214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Calgary, Alberta (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
14.00 miles NW
16.37 miles NE
17.01 miles SW
22.19 miles NW
26.77 miles SE
29.34 miles SW
29.77 miles S
-Other Nearby Points-
Race City Speedway
7.79 miles SW
Alberta
Calgary
Most Recently Reviewed
Calgary West Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-20 01:41:23
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Calgary, Alberta
Camp Information
Sites
350
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   2   5   6   3   5   1   9   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  no  question  yes  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  no  question  question  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
Restrooms were acceptable but would not call them clean. Park was crowded and needed more frequent attention. Trash around the building never picked up during our 3-day stay. Crowded park, sites very close together. Road and train noise was loud. Can't imagine anyone not hearing it throughout the night. We stayed without reservation during Stampede and paid for our lack of planning. Would not return. Overpriced for a site with no services, even during Stampede week. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$46
Quiet location with no road noise. Check in staff were pleasant and helpful. Store was well stocked and prices were reasonable. Sites are small with two rigs parked side by side in pull-through sites. There is ample room to extend slides if both parties are courteous in their parking. Our neighbor had problem with 30 amp breaker tripping at less than 20 amps. Breakers appear to be old and some may be weak. We had no problems with ours when we were pulling 25 amps. It was below freezing at night and with all the electric heaters running voltage would drop to around 110 VAC. Wi-Fi was very strong in our spot (A-31). We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$46
I am usually a pretty easy grader of campsites as we are totally self contained and have no pets, so our needs are usually just a place to park at night. Our experience with this place was pretty bad. We were assigned a space and plugged into the 30 amp plug. While we were out, the space next to us was assigned, and the person plugged into our same utility pole in the 20 amp outlet. At some point our progressive electrical management system shut down our RV as the voltage fell below 104 volts Thank heaven we have that feature on our RV. When we got back the voltage was still only reading 107, so we pretty much shut everything off and went to bed. The next morning as soon as the person next to us left,, the voltage went to 120. We went to the desk clerk and asked that no one be put in that spot for our final night, but they said they couldn't guarantee that. They agreed to move us. Just want to warn people that your electrical appliances can be at risk in this park. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Calgary West Campground
Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   6   6   6   8   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
This park has clearly been designed by someone who has never owned / used / seen an RV! Hookups were spaced apart so poorly that we had to go to an RV supply store to buy longer connections for water & power! We never even tried to hook up to sewer. That was a nightmare itself, as it runs uphill! The only positive I can see about this park is the proximity of the amusement park. If you don't have little kids, pick somewhere else to stay! Most RV parks are throwing in wi-fi for free. Callaway charges a ridiculous $10 / day for internet access. The other thing is they are less than accommodating when it comes to moving sites. We had opted to move from a partial-service site to full-service where there were lots of open sites; in fact, the one they put us in hours later was vacant when we wanted to move. Instead, they had us drive down to the amusement park's overflow parking & wait til 2 PM! It was inconvenient for us, and from what we could see, completely unnecessary. Would we stay here again? Only if there wasn't another RV park or Walmart in the area! And there usually is. In other words, no, we wouldn't stay here again. Nor would we recommend it to friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Located next to water park, if you have children they would probably love it. Park was clean, new laundry and restroom facilities. Sites are basic gravel and not very level and had poor drainage. We had a thunder storm and our site was flooded. Stayed to see Calgary Stampede. Park provided shuttle service to and from Stampede twice daily. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
The real advantage of this RV park is the combination deal of Amusement park passes, meal vouchers and RV park rental. There is one side of the park which has a few trees, whereas the area we had was in an open field with quite a slope toward the west. It rained/ and then hailed while we were here and this explains the slopes at calgary RV parks, so that the water leaves quickly. As Campgrounds go, it is pretty poor, however as a RV park it is ok and the Park deal is the reason you would stay at the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Callaway Park
Camp Information
Sites
130
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   1   3   7   1   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
We arrived towards end of October on a Friday. Staff wasn't really rude, but not that friendly either. Sites are sloping so you have to bring the front of your RV quite a bit up, left right is ok. Some grass between sites and wide enough for slideouts and awnings. Hookups are in the middle of pull throughs, where always two RV's are parked back to back. At the end, you are very close with your neighbor. Hookups are dated, I only hooked up to power. Wi-Fi is provided by another business, Can $5.00 per day or more depending on bandwidth you want. Didn't bother to buy. Washrooms are poorly designed, old fashioned, dated and could be cleaner. However, once a day they really smelled of bleach! And you have to pay for the showers. The price charged is outrageous for what you get, the looks and feel just doesn't justify that price. But that is Calgary, no decent RV park available and the few ones can do whatever they want. I will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Staff were rude, sites very tight, trucks parked everywhere. Grounds and office were not presentable. No value for money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$38
When we got to our site it had a foot of snow on it, we had to wait `till someone brought out a tractor to clear our site. The tractor didn't clear all so I had To go back and get a snow shovel and finish the job, I wonder if I should charge them $38/ hr labor for the work. Sites are not level, and muddy. No water hook ups so you had to drive the RV to the water outlet. That's the problem with Calgary RV campgrounds they don't have many, so they can over charge you and give you lousy service. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Mountain View Camping
Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   3   2   9   3   2   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  yes  no  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  yes  no  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
BE AWARE-DO NOT STAY HERE unless you want to camp in a trailer park. We did not end up staying the night. We had reservations, and pulled up. The guy didn't even know which sites he had available, they were super small and would have been difficult to level (muddy). There were a tons of old trailers that were rusted out with garbage around sites. The facilities were NOT clean and there is no way with kids I would have stayed there. Totally misrepresented on their website. Its in the middle of Calgary suburban sprawl with a ton of construction and not easy access. Sites were not maintained, not mowed, and more of a storage area feel than a campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20+
What a dump. Half full of itinerant construction workers. Park management has recently blown out the sewer system. You heard it: blown out. Toilet tissue was hanging from the trees. Great western bar on site helped to escape from reality, but never again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$13
This is an old park with barely adequate facilities. Grass sites are fairly level but mostly small and crowded. Electric was only 15 amp, water was not available at many sites (though recently turned on for the season) and hot water was not available in all shower stalls (no flow from hot faucet). Use of the dump station required an extra fee. Restrooms/showers were very worn and not clean. Wi-Fi connections were difficult to establish but surprisingly fast and reliable if possible to achieve. The Passport America discount brings cost down to almost match value. New ownership seems to have muddled the care put into the operation. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Symons Valley RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com