220250 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Hope, Alaska (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
22.09 miles NW
24.93 miles SE
27.98 miles N
Alaska
Hope
Most Recently Reviewed
Porcupine Campground - USFS
Latest Review Submited On
2013-07-30 20:46:32
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Hope, Alaska
Camp Information
Sites
15
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   9   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
One of the worst campgrounds we have ever stayed in! Price of $36 is for a small back-in site and they charge $4 extra for a shower and extra $ for Wi-Fi. The sites in this campground are packed in very tight and ours does not have a table of any kind. Our site was partially resurfaced recently with dirt/gravel and is uneven as a result. The showers are in the main office and since the main office doesn't open until 9 AM you cannot take a shower until then! At 10PM they forced our neighbors (who did not pay for a full hook-up site) to move because they accidentally gave them this site which had already been reserved by someone else (they did not have any other open full hook-up site for the late arrival). Staff could be friendlier since they all act like they just came from a wake. Fortunately we are staying just one night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
This is a clean and respectable RV campground. The campground, office, store, and laundry room are clean and orderly. There is a library with DVDs, 8-track tapes, and books to check out for free. The staff were friendly and helpful regarding what to do and see in the Hope area. We went on a scenic float with the Chaguch Outdoor Center. There are also world class white water trips available which can be booked through this office. We used one of the pull through sites with full hookups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Only stayed here because we found the Porcupine Campground closed. The "Dacha" is full of seasonal workers (guys working on the Porcupine upgrade project?) staying in the Hotel/Hostel/Cabins that seem to have taken over the place. There are dogs running loose everywhere, with no apparent effort to enforce the leash rule. No fire rings or picnic tables at camp sites - just "community" sites. Bring LOTS of bug spray. Won't be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
12
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$14
Great campsite with gold panning near by. Camp friendly hosts with cozy little spots. Loved the stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
34
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   1   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$14
This campground is open again. The rate reflects a 50% Senior Federal Pass discount plus an extra $5 extra charge because of our tow car. This campground charges extra for the tow car, so without the discount, it would be $23 for our setup! The campground is at the very end of the road past the town of Hope and is on Turnagain Arm of the Cook Inlet. It is a short drive from Anchorage so is heavily used, particularly on the weekend, by the residents of that town. They consider “rules” such as the check-out time merely a suggestion. The campground also gets considerable traffic from drive-throughs since it is at the end of the road. A few of the sites have great views of Turnagain Arm. These are often reserved, particularly on the weekend. We arrived on a Sunday and were able to nab one of these nice view sites. Many of the sites are very unlevel; too bad this was not rectified in the remodel they just completed. We had to try three sites to get a site level enough so that we could sort-of level. The road in the campground is fairly tight, so that a really big rig would have some difficulty maneuvering. The setting is pleasant in all of the sites and there is reasonably good separation between sites. There is no dump station and the water is from a hand pump, so arrive with all the water you will need and plan on hauling out the waste tanks. There is a campground host that was unhelpful to the point of being aggressive and rude. Our Verizon phone and data card worked well here. We might stay here again during the week for an overnight, but would never consider staying here on a weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$1
This park is CLOSED on July 11, 2011. They are doing some type of road work and/or other work in the park and have a "Closed for the Season" sign up and the road is blocked. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$11
We camped here several times during our last trip to Alaska. It is one of our favorites in Alaska. Unfortunately, we were told by the hosts that the campground will undergo major renovations and will be closed during 2010. Check before going. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Porcupine Campground - USFS
Camp Information
Sites
12
Date of Stay
August 2009
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
The weekend here was great. The campsite was clean and the individuals at the cafe were welcoming and friendly. The fishing was great for the kids and the dog enjoyed the area walk. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
We were here at the height of salmon fishing which is very convenient from your site, but is also a crazy busy time. But if one is flexible, one might enjoy this place. There are loose running dogs, loose running small children, people who enjoy their beer A LOT, and the sites are 4 inches from each other. (You can hand beer to your neighbor from your window. Or his dog.) Weekdays were quieter and early in the summer is better than late June/July. But it is lovely and quirky and the pinks tasted good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
End of street campground in quirky and charming little town of Hope. Right on Resurrection Creek with everyone fishing. Great ambiance and café/bar across street. Best halibut so far in Alaska. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Only lack of sewer hookup, or dump station, prevents this from getting a higher rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Seaview RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com