221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Parksville, British Columbia (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
5.80 miles SW
5.98 miles NW
5.98 miles NW
16.29 miles NW
19.63 miles SE
25.01 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Rathtredor Beach Provinc
2.60 miles E
British Columbia
Parksville
Most Recently Reviewed
Rathtrevor Beach Provincial Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-25 02:41:15
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Parksville, British Columbia
Camp Information
Sites
103
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$21
This is an average provincial park about 10 km from the highway on a dead end road. All sites are dry camping, water spigots are located all over the place. No dump station. Most sites are heavily treed and surprisingly unlevel. We had to try a few before finding a level spot. Picnic table and fire pit come with each site. Pit toilets as usual in provincial parks. A few sites can accommodate larger rigs, most are suitable for smaller ones. Very good privacy because of the shrubs between the sites. Also very quiet at night. The hiking opportunities were a little disappointing to us, just one 30 minute loop. The river falls were kind of pathetic too. We think there are places offering more opportunities in the vicinity and therefore won't be back. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Camp Information
Sites
93
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$21
This is an update to our last review from August 2013. This time we stayed in the lower loop. This is closer to the road and you can hear it. Most of the traffic dies down at night but we would recommend the upper loop for more quietness. Ohter than that all we have said in the last review is still true. We will be back. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
Very nice Provincial Park. We stayed in the upper loop, which offers some sites suitable for big rigs. We are 51' combined length and had no problem backing in. Very level sites. Excellent privacy in our site (#2). There are no hookups, but water spigots throughout the park. No Wi-Fi, very weak cell phone reception. The camp host was friendly and had a few stories to tell. Nice trails right off the park. Though Hwy 4 is only a few hundred metres away it was completely quiet at night. Lots to do in the area. Coombs and Parksville are only a short drive away as is Cathedral Grove and Cameron Lake. This time it was only a stopover for us, but we will be back for a longer stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Quintessential Canadian Provincial Park. Large, shaded sites in forest, lots of privacy and spacing between sites. Some hiking trails and stream through the park. Level back-in sites, always clean and raked. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
March 2012
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
I have had the pleasure of staying at this rv park for the last 5 months. Rate reflects the monthly winter rate. If you have any interest in spending the winter on Vancouver Island, Parksville is the place to be and this RV park is the best deal around. $570/month including taxes and unlimited, un-metered 50 amp service. The winter sites are concrete pads with picnic tables. The free WiFi was excellent, free cable TV with lots of channels to chose from. Close to almost everything so the dog and I did a lot of walking and played on the beach every day until March when dogs are banned due to the bird migration. I can't comment on the bathrooms as they are closed during the winter so you have to be self-contained. The laundry was cheap ($1.50 to wash and $1.50 to dry). Only 2 washers, 3 dryers so you have to pick your times. There is a huge playground next door in the municipal park for the kids. I highly recommend Park Sands for the winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$36
Very well kept park with friendly staff. Camp right next to the beach if you can and away from the community park. It was very quiet when we stayed, off-season. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$43
Lovely setting/ocean view if you're lucky enough to get a spot where you can see it!! A fellow came in with a motorhome, tried to park, couldn't manage the angles and had to leave. To our dismay, they charge $8.00/day for wireless internet!! Yikes!! The price goes up by $10.00/day on June 25th for the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
128
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$39
An older park, aging washrooms,gravel roads and grassy parking, on scenic Englishman River. Mature fir and cedar trees for nice broken shade. Quiet with full-timers and park models in a totally separate area. Wifi was strong. Both Telus and Roger cell were strong. We will stay here again. Fifth wheel We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Well-kept middle of the road campground. Friendly staff. Mostly grass sites and gravel roads. Quiet and relatively spacious sites. Suffers in comparison to nearby ocean view parks, but only regarding location. Will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
199
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$30
A premium provincial park with most conveniences such as showers, flush toilets paved roads and lots of trails. The park has been around forever but still has large sites with easy access and significant space between most sites. In the fall you can just stop by and get a site but during the summer reservations are a must. We would stay again even with the hefty price for no services (power, water etc ) just for the great location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Rathtrevor Beach is the best campground that my family and I have had the pleasure to stay. The sites are spacious, the people that manage the campground do a excellent job. The activities in the park for kids are amazing! The best campground in BC! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
We have camped here for the last 5 years and will continue to go back. The beach cannot be beat! It is a bit of a jaunt to get to it depending on where you are in the park but it is worth it. The bathrooms are the cleanest anywhere and the park staff are amazing. They have free daily programs for kids called "Jerry's Rangers" that our son loves to participate in as well as evening educational activities at their amphitheatre. They have a nice nature house with ice cream treats, coffee, and gifts to purchase if you choose. The sites are large and tidy, and are mostly partial sun/shade. The town of Parksville is cute with a very impressive park/water park at the city center and possibly the best mini-golf ever. The towns of Coombs and Qualicum are close by too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Rathtrevor Beach Provincial Park
Camp Information
Sites
231
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   8   9   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$65
I want to give this park a "10"; however, with only 30 amp service I cannot do so. We have a pull in motor home site that overlooks the water. Large, private, level & perfect except for the 30 amps. Very quiet park in a great location. We did not use their facilities so I cannot comment on pool, bathrooms, etc. We loved it here and will definitely come back despite the 30 amp service. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$58
This park is mainly long-term residents that own the lot and RV/modular unit. There are a few rental sites for travelers. Each rental site is crushed rock with a full hookup pedestal with sufficient length to accommodate our trailer and truck. We enjoyed this quiet park. The people are friendly. The clubhouse is pleasant with strong Wi-Fi, comfortable chairs, cable TV, and clean shower rooms. The pool and hot tub have a view of the ocean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
This is a nice park. The ocean front sites are nearly all permanent residents. It is very close to town, but quiet at night. There is some wind due to the openness of the campground and proximity to the ocean. The RV park is adjacent to a large park so walking is readily available. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Surfside RV Resort
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com