206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Tusayan, Arizona (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Grand Canyon Airport
1.11 miles SW
Grand Canyon Imax Theate
2.24 miles N
Grand Canyon National P
10.69 miles NE
Arizona
Tusayan
Most Recently Reviewed
Grand Canyon Camper Village
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-16 13:59:51
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Tusayan, Arizona
Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$56



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   5   7   7   3   4   6   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  no  no  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  no  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$56
The last review is very accurate. It's a lot of money for what you get. Apparently, the park changed hands in the last year or so and the previous owner hadn't done much in years. The sites are rough gravel, but they had a tractor out yesterday leveling some of them. They're a bit close as well. Many water spigots leak. Temps dropped to 19 at night once in a while so I made sure to fill the tank and roll up the hose. We didn't use the showers/restrooms, but although old, they were well maintained. Not much room for dog walking except for empty sites. The staff do a great job meeting your needs. Get here early...it fills up fast. Unbelievable the number of rental units on the road. They've got you because it's the only private park in the area and it's only one mile away from one of the most fantastic natural sights in the world with 3-5 million visitors a year. Try the GC Jeep morning tour for the best all around tour of the South Rim. We're not hikers or bikers, yet Scott made it seem like we saw it all. Only one gas station in town and the diesel pump is old and works slow, poorly, and it was expensive at $4.29 a gallon. We'll stay here again, but not for a while. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$34
Checking the reviews before staying at this campground, I noted that previous reviewers had complained about the pay showers, dirty restrooms, and high prices. However, this was the closest private campground with hookups/restrooms/showers to Grand Canyon National Park. This quiet campground is located behind the General Store in Tusayan, about a half a block east of the main street, and about four miles south of the south entrance to Grand Canyon National Park. The spaces are gravelly, relatively level, some with some small patches of grasses, picnic tables, some sites with small shade trees, a few sites with pines. We stayed two nights in mid-March, before the tourist season. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and knowledgeable about what services were available in town. The sites appear to be mostly pull-through. The WiFi worked very well. The restrooms are older block buildings. I saw at least four; the one we used was clean and trouble-free. The mens restroom had two each sinks, toilets, and shower stalls. Each shower stall consisted of the shower stall itself plus a small ate-chamber for dressing. A shower cost $2 (put in eight quarters) for eight minutes; it is not unusual to encounter pay showers in areas where water is limited or expensive. The hot water was plenty hot, and eight minutes is quite a long shower (I’ve seen paid the same price for four minute showers). The shower water pressure was quite low, and I first wondered if I was going to get wet all over, but found the eight minutes more than ample to deal with this issue. The area is at high elevation (above 7000 ft), and arid, with limited water supplies (the campground depends on a well). The restrooms were cleaned daily. The price for a 30 amp site with full hookups was $34 per night, pre-season. Although the full hookup part was moot, since the water was turned off to avoid freezing the pipes at night. We found Grand Canyon Camper Village a pleasant surprise, but I am sure that if we arrived at this or any other campground during heavy use periods, we could find things to complain about. The pizza place attached to the General Store and the RP Stage stop (coffee house) both had good food at reasonable prices. A note to fellow travelers: campgrounds in National Park gateway communities have something of a captive clientele, and so are often more expensive than the norm, and have fewer amenities. They also get very heavy, and often thoughtless use during tourist season, leading to plumbing and trash problems. During our stay, more than one person pulled in quite late then left early and didn’t pay for their stay. It only takes one thoughtless or malicious idiot to jam up a toilet so nobody can use it. Water, electricity, WiFi time, and general maintenance all cost money. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$51
We were shut out of the National Parks, so stayed here instead. Nothing special, and simply average or slightly less. Attendant tried to direct us to sites suitable for a 30' RV - don't think he realized that with a tow vehicle a 29' fifth-wheel ends up closer to 47' overall length. We found a level, longer site. Use their WI-FI signal to make alternate travel plans - worked okay, but bounced me out a few times. Note that we don’t carry a TV around so no cable service is necessary. We use the fifth-wheel primarily to have a comfortable place to sleep, a toilet and shower that don’t offer surprises, and someplace to store food. Other than that, we live outside! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Grand Canyon Camper Village
Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   10   7   7   10   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  no  question  no  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  question  question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$19
What a campground should be. Nice large sites well away from other sites. Nice large pine trees. Paved roads through out the campground and most of the sites are paved as well. Sites are not always level but we made it work. No dump station available and minimal water so as others state come with full water and empty gray and black water. We stayed at site 16 which was a nice pull through site. We reserved site ahead of time so our fee reflects the extra 9 dollars to reserve, first come first serve is $10.00. Would definitely stay at this campground again when visiting Grand Canyon as location is just down the road from the Grand Canyon Entrance and the town of Tusayan. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$10
Park is big rig friendly. Pay at fee station, or you can reserve online. Camp host was helpful in recommending site for us. Some sites do have an incline or are sloped slightly to one side. You should arrive at this park with water tank filled and grey/black tanks empty, as there are no hookups. There are vault toilets, but no showers. There are water faucets throughout the park where you can get small amounts of water, but you're not supposed to hook up your water hose to the faucets. The water for the park has to be brought in from several miles away. Verizon service worked well here. There are trails throughout the park. We saw elk very near our site. This park is approximately 4 miles from the Grand Canyon fee entrance, so it's a great alternative to the pricier full service campgrounds near or in the Grand Canyon park if you can boondock for a few days. We'll return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$10
OK. First, no hookups. In return, you get lots of space between sites, typically 100 feet or more, good shade, campfires, all the things I love about NFS campgrounds. The trailer sites inside the Grand Canyon park are very close, almost no separation, and no trees. The other commercial RV park is also tight with little vegetation, if any (we drove through it). Ten-x is about 6 miles outside the Grand Canyon, but well worth it. The toilets were the cleanest pit style I've ever seen and didn't even smell. We would definitely return here. Our reserved site was not very level, but the very nice campground hosts moved u, even letting us go the wrong way on the loop to get the patio side towards the picnic table. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Ten-X Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com