223083 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Grand Canyon Airport
1.11 miles SW
Grand Canyon Imax Theate
2.24 miles N
Grand Canyon National P
10.69 miles NE
Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Trailer Village (NPS Campground)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-11 15:09:15
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$12
This is a National Park Service campground. There are NO hookups; it is boondocking at its finest. If you want to get away from the bedlam at the Grand Canyon Village area, this is the place. We stayed in site #22, in the back of the loop. Bring leveling boards or be prepared to use your leveling system if you have one. Absolute quiet, all you hear are the ravens and the wind. Short bike ride or walk to the canyon rim and the watch tower. No facilities at the campground other than restrooms and water spigots throughout the park. No dump station; you need to go to Mather campground (26 miles) to dump. If you love peace and quiet, this is your paradise; if you want hustle and bustle and hookups, go to Trailer Village. Not reservable; first come, first served, but we had no problem finding a site in September. We loved this place and will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
309
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   9   2   7   9   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  no  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  no  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$19
A park service run campground. It is large, but the campsites are separated enough to give a feeling of privacy. Only complaint would be that they don't enforce the quiet hours and there was a big party going on near us until very late. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$7
Large sites with shade from pine trees, tables, and fire rings. Very quiet campground with easy access to all the sites on the South Rim. There is a shuttle bus stop at the entrance to the campground and there are two links to paved bike paths to IMAX and most rim destinations. Shuttle buses have bike racks to make one-way trips possible. Water is available throughout the campground as well as at the free dump station near the entrance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$5
Location, location, location! Nicely maintained and close to all want to be close to. Fun to be greeted by deer and elk in the morning. Rate based on senior discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Mather Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$9



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   10   8   9   7   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$9
The location is fantastic, both the North Rim and the campground. Very spacious, light and airy. Good shade from the tall pine trees. We were there late September during a warm spell, didn't need any heat whatever. AT&T cellular phone and data nonexistent (someone did have coverage, perhaps Verizon, as we saw roaming available. The drawbacks are no hookups (but an excellent 2-position dump station), sites mostly unlevel (some very seriously enough I had to wonder how anyone could get level), could be tough for large rigs to enter/exit the pull thus because of large pine trees at one or both ends of the pullthrus. The pullthrus are paved, off both sides of the paved roads; they are semi-circles, not traditional pullthrus (see the campground map). If you are in a site on the left side of the roads, your RV door opens to the road, not to the side with the picnic bench (as we were in site 69). The negatives are minor compared to the beauty of the location and the feeling of not being at all crowded. Restrooms were kept very clean, didn't use showers or laundry. A very pleasant 2 nights (campground full every night). Rate reflects senior discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$9
We were staying at this park during the Great Government Shutdown of 2013. It is a lovely park with no hookups, but good paved roads and driveways. The pads were unlevel, and after we spent some time leveling, we entertained ourselves watching other rigs go back and forth trying to level. The spaces are large and it is only 1+ miles to the Lodge and visitor center so it is very convenient. An absolutely beautiful setting. We would stay in this park again. Price indicates Senior 1/2 price rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
Wow, this park is great! There are 78 campsites and another 12 tent-only sites, all dry camping. This is the North Rim Campground and operated by the National Park Service on the north rim of the Grand Canyon which is the same location as the North Rim Lodge and Cabins, operated by a concessionaire and location of the U.S. Post Office. I make this distinction because I have seen reviews that associate the North Rim with Jacobs Lake and the DeMotte campground. DeMotte is a few miles away and acts as a sort of overflow for North Rim. North Rim is booked full every day, way in advance. Make your reservations early, like a year early. North Rim Campground is way off the beaten path. Yes, the campground, lodge and cabins are booked full for the entire season (May to October) but the number of people making it to the North Rim is one-tenth the numbers that the South Rim sees. The drive from Flagstaff to North Rim took us about 5 hours with our 5th wheel. The drive to the campground is beautiful and almost worth it by itself, but once you cross Lee’s Ferry Bridge in Marble Canyon it is about 30 miles of uphill. Some sections are long and steep enough that it will push your transmission temperatures about as high as they should go. North Rim Campground is an old, CCC built facility. Technically, there are pull-through sites but don’t let that fool you into thinking your big rig can get in. The pull-throughs are just curved driveways alongside the road. And the curves in many spaces can be very tight with large Ponderosa Pines lining the drive so closely that even pop-ups, Casitas, Scamps, and A-liners sometimes have to be unhooked and positioned by hand. Also, when making your reservation, be mindful of the side of the road your site is on. If you are tent camping it won’t make any difference, but if you have any kind of RV that you want the entry door to face the picnic table & fire ring then you need to pick a site on the right side of the road. The streets are all one way so you can’t (if the rangers catch you) come down a road backwards so you can be turned the right way. But enough of that, this place is gorgeous. There is a mix of Ponderosa Pine and Aspen, wildflowers peak in August, and there are more views of the canyon than you can see in the one week limit of the campground. If you are a hiker they have trails of every kind. Everything from paved walkways on flat ground to canyon rim trails (no railing!); to the multi-day hike to the South Rim. Days are mildly warm, 70’s and low 80’s. Nights are cool. In our few days we have seen anywhere from 41 to 61 for overnight lows. August is monsoon time. There have been frequent downpours and more lightning than I care to be around. This is one of those campgrounds that you have to go to at least once. It is worth the effort. WiFi is available but only if you walk to the campground store and get in just the right spot on the porch. No AT&T phone at all, Verizon is text capable sometimes. If you want to make a call you have to hike out to a point that can see the South Rim where the cell tower is, ten miles away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for North Rim Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   8   7   8   7   7   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2014
$36
We really enjoyed this campground. It is nice and convenient to be inside the NP, and be able to ride the bus shuttle to different areas of the park. There is a nice market within walking distance of the campground. We were greeted by elk the day we pulled in and got set up. The sites are long and level, Verizon signal is decent, we were able to use our satellite, but there was also cable available. We will definitely return to this campground.....highly recommend! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
Really nice campground. Nice level pull thru. Only warning I would have is for people with pets and small children. There are "wild" animals that roam through the campground. We had 3 bull elk with huge racks just mosey thru, eating grass and leaves right next to our campers. It's nice for close up photos, but remember, they are wild not tame animals. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
Very Nice RV park. Highly recommend. Hard to believe this is a national park, rather than an RV resort. Check in was smooth and effortless. All sites were pull thru, many were shaded, but not so dense you couldn't set up a satellite. Hiking distance to grocery, PO, bank. Shuttle comes to RV park gate puts you on rim. Would definitely do it again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Trailer Village (NPS Campground)
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com