206561 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Barstow, California (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Us Army National Traini
5.12 miles SW
Paradise Spring 100
17.70 miles SW
California
Barstow
Most Recently Reviewed
Shady Lane RV Camp
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-03 02:02:19
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Barstow, California
Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$3
Owl Canyon BLM campground, north of Barstow, CA. Widely separated, and mostly level, dirt campsites in a pretty little canyon. Rate listed was for a senior discount. No hookups, but trash receptacles, a couple of unthreaded water spigots, and several clean pit toilets. Big rig accessible, but the dirt road leading to the campground is very washboarded, so it is slow going. Beautiful view of the mountain range to the south at sunset. Extremely quiet and peaceful area. Nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$3
The rate reflects use of a Senior Pass at this BLM campground. We loved the beautiful scenery, great hikes, and solitude with only us and the campground host using the campground during most of our week-long stay here. We would have loved to stay longer, but it became too cold and windy (explaining why we were the only ones crazy enough to be there). Even with higher occupation, though, this would still be a great place to stay and you can't beat the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$3
We were last at this campground in 2007. It is still a little-used gem. The five miles of washboard gravel road to the campground was in somewhat better shape, showing signs of grading, but I could do more than about 10 MPH most of the time. Once in the campground, the roads were navigable by any size rig, although there are a couple of serious dips that could cause the tail to drag on some. There is now a campground host here, and the difference from four years ago was noticeable: empty trash cans, sparkling clean vault toilets, and not a bit of trash in the entire campground. Aside from the host, there were only one or two other campers in the campground during our stay, until the weekend when three or four other sites were in use. Verizon voice service was good, but data service was still limited to the slow 1xRTT network, about one tenth the speed of that in native Verizon areas. The scenic loop that you can drive in a passenger vehicle has some of the most spectacular scenery in the US. There was limited water available at spigots around the campground, but they often run dry. The rate cited is reflects the 50% the Senior Pass rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Owl Canyon Campground
Camp Information
Sites
33
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   5   10   6   8   5   3   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
Good Sam. Fairly easy access to dirt and rock with concrete pads. Owner is friendly and accommodating. Restrooms are dated but very clean. Laundry has 3 sets of machines and clean plus cheap. Some sites are back-in and big rigs are pull through. CG fills up in the late afternoon so reservations are a must. A good place to break-up a long drive. We spent one night here and would return in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$31
A small park with gravel roads. The pull thrus have a concrete pad with picnic table and a few trees between sites. Registration is very easy and the $31.50 rate is Good Sam discount. The restrooms and showers are very clean but very old. Laundry is great with 3 washers ($1) and 3 dryers (.75). The owners are friendly and guide you to your site. Shopping and restaurants are within 4-5 miles. Grounds are kept clean. Would stay here again with no hesitation! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
This campground is good as an overnight stay along I-15, I-40 and CA-58. The staff took us to our site and helped us park. Interior roads and sites are dirt - they could really benefit from a gravel topping throughout. TV worked well as did the Wi-Fi. The I-15 freeway is a bit over a mile away so there was no traffic noise. We would overnight here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Shady Lane RV Camp
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com