User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Grand Canyon Natl Park, Arizona (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
1.18 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Grand Canyon Airport
0.99 miles SW
Grand Canyon Imax Theate
1.92 miles NE
Grand Canyon National P
10.25 miles NE
Arizona
Grand Canyon Natl Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Grand Canyon / Mather Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2012-05-04 14:22:00
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Grand Canyon Natl Park, Arizona
CGID143Grand Canyon / Mather Campground
Camp Information
Sites
327
Date of Stay
March 2012
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   8   8   10   8   6   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$24
I called the 800 number for reservations at Mather campground for 1 week, starting March 20. When I arrived on March 20, the campground told me my reservations were for April 20. They were full and still found me a space for 1 week. They were great. Very friendly staff. The campground is a typical National Park with no hookups. The rangers and park police drove the campground on regular basis. Showers clean and only $2. Laundry clean and plenty of machines. Everyone at the park was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$18
This is a National Park operated campground and has no hookups. It is a beautiful park with paved sites and about half are pull-through. All sites have a combo BBQ-fire ring and picnic table. If you can boondock, consider staying here. Generator hours are from 8-10 am and 6-8pm. There is a laundry, $1.75 wash and $1 for dry (8am-4pm), and showers (8am-6pm). Obviously these hours are for the benefit of the government employees who supervise these facilities and are not intended to meet the needs of campers), dump station and potable water. At the nearby Market Plaza, there is a bank, and a grocery store with a surprisingly good selection food including fresh vegetables, fruit, and meats. Diesel is available at Tusayan and Desert View at inflated prices. There is a convenient free shuttles that operates throughout most of the park, however, not to the far east end of the park. Full recycling is available. The $18 campsite fee does not include the $10 reservation fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
This goes down as one of our very favorite campgrounds. Pull-through site with a large woodsy area that included a picnic table and fire pit (plenty of trees). Much space between sites. Beautiful, peaceful setting within walking distance of shuttle bus stop and market. We originally booked Trailer Village but changed after reading the reviews. While Mather is in a much more beautiful setting, Trailer Village was definitely better than a "parking lot" as others have described. If we wanted hook-ups and never saw Mather, we would have been pleased. Having said this, we were thrilled to have changed to Mather. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Grand Canyon / Mather Campground
CGID144Grand Canyon / North Rim
Camp Information
Sites
83
Date of Stay
October 2011
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   9   9   8   9   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$18
This is a very nice national park campground. No hookups of any kind, but water is available is several places in the loops. Paved roads and sites were not real level but doable. The sites in the outside loop are much bigger and easier to get into with a larger rig. The dump station is a little tight to maneuver so watch the trees. Lots of great views of the canyon not far from the campground. The lodge, store, and various shops are nice, albeit a bit pricey. Mid October and the campground and lodge were still selling out. Make reservations even at this time of year. We tried to make a reservation for dinner in the Lodge dinning room the day before, but the earliest seating was for 9 PM! Many of the sites can be a bit tricky if you like using satellite due to the very large trees. The campground generator hours were a bit screwy too. 2 time periods generators are allowed, 7 to 9 AM and 6 to 8 PM. In order to bring the battery bank up enough to keep things running I had to fire the generator at 7 AM each day. Not something I would normally do. Fortunately the sites are far enough apart not to interfere with your neighbors activities. Also beware of some low hanging limbs as you navigate the campground roads in a high profile vehicle. We were in site #20, which was one of the longer sites. It was probably 80' from end to end. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$17
The campground was excellent, great store and bathrooms in every loop area. The only drawback was the pay showers have no heads on them in either men or women side. Water comes out a open pipe and is very forceful. Sites are uneven and require front and side leveling. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
Wonderful experience! No hookups, No pool, No activities, but what a place! Well kept NPS campground, very busy, but not hectic. Lots of shade in the tall pines, and very cool for being in the AZ desert. Hope to go again soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Grand Canyon / North Rim
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com