206926 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Parksville, British Columbia (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
5.80 miles SW
5.98 miles NW
19.63 miles SE
25.01 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Rathtredor Beach Provinc
2.60 miles E
British Columbia
Parksville
Most Recently Reviewed
Surfside RV Resort
Latest Review Submited On
2013-10-21 17:11:00
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Parksville, British Columbia
Camp Information
Sites
93
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
Very nice Provincial Park. We stayed in the upper loop, which offers some sites suitable for big rigs. We are 51' combined length and had no problem backing in. Very level sites. Excellent privacy in our site (#2). There are no hookups, but water spigots throughout the park. No Wi-Fi, very weak cell phone reception. The camp host was friendly and had a few stories to tell. Nice trails right off the park. Though Hwy 4 is only a few hundred metres away it was completely quiet at night. Lots to do in the area. Coombs and Parksville are only a short drive away as is Cathedral Grove and Cameron Lake. This time it was only a stopover for us, but we will be back for a longer stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Quintessential Canadian Provincial Park. Large, shaded sites in forest, lots of privacy and spacing between sites. Some hiking trails and stream through the park. Level back-in sites, always clean and raked. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
March 2012
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
I have had the pleasure of staying at this rv park for the last 5 months. Rate reflects the monthly winter rate. If you have any interest in spending the winter on Vancouver Island, Parksville is the place to be and this RV park is the best deal around. $570/month including taxes and unlimited, un-metered 50 amp service. The winter sites are concrete pads with picnic tables. The free WiFi was excellent, free cable TV with lots of channels to chose from. Close to almost everything so the dog and I did a lot of walking and played on the beach every day until March when dogs are banned due to the bird migration. I can't comment on the bathrooms as they are closed during the winter so you have to be self-contained. The laundry was cheap ($1.50 to wash and $1.50 to dry). Only 2 washers, 3 dryers so you have to pick your times. There is a huge playground next door in the municipal park for the kids. I highly recommend Park Sands for the winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$36
Very well kept park with friendly staff. Camp right next to the beach if you can and away from the community park. It was very quiet when we stayed, off-season. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$43
Lovely setting/ocean view if you're lucky enough to get a spot where you can see it!! A fellow came in with a motorhome, tried to park, couldn't manage the angles and had to leave. To our dismay, they charge $8.00/day for wireless internet!! Yikes!! The price goes up by $10.00/day on June 25th for the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
128
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$39
An older park, aging washrooms,gravel roads and grassy parking, on scenic Englishman River. Mature fir and cedar trees for nice broken shade. Quiet with full-timers and park models in a totally separate area. Wifi was strong. Both Telus and Roger cell were strong. We will stay here again. Fifth wheel We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Well-kept middle of the road campground. Friendly staff. Mostly grass sites and gravel roads. Quiet and relatively spacious sites. Suffers in comparison to nearby ocean view parks, but only regarding location. Will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
199
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Rathtrevor Beach is the best campground that my family and I have had the pleasure to stay. The sites are spacious, the people that manage the campground do a excellent job. The activities in the park for kids are amazing! The best campground in BC! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
We have camped here for the last 5 years and will continue to go back. The beach cannot be beat! It is a bit of a jaunt to get to it depending on where you are in the park but it is worth it. The bathrooms are the cleanest anywhere and the park staff are amazing. They have free daily programs for kids called "Jerry's Rangers" that our son loves to participate in as well as evening educational activities at their amphitheatre. They have a nice nature house with ice cream treats, coffee, and gifts to purchase if you choose. The sites are large and tidy, and are mostly partial sun/shade. The town of Parksville is cute with a very impressive park/water park at the city center and possibly the best mini-golf ever. The towns of Coombs and Qualicum are close by too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$22
Let me start by saying that hookups are not available in any Provincial Park in British Columbia. This Provincial Park is located on the east coast of Vancouver Island, adjacent to the small city of Parksville. Parksville/Qualicum is known for it's beautiful beaches, restaurants, shops and festivals. The sandcastle building contest every summer is a major draw. This is the most popular Provincial Campground in all of BC. If you plan to stay for an extended period during July/August, you will need to make your reservations in February. It is a beautiful campground with large, level sites. The interior roads are all paved. There is a variety of shaded and sunny sites in several loops. Flush toilets and hot showers. Every site has a fire pit and wood can be purchased on site. There are hiking trails and a beautiful sandy ocean front beach in the park. Coombs, Nanaimo and Courtenay are all within a short driving distance. Rates run from $9.00 to $22.00 per night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
231
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
This is a nice park. The ocean front sites are nearly all permanent residents. It is very close to town, but quiet at night. There is some wind due to the openness of the campground and proximity to the ocean. The RV park is adjacent to a large park so walking is readily available. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
This park is located between the ocean and an estuary, making the viewing of birdlife spectacular. Most of the units are permanent and beautifully maintained. A few sites are saved for transients. Only small complaint, is the location of the garbage at the entrance of the park with no repository for dog refuse at your site. All garbage must be saved and dropped on the way out of the park. It is always a pleasure to stay at this high end location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Very expensive park through the summer season (about $ 1,500/mo !), drops to $ 650/mo after mid-Sept. Legitimate to call itself a resort - nice heated outdoor pool, access to a great city park, lots of beach-front for walking, and nice multi-laundry and club house/lounge facilities. Also has tennis, billiards, etc. Windy at times in the Fall, but welcome in the summer, when the area can get warm (80 F or so). Staff won't win any warmth awards, but they work for the park, not the guests ! Biggest complaint is the lack of any trash disposal within the park - you have to drop it off on your way to the gate. Also, watch for goose droppings everywhere - they like the park's well-kept lawns. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Surfside RV Resort
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com