206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Homer, Alaska (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
11.64 miles NW
23.16 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Homer Airport
1.47 miles SW
Alaska
Homer
Most Recently Reviewed
Fishing Hole Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-03-16 23:47:10
9 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Homer, Alaska
Camp Information
Sites
7
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   2   3   8   2   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
We enjoyed our stay here, it's a better location than down on the spit as it's sheltered from the prevailing wind. The sites are good sized. We had no problem with the box for cable TV. It is behind the fish processing and Fisherman's Lodge but we were at the farthest site and were not bothered by any noise or smell. The one bathroom is unisex and also used by the employees of the fish processing. We were in a self contained rig so had no reason to use the bathroom. The manager and staff were friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Firstly we could not find this park as the sign advertises their main business which is fish processing, with the RV park in smaller letters that are hard to read. The processing operates from very early to very late with the generator running noisily most of the time. The smell of fish is strong and the sites are small and just gravel. We would not stay there again. There are much better parks around the town. it definitely was not good value for the dollars. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$48
The best thing going for this park is the 50 amp service and its central location. Easy access to all the points of interest in Homer. The sites were long enough for our 38' motorhome with room alongside to park our tow vehicle. However, it is located next to a busy fish processing plant with lots of traffic in and out from early morning to late into the evening. The park and processing plant are operated by the same people. It is also very close to a lake that is a "water airport" for the float planes: mostly noticeable in the morning and again in the evening when the sightseeing planes come and go. The Wi-Fi was totally unreliable and the cable TV hookup consisted of a box provided by the park. It has to be hooked up to your TV and the cable connection wire fed through a window and out to the jack on the power post. This made it necessary to leave the window cracked open all the time or to disconnect the TV when not in use if you want to close the window. Also the remote did not work so you had to manually scroll through the channels to find something to watch. In addition, the people next to us in the park were not able to get it to work on their TV at all. So if TV and/or Wi-Fi are important to you, I don't recommend this park. Highly overpriced for what you get. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for A Fisherman's Resort
Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   9   6   6   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$43
This park is an adjunct to a gas station, but it has marvelous views of the water and (weather permitting) the mountains and the glaciers in two directions. We had a great, level site, with good hookups. Wi-Fi was adequate. If you want to be left to your own, this is the park. All of their attention is on the gas station and deli. But things worked and the trash bins were emptied. We stayed 4 nights while enjoying Homer. It is not on the spit, but a short drive - and quiet. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$41
One of the most beautiful views I have ever had in an RV. The internet didn't work. The park looks like it could use some TLC. But the view was worth it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
The view from this park of Kachemak Bay is to die for. There is room between spaces and each site has a picnic table. You check in at the gas station out front there are no signs to direct you so everyone pulls into the park and then has to walk back but no big deal. We would stay here again much nicer then down on the spit. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Baycrest RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
107
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   5   7   5   2   7   3   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
Small gravel sites, no trees, but right on the water with mountain views. Two blocks from downtown, clean and friendly. Very good Wi-Fi and cable TV. Extremely helpful staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$52
This RV park is small and is not the best for big rigs; although, they are able to squeeze a couple of larger RV's in. There are a couple of permanent units in the middle of the small lot, and vehicles parked at odd angles, making navigation a bit of a problem. The hook-ups all worked great, and the staff was friendly and helpful. There is a good restaurant just across the street, and a nice coffee shop/bakery just a couple of blocks away. There is a beach access path just across the road. We found this RV park to be much quieter and less windy than the ones we drove by on the spit. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$56
This was a nice, reasonably priced (for Homer) place to spend the night. This RV park is located in old town Homer, right across the street from the ocean and is co-joined with the Driftwood Inn, apparently a landmark historical inn in Homer. The people who manage and run it are very nice. They have free coffee for both their inn guests and for their RV guests. There are also a limited amount of breakfast goodies available for purchase. There is a small playground for young children to enjoy. The Wi-Fi is free and exceptional, such an important component for those of us who have been on the road for weeks as a way of communicating. The restroom situation is a little strange, but OK once you get used to it. There are two toilet areas and two shower areas. They are in the same room as the laundry facilities, and there is a code that people use to enter. However, both men and women are in the shower and bathroom facility area at the same time. It would be nice if that was a little different, but it is probably difficult to do in an older facility. We would stay here again on a return to Homer. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Display older reviews for Driftwood Inn & RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   8   7   7   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  no  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
Public campground with some seasonals. Great location very near the spit shops and fishing fleet. The fishing hole was mostly unproductive during our one week stay. I do not think it is as good as in years past for some reason. View of fishing hole and area was good. No facilities other than a dirty rest room, fish cleaning station and a dump site. Public campground in Seward is nicer and cleaner with electrical hook-up option--for a fee. After several trips to Homer area, it is not as appealing as in years past--in my opinion. There is a lot to do in Homer and it is a special place not to be missed! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
A nice place to stay if you are only looking for dry camping. We parked right next to the fishing hole and walked to the shops at the harbor. Our neighbor welcomed us into camp with a big plate of delicious beer battered halibut and blackened halibut. Very friendly people at this camp, and a great place to watch the bald eagles. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
This review is for the City of Homer campground. There is a commercial site with this same name at the end of the spit (much more expensive and not any nicer for motorhomes). Level gravel parking lot with tight sites right on Kachemak bay and roomier sites just back a little bit. Spectacular views of mountains and glaciers. Many folks stay here with their boats. Fishing cleaning station and dump station available ($2). Easy walking to tourist activities: fishing, flight seeing, bear viewing, water taxis. Bike/walking trail nearby. Watch for eagles on the lampposts. A bit noisy and a somewhat of an industrial feel. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Fishing Hole Campground
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   3   2   3   9   10   7   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$60
We really enjoyed this campground. We faced the water and the view was fantastic. No problem with the Wi-Fi or cable. We were able to get a satellite signal with no problem. The laundry room was clean with plenty of washers and dryers. It is housed with the showers and has an attendant. Sites were spacious. It is close to the spit and downtown. It is easily the nicest park in Homer. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$70
We stayed here two weeks and were not impressed. It was too crowded and out of control. For the price there were no amenities (just like every other park in Alaska but for a lot more money). Many sites had way more people than the sites could hold. (We saw as many as 12 people in one site). There were ATV's doing donuts on the beach at all hours. Made several calls to management, but no one answered the phone. Price was excessive. There was usually only one employee around, and they usually had a long line at check-in. After caravans started arriving the place calmed down due to more respectful clientele. Alaskans are ruining this park. They come here in everything from tents, to real junk trucks, to toy haulers with no camping portion. (They just wheel out the ATV and sleep in it). The waterfront sites are nice; but buyer beware on any other sites as they are some of the worst, most chaotic, small sites I have ever seen. A trip to Homer is a must, but there are other options that would be just as nice, quieter, and cheaper. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$70
Very expensive for what is provided. View is amazing. No monitoring of rules as ATV's running up and down beach, unsupervised kids running around with bows & arrows trying to shoot the birds. Cable TV only received 2 channels. Trash was on our site when we checked in. Lots of dogs off leash with irresponsible owners not picking up after them. Very chaotic with loud tenters around campfires all night. This park is the most expensive we have stayed in since leaving the lower 48. Overall not a good experience. Too many negatives to give it a better rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Heritage RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
122
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   3   6   6   6   1   4   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$48
Electric hookups only, gravel lots, narrow in width. View of ocean is great, not a beach, but a shale shore with many rocks. Believe it or not this is a good deal price-wise for the area. But after seeing Homer once, we won't be back, really not much there other than a few shops and charter fishing. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
Waterfront sites with views of the mountains across the inlet, and a location near the shops of the Spit are the highlight of this camp. It is a gravel parking lot with relatively narrow sites that are barely level. Our site had neither water nor sewer hookups, but the electricity worked well. WiFi did not work at all. The bathrooms were always nice and clean, though they were old and dingy. Showers cost a dollar, but were unmetered and had plenty of hot water. Laundry facilities were convenient and well maintained. The dump station in a prominent place in the center of the campground was frequently busy this 4th of July weekend, many times with rental RVs whose drivers were not particularly careful about using it hygienically. Price was high for what we got, but everything in Alaska is expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
Nice view of the ocean, worker very polite. We only got electric but the view made up for it! Close to eating places to walk to. Being at end of the spit the traffic noise was not a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Homer Spit Campground
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   6   7   8   8   9   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$15
This is a city campground (parking area) right on the Bay out on the Homer Spit. It is the first campground that you come to (on the right) as you enter the Spit. At first glimpse, it is not very appealing as it is a gravel lot on the Bay with somewhat disorganized camping. The spaces are not marked, so you stake out your own space. Often it is tight between spaces, sometimes with wide spacing, depending on how folks park and what space you can stake out. Even though we were not attracted at first, we came to really like this campground. It has views right on the bay with your own beach with lots of activity, such as wind surfing. We think that is the best of the city campgrounds on the spit. There are no hookups of any kind. There are no dumps or fresh water fill, but there are two city dumps within a couple of miles. For $70 per night you can get the same type of view with full hookups at a commercial campground a little further out on the spit. We elected to spend $15 and use our generator. There is some noise from the road, which is close by, but the main sound is of the ocean. Yes, it is pretty much unregulated and you do hear generators at non-generator hours, but that is not really much of an issue. The main feature is the Bay. Our Verizon phone worked well, but the Verizon data plan (MiFi) did not work. It is on the open so our satellite worked well here. Visiting Homer again, we would stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
No hookups, no one on site. Payment done at vault box. Area checked for payment during mornings and evening by city park staff. Best camping deal in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
This is what you expect for a city campground, no hookups but an inexpensive place to stay. If you get parked facing the ocean it is a great view. Negatives are the road is noisy till after the shops close on the spit and of course the usual inconsiderate campers that you have every where you go. Quiet time is 11pm -7am and some fired up generators at 5am. If noise is not a problem it's a cheap place to stay and you can stay at least 7 days. If you pull out though you will certainly lose your spot, it's like vultures on a kill site. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Mariner Park
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   10   8   7   8   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Originally we wanted to stay on the Homer Spit - we thought that was the way to go. Instead we stayed here and we are glad we did. This park does not have the traffic and noise as do the parks on the spit. This park is close to Old Town Homer and within walking distance to the visitors center, islands & ocean center and more. The gift shop is very nice and the staff is friendly. The view is beautiful. We stayed for 8 days in site #60. We were stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
The view is great and the park was quiet enough for the week we stayed here. The sites are not real close together but close enough that your neighbors and their dogs can irritate you if they stay outside and talk for half the night. The not so great part is the size of the roads, as we had to shimmy our little 33 foot Winnebago into our back-in spot. We watched some people give up trying to back their 35 foot 5th wheels into a tight spot with very little turning space to do so. Some just gave up. And there were pull-thrus available, but apparently not given out for some reason. The pull-thru are really just back to back sites in the center of the park so if one side of all the pull-thrus (about 20) is full then there are really no pull-thru sites available. The park has a leash law as does the town of Homer but as we all know, dog owners think these leash laws apply to everyone but them. So I had to tell a few people to leash their dogs while here, as I know the park owners can’t police the park 24/7. The Wi-Fi is ok depending on how many people are on it. I would stay here again if in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
Our review might be a little prejudiced as we were assigned a nice wide and long pull through site separate from the main park. The afternoon check-in person was friendly and helpful. The woman working in the evening was surly and rude. Laundry was woefully inadequate for this size of a park, 4 washers and 4 dryers. Other than that, a very nice place with a beautiful view of the inlet. Would definitely stay here again, providing I had a space in the same part of the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Oceanview RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
10
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
The location is great--walking distance to most Spit businesses, just across from the marina. Hosts were nice and helpful. Basic sites. The store included RV supplies, and free borrowing of DVDs. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
This park is on the spit in Homer and is located on the same road that the small boat harbor is on. The sites are long but not wide, will accept a rig of any length but once your slides are out there isn't a lot of room either side. Basically you back in 15 feet off Freight Dock road. This park is basically a place to back in and spend the night. We used it as a base and spent our time away. Not our first choice for a park in Homer, but not bad given the choices available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com