224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Roosevelt, Arizona (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
19.29 miles SW
19.95 miles SE
23.33 miles SW
23.33 miles SW
28.10 miles SW
30.25 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Scottsdale Municipal Airp
5.34 miles W
Tonto National Monument
7.14 miles W
Roosevelt Dam Springs 118
10.08 miles NW
Cobre Valley Motors
18.43 miles SE
Arizona
Roosevelt
Most Recently Reviewed
Windy Hill
Latest Review Submited On
2013-06-07 14:54:00
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Roosevelt, Arizona
Camp Information
Sites
206
Date of Stay
February 2012
Latest Rate
$6



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$6
This is a scenic Tonto National Forest campground on the shore of Roosevelt Lake. There are no hookups. There are water spigots throughout campground. The restroom/shower buildings have flush toilets. They were clean. Showers use solar technology, but water was lukewarm. Loops are paved. Sites are gravel and fairly level. Each site has a shade ramada, metal picnic table, and fire ring/grill combo. We stayed in pull-out site #38 in the Buckhorn Cholla loop. They also have back-in sites. The layout of the different sites is very good. You don’t feel on top of any of your neighbors. The scenery is desert meets water. Mountains, including Four Peaks, are in view. Only a few sites have a direct view of Roosevelt Lake. Lake views are an easy, short walk away. There are plenty of trails including ones where you can walk to the lake shore. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$6
Normal Forest Service campsites. Nice and level, and many campsites to choose from. Many of the loops were closed as not many people here. Only real negative is the lack of a dump site. There is a dump site across the road from the campground, but is only open on Thursdays and Fridays from 1 to 3. That is very poor planning on the Forest Service's part. Most people come in for the weekend and have no place to dump when they leave. I think they could increase the fee and then use the money to build more dump sites! There must have been over 1000 campers at the various campgrounds along the lake. Wouldn't take long to be able to finance a dump site and keep it drained. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$6
This is a dry camping experience! Roosevelt Lake is beautiful and this campground very pleasant. It is very busy on weekends and can be noisy. There are shade ramadas, fire rings, picnic tables, water hydrants, flush toilets, boat launch and open all year. The sites have vegetation between and they are fairly large. The roads are paved. There is a nice walking trail along the lake shore. Other than boating and fishing there are limited activities in the area. It's at 2200' elevation and will be very hot May through September. There is a dump station across the highway but was closed for repairs. It is near scenic Apache Trail gravel road and Tonto National Monument. It is 36 miles north of Globe and 60 miles north of Mesa. We would return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
156
Date of Stay
February 2012
Latest Rate
$4


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
question
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2012
$4
The park itself is nice but in the winter many of the sites are closed. Only a small section of the campground is available for camping and people were pretty close. Be careful not to run your generator, even though permissible, as some people will complain. This is the only campground we have ever stayed at where you need to purchase a permit at a store or the ranger station. We arrived after all were closed and checked with the camp host, who could not sell us a permit or take our money. To me this is ridiculous as, with my senior permit, it only cost $4 to camp. We would have wasted twice money in gas to get the permit! I doubt we will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
March 2011
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
VERY friendly staff. Most sites are monthly rentals but there are a few on a daily basis. Very nice clubhouse and laundry facility. It was very windy on the day we were to leave. We asked the owner if we could stay and do our laundry and she let us stay at our site to do the laundry. Lots of birds and critters around. Watched the hummingbirds for a couple of hours. Small convince store next to the park which was reasonably priced. Didn't "gouge" tourists. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
347
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$3
Rate reflects senior discount. Huge campground, spread out over a large area in several loops. Sites mostly level, well-spaced, no hookups, fairly pretty views overlooking the lake and with mountains nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$6
The NFS says 32' max length but don't let that scare you away. We have a 37' 5W and there were tons of places that we could fit. If you are set up to boon-dock and like to live that way - you'll love Lake Roosevelt. It was quiet quiet quiet. We had a good 3g Verizon signal. Even though many of the loops were closed our loop was only about 15% filled. In summer I imagine it might be a different place but during the late Winter it was wonderful. Lots to do in the area. Two dumps up at Cholla CG - about 5 miles - but only open Thurs-Sunday (two days each) 10am to 2pm. Filled our fresh water from the numerous spigots into a bladder tank. We stayed here 2 weeks - next time will be longer. Much longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$5
This is a well maintained campground with wide enough gravel pads to put out your awning and slides. The sites are a little close to each other but we found that most people were gone during the day boating/fishing. There is drinking water available and dumpsters spaced out within the loop. There is a campground host here year round. This is a Forest Service Campground and they do take the Goleden Age Pass which must be displayed on your dashboard or in your window along with your camping permit. Most of the sites have a good view of the lake. They all come with picnic tables, fire ring and Ramadas. There is a limit of 32" but we were able to fit our 35" Motorhome in without any problems. The dump station is located 10 mi. North on SR188 at milepost 249 across from the Cholla Recreation Site. We enjoyed our visit We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com