223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Juneau, Alaska (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Costco 9077806768
1.56 miles E
University Of Alaska Sout
2.78 miles SE
Juneau International Airp
3.29 miles E
Canton House
4.85 miles SE
Silverbow Inn And Restaur
5.04 miles SE
The Fiddlehead Restaurant
5.45 miles SE
Gold Creek Salmon Bake
5.60 miles SE
Mike'S Place
5.68 miles SE
Alaska State Museum
5.85 miles SE
Summit Restaurant
5.98 miles SE
The Cookhouse
6.62 miles SE
Eaglecrest Ski Area
7.78 miles E
Alaska
Juneau
Most Recently Reviewed
Spruce Meadow RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-05-25 19:48:22
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Juneau, Alaska
Camp Information
Sites
69
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$21
The spacious sites are spread out among the woods for a lovely, private feel, but they are not very level. It's a plus to see the glacier every time we drove in and out! Water and electric hookups were fine. Some sites have sewer, but the one we used was so far off-level that the sewer inlet was uphill from our outlet, so not usable. There was no Wi-Fi, but the cell service (we use Verizon) was 4G and quite fast. Pit toilets were always nice and clean; there are flush toilets and showers in another loop, but we didn't use them. It was a real pleasure to camp close to nature for once, and a great value at $21 per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$21
This is probably one of the few National Forest campgrounds with full hookups. The sites are big and separated from others sites by thick vegetation. You can see the Mendenhall Glacier from the campground. There are some short, but really nice trails in the campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Rate shown includes Golden Age Passport discount, and $9 on line reservation fee. Very beautiful sites. Paved interior roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
64
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   8   7   7   10   8   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
Good park, but beware of tricky transportation logistics for RVs. Run by a mother-daughter team, this friendly park is more spacious than a typical commercial park, with some green space between sites, along with some picnic tables and fire pits. The staff is helpful, and the facilities are clean and tidy. The laundry is particularly nice, and located in a 24-hour-accessible central facility in the same building as the office, with no need to get change or tokens from staff. TRANSPORTATION LOGISTICS: This park is located about 16 miles from town on Mendenhall Loop, making it pretty close to the Alaska Marine Highway ferry terminal and of course the Mendenhall Glacier, but not at all close to downtown. One thing you RV'ers need to know is that parking in downtown Juneau for an RV is IMPOSSIBLE. Fortunately, there are two bus routes that stop right outside the park, but unfortunately, as of our visit, the bus stop sign right by the park entrance had disappeared, thus it wasn't clear where the stop was! We ended up walking up a mile and a half to the next stop, and had the pleasure of watching a bus drive right by us despite our waving because we weren't at an official stop. Here's what you need to know to make the busses work for you: => There are two routes serving the park: Route 3 runs counterclockwise around Mendenhall Loop and Route 4 runs clockwise around Mendenhall Loop. => Both take about an hour to get you in to town, and come about once an hour during the day, Monday through Saturday. => The bus stops for both Route 3 and Route 4 are right next to the park entrance. Walk from the park to the street, then the bus stops are about 50 feet to the RIGHT. The Route 3 bus stop sign (on the same side of the road as the park) is MISSING. But the Route 4 bus stop sign on the opposite side of the street is present, so just look for it. => Ask staff for the times of each route. Our recollection is that Route 3 came ~7 minutes before the hour, while Route 4 came ~20 minutes after the hour, during the day. Check with staff, though. => A taxi is another option, and costs about $35. one way. Note that Mendenhall Glacier was not quite walking distance from this park (~2 miles away), but parking an RV there was not a problem. Only getting to the activities based downtown was problematic. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Mosquitoes are awful. But that is common in Alaska. WiFi, did not work, cable spotty. Our site required a bit of leveling and was oddly laid out, with the sewer closer to the front of the site. If we were to return to the area we would stay at another campground at Mendenhall Glacier, which also has full hookups for less money. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Very helpful staff. Heavily treed sites. Very quiet. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Display older reviews for Spruce Meadow RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com