206527 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Glennallen, Alaska (Air Miles)
Nothing Nearby
Alaska
Glennallen
Most Recently Reviewed
Northern Nights RV Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-09-16 22:34:39
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Glennallen, Alaska
Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$6



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   2   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$6
Note that the rate reflects a 50% federal senior pass discount. This is a very nice Bureau Land Management (BLM) campground located along the Richardson Highway, and the price is certainly right. Note that this is federal (BLM), not state as stated by some previous reviewers. Although listed as being at Glennallen, it is actually about 30 miles north of the town. It is right along the highway, but is protected by vegetation so had only a little highway noise. The interior roads and sites are well-maintained gravel. There is a picnic table and fire pit at each campsite. It had only a few other campers when we were there. There are campground hosts, which gives a bit of added security. The hosts were friendly and helpful. Firewood is available for sale. The only water is from a hand pump and there is no dump station, so plan to arrive with fresh water and leave with waste. There are pit toilets. We had no signal on our Verizon phone or data MiFi. The vegetation is low, so we had no problem getting satellite Internet on our Hughes plan on satellite 127w. None of the sites have river views. There is a pleasant walk down to and along the Gulkana River, but do bring repellent as there are mosquitos. This is a very pleasant overnight stop along the highway. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$12
Have camped here over my 49 years many times, launched boats here since I was a kid. I was shocked this year, when we were not allowed to park in a site and register until we were grilled by the campground host as to the reason for our stay. Husband stated he was working on a road crew in the area and I was camping out with him. We were informed the BLM parks are for road travelers, not workers or local Alaskans, and directed us to a sub-standard swampy camp site, in a bog even though the campground was empty. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
I have been very impressed with the abundance of state recreation areas along the Richardson Hwy as well as other highways. We found Sourdough Creek after a long day driving from Fairbanks. The campground was very deserted with only the camp host filling a site. We chose a pull through site that was private with a table and fire pit. There was a path to the river from our site and a lot of berry bushes. The campground had well maintained gravel roads and sites. Be sure to carry cash to put in the pay pole. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for BLM-Sourdough Creek Campground
Camp Information
Sites
16
Date of Stay
June 2011
Latest Rate
$20


Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Park is along the highway, so there's truck noise all night. Sites are in one long row, alternating direction, with very little room between slideouts. FHU; Wi-Fi only worked intermittently. Worked for a one-night stop, to dump and take on water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   3   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$15
There were perhaps 10 LONG pull through sites and 20 Back in sites available. Looks like they have blocked off part to reduce upkeep as it does not fill up. Yes, the potholes are still there but it sure keeps the speeders down! Nice shade and tables and fire pits for all sites. BUT the skeeters kept us away from using them. Good Value for the areal We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
Although this has the potential to be an excellent site a lot of work needs putting in to maintain it to a good standard. The sites are adequately spaced and wooded between but the gravel pads need improvement as do the roads which are badly rutted. The trees and growth between sites need trimming. The dumpster was overfull with trash on the ground around it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$10
This is a nice public campground but was deserted today, June 20. It is just 3 miles outside the tiny town of Glennallen at Mile 118 of the Richardson Highway. The sites are well-separated. There is a section toward the rear with 8 very wide and long pull-throughs which would be great for 40' rigs. The rest are back-ins and some are deep but most are for 30-32' rigs. There are also some walk-in tent sites. There are picnic tables, fire pits and vault toilets. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
28
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   5   1   8   7   6   8   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
This was a pretty good park for an overnight. Gravel sites were level; our hookups were at the tail end of our back-in site - OK for us, but maybe not others. Pull-throughs were separated better than the back-ins. Staff was friendly; one couple was learning, but the third person very efficient and knowledgeable. Showers were good, but few. No laundry - we were referred to the town laundromat. We would stay there again for a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
Gravel sites fairly level; water good; power stable; wifi is so-so out in the park, but our "booster" brings it in just fine. Nice outfit - Good Sam usual, or $2 veterans discounts. Dump on the way out is ok for our 1-3 day stays. Showers and restrooms are clean and neat - showers have the full-size residential glass-enclosed corner units; water/electric hook-ups gets you two "tokens" per day (per camper) for 7-minute showers. Out here, the fuel/power is expensive; this technique is entirely fair and reasonable. We'd considered Kenney Lake and Copper Center, but those roads would have clobbered our camper (nearly as bad as Beaver Creek to the AK border). Seems to be Native / 1st-Nation owned and operated, and they're doing a good job. We'd definitely stay here again. Grocery store is 1-minute down the road, and hardware is 2-minutes the other way. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
This campground has the potential to be fantastic. The sites are spaced and treed nicely. Even though we stayed in mid Sept and there were few people there, we still had to wait to shower ($3 each), since there were only 2 shower stalls. Also, the porta-potties were some of the fullest I've ever seen. Finally, the customer service was terrible. The owner (?) was talking to construction workers outside of the office when we showed up but wouldn't acknowledge us. After 15 minutes, we were ready to leave, but a worker finally showed up. Gave no info about the CG (maybe we're used to KOA's where you're inundated) and checked us in. We camped here in a Tent.
Display older reviews for Northern Nights RV Campground
Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   1   5   7   7   10   8   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
This is the most pleasing campground we've stayed at. It is well off the highway, carved out of the forest, and many of the sites are parallel to or back up to a fantastic flowing creek. 50 amp service is available. We were able to get WiFi at our site, #1, which is a premium site near the office, along the river, and very long. Very few of the sites are parallel to each other, so the site locations give much privacy. The owners are friendly, engaging, and work very hard to ensure a memorable experience for all. If you want a true wilderness experience, this is the place to go, and we recommend staying more than a day. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
When they say "Wilderness Campground" they mean what they say. 3/4 of a mile down a rough, bumpy, gravel road. I was assigned what was supposed to be a large pull through site that would accommodate my 36' RV. I barely managed to squeeze it in, but wouldn't have been able to open the slides. I had to back out of the space and return to the office to request another one. I was assured I would fit. I fit all right, but I had to back out of the space because there wasn't enough room to pull out going forward. If you've got a smaller rig, stay here. If not, save yourself some headache and possibly some damage. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Beautiful area and campground if you are a small RV or trailer. Our 43' motorhome got stuck in the largest "pull through" between all the trees and scratched much of the sides with the low overhanging branches on both sides. We couldn't pull all the way in and had to back out when we left. Staff is totally unaware of big rig measurements to site measurements and told us on the phone when we called ahead that they had several sites big enough. Not true. Long dusty road entrance and in July the mosquitoes eat you alive. Didn't even bother getting out of the Motorhome other than to pay and to drive the tow out to the main road. Unless we downsize, we won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Tolsona Wilderness Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com