221782 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Jonesboro, Arkansas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
18.23 miles S
19.58 miles NE
22.31 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Super Wal-Mart
1815 E Highland Dr
0.96 miles SE
Hamilton House
1.14 miles NE
Front Page Cafe
1.15 miles NE
Arkansas State Universit
1.31 miles SE
Super Wal-Mart
1911 W Parker Rd
1.77 miles SW
Barton Freightliner 8002640148
4.30 miles SE
Wal-Mart
Us Hwy 63 N
12.62 miles SE
Arkansas
Jonesboro
Most Recently Reviewed
Craighead Forest Park
Latest Review Submited On
2013-09-19 06:30:00
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Camp Information
Sites
31
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   6   4   8   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
Rate reflects Senior discount. Most all previous reviews are accurate and reflect our feelings about this campground. We chose this place as convenient and inexpensive. It is also very peaceful, calm, and a wonderful place to stay for several days and explore the area. There are some downsides, which is why I gave it a 9. First, no Wi-Fi or cable. However, we did pick up local stations over the air, so we could keep up with news and weather. Second, the roads in the park are narrow and windy. Not a problem if you are comfortable with your rig, but it is slow going. Third, though they advertise "swimming" at the park, it is Not allowed currently due to too many geese swimming and using the beach. Finally, directions to the park are not clear. Do not take SR-1; this will force you to take the Craighead Forest Rd which is narrow, has tight turns and blind hills to get to the park. All this, the camp host was wonderful, the sites very level and wide, and the bathhouse clean and well maintained. As mentioned, there is free firewood at your campsite and the sites are far enough apart to be comfortable. There are woods all around and wonderful walking trails to enjoy the beauty of the natural surroundings. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$10
This is an excellent park to stay in for anyone passing through or visiting in Jonesboro for a few days. Very friendly host, free firewood, easy in and out. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$10
Incredible! We were completely spoiled during our stay here. We would have stayed longer if we had not made appointments for personal business elsewhere. The camp hosts are amazingly welcoming and friendly. The laundry facility, bathroom and showers were spotless. The feeling of instant community is one that we have compared to everywhere we have stayed at since. Well Done! Looking forward to getting back here and staying again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Craighead Forest Park
Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   5   5   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
For what it is I would give the park high marks. That is, it is a place to stay while visiting the area. As was said before, lots of workers and permanents, but no problems and my neighbors were all friendly. It is mostly gravel with lots of trees. Cable was great and no, there is no shutoff or breaker in the box for electric. Just shut down your trailer before plugging in. But is pretty much in the middle of Jonesboro so its great if your visiting there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$26
Perkins is not a 'glamorous' park, but it excels at what it is. It is a place for long-term transient workers or 'snowbirds' to stay. When you are used to 'Good Sams' parks and resorts, you may be wary about staying here, but don't. It is a nice, quiet park with friendly guests and owner. The property has an RV side and a Mobile Home side. Althought there were several homesteaders (RV's with huge external propane tanks and residential refrigerators/freezers outside) they were all well kept and appear to be in good repair. There were several overflowing garbage drums around the park, but I believe the owner was busy keeping the grass mowed and just got behind. He is a nice fellow, and was very busy, allowing me to just drop a check through the mail slot when I got a chance. They DO NOT take credit cards. I wasn't bothered by the road noise, but we didn't spend much time at/around our site, and it never woke any of my family up. The water spigot has a 4-head adapter that feeds different adjacent spaces, but we never had any pressure issues. The sewer hook-up never back flowed, but did leave our downspout messy. The other issue I had was with the 50-amp service. It was just a plug and NO breaker: a cable running under the pine needles. I prayed, plugged it in, went inside, restoring the circuit breakers, everything worked, but it was a bit unnerving. The cable TV worked great, but we only watched the Weather Channel due to tornadoes in the area. No Wi-Fi but my Sprint phone and Verizon Aircard worked fine in 3G mode. There are phone company demarks at each space, so you could get a phone line and DSL if you are staying for a month or more. This park beats staying in a Wal-Mart thanks to the hook-ups and level spaces, so do not hesitate to stay at Perkins, despite its 'dated' look. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
Park is located with easy on and off Hwy access but does have a lot of traffic noise. Sites are level and have good drainage, but narrow. They do not have any showers, bathrooms or laundry on site. There are many permanent RV'ers living on the premises who are very friendly. The owner is helpful and very nice. The park is conveniently located near many stores and restaurants so you can shop and eat until you drop. BYOB as it is a dry county. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Perkins RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com