214275 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Jasper National Park, Alberta (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Marmot Basin Ski Area
1.89 miles SW
Jasper National Park
2.95 miles N
Jasper Park Lodge
6.51 miles NW
Alberta
Jasper National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Wapiti Campground (Parks Canada)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-26 20:11:12
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Jasper National Park, Alberta
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   3   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$1
Free parking overlooking a small pond amidst mountains and glaciers is well worth a night with no hookups! This overflow area is just a huge, paved parking lot, but it's in the right place. Forget hookups, WiFi, laundry, etc and enjoy nature. Bathroom is a pit toilet, but nice and clean. No showers available. This was a good spot to stop for a night, and the price can't be beat. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2013
$15
It's a parking lot for the Icefields Centre. No services. It was offered for free tonight. I guess because it appears the snowplow hit the registration deposit station so you couldn't leave any money if you tried. In a pinch it works. The view is out of this world, but you have to work hard to find a location flat enough in this slanted paved parking lot to keep from rolling out of bed. Would not recommend unless you really needed a place to park for the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$16
This might just be the best deal in both national parks. Asphalt parking lot but with a view, and what a view it is. You're looking straight up into the glacier. The lot itself is somewhat unlevel but they have a self pay kiosk that you have to put in 15.70 exact change or you can use your credit card. I'm not sure anybody actually checks the lot with the pay stubs, so it is a honor system. For one night we enjoyed it We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Icefields Centre RV (Parks Canada)
Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
June 2011
Latest Rate
$49



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$49
Large, spacious drive-through sites, although in a very treed environment. Bears and elk have been problems, but we did not see any of them. It is a bit pricey for what you get, however there is only one shower for campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$21
Excellent campground - nearest to Miette Hot Springs. No services, no TV, no satellite radio, no cell phone coverage. Very big sites - fairly level. Road rather narrow for 40' motor home with toad but passable. Only complaint - signage not adequate off main Jasper Park Road and off side road passing campground. We passed the first turnoff and had to travel 5 miles + before able to do a U turn with toad attached. Sign is about 50 feet before turnoff to campgrounds and until you turn a bend, the gate is not obvious. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
231
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Nothing negative to say about this park. Within walking distance to the Athabasca River. Group campfires with performances by nature analysts and park wardens happen daily. Large, spacious sites with hookups, firepits and lots of privacy. About 15km from downtown Jasper. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
A little disappointed with this one. First off one of the two roads heading in were very bumpy, so much so that we had to slow down to a snail's pace. The campground itself was quite nice as far as layout and general appeal. The site we had (and saw many others this way) was not very good. It was hard to back into (unless you're good at backing in a "s" pattern) and it was too narrow. Could not open our awning more than three feet. There was a fire pit and picnic table behind a barrier at the rear of the site though. If I ever return to Jasper I will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
364
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   5   7   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
Rate cited is for a back-in 30 amp electric only site. Essentially a parking lot with back-in sites that was serving as an overflow area. Parking can be difficult since you are supposed to straight back in if someone is parked next to you. Would stay again only if that was the only choice. Clean restrooms. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
Great setting...in the forest...plenty of shade and space. Feels like camping. No services in the loop we were assigned to, which was fine for the night. Price a little high in these Nat'l Parks, but worth it as you support their park system. Would recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
This is a marginal park for a large motorhome, unless one wants to stay on the blacktop parking lot that serves as sites with electricity. We were directed around loop "RR", and should not have gone before we looked it over. Trees were tight on both sides and some over hanging branches were too low. If you have a large rig, I suggest Whistlers across the road with full hook ups. Otherwise, this park is a true "camping out" experience. The $8.80/day fire permit is excessive, even if it does include firewood! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Wapiti Campground (Parks Canada)
Camp Information
Sites
781
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   7   8   8   9   7   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$41
This is an awesome Parks Canada campground with sites to meet anyone's needs. We had a full hookup, pull-through site long and wide enough for our 4-slide, 40' RV with tow and were separated from neighbors by trees and other bushes. A campfire permit and wood costs $8.80CDN; wood is easily retrieved from two sites within the park. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
Although this is a huge park the sites are well laid out and you never get that cramped feeling as in some parks. Staff helpful and friendly. FHU had 30 amp service and some of the roads in the "loops" could use leveling and pothole repair. Town of Jasper nearby is very picturesque and there is much to do in the area particularly wildlife viewing. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$34
This is one monster campground, however it is laid out very well with a surprising amount of room for all. There are some super long sites. We had a power only site, 50 amp, which appeared to be recently installed. At $34 for just power it seems pricey. Interior roads could be better, and loop roads need pothole attention. The main negative is the the firewood policy of over $8 per night for a 'permit'. This permit allows you to help yourself to the woodpile and take what you want. It is just that. A pile, pushed up by a machine. Sounds good till you find that the wood is soaking wet and, worse, is cut too long to fit in the fire ring which is the smallest seen anywhere and too deep to ventilate properly. If you don't have an axe to make some kindling and a lot of skill getting a fire going is going to be an exercise in futility. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Whistlers Campground (Parks Canada)
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com