218141 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Campbell River, British Columbia (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.05 miles SE
15.85 miles SE
22.53 miles SE
24.34 miles SE
British Columbia
Campbell River
Most Recently Reviewed
Elk Falls Provincial Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-12 23:44:13
7 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Campbell River, British Columbia
Camp Information
Sites
63
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$39
This time we stayed six days, and we will be back. The road in is rough and therefore mitigates against casual one night stays. Also, while there is a new playground, this is essentially a park for adults who want to have a quiet stay in a fantastic place. The scenery is simply terrific, cruise ships so close you can see the on-deck movies, whales going by and sites right on the water. Moreover, this place is kept up to the nth degree and everything is new or as good as. Great clubhouse and new guest cabins this year (got the tour: very, very nice). It looks better than even their own photos reveal. Lastly, their floating restaurant has been redone completely: we had two dinners there. No better RV park on Vancouver Island. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$42
Yes, there is a 5 km narrow gravel logging road you must travel to access this park. It is worth the inconvenience to experience this unbelievable ocean front park. There are limited activities or amenities surrounding the park. However, to relax in your lawn chair, gaze out over Johnson Strait and watch the cruise ships ply their way toward Seymour Narrows is beyond description. Once can almost reach out and touch the ships. The only other very small inconvenience with this park is that all sites have been set up for forward facing motor coaches. If you are towing, you must back into the sites, and all the hookups are on the wrong side. Attendants are quite aware of this and will facilitate whatever you might require. This spectacular park should not be missed if you are traveling Vancouver Island. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
We had to travel down several kilometres of gravel road sprinkled with washboard and potholes to access the campground from the main highway. There is only one road in an out. This road is narrow, dusty and we could not travel faster than 20 kph. Upon arriving at the campground, we found it to be well maintained and on a beautiful stretch of the coast. Many of the sites are ocean front and all have a beautiful view. There is a large fish processing plant next to the campground, but there was no odor coming from the plant and it was quiet during our stay. There are no hiking trails in the area and no shops or businesses. There is no swimming pool, but there is a nice hot tub and recreation room on site. There is a small restaurant on the pier, but it's hours of operation are limited. The food was OK, but the decor leaves much to be desired. Not much to do when you get there except to sit in your lawn chair and enjoy the view. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Brown's Bay Resort - Ripple Rock RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
122
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$16
This park is just 3 km north of Campbell River, right off Hwy 3, offering good hiking and fishing opportunities around. The sites are all dry camping. Lots of sites available for larger rigs (we are 51' combined length). Fairly easy to maneuver. Level was OK. Most of the sites, including the ones on the river are reservable. Chances to get a river site without a reservation are slim to none during summer season. Those on the river are reasonably bright, while the others are mostly heavily shaded and pretty dark. Pick a side in the rear end to get away from the road noise (mostly dying down at night anyway). All sites have a picnic table and a fire pit. Well spaced, offering good privacy. A real downer for bigger rigs is the dump station ($5). Very tight to get into without hitting the curb. In fact we were not able to get around it. Overall a nice Provincial Park close to town with lots of larger sites. However, we didn't like the darkness and the dump station, therefore will try a different campground around Campbell River next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
July 2006
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
We found this small park to be friendly, comfortable and clean. The facilities were a bit old, and the road noise was a concern. But we slept well and enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
The rate is based on the weekly rate. The nightly rate is $28. The campground was very well supervised, making it nice and quiet at night. Wi-Fi was weak, and no OTA TV available. Too many trees for satellite TV. Roads were narrow and dusty (lack of rain). Sites are small and difficult to get in and out of with larger units. Showers were free. Great hiking and sight seeing in the area. An excellent place to stay with smaller units, but not suitable for those who want to party. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Campground is set among the forest with each site bordered by plentiful amounts of salal and trees. Roads are gravel and a bit narrow. Some long rigs may have trouble navigating the turns and backing into sites. Bathrooms are very clean. Wi-Fi, while not the quickest, worked well. Playground for the kids. Located west of Campbell River, just past Elk Falls Provincial Park. Definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
130
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   10   5   9   8   9   7   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
We had a nice view towards the ocean. However, there were electrical problems in the park. The management had electricians in and there was low voltage even though there were only a few units in the park. The manager was not friendly once this problem was identified. We were afraid for our electrical systems as circuit breakers kept tripping. We left a day early and had to "fight" to get a refund. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
Great time. Stayed 4 nights. Ocean view in the Lighthouse section of the campground. Pool and hot tub on site. Looking at going back again for a week next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
After choosing this park for its good reviews, we were pretty disappointed and feel like the park is overrated and overpriced. It might be a good place to stay for seasonals or family vacations since there are a lot of amenities (heated pool, hot tub, horseshoes, volleyball, rec hall, you name it) in this park. But from our point of view, being a traveller, the value for money is just poor. The sites are very narrow with a raised concrete patch for the picnic table alongside which you have to back in. After getting the slides out the neighbor's awning was less than one foot away. Privacy? Forget it. Quite a few sites have trees in the way you want to use to back in. Hookups are in the far back, you will need looong hoses to connect. WiFi was poor, weak signal with dropouts every now and then and slow when working. Leveling was almost impossible due to tree roots and a left to right slope in the site. The views over the strait to the mainland are partly hidden by retaining walls. The "beach" is just gravel. The best was actually the silence at night. Staff was friendly but not really helpful when assigning the site. Having called in advance we were told there was only one site left to accommodate a large trailer like ours (34'). In fact we discovered at least half a dozen vacant sites (and staying vacant during our stay) which would have been a way better choice to park our rig. We won't come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Salmon Point RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
April 2006
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$17
Beautiful scenery for dry campers - no hookups or showers but water is available. Beach is sandy but can be a bit of a walk to water's edge depending on lake level. Lovely flat, treed sites. Great hiking, boating, fishing and fresh, clean air. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
Basically this is a huge gravel parking lot just half a mile past a shopping mall north of Campbell River. Sites are arranged side by side, no trees, no shade, no privacy. The road between the RV park and the water isn't busy at all, very quiet at night indeed. The sites are well leveled, easy to get in and out and the hookups are arranged perfectly. Wi-Fi was reliable and mostly fast. Overall a good place to stay for a reasonable price if you go out for day trips in the area. The place itself is not the nicest to hang out and the more attractive sites to the rear that offer some nice views to Strathcona are occupied by seasonals. However, if looking for a place to stay for a few nights in the area we would come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Large gravel pads with grass at the back of the site with a fire pit. Well kept and clean. WiFi was $1 a day and was good at your spot. We were backed up to the strait. The road was between us and the water. There was lots of traffic during the day, but it was quiet during the night. Nice and close to shopping, boat tours and Elk Falls. Staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
Has a beautiful view of the ocean and islands, as well as the estuary. Eagles, cruise ships and snow covered mountains in the distance. Great walking paths out the gate. It's near town, and has excellent hosts. We will come back. WiFi was $1 a day extra. The 7th day of camping is free. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Thunderbird RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com