223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Red Deer, Alberta (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
13.90 miles NW
14.17 miles NE
15.85 miles NW
25.22 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Jackpot Casino
0.96 miles SE
Cash Casino-Red Deer
1.64 miles E
Alberta
Red Deer
Most Recently Reviewed
RV There Yet Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-28 17:32:24
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Red Deer, Alberta
Camp Information
Sites
126
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   8   9   10   7   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
All previous positive comments are still valid. However, RV'ers should be aware that Red Deer City Council has changed the fee structure so that there is no monthly or weekly rate this year. This means that there is only a daily rate of $33 which equates to $231/Wk and $990/mo (i.e. 30 days). While this is a well appointed RV park and the staff seem very nice, this rate seems way over the line given that there is no Wi-Fi Internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
This is a great campsite down in the river valley on the Red Deer river in the city. The site had lots of big trees, was paved and level. Power was on the wrong side which was a bit odd so make sure you have a long enough cable. Well maintained and clean, but only one shower stall so it could be a bit busy. Only negative is they do not take reservations which is important to us but as it was near end of September and they close at the end we took a chance & got in. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
Stayed Aug. 28th - Sep. 15th/2011. Red Deer is a nice small city with nice folks. The Red Deer City Campground is also called the Lions Campground because the Lions contributed to or paid for the renovation of one or both restrooms. The site availability was good because of end of season. The staff are polite and helpful but serious regarding campground rules, and that's a good thing. It features nicely treed RV sites on wide road. Tent sites are cozily nestled in heavily treed area on narrow road. The RV sites are paved and mostly level. There is a large overflow area ok to store trailer temporarily. There are no pull-through RV sites. There s no wi-fi but it is available a 1/2 mile north on 49 Avenue at the Parkland Mall in front of Safeway or at Tim Horton's coffee shop a bit further north. All services worked well (power/water/sewer). There are lots of stores/shops/banks/auto mechanics/fuel in the area. We picked up after our pet; please pick up after yours. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Lions Campground
Camp Information
Sites
78
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
I would like to give this campground a better rating because the staff was friendly and really worked hard to overcome an electrical issue. However, this campground is located off a two mile dirt road that really makes a mess of your RV/tow vehicle. Campground has many sites filled with long term campers with a few sites in a new section for transients. We were assigned a pull-through 50 amp full hookup site in the new section. Our EMS would not allow power through due to a ground fault and the 30 amp only worked intermittently. It would trip the breaker even when we were not using any power. The staff tried to fix the issue but were not successful. We ended up using our generator and inverter and we were not offered any monetary compensation for the lack of power. We did not use the bathhouse or laundry. We did not have our cell and MiFi devices on in Canada and did not use the campground Wi-Fi. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Great campground outside the city. Has great laundry facilities and is close to an 18 hole golf course. Quiet park, friendly staff, well kept grounds, free WiFi although coverage is best closest to office. Sites are small and close together in most of the facility. Fire pits are fair. Most sites are pull through. Long term stays are available by the month and soon to be open year round with full hook ups. We enjoyed our stay very much and will go back if we are going to be in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   8   10   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2014
$45
Have stayed here many times on the way to and from home. After paying and checking in, we were asked if we had a dog. Apparently dogs over 25 pounds are no longer allowed. Wow! Price keeps going up at this campground, more long term residents, and my dog isn't welcome? From now on will be staying at the Walmart around the corner. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Stayed here both coming and going to another destination. The campground is clean with easy navigating a back in site with 5th wheel. Sites are level but very close to neighbours. Probably depends on where your site is located but ours was pretty noisy beside a very busy street. An overflow site with power is available for a much reduced fee only if campground is full. Over flow is all we needed for an overnight stay but they still want to take every dollar out of you when they can. Steep rates for what you get and wifi is extra! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
Arrived July and stayed about 3-months while visiting family. Level gravel sites with interior paved roadways. Nightly rate reflects 4-week fee. Consider this one of the best maintained parks we have stayed at. All services worked great. Wi-Fi is available at a fee, but we used our Bell stick which worked very well. Perimeter sites have fire pits. Many sites are winterized for year round habitation. While there are many year-rounders, management ensure they are kept neat and tidy. Park is south end of Red Deer and handy to shopping. If you like exercise, the City's extensive trail (bike, walk) system starts across the street. You are also next door to many shows at the Westerner Fair Grounds. Local Farmers Market offers great opportunity to sample goods from the numerous local farmers. Stayed here before and will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Westerner Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com