206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Calgary, Alberta (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
14.00 miles NW
16.37 miles NE
17.01 miles SW
22.19 miles NW
26.77 miles SE
29.34 miles SW
29.77 miles S
-Other Nearby Points-
Race City Speedway
7.79 miles SW
Alberta
Calgary
Most Recently Reviewed
Mountain View Camping
Latest Review Submited On
2013-10-28 03:40:22
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Calgary, Alberta
Camp Information
Sites
350
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   5   6   3   5   1   9   3   1   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  yes  no  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  no  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$46
I am usually a pretty easy grader of campsites as we are totally self contained and have no pets, so our needs are usually just a place to park at night. Our experience with this place was pretty bad. We were assigned a space and plugged into the 30 amp plug. While we were out, the space next to us was assigned, and the person plugged into our same utility pole in the 20 amp outlet. At some point our progressive electrical management system shut down our RV as the voltage fell below 104 volts Thank heaven we have that feature on our RV. When we got back the voltage was still only reading 107, so we pretty much shut everything off and went to bed. The next morning as soon as the person next to us left,, the voltage went to 120. We went to the desk clerk and asked that no one be put in that spot for our final night, but they said they couldn't guarantee that. They agreed to move us. Just want to warn people that your electrical appliances can be at risk in this park. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
Roads quite rough and dusty. Site could not accomodate motorhome and toad. Vist was just before Calgary Stampede and owners had take it or leave it attitude. Very difficult to find. We would not return We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$47
Gravel roads with lots of dust. Small sites, very narrow. Many sites do not have a level spot for a picnic table or chairs. Some sites have one electrical box with a first come first service for use of the 30 amp service, you will need an extension cord for those sites. No privacy between sites at all. Bathrooms are old and generally disgusting, could use a couple of more showers. Store is almost empty. People are friendly and helpful. Buildings are old and in need of repair and paint. Pool is clean but man was it cold. Wi-Fi at main building. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Calgary West Campground
Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   6   6   6   8   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
This park has clearly been designed by someone who has never owned / used / seen an RV! Hookups were spaced apart so poorly that we had to go to an RV supply store to buy longer connections for water & power! We never even tried to hook up to sewer. That was a nightmare itself, as it runs uphill! The only positive I can see about this park is the proximity of the amusement park. If you don't have little kids, pick somewhere else to stay! Most RV parks are throwing in wi-fi for free. Callaway charges a ridiculous $10 / day for internet access. The other thing is they are less than accommodating when it comes to moving sites. We had opted to move from a partial-service site to full-service where there were lots of open sites; in fact, the one they put us in hours later was vacant when we wanted to move. Instead, they had us drive down to the amusement park's overflow parking & wait til 2 PM! It was inconvenient for us, and from what we could see, completely unnecessary. Would we stay here again? Only if there wasn't another RV park or Walmart in the area! And there usually is. In other words, no, we wouldn't stay here again. Nor would we recommend it to friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Located next to water park, if you have children they would probably love it. Park was clean, new laundry and restroom facilities. Sites are basic gravel and not very level and had poor drainage. We had a thunder storm and our site was flooded. Stayed to see Calgary Stampede. Park provided shuttle service to and from Stampede twice daily. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
The real advantage of this RV park is the combination deal of Amusement park passes, meal vouchers and RV park rental. There is one side of the park which has a few trees, whereas the area we had was in an open field with quite a slope toward the west. It rained/ and then hailed while we were here and this explains the slopes at calgary RV parks, so that the water leaves quickly. As Campgrounds go, it is pretty poor, however as a RV park it is ok and the Park deal is the reason you would stay at the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Callaway Park
Camp Information
Sites
130
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   1   3   7   1   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
We arrived towards end of October on a Friday. Staff wasn't really rude, but not that friendly either. Sites are sloping so you have to bring the front of your RV quite a bit up, left right is ok. Some grass between sites and wide enough for slideouts and awnings. Hookups are in the middle of pull throughs, where always two RV's are parked back to back. At the end, you are very close with your neighbor. Hookups are dated, I only hooked up to power. Wi-Fi is provided by another business, Can $5.00 per day or more depending on bandwidth you want. Didn't bother to buy. Washrooms are poorly designed, old fashioned, dated and could be cleaner. However, once a day they really smelled of bleach! And you have to pay for the showers. The price charged is outrageous for what you get, the looks and feel just doesn't justify that price. But that is Calgary, no decent RV park available and the few ones can do whatever they want. I will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Staff were rude, sites very tight, trucks parked everywhere. Grounds and office were not presentable. No value for money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$38
When we got to our site it had a foot of snow on it, we had to wait `till someone brought out a tractor to clear our site. The tractor didn't clear all so I had To go back and get a snow shovel and finish the job, I wonder if I should charge them $38/ hr labor for the work. Sites are not level, and muddy. No water hook ups so you had to drive the RV to the water outlet. That's the problem with Calgary RV campgrounds they don't have many, so they can over charge you and give you lousy service. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Mountain View Camping
Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
May 2011
Latest Rate
$20+



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   2   9   3   2   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  no  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  no  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20+
What a dump. Half full of itinerant construction workers. Park management has recently blown out the sewer system. You heard it: blown out. Toilet tissue was hanging from the trees. Great western bar on site helped to escape from reality, but never again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$13
This is an old park with barely adequate facilities. Grass sites are fairly level but mostly small and crowded. Electric was only 15 amp, water was not available at many sites (though recently turned on for the season) and hot water was not available in all shower stalls (no flow from hot faucet). Use of the dump station required an extra fee. Restrooms/showers were very worn and not clean. Wi-Fi connections were difficult to establish but surprisingly fast and reliable if possible to achieve. The Passport America discount brings cost down to almost match value. New ownership seems to have muddled the care put into the operation. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
We have stayed at Symons Valley Campground, Calgary, AB several times over the years and have always found this to be a good park. Although the sites are a little small, they are well maintained. Everything is kept clean. They told us when we registered that they will probably be bought out in a few years due to the expanding city so would not be doing any upgrades but would keep everything in working order as long as they had it. The staff were all friendly. They, also, have an excellent Ice Cream shop right there. It is unfortunate that this park will soon be gone as we would highly recommend it as long as it remains open. Thank you to the owners/staff of this park. Good luck in the future! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Symons Valley RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com