215236 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Canmore, Alberta (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
14.58 miles SE
Alberta
Canmore
Most Recently Reviewed
Spring Creek RV Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-09 20:28:56
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Canmore, Alberta
Camp Information
Sites
39
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
This is boon docking. There are no facilities other than "out houses" and a hand water pump available. The vistas are spectacular. Very quiet and serene. There are sites situated very close to the river. Also some site that are very close to the Trans-Canada Highway so these will be quite noisy. Not big rig friendly at all. The park road is narrow and winding. Lots of low hanging branches and large trees to maneuver around. Just a few miles to Canmore where there are all amenities and plenty to see and do. The best part of our visit was a Black Bear wandering through our site in broad day light. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
173
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   10   9   8   7   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Excellent 30 amp power. The water pressure was good. There are trains every so often, but they are not loud enough to bother me. The sites are close together, but still left a feeling of privacy. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Very calm campground (we heard only the train but very far away). Fire pit. Very kind people at the desk. Store with lot of stuff. On the less good side : there is NO LAUNDRY in the campground and no sewer connection for the RV, so you need to go to the other RV campground which is about 10 minute drive (but too far to go there by foot). The sites are nice but the roads are very narrow which makes it a challenge to back into with larger units. Also a little bit too far to visit Banff. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This is our favorite park in Alberta. The sites are private, the playground is a great spot. There are several hiking trails in the campground and along the river. The showers are clean. The loops D & E are best to stay in for privacy / shade. There is a active amphitheater and children's program here during the week / on weekends. I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Display older reviews for Bow Valley Provincial Park - Bow Valley Campground
Camp Information
Sites
124
Date of Stay
August 2009
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This is the "overflow" campground for Bow Valley Provincial Park. No reservations are accepted. We stayed for one week, including a holiday weekend when the campground was full, often with two units in a site. There were two pay ($2 token/5 min) showers for Men, 2 for Women. Only one day did both showers work in the ladies'; a couple days on one worked in the men's room, and one day neither one worked. In addition, there was one toilet out of order the whole time in the ladies' room. The rest rooms appeared to be only really cleaned when a complaint was made - otherwise the guy kind of wiped the sinks and added tissue - not much more - he didn't even refill the hand sanitizer by the door, and there was no soap or towels. There was no employee on site, so I reported these issues every other day when I went to the store/office at Bow Valley to get tokens. There I was told there was a "Host" at Willowrock, but could never figure out who it was. If this is a typical Alberta Provincial Park Campground, I am sorry for the local folks; $25/night is a lot to pay for no services. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
41
Date of Stay
July 2010
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Well, the park was overpriced. The owner/operator was a bit annoying while we were parking, getting involved when he didn't need to be and brushing off my wife's instructions. The sites were really close together and cramped. The bathrooms and showers were in need of a good cleaning as there was some black mold. They only take cash, and were out of wood when we were there. Would NOT stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
137
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   6   9   10   7   7   6   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
We were here for 3 nights and had a back in site by the peaceful stream. It's a very crowded park and the campers are packed in, but it's clean at least where the overnighters are. The majority of campers/homes there are permanent, but the overnight section is very clean. The office staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
Excellent park! Bathrooms very clean but slightly outdated, WiFi spotty. Our site was an older narrow one (there are wider sites). Quiet, train tracks nearby, but the trains did not blow their horns so they did not wake us. Friendly staff. So nice here that we stayed an extra night. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$49
We camped at Spring Creek RV park over the May long weekend in a 50 amp pull through site. The rate shown does not include tax or any discounts (none offered or advertised). The campground is older and spaces are quite narrow but fairly level gravel pads long enough to hold our 41' RV. It is located less than 1 km from the trans Canada highway so there was some noise but not enough to spoil it for us. Spring Creek runs along the northern edge of the campground as does the railroad track. There is also a pleasant short walk leading back into Canmore town centre along the side of the creek. Seeing as it was a long weekend, the railroad wasn't too busy but there is definitely some noise from the rolling stock, which in this part of the continent. It can take 10 or so minutes to pass through. Only a few hundred meters away is a helicopter company running tourist flights into the mountain. This wasn't a problem for me because I enjoy listening to a helicopter turbine engine start and the rotor sound as they take off. Being an older site the facilities were a little tired looking although clean and functional. The washrooms had three pay-to-use shower cubicles and one toilet stall. The interior was clean but again, dated. Freshly painted block walls and white gloss painted plywood doors, nothing smart or close to modern. With that said, the water in the hand basins was very hot and a good pressure. I didn't use the showers, instead, electing to use the on board shower we already have. One thing I did notice was they did not appear to be too big and access for the disabled may be more challenging than other places. A laundry is available but we didn't use this or even take a look at it. Each site appears to be equipped with a shallow block built fire ring and a weathered picnic table with bench seating. Although there are fire pits there was a sign indicating that no fire wood was for sale. Whether this is a temporary glitch or a regular thing, I don't know. Our pull through was equipped with a 30/50 amp pedestal, a tap for water and a capped sewer drop. These all appeared to be working as designed and you can drink the water as there is no after taste. Apparently there is WiFi. It shows as being a signal I can connect to without a password and I can see the signal strength indicator on my iPad. However, even though I'm shown as connected it is so painfully slow I have yet to be able to open any email or web site using it. I have now resorted to using the personal hotspot created by my phone. The campground is about a 1km walk along the creek from Canmore town centre. This is a well established tourist town nestled in the eastern slopes of the Canadian Rockies. The mountain views from our site were spectacular. Canmore has several excellent grocery stores and restaurants but if you need RV spares, and I did, there is nothing doing. It is also outside of the Banff National Park so no park pass was required. Head a few km further west and you need to buy the pass if you intend to stop in the park. If you're just passing through and heading straight into BC along the trans Canada then, again you don't need to buy one. Some of the campground has been developed into condos. Whether this is in the long term plan for the remaining part I wouldn't know but I also wouldn't be surprised. Being as it was a long weekend, there was no construction taking place at the condo development but my guess is that 'under normal conditions' there will be some construction noise. Being less than an hour from home and in the mountains we may camp here again for an occasional weekend but nothing more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Spring Creek RV Campground
Camp Information
Sites
88
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
I was able to select a site first before registering. Water available from a tap near site 3. First site chosen (#3) was very unlevel so chose another one (#1). The electrical pedestal cover plate was off exposing the connection to the elements. The campground manager was friendly enough, but he could have shown more sense when burning a pile of wood in his fire ring and smoking us out. There was noise from both the Trans Canada highway and the trains nearby. There is no dump station at this campground. Go to the Travel Alberta Info Centre next door. I would not go back to this campground if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
This is a city (Canmore) owned campground just outside the boundary of Banff National Park and known only to locals. It is certainly worth a try if the other main campground is full. Canmore is a great place to visit in the Banff National Park. Even though there is no sewer dump within the park, it is next door to the Visitor Center which does have a free sewer available. Physical address is 100 Ray McBride St., Canmore, Alberta. It is open from May 1 through October 15 each year. There are 47 RV sites and 36 tent sites. Additional contact number is (866) 366-2267. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com