223611 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Skagway, Alaska (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
22.67 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Klondike Gold Rush Nati
5.64 miles SE
Alaska
Skagway
Most Recently Reviewed
Garden City RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-30 22:18:08
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Skagway, Alaska
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   7   5   7   7   4   5   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$39
Campground is at the edge of town, walking distance into Skagway. Quiet with tight sites. I'd consider staying again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
This is probably the best park in Skagway and that isn't saying much. It's crowded and unattractive. We were given one Wi-Fi access code and it didn't work for either of us or any of our devices. But our Verizon mifi worked with a 3G connection most of the time. There was a very rowdy bunch our last night there (we stayed 3 nights) and there was nobody on site to do anything about it. I called the police and things got quiet for a short time and then the party started again and went well into the early morning. When I was able to get in touch with the manager the next day he apologized, but my guess is this goes on a lot because there are "rental" trailers on site. I would not stay here again. Given it to do over again, I would probably have stayed longer in Haines and cut the Skagway visit short. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
A very nice (by AK standards) RV park in town, within walking distance of the shops (10 blocks or so), harbor, and train station. Spectacular mountain views. full hook-ups, 30 amp. Pull thru spaces with grass, but you might want to disconnect your tow car on the street before entering the park. Internal gravel roads, but didn’t seem dusty despite little rain in recent weeks. Good laundromat. A number of seasonal workers are living in the park. We saw no children and there no amenities designed for children. Pet walk area. Quiet park except for early morning planes flying over and horns of departing cruise ships. Nice to be away from the craziness of 10-15K cruise ship passengers who come to Skagway each summer day. My only complaint with this campground is with the internet: the campground internet had a fee of $3 per hour -- my informal survey of campers said it didn’t work even then. My MiFi would also not function --- too many phones on the cruise ships? Our cell service was also intermittent, depending on the number of cruise ships in port. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Garden City RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   6   8   8   5   9   7   4   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
Imagine 4 cruise ships with 12,000+ passengers descending on a small town like Skagway and everyone of the passengers walking by your RV site to get from the ship to the shops. That's what you get on days that ships dock in Skagway. On the other hand, imagine a ghost town when no cruise ships are docked. That's what you also get. I would strongly suggest arranging your stay to coincide with days that have no cruise ships in port. This allows restaurants that aren't overcrowded; shops that have ample viewing space; and tourist facilities that don't require hours of waiting. The Pullen Creek RV CG is located only 2 blocks from town--the other CGs are 1/2 to a mile away. It is more convenient than the others; however it's proximity to the waterfront means having to use the sewer dump adjacent to the office--there are no individual dumps. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
The location of this campground is quite charming if you know what you are getting into! It is packed onto a small peninsula between the cruise ship docks and the village of Skagway. While the cruise ships are in, there is foot traffic everywhere, so ample opportunity for people watching. There are many sites packed into a small space, yet it didn't quite feel as impersonal as many private campgrounds. Some sites had makeshift type picnic tables, but ours didn't, so be sure to travel with a table! The location is very convenient, as you can easily walk to Skagway and the train station. Our biggest disappointment with this campground was the lack of restroom facilities for the number of people camping here. We camped mid-week (with a reservation) and the campground was packed. We gave up trying to take a shower as there were so many people waiting; as a result of the high use, the facility always seemed quite untidy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Very noisy as trains travel on both sides of park and cruise ships dock just a couple of blocks away. Advantage is that this park is close to ferry terminal and 1 block from historic downtown. Sites were adequate for our vehicle but tight for anything longer. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Display older reviews for Pullen Creek RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
115
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   5   3   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
This place is by far the worst park that we have ever stayed in. The park itself was very rundown with many old permanent units in awful condition. Trash was everywhere; just touching the dumpster made me shudder. Free range dogs moved about. It is right next to a train track with many trains moving throughout the day, but thankfully not at night. Wi-Fi is in laundromat and is not bad. Toilets and especially the showers were disgusting. Showers are coin operated, sometimes, and take your money with no hot water often. Staff is friendly, but run a tourist operation and are often gone, leaving the office locked. They advertise TV, but have not had it in 2 years. Sewer is also advertised, but not available at our "full hookup" site. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$37
This is an older park with all-gravel interior roads and sites, located right along the tourist railway (daytime trains only). Most sites are tight and short, and positioned at right angles to the interior roads. Our big rig stuck out pretty far into the road, and we were unable to park our toad on-site. With slides deployed, we were very close to the overall site width. Most sites have 30 amp power, but a limited number of 50 amp sites are available (reserved for caravans?). Many sites are occupied by perma-rigs, with several of these being in very poor condition (think blue tarps and duct tape). We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
Very poorly maintained. Dumpsters are overflowing, sites are neglected and have no curb appeal. Showers are pay and dirty as well as paint peeling etc. Staff was ok but didn't know how to use computer to register me. Unless the other campgrounds are full as was the case this time stay away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Skagway Mountain View RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com