Safeway less than 1/2 mile away. The biggest complaint for the four days that I was there is one I have at many CG's. With only a third of the park occupied, why do they have to stack everyone side by side on one or two rows? All said and done, it is still the best CG in the Fairbanks area. I could probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for River's Edge Resort
Camp Information
Sites
160
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   8   7   8   7   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$43
We enjoyed our site overlooking the Chena River. Sites were close but the access was good. Internet mostly worked; could be stronger. Nice gift store and wonderful restaurant on the river with great food. Good location to stores and very helpful office staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
Staff was very helpful. Sites were level, but a little closer then we like. It was convenient to Fairbanks and easy in and out. We were only there one night but we would go back next time in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Nice park, easy in/out of the pull-through sites. However, all utilities are at the back of the site so you will either have to disconnect and park at the rear of the site or have long cords/sewer hoses in order to hook up if you park with your toad still attached. WIFI painfully slow many hours of the day and sometimes completely unusable. Park is convenient to North Pole and Fairbanks. Free RV wash area after a trip up the Alaska Hwy is greatly appreciated, it is a separate site so if you decide to wash your vehicles you will have to move out of your site or do so prior to parking. We would return in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Riverview RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com