214623 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Girdwood, Alaska (Air Miles)
Nothing Nearby
Alaska
Girdwood
Most Recently Reviewed
Chugach Nat'l Forest / Williwaw Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-07-11 23:37:16
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Girdwood, Alaska
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
question
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$10
This is nothing but a parking lot for a ski resort, but they do allow overnights during the summer. It used to be free (and some camping books state that it is), but sometime in 2010 they began charging $10 a night, with a maximum stay of 5 nights. Normally we try to spend money in places that let us boon dock for free, so we had planned to have a nice dinner in their restaurant and maybe take the tram to the top of the mountain. Instead we paid them $10, period. We won't come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$9



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$9
The rate reflects a 50% Senior Pass discount. This is a great campground. If only it had a dump station and water to fill a tank. Regardless, it is still wonderful and in a great location. The sites are well-separated with vegetation in between, so it feels very private. It is very quiet at night. Some sites are more wooded and some have views of Middle Glacier. Some sites are reservable and some are first-come first-served. Our Verizon phone and data plan worked well. It has a great biking/hiking path leaving from the campground. It is close to Whittier for boat tours and you do not have to pay the fee to drive your RV though the tunnel. (You do still have to pay the $12 to drive your car. The wonderful Forest Service visitor center is only a mile away, as well as the Portage glacier tour. Wonderful. We spent 3 days here and could have spent a couple of weeks. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$9
Mosquitoes were no problem as it was driving rain showers when we were here. I guess you can expect it in the rain forest. Nice view of a glacier from the campground. Rate was for Golden Age. I would stop here again as it is convenient to the Portage Glacier activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$10
This campground is absolutely beautiful! Surrounded by mountains, glaciers. It would have a 10 if w/e hookups and a dump station were available. There is water but you must hand pump it into jugs and carry them off to your site.There are NO showers but I had to indicate an answer regarding showers.The sites are spacious and wooded so there is no lack of privacy. The sites are either single or double. There are several drive through sites that allow larger rigs to use the cg. While we were there the AK. national bird, the mosquito, was out in force so bring bug spray. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Chugach Nat'l Forest / Williwaw Campground
Camp Information
Sites
5
Date of Stay
July 2005
Latest Rate
$5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$5
Except for the dirt road to get here, this is a really cute campground, if you want to call it that. The Crow Creek Mine allows you to stay on. You can pan for gold, and walk through the little town set up. It's really nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com